$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Chelsea House

3 stars
709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
129 reviews
My four time staying

I have stayed here four times! The rooms are a little different than a hotel room but it works and... See full review

  • Traveling Mermaid80
  • Jul 28, 2014
Very accomidating staff

The hotel is clean, beautiful, at a great location, nice continental breakfast, they were very nice... See full review

  • Kaufjj
  • Oct 22, 2013
Historic Key West hotel offers elegant rooms at the heart of Old Town
The historic Chelsea House Pool and Gardens sits at the heart of Old Town Key West. Offering rooms in grand Victorian mansions, which date from 1888 and 1906, Chelsea House Pool and Gardens has classic accommodations with modern amenities. The hotel is located just two blocks from famous Duval Street and within walking distance of the restaurants, shopping, bars, and attractions that fill the historic neighborhoods of Key West. Guests at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens get free parking, Wi-Fi access, and continental breakfast each morning, and the hotel has a pet policy.
Highlights
  • Great downtown location, two blocks from Duval Street
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Guest parking (free)
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
  • Hotel has a pet policy
Rooms
The AAA-approved three-diamond Chelsea House Pool and Gardens offers elegant accommodations, furnished in a historic Key West style. Most rooms feature single beds -- kings, queens or doubles depending on the room -- making them ideal for couples looking to take a romantic escape. However, there are some double queen rooms as well. All guest rooms have private baths with showers, and in-room amenities include cable TVs, telephones, and air conditioning. Most rooms have mini refrigerators, and suites have kitchenettes. Pets may stay in guest rooms, but guests need to make arrangements ahead of time.
Features
Built in 1870 and lovingly restored to its former glory, the main mansion at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens boasts hardwood floors, 14-foot ceilings, antique furnishings, and its many porches and balconies evoke the old days of tropical living in Key West. The hotel offers full amenities, including an outdoor pool with private sunbathing, gardens, and free off-street guest parking. The Chelsea House Pool and Gardens serves a complimentary continental breakfast poolside each morning and guests can stay connected with free Wi-Fi in the courtyard.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (160 mi/256 km)
Attractions
  • Ernest Hemingway House and Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Mallory Square (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard

Hotel Map

24.553 -81.7968
Nearby airports
Key West International Airport, (EYW), 3.36, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Chelsea House Rooms

Queen Room
Full Size Bed-Private Bath-AC-TV- Phone-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
Superior
Superior-Upgraded Room-Queen Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-Cont Bkfst-TV Phone-Non Smoking
King Room
King Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-AC-TV-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
2 Queen Beds
2 Queen Beds-Private Bath-Mini-Frig-Cable TV-Continental Breakfast-Non-Smoking
Suite
Suite-King Bed-Sitting Area-Porch-Kitchen-Cont Breakfast-Non Smoking-Max 2 People

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Services
Concierge desk
Security
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control

Dining

Breakfast
A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 830am to 1030 am. Selections include fresh brewed coffee-orange juice- bagels and creme cheese- english muffins with butter and jam- sweet muffins such as banana nut toast- and hot teas
Near-by restaurants
There are no dining facilities on-site, but many restaurants and shops are located within walking distance of the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea House

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Key West Rookie
Warsaw,IN.
Apr 24, 2011

great place to stay

This was a great place to stay. Location was perfect, close to everything,but not too close. The employees were very helpful and friendly. The room was very nice and accommodating. If you like hotel chains, don't stay here. If your'e good with a homey feel and piece and quiet when your'e away from the excitement then stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

use fury adventures, best bang for the buck, friendly and helpful crew. do the ultimate.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
KLG
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 14, 2011

OVERPRICED

After staying at The Reach last year, I wanted more of a "quaint Key West inn-type" of place. Well, it's one of Key West's Historic Inns, but way too overpriced for the tiny (and I mean TINY) room we had. One person could barely turn around in the bathroom...no extra space for toiletries, no closet, etc. Location is great, walking distance to everything. Next time, I'll opt for the more contemporary setting. Breakfast okay, but should have fresh fruit..after all you are in Florida.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rraffa
new jersey
Mar 8, 2011

Pleasant surrondings

This was a very pleasant hotel within walking distance of Duval Street. Room was small but very comfortable. We did not spend much time in it. Nice pool, continental breakfast was adequate. Only had small problem with front desk. Over charge and the gentleman at the desk was not very helpful. But I would recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Donna Red
Florida
Mar 7, 2011

Great location. Full size bed not queen.

We asked for a queen size bed, but it was a full size. I actually had a tape measure and took measurements. Breakfast was good. Employees were nice and helpful. Great location. We parked our vehicle and walked every where we went.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

A visit the Key West Butterfly Conservatory is a must!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eddie Z
Madison, WI
Mar 7, 2011

A Warm Retreat

Escaping from the MidWestern Winter, my wife and I booked three days at the Chelsea House. We found the compound of large Victorian houses to be clean and well-maintained. Our room and bath were spacious and the high ceilings, four poster bed, and antique furnishings oozed turn-of-the-century charm. The palm trees and plants around the place were awesome. The off-street parking was convenient and Duval street was only two blocks away. The staff was friendly and competent. All in all, a wonderful stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the Sunset Cruise at Mallory Square. For a modest sum you enjoy a couple hour cruise on a catamaran with all the free beer, champagne, or wine you care to drink. Cheers!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Woodbury, MN
Mar 1, 2011

February 2011

The room was a little small but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. It was very clean and the staff was very helpful. Our room was cleaned and the bed made when we came back from breakfast!!! I was very happy with our stay there and would definitely stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
Feb 25, 2011

"Just Like Back Home"

We have stayed at a Bed and Breakfast once before and in all fairness to us, we love the more modern Hotels with all the plus's. But our daughter booked this for us for the covenience of walking to all the areas the Keys has to offer. On that note, you could not have gotten anything any better! We tried the pool one night and it was lovely although I am only 5 foot tall and the step down off the pool steps I almost went under. I loved the pool area. Very cozy. A vending machine for something to drink would have been nice. As for our room, it was ok. I was disappointed that we had such a small room and it was only a queen size bed. I am a bathtub person and we only had a shower. It was very well kept up for such a old building and I would probably tell others about it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

I have never seen so many Clubs with someone entertaining in my life! The atmosphere on Duval Street was unbelievable! So many shops!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Feb 21, 2011

Very nice

Close to Duval. Quiet. Nice room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seca Rider
Palm Bay, FL
Feb 8, 2011

Historic Key West

Location was great as we like to walk - 3 blocks from Duval and 20 min from Mallory Square. Room was small but quite adequate and had a lot of character. The facility in general was very nice - helpful staff, great pool area and lots of porches and decks for sun or shade. On site parking is a plus for Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Italy
Jan 24, 2011

nice hotel

Nice hotel in general but bathroom too small and breakfast very very poor

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search