$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 4, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

Chelsea House

3 stars
709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
186 reviews
Very accomidating staff

The hotel is clean, beautiful, at a great location, nice continental breakfast, they were very nice... See full review

  • Kaufjj
  • Oct 22, 2013
Nice hotel and pet friendly!!!

Good place for who travel with a dog,close from durval street and other attractions.. See full review

  • Altc74
  • Aug 5, 2013
Historic Key West hotel offers elegant rooms at the heart of Old Town
The historic Chelsea House Pool and Gardens sits at the heart of Old Town Key West. Offering rooms in grand Victorian mansions, which date from 1888 and 1906, Chelsea House Pool and Gardens has classic accommodations with modern amenities. The hotel is located just two blocks from famous Duval Street and within walking distance of the restaurants, shopping, bars, and attractions that fill the historic neighborhoods of Key West. Guests at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens get free parking, Wi-Fi access, and continental breakfast each morning, and the hotel has a pet policy.
Highlights
  • Great downtown location, two blocks from Duval Street
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Guest parking (free)
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
  • Hotel has a pet policy
Rooms
The AAA-approved three-diamond Chelsea House Pool and Gardens offers elegant accommodations, furnished in a historic Key West style. Most rooms feature single beds -- kings, queens or doubles depending on the room -- making them ideal for couples looking to take a romantic escape. However, there are some double queen rooms as well. All guest rooms have private baths with showers, and in-room amenities include cable TVs, telephones, and air conditioning. Most rooms have mini refrigerators, and suites have kitchenettes. Pets may stay in guest rooms, but guests need to make arrangements ahead of time.
Features
Built in 1870 and lovingly restored to its former glory, the main mansion at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens boasts hardwood floors, 14-foot ceilings, antique furnishings, and its many porches and balconies evoke the old days of tropical living in Key West. The hotel offers full amenities, including an outdoor pool with private sunbathing, gardens, and free off-street guest parking. The Chelsea House Pool and Gardens serves a complimentary continental breakfast poolside each morning and guests can stay connected with free Wi-Fi in the courtyard.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (160 mi/256 km)
Attractions
  • Ernest Hemingway House and Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Mallory Square (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard

Hotel Map

24.553 -81.7968
Nearby airports
Key West International Airport, (EYW), 3.36, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Chelsea House Rooms

Queen Room
Full Size Bed-Private Bath-AC-TV- Phone-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
Superior
Superior-Upgraded Room-Queen Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-Cont Bkfst-TV Phone-Non Smoking
King Room
King Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-AC-TV-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
2 Queen Beds
2 Queen Beds-Private Bath-Mini-Frig-Cable TV-Continental Breakfast-Non-Smoking
Suite
Suite-King Bed-Sitting Area-Porch-Kitchen-Cont Breakfast-Non Smoking-Max 2 People

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Services
Concierge desk
Security
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control

Dining

Breakfast
A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 830am to 1030 am. Selections include fresh brewed coffee-orange juice- bagels and creme cheese- english muffins with butter and jam- sweet muffins such as banana nut toast- and hot teas
Near-by restaurants
There are no dining facilities on-site, but many restaurants and shops are located within walking distance of the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (186)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea House

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
186 out of 186
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Dec 12, 2009

Great Choice

We went to Key West to get married. And the hotel was perfect for that occasion. The complementary breakfast really comes in handy, considering the overpriced restaurants on the island, plus it has great variaty. We loved our room, it was really spacious, we even were able to keep our rented bikes in the room overnite. The location is perfect, close enough to everything and yet quiet, what you probably won't get if you stay on the main street. For our occasion it was perfect and I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

When in Key West, I highly recommend renting bikes. It's cheap, you don't have to deal with traffic, finding parkin spots or refuelling. And you can go anywhere in the island in minutes.

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, Florida
Apr 5, 2010

Great Getaway

It was a woderful experience, great location, staff really helpful, a nice break from the daily stress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Saint Charles, MO
Jul 24, 2009

Great Hotel in a Great Location

We recently stayed at this hotel on road trip through southern Florida and it was the nicest place we stayed. The people who worked there were very friendly and upgraded our room for no reason. The room was very spacious and had everything you could want in a hotel. There were beautiful tropical plants everywhere and a nice balcony. We were only two blocks from Duval Street so we were able to walk everywhere. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Duval Street is a 3 minute walk where you can eat, shop or drink.

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Fort Pierce, FL
Jul 27, 2008

Very comfortable,relaxing and clean.

The Chelsea House was a great place to stay in . It was the perfect location and it was decorated very nice. The continental breakfast was the best I have ever had from any hotel. Everything was fresh. I would deff. recommend this hotel to all friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel is two blocks from duval shopping and all entertainment. It's also 15 minutes on foot away from the port to all the snorkeling trips.

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 28, 2008

Better than most

The Chelsea House and Gardens is a lovely place to stay in Key West. The landscape is wonderful. The staff was friendly and the continental breakfast was very good. It was a great value for the price and I will stay there on my next visit to Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Cheslea House is near the intersection of Truman and Duval, which puts you at the heart of Key West.

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jesse Gomez
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 10, 2013

Great Hotel

Nice, informative staff and the hotel is perfectly situated in a quiet part of town...walkable to everything!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Sep 17, 2007

Excellent Biker friendly!

We went to Key West for Bike weekend and the hotel was very Biker Friendly! Onsite parking for motorcycles and towels and water hose provided to clean your bike. We stayed in an Economy room and it was very comfortable with a private bath with large shower. Only two blocks from all the activity on Duvol st. A great continnental breakfast was provided also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

All of the nightlife on Duvol St.

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Apr 6, 2008

Wonderfull

Every year that i travel to Key West I stay there. It is just a wonderfull quiet place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The main street Duval is near by!

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Dec 28, 2008

Nice atmosphere ....

Chelsea House Pool and Gardens, Key West, Florida was a great place to stay for a weekend getaway! Centrally located only 2 blocks from Duvall street. The room had lots of character reminiscent of a late 1800's home. Nicely maintained with lots of great windows, tree top views with a nice veranda right outside our room. The only minor issue was low water pressure in the shower - but we had lots of hot water for our showers! We ate breakfast each morning by the pool and dinner at a very nice fresh sea food restaurant - try the lobster - south on the corner across the street. We only used our car when we went to the other side of the island and took a sunset sail on the incredible Adirondack II schooner! What a dream getaway!!! I highly recommend the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens in Key West, Florida!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The pirates museum was close to the sail boat and had some pretty cool stuff!

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RhodeIslanders
Narragansett,RI
Jan 7, 2011

Chelsea House Review

Hotel very inviting and centrally located making sightseeing on foot very easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for restaurants north and south of Duval rather than on Duval west.

Back to menu Return to top