$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 2, 2014 Check-out: Oct 3, 2014

Chelsea House

3 stars
709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
129 reviews
My four time staying

I have stayed here four times! The rooms are a little different than a hotel room but it works and... See full review

  • Traveling Mermaid80
  • Jul 28, 2014
Very accomidating staff

The hotel is clean, beautiful, at a great location, nice continental breakfast, they were very nice... See full review

  • Kaufjj
  • Oct 22, 2013
Historic Key West hotel offers elegant rooms at the heart of Old Town
The historic Chelsea House Pool and Gardens sits at the heart of Old Town Key West. Offering rooms in grand Victorian mansions, which date from 1888 and 1906, Chelsea House Pool and Gardens has classic accommodations with modern amenities. The hotel is located just two blocks from famous Duval Street and within walking distance of the restaurants, shopping, bars, and attractions that fill the historic neighborhoods of Key West. Guests at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens get free parking, Wi-Fi access, and continental breakfast each morning, and the hotel has a pet policy.
Highlights
  • Great downtown location, two blocks from Duval Street
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Guest parking (free)
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
  • Hotel has a pet policy
Rooms
The AAA-approved three-diamond Chelsea House Pool and Gardens offers elegant accommodations, furnished in a historic Key West style. Most rooms feature single beds -- kings, queens or doubles depending on the room -- making them ideal for couples looking to take a romantic escape. However, there are some double queen rooms as well. All guest rooms have private baths with showers, and in-room amenities include cable TVs, telephones, and air conditioning. Most rooms have mini refrigerators, and suites have kitchenettes. Pets may stay in guest rooms, but guests need to make arrangements ahead of time.
Features
Built in 1870 and lovingly restored to its former glory, the main mansion at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens boasts hardwood floors, 14-foot ceilings, antique furnishings, and its many porches and balconies evoke the old days of tropical living in Key West. The hotel offers full amenities, including an outdoor pool with private sunbathing, gardens, and free off-street guest parking. The Chelsea House Pool and Gardens serves a complimentary continental breakfast poolside each morning and guests can stay connected with free Wi-Fi in the courtyard.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (160 mi/256 km)
Attractions
  • Ernest Hemingway House and Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Mallory Square (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard

Hotel Map

24.553 -81.7968
Nearby airports
Key West International Airport, (EYW), 3.36, MI, W;
Area description
City Center

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Chelsea House Rooms

Queen Room
Full Size Bed-Private Bath-AC-TV- Phone-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
Superior
Superior-Upgraded Room-Queen Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-Cont Bkfst-TV Phone-Non Smoking
King Room
King Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-AC-TV-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
2 Queen Beds
2 Queen Beds-Private Bath-Mini-Frig-Cable TV-Continental Breakfast-Non-Smoking
Suite
Suite-King Bed-Sitting Area-Porch-Kitchen-Cont Breakfast-Non Smoking-Max 2 People

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Services
Concierge desk
Security
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control

Dining

Breakfast
A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 830am to 1030 am. Selections include fresh brewed coffee-orange juice- bagels and creme cheese- english muffins with butter and jam- sweet muffins such as banana nut toast- and hot teas
Near-by restaurants
There are no dining facilities on-site, but many restaurants and shops are located within walking distance of the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (129)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea House

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
129 out of 129
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
XMM
Norwich, CT
Apr 23, 2010

Just so so for the price!

For the price I paid, I don't think this house was the best deal. Our room doesn't have a window, natural light is from bathroom or the door. I like its quiet and not too far from Duval St, but other than that, I don't have more things to praise this house. Breakfast was OK and typical for free, the pool is small and I didn't think anyone would swim in it. The extra point is you get a parking spot for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

I was planning to take Old Town Trolley, but when we got into town, I figured, you don't really need to do that. If you can walk for about 2-3 hours everytime, I guess you may just walk and explore the town on your own schedule, and it's a better way consider all blocks are short and every corner may have a nice and beautiful house.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mid-Florida Couple
Wauchula, FL
Apr 15, 2010

Nice for the price and location

Good location as we parked and walked during our stay. Staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the area. Room was nice would have liked a coffee pot in the room as breakfast was at 8:30 and we are morning people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a great prime rib Duffy's is one block away and has the best.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stamaria
saratoga springs ny
Apr 10, 2010

Nice place, great location

Nice, yet small, clean and unique room with a 'tree-top' deck for outdoor experience. Crazy staircases and friendly service. Breakfast was OK, pool and landscaped exterior spaces were beautiful and functional. Close to downtown yet far enough for quiet enjoyment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, Florida
Apr 5, 2010

Great Getaway

It was a woderful experience, great location, staff really helpful, a nice break from the daily stress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
boca raton, florida
Apr 1, 2010

Disappointing...

Good: no sign of bed bugs or roaches; Wi Fi area near lobby was at a desk big enough for one person , but had great internet access. Bad: glorified boarding house - absolutely no frills Breakfast was sub par - factory made mini muffins, bagels, english muffins - put out frozen and left to thaw.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Duval Street is just a few blocks away - lots of shopping, bars, and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
boynton beach, FL
Mar 21, 2010

Not a user-friendly room

We expected an old building; none of the pictures was as absent of simple amenities as was our room. The bathroom had no resting places for ANY item. We had to arrange for an additional room light and a chair to sit in to use a laptop (the connection was fine). The front desk person was very responsive and helpful; when you are visiting for a brief time, you wish that simple things (shelves, lighting (to see!!) would be in place. The room was also "well worn". I don't believe that everyone had similar complaints; on the other hand, I don't know how much others were paying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't expect to drive in Key West unless you know that your destination has a place to park. This hotel location was wonderful for most of the cities attractions. We walked to everything at least twice daily.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
\8^)
Phl, PA
Mar 21, 2010

Standing Tall & Quiet

I had doubts because of the hotel being situated on Truman Street and 1.5 blocks from Duval, but being offset from the road the space was quite peaceful in the courtyard (pool & breakfast area). Our room was terribly small--bed pushed up against one of the walls. a walking space to the closet-sized bathroom--not sure if that had to do with what we could afford, the time of our stay (St. Patrick's day), or the fact we booked the room only a few days beforehand. The complimentary breakfast bar was slightly disappointing--nothing more than coffee/tea/OJ & various breads (toast, bagel), a toaster, and jellies. But it did stop us from eating every meal out. Check-in staff and maids were all friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best restaurants are off the beaten tourist path, Duval Street, and are less than a 12 minutes walks from the hotel. Do yourself a favor and ask directions to BO's Fish Wagon, Cafe Sole or Louie's Backyard. The hotel's location meant our entire stay was spent carless :-) As for the best beach,... i will keep that tidbit to myself. ;-)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canadian travellers
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Mar 21, 2010

Beautiful hotel, great location

Staff at check-in were excellent. Room was ready ahead of time. Beautifully restored room with a great tile bathroom and big soft bed, plus a balcony for some rooms. Very quiet and relaxing aroung the shaded salt-water pool. Security safe in room very useful. On-site parking available very close to room. Two blocks from Duval then a short walk to old-town Key West - we never used the car after check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollywood, Fl
Mar 1, 2010

Nice Place

This is our second stay at Chelesa House. The location is excellent and the rooms are spotless. The pool area is nice and releaxing and the staff is very helpful. We will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Drag show at La te da -- just a great show

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Jan 21, 2010

Great Place for New Year's Eve!

Easy walking into town without being too close for New Year's. WE didn't have a car the whole weekend and didn't need one. Very relaxing and the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The state park was great afternoon. Walked over to watch the sunset.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top