$179 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 9, 2015 Check-out: Jun 10, 2015

Chelsea House

3 stars
View map of 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea House

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cedes Benz
Business
Boise Idaho
Jan 7, 2013

Incredible Trip to Key West!

My husband and I visited family in Miami and decided to head down the Keys for a couple of days in early January 2013. We reserved two nights at the Chelsea House but ended up staying 3 nights because we loved it so much! The location was incredible! Right off Truman two blocks away from the main street of Duval! We walked the first day and the other two days decided to rent a bike. It was incredible! The hotel staff was very knowledgeable and super helpful! The rooms were clean and had a very historic feel to them. First two nights we stayed in room 19 The King room which was grand but the bathroom a bit small and the last night in room 22 a queen room which was very cozy and had a much better shower. The pool was small but clean and was shaded by palm trees. I loved the courtyard next to the pool where we had breakfast every morning (muffins, cereal, yogurt, croissants, bagels, coffee). Overall this was a great choice of where to stay and I highly recommend renting a bike. Not because Duval is far but because it's so convenient to bike up and down Duval, especially every evening to watch the sunset at Mallory square. We also biked to South Beach and Higgs Beach. On our last day we took a snorkeling trip with Fury which was a great value for our money and had a very nice and fun crew. Highly recommend them. My husband and I heard some bad stories about Sunset from other travelers ... Stay at the Chelsea House, you'll love it! and try out the clam chowder at DJ Clam shack off Duval, it's amazing. Hopefully you'll meet the owner I've heard he's great, the other guy who normally works there can be a bit of a grump but the chowder was the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a Bike!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hender
Business
Fairfield, Va
Dec 30, 2012

vacation

A great hotel and the young lady at the front desk waas a real jewel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jiameng wang
Business
Tampa, Florida
Dec 22, 2012

Very good place to stay.

Perfect location. Very nice staff. And delicious free breakfast. The room looks so cute and easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aggiedoc3
Business
Abilene, TX
Nov 9, 2012

Charming,, quiet room in Old Town

The Chelsea House was exactly what we expected. We had a large room with a nice sitting area and balcony overlooking the sun deck and gardens. The bathroom was a bit small, but not a problem, unless we had been larger people. The breakfast selection was somewhat limited, but served on the deck near the pool and very enjoyable. Overall, a very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mysterious Traveller
Business
Vienna, Austria
Nov 6, 2012

Nice historic place to stay at

I wanted to be near Duval Street in an historic place. I stayed there for only two nights, which I enjoyed. The room was small but clean and I liked the way the two houses of the hotel are arranged. There is a parking place to leave the car as well. The main drawbacks were: There was no closet in the room which makes it possibly hard to stay there longer than a couple of nights. And there was no storage in the bathroom, which makes travelling with ladies a real challenge. But I have seen only this room and travelled alone. Nevertheless I will probably come back to this house or one of the partner hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sloppy Joe
Business
SW Missouri
Oct 25, 2012

Nice Accomodations

Plenty of off-street parking, close to all the action, comfortable, and great price - what more could you ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sandkh
Business
Key West, FL
Oct 25, 2012

Could easily become a 4-star B&B

First, the staff was very friendly and cordial. Our room was spacious but we didn't expect it to be. The bed was extremely comfortable but the things that precluded this B&B from achieving a 4-star rating are: 1- No shelf over the sink to place cosmetics and toiletries. 2-- No closet or armoire to hang clothes in the bedroom/living area. 3- Only one towel hook in the bathroom. 4- The shower water was tepid at best. 5- Only one trash can in the room, which was located in the bathroom. Need another one in the bedroom/living area. 6- The 'complimentary' continental breakfast was adequate but unchanging and minimal at best. 7- Coffee/hot water was not available until 8AM--should be available no later than 7AM. If the items above were to addressed and improved/implemented, we would consider staying at the Chelsea again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SeaMark
Business
Seattle,WA
Sep 16, 2012

Truman House

The hotel and staff are pleasant and helpful,the amenities are pretty basic but if you go to Key West to stay in your room stay home, only issues really// the shower was very small and claustrophobia will and was an issue // the Free continental breakfast was very basic but if you are traveling with someone its a good way to spend time while you travel companion is in the shower

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you take the Conch Train Tour first thing your get a discount on Many of the other tours and shopping that you will most likely want to do, it also gives a you a great way to get your barrings of the island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
mc and jl
Business
illinois
Aug 13, 2012

Needs a lot more TLC

Have been coming to the Keys for about 20+ years and have stayed at this B&B, Since this B&B changed ownership, the hospitability and comfort has decreased, The breakfast is now a continental provided within a small timeframe not allowing the comfort of sleeping late, the cleanliness of the rooms is poor (We had to call to get our room cleaned, The bed was made poorly, The room was not vaccumed.), and the staff is not as social as before, Cannot complain about the pool or the location (but once you arrive don't move your car because parking is poor). YES, we are looking for another place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
big mike in miami
Business
south dade, fl.
Jul 28, 2012

chelsea house/ key west

Very friendly staff and clean room with upgraded bathroom. Located two blocks from the partyspots on duval street and also next to moped rental shops. private parking and on street parking is readly available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top