$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 9, 2015

Chelsea House

3 stars
View map of 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
129 reviews
Great weekend get away

Our first time experience at the Chelsea House was awesome. The room was beautiful, large and... See full review

  • Karen C.
  • Aug 18, 2015
Downtown Key West

This was a very nice hotel, in a great location. Beautiful place, nice room, great service,... See full review

  • roseanne l.
  • Dec 29, 2014

The historic Chelsea House sits at the heart of Old Town Key West. Offering rooms in grand Victorian mansions, which date from 1888 and 1906, Chelsea House Pool and Gardens has classic accommodations with modern amenities. The hotel is located just two blocks from famous Duval Street and within walking distance of the restaurants, shopping, bars, and attractions that fill the historic neighborhoods of Key West. Guests at the Chelsea House get free parking, Wi-Fi access, and continental breakfast each morning.

Rooms

The AAA-approved three-diamond Chelsea House offers elegant accommodations, furnished in a historic Key West style. Most rooms feature single beds -- kings, queens or doubles depending on the room -- making them ideal for couples looking to take a romantic escape. However, there are some double queen rooms as well. All guest rooms have private baths with showers, and in-room amenities include cable TVs, telephones, and air conditioning. Most rooms have mini refrigerators, and suites have kitchenettes.

Property features

Built in 1870 and lovingly restored to its former glory, the main mansion at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens boasts hardwood floors, 14-foot ceilings, antique furnishings, and its many porches and balconies evoke the old days of tropical living in Key West. The hotel offers full amenities, including an outdoor pool with private sunbathing, gardens, and free off-street guest parking. The Chelsea House Pool and Gardens serves a complimentary continental breakfast poolside each morning and guests can stay connected with free Wi-Fi in the courtyard.

Highlights
  • Great downtown location, two blocks from Duval Street
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Guest parking (free)
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
Nearby attractions
  • Ernest Hemingway House and Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Mallory Square (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (160 mi/256 km)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea House also booked these hotels.

★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 117 reviews
★★★
$149
3.7 / 5 136 reviews
★★★
$159
4.0 / 5 160 reviews
★★★
$159
3.9 / 5 114 reviews
★★★
$149
4.0 / 5 157 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.0 / 5 83 reviews
★★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 77 reviews
★★★★
$199
4.2 / 5 122 reviews
★★★
$179
3.3 / 5 67 reviews

Chelsea House Rooms

Queen Room
Full Size Bed-Private Bath-AC-TV- Phone-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
Superior
Superior-Upgraded Room-Queen Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-Cont Bkfst-TV Phone-Non Smoking
King Room
King Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-AC-TV-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
2 Queen Beds
2 Queen Beds-Private Bath-Mini-Frig-Cable TV-Continental Breakfast-Non-Smoking
Suite
Suite-King Bed-Sitting Area-Porch-Kitchen-Cont Breakfast-Non Smoking-Max 2 People

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Services
Concierge desk
Security
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control

Dining

Breakfast
A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 830am to 1030 am. Selections include fresh brewed coffee-orange juice- bagels and creme cheese- english muffins with butter and jam- sweet muffins such as banana nut toast- and hot teas
Near-by restaurants
There are no dining facilities on-site, but many restaurants and shops are located within walking distance of the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea House

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 129
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen C.
Family
N/A
Aug 18, 2015

Great weekend get away

Our first time experience at the Chelsea House was awesome. The room was beautiful, large and clean. The staff were very friendly and it was a short walk to Duval so we did not have to use our car. We go to Key West often and have stayed in other Inn's and I must say this was the nicest.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Donna D.
Family
N/A
Aug 11, 2015

Key West experience

I was very appreciative of check-in staff. They had given me a 3rd floor room but when I explained that that would be hard for me due to my knees they changed me to a first floor room close to the pool & breakfast. The room was small but met my needs for my 2 day stay. The pool is quite small & a little too warm for my liking. The continental breakfast was okay but could be bumped up a few notches. I loved the location of the hotel as it was in walking distance to Duvall St. & offered free parking. Overall a great 1st experience to Key West!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D.Z.
Family
Florida
Aug 5, 2014

Nice but disappointed

Chelsea house is a nice set up BUT we left room (with service sign on door) @ 10:00 to return around 3:30 room was not cleaned and most importantly no clean towels -- after a day out fishing in hot sun you need a shower. Maid service showed up after 5:30 handed us clean towels and left . Disappointed for the amount of money you pay you should be able to get clean towels and the room cleaned up. Do no use the fishing guide Chelsea house recommends bad guide no fish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hog Fish Grill . Great Food.

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kaufjj
Family
Florida
Oct 22, 2013

Very accomidating staff

The hotel is clean, beautiful, at a great location, nice continental breakfast, they were very nice about our little dog and stated they are not just pet tolerant but pet friendly, staff at front desk and maintainence were more than accomidating. Small pool was just right , beds comfortable, safe didn't quite work and remote suddenly stopped working but they fixed it right away, can not say enough about this historic inn property.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Sebago sunset snorkeling tour, and of course the Conch train tour are great !

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Blue Water Lovers
Family
New York
Aug 29, 2013

Great place to stay in Key West.

We didn't actually stay at the this location, but the staff quickly accommodated us at one of their other properties which was at least as nice and just as convenient. I can't remember when we were attended to in such an outstanding manner. Please give this hotel or one of it's sister properties a try when going to Key West. We feel the historic district is the only way to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Blue Heaven Café. We've been going there for over 15 years and haven't been disappointed yet. Sunsets at Mallory Square go without saying.

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Altc74
Family
North miami beach
Aug 5, 2013

Nice hotel and pet friendly!!!

Good place for who travel with a dog,close from durval street and other attractions..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saxman50
Family
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Great classic hotel

Very nice; comfortable; quiet; perfect location; quaint; eclectic; nice amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go often / stay late

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Orlando, Fl
Jul 9, 2011

Chelsea House: Your Home Away From Home

The staff is wonderful! We weren't able to make it on the 1st night we had reserved because of a sick pet, but we were graciously offered another night after our intended departure or to only pay for the 2 nights we stayed. We were upgraded to a better room at no extra charge. The room was clean, quaint and spacious. It had a historic feel with a modern twist. The wall mounted flatscreen TV was a nice touch and the a/c was always cold. The refridgerator kept our food and drinks cool and refreshing. The free breakfast was full of variety: fresh crisp apples, bagels & cream cheese, lightly sweetened blueberry muffins, a plethora of cereals with milk, yogurts, coffee, tea, and fresh squeezed orange juice. The hotel is in a prime location. It's far enough away from Duval to make it quiet and peaceful at night, but close enough that we were able to walk to the Hemingway Home, Southern Most Point, Truman's Little White House, the Audubon House, the Aquarium and many more. When we visit next summer we already know where we'll be staying. The Chelsea House was the icing on the cake of our wonderful trip to Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Butterfly & Nature Conservatory. It's breathtaking!http://www.keywestbutterfly.com/

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rraffa
Family
new jersey
Mar 8, 2011

Pleasant surrondings

This was a very pleasant hotel within walking distance of Duval Street. Room was small but very comfortable. We did not spend much time in it. Nice pool, continental breakfast was adequate. Only had small problem with front desk. Over charge and the gentleman at the desk was not very helpful. But I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
XMM
Family
Norwich, CT
Apr 23, 2010

Just so so for the price!

For the price I paid, I don't think this house was the best deal. Our room doesn't have a window, natural light is from bathroom or the door. I like its quiet and not too far from Duval St, but other than that, I don't have more things to praise this house. Breakfast was OK and typical for free, the pool is small and I didn't think anyone would swim in it. The extra point is you get a parking spot for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

I was planning to take Old Town Trolley, but when we got into town, I figured, you don't really need to do that. If you can walk for about 2-3 hours everytime, I guess you may just walk and explore the town on your own schedule, and it's a better way consider all blocks are short and every corner may have a nice and beautiful house.

Back to menu Return to top