$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Chelsea House

3 stars
709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
131 reviews
My four time staying

I have stayed here four times! The rooms are a little different than a hotel room but it works and... See full review

  • Traveling Mermaid80
  • Jul 28, 2014
Very accomidating staff

The hotel is clean, beautiful, at a great location, nice continental breakfast, they were very nice... See full review

  • Kaufjj
  • Oct 22, 2013
Historic Key West hotel offers elegant rooms at the heart of Old Town
The historic Chelsea House Pool and Gardens sits at the heart of Old Town Key West. Offering rooms in grand Victorian mansions, which date from 1888 and 1906, Chelsea House Pool and Gardens has classic accommodations with modern amenities. The hotel is located just two blocks from famous Duval Street and within walking distance of the restaurants, shopping, bars, and attractions that fill the historic neighborhoods of Key West. Guests at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens get free parking, Wi-Fi access, and continental breakfast each morning, and the hotel has a pet policy.
Highlights
  • Great downtown location, two blocks from Duval Street
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Guest parking (free)
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
  • Hotel has a pet policy
Rooms
The AAA-approved three-diamond Chelsea House Pool and Gardens offers elegant accommodations, furnished in a historic Key West style. Most rooms feature single beds -- kings, queens or doubles depending on the room -- making them ideal for couples looking to take a romantic escape. However, there are some double queen rooms as well. All guest rooms have private baths with showers, and in-room amenities include cable TVs, telephones, and air conditioning. Most rooms have mini refrigerators, and suites have kitchenettes. Pets may stay in guest rooms, but guests need to make arrangements ahead of time.
Features
Built in 1870 and lovingly restored to its former glory, the main mansion at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens boasts hardwood floors, 14-foot ceilings, antique furnishings, and its many porches and balconies evoke the old days of tropical living in Key West. The hotel offers full amenities, including an outdoor pool with private sunbathing, gardens, and free off-street guest parking. The Chelsea House Pool and Gardens serves a complimentary continental breakfast poolside each morning and guests can stay connected with free Wi-Fi in the courtyard.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (160 mi/256 km)
Attractions
  • Ernest Hemingway House and Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Mallory Square (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard

Hotel Map

24.553 -81.7968
Nearby airports
Key West International Airport, (EYW), 3.36, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Chelsea House Rooms

Queen Room
Full Size Bed-Private Bath-AC-TV- Phone-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
Superior
Superior-Upgraded Room-Queen Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-Cont Bkfst-TV Phone-Non Smoking
King Room
King Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-AC-TV-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
2 Queen Beds
2 Queen Beds-Private Bath-Mini-Frig-Cable TV-Continental Breakfast-Non-Smoking
Suite
Suite-King Bed-Sitting Area-Porch-Kitchen-Cont Breakfast-Non Smoking-Max 2 People

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Services
Concierge desk
Security
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control

Dining

Breakfast
A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 830am to 1030 am. Selections include fresh brewed coffee-orange juice- bagels and creme cheese- english muffins with butter and jam- sweet muffins such as banana nut toast- and hot teas
Near-by restaurants
There are no dining facilities on-site, but many restaurants and shops are located within walking distance of the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea House

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dubbie
Business
Langhorne
May 30, 2012

Our First B & B Visit

Hotel is very old but nice looking and well kept on the outside. On our first night, we were out in town until 11 PM. When we arrived in our room, there were ants/termites all over the bed. I knew we would not get a room anywhere since it was the holiday weekend so we remade and shook all the bugs off and tried to sleep. The next morning I told the office to change the bed and spray the room since I was freaked, she said it was termites because of the humidity and age of the property. Their buffet breakfast was similiar to the hotel continental breakfasts nothing personal or special, quite disappointing from some of the reviews I had read of B & B's. Pool was very clean and had a nice shaded area. We stayed out of the room the entire second day and only went back to shower. There were bugs in one of our bags which contained cookies and food bought as souvenirs but we had to toss everything. We left very early the next day. There were no personal touches in this resort. Not an enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duffy;s restaurant, went for dinner, very clean and excellent food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
wildwood crest, NJ
May 25, 2009

Achy Back!

The queen size bed had the most horrible mattress I have every slept on. My husband ended up sleeping on the floor after I pleaded with him not too because let's face it, any motel floor is not clean, but if he wanted to get any sleep he had to. It creaked and squeaked and sprung at our backs all night. How horrible!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
moondog
Business
cape coral florida
Apr 22, 2012

not a posh B&B

a mish mash of buildings looks better from the curb than inside - room is very small, bathroom even smaller

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Vin for wine no corking fee sit and watch the street ballet on Duval Street in quiet comfort

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mc and jl
Business
illinois
Aug 13, 2012

Needs a lot more TLC

Have been coming to the Keys for about 20+ years and have stayed at this B&B, Since this B&B changed ownership, the hospitability and comfort has decreased, The breakfast is now a continental provided within a small timeframe not allowing the comfort of sleeping late, the cleanliness of the rooms is poor (We had to call to get our room cleaned, The bed was made poorly, The room was not vaccumed.), and the staff is not as social as before, Cannot complain about the pool or the location (but once you arrive don't move your car because parking is poor). YES, we are looking for another place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Key West Trip 4
Business
South Florida
Jun 22, 2013

Not what I expected.

Room was very small, but the location of it was nice-- Downstairs and off by itself. However, when people were moving upstairs you could REALLY hear it. The staff was okay at check-in. Kind of got the impression they "oh, here's another tourist".... Breakfast was okay. The croissants they have are nice, but grab a muffin fast or the ants might get it first. Bed sheets kind of bunched up as you slept, and the bed was mediocre. Location from Duval was pretty great, especially the lighthouse, Hemingway house, and southernmost point.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Southernmost point lighthouse Hemingway house Jack Flats for the game

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hkinphilly
Business
Philadelphia
Aug 27, 2013

disappointing

Up two flights of steps, we stayed in an attic room. I would have been happy to book somewhere else if I had known this was all that was available. The second staircase is too steep and narrow to bring up a suitcase - we're in our 30's and relatively fit, but felt the struggle wasn't worth it, so we left our bags in the car. Our room was tiny, with more than half of it under a pitched roof. There was almost no where to even set things down except on the bed. Just thinking of it, I feel claustrophobic! I really don't think the attic should be an option for paying guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, New York
Jan 22, 2011

S'okay

The Chelsea House was a fabulous location in an area that was most convenient to all of Old Town Key West. The historic nature of the house and grounds was fantastic and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room and grounds are getting tatty about the edges and, although the room was clean, the fan did not work, there was no access to the AC (without standing on top of our luggage) which blasted constantly and it was by far the most uncomfortable mattress we have ever encountered. Great potential and you could see what made them a success in the past- needs a significant overhaul for the price charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
key largo, fl
Aug 6, 2011

business

The room was in a great location and was old key west style, but could have been cleaned up some more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton, FL
Jul 28, 2008

Bad location

The room was Ok, but the location was not so good and was very dissatisfied with breakfast, nothing to write home about.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Key Wester
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 13, 2010

Disappointed

The room was advertised a superior queen room - a joke! We have stayed at many B&B's in Key West. This room was so tiny, no closet (3 pegs on the wall). The only redeeming quality was that the A/C was nice and cold and the small balcony eased the chlostrophic nature of the room. The bed was an old spring mattress - very uncomfortable. Room felt like an old cheap motel on the side of the road. The TV remote didn't work, but that didn't matter because neither did the TV! We also had the company of tiny ants on the nightstands. The only redeeming quality of the place was the location - its only a blocks from Duval Street. Would not book here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top