$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Chelsea House

3 stars
709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
131 reviews
My four time staying

I have stayed here four times! The rooms are a little different than a hotel room but it works and... See full review

  • Traveling Mermaid80
  • Jul 28, 2014
Very accomidating staff

The hotel is clean, beautiful, at a great location, nice continental breakfast, they were very nice... See full review

  • Kaufjj
  • Oct 22, 2013
Historic Key West hotel offers elegant rooms at the heart of Old Town
The historic Chelsea House Pool and Gardens sits at the heart of Old Town Key West. Offering rooms in grand Victorian mansions, which date from 1888 and 1906, Chelsea House Pool and Gardens has classic accommodations with modern amenities. The hotel is located just two blocks from famous Duval Street and within walking distance of the restaurants, shopping, bars, and attractions that fill the historic neighborhoods of Key West. Guests at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens get free parking, Wi-Fi access, and continental breakfast each morning, and the hotel has a pet policy.
Highlights
  • Great downtown location, two blocks from Duval Street
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Guest parking (free)
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
  • Hotel has a pet policy
Rooms
The AAA-approved three-diamond Chelsea House Pool and Gardens offers elegant accommodations, furnished in a historic Key West style. Most rooms feature single beds -- kings, queens or doubles depending on the room -- making them ideal for couples looking to take a romantic escape. However, there are some double queen rooms as well. All guest rooms have private baths with showers, and in-room amenities include cable TVs, telephones, and air conditioning. Most rooms have mini refrigerators, and suites have kitchenettes. Pets may stay in guest rooms, but guests need to make arrangements ahead of time.
Features
Built in 1870 and lovingly restored to its former glory, the main mansion at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens boasts hardwood floors, 14-foot ceilings, antique furnishings, and its many porches and balconies evoke the old days of tropical living in Key West. The hotel offers full amenities, including an outdoor pool with private sunbathing, gardens, and free off-street guest parking. The Chelsea House Pool and Gardens serves a complimentary continental breakfast poolside each morning and guests can stay connected with free Wi-Fi in the courtyard.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (160 mi/256 km)
Attractions
  • Ernest Hemingway House and Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Mallory Square (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard

Hotel Map

24.553 -81.7968
Nearby airports
Key West International Airport, (EYW), 3.36, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Chelsea House Rooms

Queen Room
Full Size Bed-Private Bath-AC-TV- Phone-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
Superior
Superior-Upgraded Room-Queen Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-Cont Bkfst-TV Phone-Non Smoking
King Room
King Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-AC-TV-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
2 Queen Beds
2 Queen Beds-Private Bath-Mini-Frig-Cable TV-Continental Breakfast-Non-Smoking
Suite
Suite-King Bed-Sitting Area-Porch-Kitchen-Cont Breakfast-Non Smoking-Max 2 People

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Services
Concierge desk
Security
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control

Dining

Breakfast
A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 830am to 1030 am. Selections include fresh brewed coffee-orange juice- bagels and creme cheese- english muffins with butter and jam- sweet muffins such as banana nut toast- and hot teas
Near-by restaurants
There are no dining facilities on-site, but many restaurants and shops are located within walking distance of the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (131)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea House

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
131 out of 131
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bogeybear
Business
Sebastopop, Ca
Feb 13, 2013

Great location for checking out Key West on foot.

Our room was small and would have been tight for larger people, but that wasn't a problem for us. The room opened up to a nice deck connected to a beautiful garden/pool area. Coffee and breakfast started at 8:00 and was fine. The location makes it easy walking to galleries, Duval St., and marina's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a map for reference.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooners M plus K
Business
Richmond, VA
Jan 14, 2013

Fun Honeymoon

All of the staff at this hotel that we encountered were so nice, friendly, and helpful. The location is pretty good - would've been a little nicer to be closer but my husband and I enjoy walking and it's a nice walk to sloppy joes (almost a mile one way) but wear comfy shoes. The room was very clean and modern but also very small. If it was bigger I would've said it was perfect. There was no mini fridge and I assume that's because it wouldn't have fit. The free wi-fi was very weak and I ended up turning off wi-fi on my phone b/c the 4G was faster. The breakfast was nice - nothing fancy but had some healthy options like healthy cereal and low-fat yogurt. The pool was kind of small but looked nice. We never actually used it. Overall, we had a great experience here and it was a great price. We would recommend this place to others.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

We did the jet ski tour around the island and it was terrible. You're in a line of 10 other jet skis and they make you go a certain pace (about 40 mph) which is really fast in very choppy water and so you don't even get to enjoy the experience or look at the island because you're in this rush the entire time. Will never do one of these again. If you can rent the jet ski on your own than it would be fun but not in this "tour" around the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Running Carla
Business
Hudson, WI
Jan 10, 2013

Within walking distance to everything

Very conveniently located to Duval Street and bike rentals. The only suggestion I made to the hotel staff was to put a shelf in the bathroom! There is no place to put toiletries except on the floor, which is very strange. The room was quaint but small, but had its own separate entrace which I liked for a B&B. Breakfast could have been a bit more substantial too. Free parking was awesome to have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Lloyd's famous bike tour just down the street was a hilarious 2.5 hour tour through the back alleys of Key West. Lloyd is a gem and this was a very fun way to spend the morning.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Miami Lovebirds
Business
Miami, FL
Jan 8, 2013

Excellent overnight stay

We arrived a bit early, and the greeting staff offered us free parking and drink coupons while we waited for our room to be ready. As we turned around to leave the main office, the staff said that our room was ready early - a pleasant surprise after a long drive to KW. Small details added to the homey ambiance, including a pitcher of iced tea waiting poolside. Great location, perfect homebase during our getaway. **We stayed in Jan 2013, but the year 2013 wasn't an option on the "date range" below.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cedes Benz
Business
Boise Idaho
Jan 7, 2013

Incredible Trip to Key West!

My husband and I visited family in Miami and decided to head down the Keys for a couple of days in early January 2013. We reserved two nights at the Chelsea House but ended up staying 3 nights because we loved it so much! The location was incredible! Right off Truman two blocks away from the main street of Duval! We walked the first day and the other two days decided to rent a bike. It was incredible! The hotel staff was very knowledgeable and super helpful! The rooms were clean and had a very historic feel to them. First two nights we stayed in room 19 The King room which was grand but the bathroom a bit small and the last night in room 22 a queen room which was very cozy and had a much better shower. The pool was small but clean and was shaded by palm trees. I loved the courtyard next to the pool where we had breakfast every morning (muffins, cereal, yogurt, croissants, bagels, coffee). Overall this was a great choice of where to stay and I highly recommend renting a bike. Not because Duval is far but because it's so convenient to bike up and down Duval, especially every evening to watch the sunset at Mallory square. We also biked to South Beach and Higgs Beach. On our last day we took a snorkeling trip with Fury which was a great value for our money and had a very nice and fun crew. Highly recommend them. My husband and I heard some bad stories about Sunset from other travelers ... Stay at the Chelsea House, you'll love it! and try out the clam chowder at DJ Clam shack off Duval, it's amazing. Hopefully you'll meet the owner I've heard he's great, the other guy who normally works there can be a bit of a grump but the chowder was the best!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a Bike!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hender
Business
Fairfield, Va
Dec 30, 2012

vacation

A great hotel and the young lady at the front desk waas a real jewel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jiameng wang
Business
Tampa, Florida
Dec 22, 2012

Very good place to stay.

Perfect location. Very nice staff. And delicious free breakfast. The room looks so cute and easy to find.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aggiedoc3
Business
Abilene, TX
Nov 9, 2012

Charming,, quiet room in Old Town

The Chelsea House was exactly what we expected. We had a large room with a nice sitting area and balcony overlooking the sun deck and gardens. The bathroom was a bit small, but not a problem, unless we had been larger people. The breakfast selection was somewhat limited, but served on the deck near the pool and very enjoyable. Overall, a very nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mysterious Traveller
Business
Vienna, Austria
Nov 6, 2012

Nice historic place to stay at

I wanted to be near Duval Street in an historic place. I stayed there for only two nights, which I enjoyed. The room was small but clean and I liked the way the two houses of the hotel are arranged. There is a parking place to leave the car as well. The main drawbacks were: There was no closet in the room which makes it possibly hard to stay there longer than a couple of nights. And there was no storage in the bathroom, which makes travelling with ladies a real challenge. But I have seen only this room and travelled alone. Nevertheless I will probably come back to this house or one of the partner hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sloppy Joe
Business
SW Missouri
Oct 25, 2012

Nice Accomodations

Plenty of off-street parking, close to all the action, comfortable, and great price - what more could you ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top