$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Chelsea House

3 stars
709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
131 reviews
My four time staying

I have stayed here four times! The rooms are a little different than a hotel room but it works and... See full review

  • Traveling Mermaid80
  • Jul 28, 2014
Very accomidating staff

The hotel is clean, beautiful, at a great location, nice continental breakfast, they were very nice... See full review

  • Kaufjj
  • Oct 22, 2013
Historic Key West hotel offers elegant rooms at the heart of Old Town
The historic Chelsea House Pool and Gardens sits at the heart of Old Town Key West. Offering rooms in grand Victorian mansions, which date from 1888 and 1906, Chelsea House Pool and Gardens has classic accommodations with modern amenities. The hotel is located just two blocks from famous Duval Street and within walking distance of the restaurants, shopping, bars, and attractions that fill the historic neighborhoods of Key West. Guests at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens get free parking, Wi-Fi access, and continental breakfast each morning, and the hotel has a pet policy.
Highlights
  • Great downtown location, two blocks from Duval Street
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Guest parking (free)
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
  • Hotel has a pet policy
Rooms
The AAA-approved three-diamond Chelsea House Pool and Gardens offers elegant accommodations, furnished in a historic Key West style. Most rooms feature single beds -- kings, queens or doubles depending on the room -- making them ideal for couples looking to take a romantic escape. However, there are some double queen rooms as well. All guest rooms have private baths with showers, and in-room amenities include cable TVs, telephones, and air conditioning. Most rooms have mini refrigerators, and suites have kitchenettes. Pets may stay in guest rooms, but guests need to make arrangements ahead of time.
Features
Built in 1870 and lovingly restored to its former glory, the main mansion at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens boasts hardwood floors, 14-foot ceilings, antique furnishings, and its many porches and balconies evoke the old days of tropical living in Key West. The hotel offers full amenities, including an outdoor pool with private sunbathing, gardens, and free off-street guest parking. The Chelsea House Pool and Gardens serves a complimentary continental breakfast poolside each morning and guests can stay connected with free Wi-Fi in the courtyard.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (160 mi/256 km)
Attractions
  • Ernest Hemingway House and Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Mallory Square (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard

Hotel Map

24.553 -81.7968
Nearby airports
Key West International Airport, (EYW), 3.36, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Chelsea House Rooms

Queen Room
Full Size Bed-Private Bath-AC-TV- Phone-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
Superior
Superior-Upgraded Room-Queen Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-Cont Bkfst-TV Phone-Non Smoking
King Room
King Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-AC-TV-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
2 Queen Beds
2 Queen Beds-Private Bath-Mini-Frig-Cable TV-Continental Breakfast-Non-Smoking
Suite
Suite-King Bed-Sitting Area-Porch-Kitchen-Cont Breakfast-Non Smoking-Max 2 People

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Services
Concierge desk
Security
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control

Dining

Breakfast
A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 830am to 1030 am. Selections include fresh brewed coffee-orange juice- bagels and creme cheese- english muffins with butter and jam- sweet muffins such as banana nut toast- and hot teas
Near-by restaurants
There are no dining facilities on-site, but many restaurants and shops are located within walking distance of the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea House

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Saxman50
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Great classic hotel

Very nice; comfortable; quiet; perfect location; quaint; eclectic; nice amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Go often / stay late

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
benjerry
Business
Haverhill, MA
Oct 3, 2011

Great location

Pleanty of parking was observed when we arrived. We also were pleased that the room was very clean and comfortable. There was also a rather large pool on-site that made for nice relaxing afternoon cooling off sessions for not only us but quite a few other guests. Overall value for the money is good. Having shopped around for the best location/deal Chelsea House Pool and Gardens is a place I will viste when next I travel to Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many local resturance were offering some great specials on dinners. Also a few of the local watering holes were offering 2 for one drinbks and other deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
key largo, fl
Aug 6, 2011

business

The room was in a great location and was old key west style, but could have been cleaned up some more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ft. Lauderdale
Jul 27, 2011

Nice Find!

An historic old building for sure but clean and charming. Just far enough from Duval and all the action to be a real haven to come back to. The pool, gardens, other guests and the staff made the stay very enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the Fin restaurant on Duval. A really good small plate experience. Also find time for a trip to Blue Heaven on Pretoria. Their Key Lime pie is the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Fl
Jul 21, 2011

Getaway

The Chelsea is what i expected cute, comfortable getaway..For us it provided what we wanted, which was free parking,close to duval,reasonable price and very nice informative host. We left early before our checkout and we left our keys behind and received a call from the host and we were able to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

The restaurants and stores are just a few blocks away yet far enough that you dont hear the partying at night and can get some rest also. Theres a shopping center with a CVS,pizza,subway and Dennys right before all the others and that was very convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Fl
Jul 9, 2011

Chelsea House: Your Home Away From Home

The staff is wonderful! We weren't able to make it on the 1st night we had reserved because of a sick pet, but we were graciously offered another night after our intended departure or to only pay for the 2 nights we stayed. We were upgraded to a better room at no extra charge. The room was clean, quaint and spacious. It had a historic feel with a modern twist. The wall mounted flatscreen TV was a nice touch and the a/c was always cold. The refridgerator kept our food and drinks cool and refreshing. The free breakfast was full of variety: fresh crisp apples, bagels & cream cheese, lightly sweetened blueberry muffins, a plethora of cereals with milk, yogurts, coffee, tea, and fresh squeezed orange juice. The hotel is in a prime location. It's far enough away from Duval to make it quiet and peaceful at night, but close enough that we were able to walk to the Hemingway Home, Southern Most Point, Truman's Little White House, the Audubon House, the Aquarium and many more. When we visit next summer we already know where we'll be staying. The Chelsea House was the icing on the cake of our wonderful trip to Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss the Butterfly & Nature Conservatory. It's breathtaking!http://www.keywestbutterfly.com/

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boca Raton, Florida
Jun 20, 2011

Nice place to go to

We found the hotel to be nice and clean the staff was very accomodating, however for the price I expected more of the hotel. It was farther from downtown that I expected and that caused an additional expense for cab fare. Other than that we had a very good time at "Sloppy Joes Bar" and at a tour we took through the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the sunset at Mallory Square lots of fun and activity.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rush,Ky
Jun 12, 2011

Chelsea House Review

Any time spent with my wife is priceless. The Chelsea House was clean the grounds were well kept,the house staff did not speak english at all and seemed to be preturb when I call the front desk to have them make the bed, we were out until 5:00 pm and the room had not been serviced. We had the best room in the bed and breakfest, it was quite small with a 17 inch tv mounted on the wall.Probably will not stay here again. There are much better deals in Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

A&B Restaurant is the best on the island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hallandale Beach, FL
Jun 6, 2011

Memorial Weekend @ The Chelsea

Love The Chelsea!!! Will stay there again and will recommend.. The hotel was walking distance from all the entertainment, the rooms were a good size for a couple and we were greeted by staff always with a smile. :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Russ from Brooklyn
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Jun 3, 2011

Chelsea: quaint and convenient!

The chelsea house & pool hotel was a pleasant experience from start to finish. Built over a hundred years ago, the building has a charming, welcoming quality. Upon check in, the clerk behind the desk greeted me warmly, had a map of the local vicinity handy, and even escorted me up to my room. Every morning, beside the small but functional pool out back, the hotel staff put out a complimentary breakfast spread consisting of cereal, milk, blueberry muffins, bagels, and orange juice. The staff was friendly but not overbearing. Two house cats lazed around as I enjoyed my morning meal, peacefully chatting with fellow patrons. The hotel is two short blocks away from Duval Street, the main shopping and attraction avenue in Key West. Nearby were also a Papa Johns, CVS, Denny's, moped rental store, laundromat, and steak house. The only knock on the hotel was that I was placed in a room on the third floor, directly under the roof. This meant that the left wall of the room was sharply slanted. I almost banged my head a couple of times getting into and out of bed from the left side. Overall, I have no hesitation recommending the Chelsea house & pool bed and breakfast for Key West visitors. Just ask for a room not on the top floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Mopeds can be rented nearby but it's more fun to walk around. The island is small.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top