$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Chelsea House

3 stars
View map of 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea House

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ohio
Feb 25, 2011

"Just Like Back Home"

We have stayed at a Bed and Breakfast once before and in all fairness to us, we love the more modern Hotels with all the plus's. But our daughter booked this for us for the covenience of walking to all the areas the Keys has to offer. On that note, you could not have gotten anything any better! We tried the pool one night and it was lovely although I am only 5 foot tall and the step down off the pool steps I almost went under. I loved the pool area. Very cozy. A vending machine for something to drink would have been nice. As for our room, it was ok. I was disappointed that we had such a small room and it was only a queen size bed. I am a bathtub person and we only had a shower. It was very well kept up for such a old building and I would probably tell others about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I have never seen so many Clubs with someone entertaining in my life! The atmosphere on Duval Street was unbelievable! So many shops!!

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Feb 21, 2011

Very nice

Close to Duval. Quiet. Nice room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seca Rider
Business
Palm Bay, FL
Feb 8, 2011

Historic Key West

Location was great as we like to walk - 3 blocks from Duval and 20 min from Mallory Square. Room was small but quite adequate and had a lot of character. The facility in general was very nice - helpful staff, great pool area and lots of porches and decks for sun or shade. On site parking is a plus for Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Italy
Jan 24, 2011

nice hotel

Nice hotel in general but bathroom too small and breakfast very very poor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ithaca, New York
Jan 22, 2011

S'okay

The Chelsea House was a fabulous location in an area that was most convenient to all of Old Town Key West. The historic nature of the house and grounds was fantastic and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room and grounds are getting tatty about the edges and, although the room was clean, the fan did not work, there was no access to the AC (without standing on top of our luggage) which blasted constantly and it was by far the most uncomfortable mattress we have ever encountered. Great potential and you could see what made them a success in the past- needs a significant overhaul for the price charged.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RhodeIslanders
Business
Narragansett,RI
Jan 7, 2011

Chelsea House Review

Hotel very inviting and centrally located making sightseeing on foot very easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Look for restaurants north and south of Duval rather than on Duval west.

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dodgern
Business
NC
Dec 4, 2010

Home Away From Home

This hotel was exceptional from the beginning! At the hotel registration, we were greeted by a nice gentleman who was very informative and knowledgeable about the area and the things to do. The room was indeed, a good example of older architecture. 14 foot ceiling,large room (we reserved the superior queen room),the bed a little larger than just queen,and the shower with marble tile was very clean and well looked after!We had a deck that was shared with 1 other room,It overlooked the pool area and the clothing optional deck ;o) No-one ever took advantage of that deck while we were there though! The walls were a little "thin" because you could definitely hear everything in the neighboring rooms!! The airconditioning was not annoying except that we couldn't change the settings due to a lock!!! We actually wanted to turn it up so it wasn't quite so cold in the room!!!! The landscaping was nice and well-maintained.The proximity to most attractions was great!! We walked all over the lower part of the key and walked to the beach as well!!!! I definitely recommend renting a scooter!! We were able to get around the whole key easily and most drivers there were very considerate of those of us on scooters!! We are definitely coming back to Key West and will probably stay at the Chelsea House again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go and rent a scooter.There are two rental places very close to Chelsea House! A+M Rentals do NOT require previous experience with one whereas "The other place" does and you will pay an extra fee for being inexperienced!!!!There is parking places for scooters everywhere, you just need to locate them! AND THEY ARE FREE no charge!!!

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
miwaukee, wi
Nov 17, 2010

all the charm of old key west

chelsea house is a cross between a B&B and a hotel. comfortable rooms, ours seemed newly refurnished. location is ideal, walking distance to duval street, hemingway's home and the southern most point. enjoyed breakfast poolside in the am and several evenings sat out in the same area just enjoying the beautiful evening and a margarita with friends. this was our second stay at chelsea house and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DT Blue
Business
Tarpon Springs, Fl.
Jul 6, 2010

Our Trip To The Keys

Our trip to the Florida Keys was very nice and we wish we were able to say the same of our hotel experience. Value to room size and cleanliness was not good at all. There were live bugs in the shower and bathroom sink, and there was no water pressure at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Italian - Virgilio's on Duval St. Excellent food, and the service was great. Price was reasonable as well.

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, Alabama
Jun 28, 2010

Not Impressed

Key West is a very interesting town. Lots of sun and water. There is a lot of history to see during the day and entertainment at night. There was plenty of good parking at the Chelsea when we arrived. It has a great location to resturants and entertainment. It was just a couple of blocks off Duval; however, our room was nowhere near as nice as the photos shown on line. Our room was very small and the bathroom was tiny. Even though it was small the window air conditioner could not keep up. Thank goodness for the ceiling fan. The hall outside our room was covered in paper and leaves. It was never cleaned the entire time we were there. Worst of all were the ants in bathroom. The pool side breakfast was OK. The coffee was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Heaven was certainly the most interesting place we dined. The food and live entertainment were great. The cats and chickens wondering through the outside dining area made it the most unique place I ever dined.

Back to menu Return to top