$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

Chelsea House

3 stars
View map of 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea House

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oz MIA
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 9, 2012

Enjoyable Stay....

First Of all, when I chose this hotel, I wanted a hotel that repressents the culture and the history of the town... and The Chelsea House delivered... If you are looking for the comfort of The WALDORF HOTEL, this is not it... Most of the time , my wife and I were out enjoying ourselves and enjoying the local seafood... The location was perfect for us and is a walking distance to DUVAL ST ( 2 blocks), Hemingway's House ( 3 blocks), etc... Pretty much all the historical sites that are worth visting are at close proximity...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Key West Visitor
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Jun 4, 2012

Quality Lodging

The hotel room, while possibly slight small, was more than sufficient to house our party at a reasonable price. The beds were nice, as were the linens, and the bathroom attached had very nice modern looking amenities. All in all, it was a pleasant stay for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dubbie
Business
Langhorne
May 30, 2012

Our First B & B Visit

Hotel is very old but nice looking and well kept on the outside. On our first night, we were out in town until 11 PM. When we arrived in our room, there were ants/termites all over the bed. I knew we would not get a room anywhere since it was the holiday weekend so we remade and shook all the bugs off and tried to sleep. The next morning I told the office to change the bed and spray the room since I was freaked, she said it was termites because of the humidity and age of the property. Their buffet breakfast was similiar to the hotel continental breakfasts nothing personal or special, quite disappointing from some of the reviews I had read of B & B's. Pool was very clean and had a nice shaded area. We stayed out of the room the entire second day and only went back to shower. There were bugs in one of our bags which contained cookies and food bought as souvenirs but we had to toss everything. We left very early the next day. There were no personal touches in this resort. Not an enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duffy;s restaurant, went for dinner, very clean and excellent food and service.

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CWilliams
Business
Saint Clair Shores, MI
May 22, 2012

Key West getaway

This was our first time to Key West. We only stayed for one night but had a lot of fun. The Chelsea house was an amazing place to stay. Very warm and comfortable. I love those old Victorian houses. They are beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L D F
Business
Bella Vista, AR
May 11, 2012

Good location

Comfortable room. Could have had some fruit for us at the Continental Breakfast besides apples, but was suficient. Parking a little tight, but we had the bicycles with us, so didn't need to move the truck. Had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Play golf at Key West after 1st of May for lower rates.

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Manny Fish
Business
Tampa
May 10, 2012

Chelsea House

Nice place. Small Room. Good location. Staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Birky
Business
Butler PA
Apr 28, 2012

Great Key west getaway

The Hotel was very close to the heart of Key West so we could walk. Great pool and lounge area. Close to several scooter places ( a must in Key West).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a scooter. You can be all over the island in minutes

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
moondog
Business
cape coral florida
Apr 22, 2012

not a posh B&B

a mish mash of buildings looks better from the curb than inside - room is very small, bathroom even smaller

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Grand Vin for wine no corking fee sit and watch the street ballet on Duval Street in quiet comfort

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moondog
Business
cape coral florida
Apr 22, 2012

good place if not in room much

room bathroom too small, but good place central location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

smokin tuna - great music

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sit John A.
Business
Ontario, Canada
Apr 6, 2012

Nice setting Tiny room

The garden and pool area is very nice. Good that there is free parking which is unusual in this area. The room was tiny and the bathroom even smalller. That would have been OK if the bed had been comfortable. It was too old, soft and sank in the middle. It was so bad I could hardly get to sleep and had to hang over the side so I didn't roll to the middle. The TV was old and mounted beside the bed so you couldn't watch it in comfort. I think this room is only suited to one person. Not two. No room to put bags. (Room 14) Even with these problems I would go back here with hopefully a better room. Other people said their rooms were great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top