$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 23, 2015 Check-out: Aug 24, 2015

Chelsea House

3 stars
View map of 709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea House

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
126 out of 126
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Key Wester
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jun 13, 2010

Disappointed

The room was advertised a superior queen room - a joke! We have stayed at many B&B's in Key West. This room was so tiny, no closet (3 pegs on the wall). The only redeeming quality was that the A/C was nice and cold and the small balcony eased the chlostrophic nature of the room. The bed was an old spring mattress - very uncomfortable. Room felt like an old cheap motel on the side of the road. The TV remote didn't work, but that didn't matter because neither did the TV! We also had the company of tiny ants on the nightstands. The only redeeming quality of the place was the location - its only a blocks from Duval Street. Would not book here again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Argentina
Apr 25, 2010

Good Location

Nice Hotel, Rooms are nice, but a little small in my opiniom. Location is very good, walking distance to the nicest pubs and stores. Free parking A nice place to stay, but expensive. Breakfast was fine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
XMM
Business
Norwich, CT
Apr 23, 2010

Just so so for the price!

For the price I paid, I don't think this house was the best deal. Our room doesn't have a window, natural light is from bathroom or the door. I like its quiet and not too far from Duval St, but other than that, I don't have more things to praise this house. Breakfast was OK and typical for free, the pool is small and I didn't think anyone would swim in it. The extra point is you get a parking spot for free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

I was planning to take Old Town Trolley, but when we got into town, I figured, you don't really need to do that. If you can walk for about 2-3 hours everytime, I guess you may just walk and explore the town on your own schedule, and it's a better way consider all blocks are short and every corner may have a nice and beautiful house.

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
stamaria
Business
saratoga springs ny
Apr 10, 2010

Nice place, great location

Nice, yet small, clean and unique room with a 'tree-top' deck for outdoor experience. Crazy staircases and friendly service. Breakfast was OK, pool and landscaped exterior spaces were beautiful and functional. Close to downtown yet far enough for quiet enjoyment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, Florida
Apr 5, 2010

Great Getaway

It was a woderful experience, great location, staff really helpful, a nice break from the daily stress.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boca raton, florida
Apr 1, 2010

Disappointing...

Good: no sign of bed bugs or roaches; Wi Fi area near lobby was at a desk big enough for one person , but had great internet access. Bad: glorified boarding house - absolutely no frills Breakfast was sub par - factory made mini muffins, bagels, english muffins - put out frozen and left to thaw.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Duval Street is just a few blocks away - lots of shopping, bars, and restaurants.

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
\8^)
Business
Phl, PA
Mar 21, 2010

Standing Tall & Quiet

I had doubts because of the hotel being situated on Truman Street and 1.5 blocks from Duval, but being offset from the road the space was quite peaceful in the courtyard (pool & breakfast area). Our room was terribly small--bed pushed up against one of the walls. a walking space to the closet-sized bathroom--not sure if that had to do with what we could afford, the time of our stay (St. Patrick's day), or the fact we booked the room only a few days beforehand. The complimentary breakfast bar was slightly disappointing--nothing more than coffee/tea/OJ & various breads (toast, bagel), a toaster, and jellies. But it did stop us from eating every meal out. Check-in staff and maids were all friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best restaurants are off the beaten tourist path, Duval Street, and are less than a 12 minutes walks from the hotel. Do yourself a favor and ask directions to BO's Fish Wagon, Cafe Sole or Louie's Backyard. The hotel's location meant our entire stay was spent carless :-) As for the best beach,... i will keep that tidbit to myself. ;-)

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Canadian travellers
Business
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Mar 21, 2010

Beautiful hotel, great location

Staff at check-in were excellent. Room was ready ahead of time. Beautifully restored room with a great tile bathroom and big soft bed, plus a balcony for some rooms. Very quiet and relaxing aroung the shaded salt-water pool. Security safe in room very useful. On-site parking available very close to room. Two blocks from Duval then a short walk to old-town Key West - we never used the car after check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
boynton beach, FL
Mar 21, 2010

Not a user-friendly room

We expected an old building; none of the pictures was as absent of simple amenities as was our room. The bathroom had no resting places for ANY item. We had to arrange for an additional room light and a chair to sit in to use a laptop (the connection was fine). The front desk person was very responsive and helpful; when you are visiting for a brief time, you wish that simple things (shelves, lighting (to see!!) would be in place. The room was also "well worn". I don't believe that everyone had similar complaints; on the other hand, I don't know how much others were paying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Don't expect to drive in Key West unless you know that your destination has a place to park. This hotel location was wonderful for most of the cities attractions. We walked to everything at least twice daily.

Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hollywood, Fl
Mar 1, 2010

Nice Place

This is our second stay at Chelesa House. The location is excellent and the rooms are spotless. The pool area is nice and releaxing and the staff is very helpful. We will stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Drag show at La te da -- just a great show

Back to menu Return to top