$339 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 1, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Hyatt Windward Pointe

4 stars
View map of 3675 South Roosevelt Blvd, KEY WEST, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.4
out of 5
37 reviews
Great Amenities & Staff

The Suite was wonderful. Kitchen with the latest appliances, bathrooms were spotless and beds were... See full review

  • BertAlert
  • Dec 23, 2014
friends and familiy escape

when we arrived at the hotel the staff was very friendly, and helpful,. the room was beautiful and... See full review

  • peggyjean73
  • Apr 4, 2014
Enjoy homey and secluded condominiums on the south side of Key West
On the southeast side of Key West, the Hyatt Windward Pointe offers a secluded getaway with residential-style accommodations near the Key West airport and southern beaches like Smathers Beach. From the property, it is about five miles to Mallory Square and the bars and restaurants along Duval Street. Ample free parking makes it easy to bring a car in order to explore the island or to reach local boat charters. The oceanfront Hyatt Windward Pointe features a pool, hot tub and snack bar on-site, and the hotel has free Wi-Fi access throughout.
Highlights
  • Residential accommodations near southern Key West beaches
  • Pool and hot tub with ocean view
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in guest rooms and public areas
Rooms
The Hyatt Windward Pointe boasts two-bedroom, two-bath condominium-style accommodations with full kitchens. All units feature master suites with king beds and guest bedrooms with queens. The master baths have walk-in showers and a jetted tub, and all the condominiums include additional full bathrooms. Kitchens feature full-size refrigerators, stoves, dishwashers and microwaves, and the units also have dining areas, living rooms and furnished balconies. In-room amenities include cable TVs, stereos, washers and dryers, and wireless Internet access (free).
Features
As a residential-style property, the Hyatt Windward Pointe has a basic set of property amenities. Guests at this oceanfront hotel on the secluded southeast corner of Key West can find free parking -- a car is a good idea in order to reach more crowded parts of the island. And the property also features an outdoor swimming pool and hot tub, which look onto the Atlantic Ocean, and a barbecue grill area for guests. The hotel operates a small snack bar on the property that sells basic sundries, and the Hyatt Windward Pointe also offers free Wi-Fi access in guest rooms and throughout the property.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (0.2 mi/0.3 km)
  • Miami International Airport (158 mi/252.8 km)
Attractions
  • Smathers Beach (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Key West Lighthouse Museum (3.6 mi/5.8 km)
  • Ernest Hemingway Home and Museum (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (4.4 mi/7 km)
  • Mallory Square (4.4 mi/7 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hyatt Windward Pointe also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hyatt Windward Pointe Rooms

RunOfHouse
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Air conditioned
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Exercise gym
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Concierge desk
Security
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Room
Television with cable
Radio
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Microwave
Sofa bed
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
10:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Hyatt Windward Pointe

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 37
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.3

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hyatt Windward Pointe

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
mommd
Business
St. Louis, MO
Jan 15, 2011

Unsafe and not for my family ever again!

My entire immediate family stayed for 6 nights (11 people-3 rooms). Although overall I would rate the hotel as okay, on the next to last day I had a very nice piece of jewelry stolen out of my room. I knew the exact time and place and it was during the time i left the room for the house keepers to clean. I didn't accuse anyone specifically but felt very sure it had be stolen either by them or someone who sneaked in when they were cleaning. The house keeping assured me that they take these matters seriously with a police investigation and that she would keep in touch with me. It has been two weeks since then and I still have no resolution to this problem. I have had to call each time to get any information and there has been no mention of an investigation. This type of security is not at all what i would expect from a Hyatt, but the hotel is right on the main road in town. In addition the lack of followup is very poor. thank goodness we used the safe for our computers and ipods. I was just going to the pool while they cleaned and took of my ring without thinking. I would never stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Windward Pointe

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MNFisherman
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 22, 2011

Not Consistent with Hyatt Brand Standard

This was a Hyatt Vacation property. The rooms were nice, beds were comfortable, but there were some aspects of our stay that just left a negative aftertaste in our vacation "palate." We attempted to check-in early, but the room was not available, which was to be expected. When we came back 2 hours after the posted check-in time, our room still was not available and after a considerable wait we were informed it would be at least another hour until it was available. We had purchased serveral grocery items, which the staff kindly offered to store. They encouraged us to go to the pool, enjoy a drink and food on the hotel and come back. We were not interested in food, since the options were very basic (hamburgers/hot dogs). It was a little chilly, so we used the hot tub instead of the pool, and the view of the ocean over the highway was not exactly picturesque. Our sons were not allowed to check out the ping pong paddles from the lobby unless they had an adult present. When we asked the concierge about recommendations for food in town, he launched into a sales pitch regarding the timeshare options at the property, which did not interest us at all. My wife does not react very well to high pressure sales pitches, so needless to say we did not go back to consult with him further.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Hogfish Restaurant is not too far away, somewhat off the beaten path, and has some really good seafood options. It is an open air environment, so if you go make sure you are casual. There was another low key place called the Hurricane Hole that was very good and reasonable. We tried going to the Blue Heaven restaurant which had been recommended by our fishing boat mate, but there was a 1 1/2 hour wait. The Le Creperie across the street was fantastic and very interesting to watch them make the food at the stand-up "bar"...really hard to describe but a memorable experience.

Review of Hyatt Windward Pointe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
When's my next vaca
Business
Los Angeles
Feb 17, 2014

Bed bug!!!

The hotel was great. And we all loved it but we all got a bad case of bed bugs. We had a room with two bed rooms. And everyone one in both rooms got bed bug bits. I would recommend this but beware of the bugs

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Windward Pointe

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Porto Alegre, Brazil.
Jan 1, 2011

Great place, not so great service.

The condo style rooms are great. Very spacious and have almost everything you need on a trip. Great view. However, the sofabed sucks and I would not recommend the rooms for more than 4 people. The hotel needs a better bar/restaurant. The existing "Abbey Road" is very poor and limited. The room service is also not so good as we should expect from a $450/night room. The housekeepers just "pass by" in the morning, and disappear... The front desk and housekeeping phones don't answer at all. When you need something, you need to walk there. We started good when arrived, but missed towels, shampoos, soap bars, even toilet paper in our second day. If you decide to take your chances, bring your own supplies... And I DOUBT they have the biggest swimming pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make a reservation for dinner. All the good restaurants get booked fast.

Review of Hyatt Windward Pointe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mo die moi
Business
England, GB
May 5, 2014

You never fail me!

I booked this hotel for a family wedding. It was spacious for my party and is well equipped. The hotel is clean and my bed is very comfortable. The staffs are impressively friendly and helpful. The only thing that is negative in this hotel is it's location. It is too far from the centre (town). However, it wasn't much of a bigger deal. I would definitely book the same hotel for my next visit to the Key West!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Windward Pointe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dwbii
Business
Loveland, OH
Apr 8, 2012

Key West

I have stayed at this hotel in the past and new what to expect. The location is not the best as it is about 2 miles away from the excitement on Duval st., however, the cost savings more than makes up for all the taxi rides as this hotel is much more affordable. This hotel also has much more to offer, I really like having 2 separate bedrooms, 2 full baths and a full kitchen! As for the staff, I was not impressed the first time I was there and they again disappointed me this time; one of our boys (13 yrs old) got stuck in one of their elevators for over 5 minutes by himself, luckily he had a cell phone on him, the staff got him out but really didn't seem to think it was a big deal, my other complaint for the staff is their constant use of leaf blowers in the early morning, they stopped after we complained but still not impressed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Windward Pointe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pam Lester
Business
Aurora, Colorado
Jun 28, 2013

Ms

This Hyatt was absolutely beautiful! The main down fall was the housekeeping at 5:30 til 6:30 pm. That is the time we were getting back from excursions and wanting to get ready for Duval Street!! The grounds were picture perfect, lots of ocean views! The pool was nice, hot tub set too high temperature. The Abbey concessions was a nice touch with decent prices for a vacation within a resort, but they close at 6pm. Well lit facility, but not too much-just right for star gazing! The elevators were down 75%of the time, which was inconvenient for bringing items to car for the beach or even to the pool. There were always enough chairs and pool area tables with umbrellas for shade. I would stay here again and would recommend this Hyatt to my family and friends! Compared to other places to stay in Key West, this tops all, unless you are looking for night life right outside your door. This place works for me because my night life is the fact that I can see the crystal clear ocean from anywhere on these grounds, including my balcony-and the fact that I like to connect with my family without all the hustle and bustle of town. I enjoyed my stay and am looking forward to our next family vacation at this Hyatt in Key West! We stayed a week and feel like it was money well spent!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Smathers is right around the corner, but too far to walk to with kids and towels, drinks, etc. Parasailing on Smathers beach was worth the fee, but go in the AM -it's cheaper! Restaurants nearby within walking distance but expensive! Go to Publix for groceries upon arrival.

Review of Hyatt Windward Pointe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NEW YORK
Apr 13, 2011

FANTASTIC VAC PROPERTY

THE ROOMS WHERE GREAT THE GROUNDS VERY WELL KEPT .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

DONT NEED A CAR RENTALTHE AIRPORT IS 2 BLOCKS AND THE CABS ARE GREAT AND CHEEP.

Review of Hyatt Windward Pointe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
proud2teach
Business
Cape Coral, Florida
Aug 10, 2014

Nice comfortable place

Brought the family of 6 for my 20 years anniversary weekend. Pros- Service was good, rooms were clean and spacious, all items in the kitchen worked perfectly, walking to the beach was convenient. Cons-Website should not highlight the infinity pool as it was a disappointing small area (it was hard for me to even find it), problems with the rooms key (had to change the key six times), afternoon pool was unclean with bugs (best to go in the morning).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Hyatt Windward Pointe

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Frank Smoothes
Business
Tampa, FL
Oct 27, 2014

Concierge made our stay

The concierge at Hyatt Windward Pointe, Trish, was an absolute gem. Incredibly accommodating and beyond personable. The other staff members were also very friendly. The grounds were beautiful and the view was great. I will be definitely staying here again upon my next trip to Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are staying for the week, rent an electric car. The cab rides for the week ended up costing around $500.00

Back to menu Return to top