$219 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Chelsea House

3 stars
709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
132 reviews
My four time staying

I have stayed here four times! The rooms are a little different than a hotel room but it works and... See full review

  • Traveling Mermaid80
  • Jul 28, 2014
Very accomidating staff

The hotel is clean, beautiful, at a great location, nice continental breakfast, they were very nice... See full review

  • Kaufjj
  • Oct 22, 2013
Historic Key West hotel offers elegant rooms at the heart of Old Town
The historic Chelsea House Pool and Gardens sits at the heart of Old Town Key West. Offering rooms in grand Victorian mansions, which date from 1888 and 1906, Chelsea House Pool and Gardens has classic accommodations with modern amenities. The hotel is located just two blocks from famous Duval Street and within walking distance of the restaurants, shopping, bars, and attractions that fill the historic neighborhoods of Key West. Guests at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens get free parking, Wi-Fi access, and continental breakfast each morning, and the hotel has a pet policy.
Highlights
  • Great downtown location, two blocks from Duval Street
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Guest parking (free)
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
  • Hotel has a pet policy
Rooms
The AAA-approved three-diamond Chelsea House Pool and Gardens offers elegant accommodations, furnished in a historic Key West style. Most rooms feature single beds -- kings, queens or doubles depending on the room -- making them ideal for couples looking to take a romantic escape. However, there are some double queen rooms as well. All guest rooms have private baths with showers, and in-room amenities include cable TVs, telephones, and air conditioning. Most rooms have mini refrigerators, and suites have kitchenettes. Pets may stay in guest rooms, but guests need to make arrangements ahead of time.
Features
Built in 1870 and lovingly restored to its former glory, the main mansion at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens boasts hardwood floors, 14-foot ceilings, antique furnishings, and its many porches and balconies evoke the old days of tropical living in Key West. The hotel offers full amenities, including an outdoor pool with private sunbathing, gardens, and free off-street guest parking. The Chelsea House Pool and Gardens serves a complimentary continental breakfast poolside each morning and guests can stay connected with free Wi-Fi in the courtyard.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (160 mi/256 km)
Attractions
  • Ernest Hemingway House and Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Mallory Square (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Chelsea House Rooms

Queen Room
Full Size Bed-Private Bath-AC-TV- Phone-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
Superior
Superior-Upgraded Room-Queen Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-Cont Bkfst-TV Phone-Non Smoking
King Room
King Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-AC-TV-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
2 Queen Beds
2 Queen Beds-Private Bath-Mini-Frig-Cable TV-Continental Breakfast-Non-Smoking
Suite
Suite-King Bed-Sitting Area-Porch-Kitchen-Cont Breakfast-Non Smoking-Max 2 People

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Services
Concierge desk
Security
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control

Dining

Breakfast
A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 830am to 1030 am. Selections include fresh brewed coffee-orange juice- bagels and creme cheese- english muffins with butter and jam- sweet muffins such as banana nut toast- and hot teas
Near-by restaurants
There are no dining facilities on-site, but many restaurants and shops are located within walking distance of the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (132)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea House

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
132 out of 132
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sloppy Joe
Business
SW Missouri
Oct 25, 2012

Nice Accomodations

Plenty of off-street parking, close to all the action, comfortable, and great price - what more could you ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sandkh
Business
Key West, FL
Oct 25, 2012

Could easily become a 4-star B&B

First, the staff was very friendly and cordial. Our room was spacious but we didn't expect it to be. The bed was extremely comfortable but the things that precluded this B&B from achieving a 4-star rating are: 1- No shelf over the sink to place cosmetics and toiletries. 2-- No closet or armoire to hang clothes in the bedroom/living area. 3- Only one towel hook in the bathroom. 4- The shower water was tepid at best. 5- Only one trash can in the room, which was located in the bathroom. Need another one in the bedroom/living area. 6- The 'complimentary' continental breakfast was adequate but unchanging and minimal at best. 7- Coffee/hot water was not available until 8AM--should be available no later than 7AM. If the items above were to addressed and improved/implemented, we would consider staying at the Chelsea again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeaMark
Business
Seattle,WA
Sep 16, 2012

Truman House

The hotel and staff are pleasant and helpful,the amenities are pretty basic but if you go to Key West to stay in your room stay home, only issues really// the shower was very small and claustrophobia will and was an issue // the Free continental breakfast was very basic but if you are traveling with someone its a good way to spend time while you travel companion is in the shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take the Conch Train Tour first thing your get a discount on Many of the other tours and shopping that you will most likely want to do, it also gives a you a great way to get your barrings of the island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mc and jl
Business
illinois
Aug 13, 2012

Needs a lot more TLC

Have been coming to the Keys for about 20+ years and have stayed at this B&B, Since this B&B changed ownership, the hospitability and comfort has decreased, The breakfast is now a continental provided within a small timeframe not allowing the comfort of sleeping late, the cleanliness of the rooms is poor (We had to call to get our room cleaned, The bed was made poorly, The room was not vaccumed.), and the staff is not as social as before, Cannot complain about the pool or the location (but once you arrive don't move your car because parking is poor). YES, we are looking for another place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
big mike in miami
Business
south dade, fl.
Jul 28, 2012

chelsea house/ key west

Very friendly staff and clean room with upgraded bathroom. Located two blocks from the partyspots on duval street and also next to moped rental shops. private parking and on street parking is readly available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oz MIA
Business
Miami, FL
Jul 9, 2012

Enjoyable Stay....

First Of all, when I chose this hotel, I wanted a hotel that repressents the culture and the history of the town... and The Chelsea House delivered... If you are looking for the comfort of The WALDORF HOTEL, this is not it... Most of the time , my wife and I were out enjoying ourselves and enjoying the local seafood... The location was perfect for us and is a walking distance to DUVAL ST ( 2 blocks), Hemingway's House ( 3 blocks), etc... Pretty much all the historical sites that are worth visting are at close proximity...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Key West Visitor
Business
Fort Lauderdale
Jun 4, 2012

Quality Lodging

The hotel room, while possibly slight small, was more than sufficient to house our party at a reasonable price. The beds were nice, as were the linens, and the bathroom attached had very nice modern looking amenities. All in all, it was a pleasant stay for the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dubbie
Business
Langhorne
May 30, 2012

Our First B & B Visit

Hotel is very old but nice looking and well kept on the outside. On our first night, we were out in town until 11 PM. When we arrived in our room, there were ants/termites all over the bed. I knew we would not get a room anywhere since it was the holiday weekend so we remade and shook all the bugs off and tried to sleep. The next morning I told the office to change the bed and spray the room since I was freaked, she said it was termites because of the humidity and age of the property. Their buffet breakfast was similiar to the hotel continental breakfasts nothing personal or special, quite disappointing from some of the reviews I had read of B & B's. Pool was very clean and had a nice shaded area. We stayed out of the room the entire second day and only went back to shower. There were bugs in one of our bags which contained cookies and food bought as souvenirs but we had to toss everything. We left very early the next day. There were no personal touches in this resort. Not an enjoyable experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Duffy;s restaurant, went for dinner, very clean and excellent food and service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CWilliams
Business
Saint Clair Shores, MI
May 22, 2012

Key West getaway

This was our first time to Key West. We only stayed for one night but had a lot of fun. The Chelsea house was an amazing place to stay. Very warm and comfortable. I love those old Victorian houses. They are beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
L D F
Business
Bella Vista, AR
May 11, 2012

Good location

Comfortable room. Could have had some fruit for us at the Continental Breakfast besides apples, but was suficient. Parking a little tight, but we had the bicycles with us, so didn't need to move the truck. Had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Play golf at Key West after 1st of May for lower rates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top