$229 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 14, 2015 Check-out: Jan 16, 2015

Chelsea House

3 stars
709 Truman Ave, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
134 reviews
My four time staying

I have stayed here four times! The rooms are a little different than a hotel room but it works and... See full review

  • Traveling Mermaid80
  • Jul 28, 2014
Very accomidating staff

The hotel is clean, beautiful, at a great location, nice continental breakfast, they were very nice... See full review

  • Kaufjj
  • Oct 22, 2013
Historic Key West hotel offers elegant rooms at the heart of Old Town
The historic Chelsea House Pool and Gardens sits at the heart of Old Town Key West. Offering rooms in grand Victorian mansions, which date from 1888 and 1906, Chelsea House Pool and Gardens has classic accommodations with modern amenities. The hotel is located just two blocks from famous Duval Street and within walking distance of the restaurants, shopping, bars, and attractions that fill the historic neighborhoods of Key West. Guests at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens get free parking, Wi-Fi access, and continental breakfast each morning, and the hotel has a pet policy.
Highlights
  • Great downtown location, two blocks from Duval Street
  • Complimentary continental breakfast
  • Guest parking (free)
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard
  • Hotel has a pet policy
Rooms
The AAA-approved three-diamond Chelsea House Pool and Gardens offers elegant accommodations, furnished in a historic Key West style. Most rooms feature single beds -- kings, queens or doubles depending on the room -- making them ideal for couples looking to take a romantic escape. However, there are some double queen rooms as well. All guest rooms have private baths with showers, and in-room amenities include cable TVs, telephones, and air conditioning. Most rooms have mini refrigerators, and suites have kitchenettes. Pets may stay in guest rooms, but guests need to make arrangements ahead of time.
Features
Built in 1870 and lovingly restored to its former glory, the main mansion at the Chelsea House Pool and Gardens boasts hardwood floors, 14-foot ceilings, antique furnishings, and its many porches and balconies evoke the old days of tropical living in Key West. The hotel offers full amenities, including an outdoor pool with private sunbathing, gardens, and free off-street guest parking. The Chelsea House Pool and Gardens serves a complimentary continental breakfast poolside each morning and guests can stay connected with free Wi-Fi in the courtyard.
Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Miami International Airport (160 mi/256 km)
Attractions
  • Ernest Hemingway House and Museum (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Mallory Square (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Smathers Beach (2.2 mi/3.5 km)
Business
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in courtyard

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Chelsea House also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5

Chelsea House Rooms

Queen Room
Full Size Bed-Private Bath-AC-TV- Phone-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
Superior
Superior-Upgraded Room-Queen Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-Cont Bkfst-TV Phone-Non Smoking
King Room
King Bed-Ensuite Bath-Mini Fridge-AC-TV-Continental Breakfast-Non Smoking
2 Queen Beds
2 Queen Beds-Private Bath-Mini-Frig-Cable TV-Continental Breakfast-Non-Smoking
Suite
Suite-King Bed-Sitting Area-Porch-Kitchen-Cont Breakfast-Non Smoking-Max 2 People

Amenities

  • Free breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness Center
Golf
Tennis
Dining
Free breakfast
Meal plan - continental
Services
Concierge desk
Security
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Room
Television with cable
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Temperature control

Dining

Breakfast
A complimentary continental breakfast is served each morning from 830am to 1030 am. Selections include fresh brewed coffee-orange juice- bagels and creme cheese- english muffins with butter and jam- sweet muffins such as banana nut toast- and hot teas
Near-by restaurants
There are no dining facilities on-site, but many restaurants and shops are located within walking distance of the hotel.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (134)

Ratings and reviews for Chelsea House

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
134 out of 134
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CWilliams
Saint Clair Shores, MI
May 22, 2012

Key West getaway

This was our first time to Key West. We only stayed for one night but had a lot of fun. The Chelsea house was an amazing place to stay. Very warm and comfortable. I love those old Victorian houses. They are beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Youyongquan
Business
Hammond
Dec 22, 2014

Too noisy

Too much noisy from neighbor and air condition. But it has very good location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roseanne l.
Business
N/A
Dec 17, 2014

Downtown Key West

This was a very nice hotel, in a great location. Beautiful place, nice room, great service, comfortable bed. However, the room was small. My friends had a room around the corner-in an equally beautiful hotel, with same amenities. However, their room was twice as big and they paid $50.00 less per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Six Toed Cats
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Nov 26, 2014

All rooms not created equal...

We stayed here a few years ago in an amazing spacious room with a balcony. During our recent stay last week, we were surprised to enter an extremely small room without the amenities from our previous stay (no mini-fridge, cramped shower, no windows, etc). Turns out this was the "economy queen", so definitely worth spending a bit more to stay in one of their nicer rooms. We were disappointed and the front desk staff was very helpful in getting us into another room #luckily they weren't full#. We actually stayed in 2 different rooms for our 2 nights stay. So now that we've seen 4 of the rooms on property, my best advice is to find out more information about your room assignment and make sure you're getting what you are expecting. This isn't meant to be a bad review though - the B&B is in a GREAT location, easy walking distance to Duval St, Hemingway House, etc. Relaxing and well-maintained pool area and decks. Definitely need to take the #free# tour of Fort Zachary Taylor - our tour guide was incredible, then you can walk over to the beautiful wooded and shady beach areas of the park and enjoy a dip in the ocean!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Florentine
Business
Brevard, North Carolina
Oct 16, 2014

A lovely place to stay

Wonderful place to stay while visiting Key West. It was only slightly off the beaten path which made it quieter and more enjoyable. Everything we wanted to do was within a 15 minute walk, but we did take the train tour just to learn more of the city's history. Our only suggestion to our host would be to please vary the breakfast menu. It was exactly the same all 4 days we were there; we ate out one morning just for the change. We would still like to return one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

If you are not dead set on "whopping it up" with the younger set, avoid Friday and Saturday nights. Enjoying the city during the week is less crowded, less expensive and less hectic. The history of Key West is fascinating and best enjoyed leisurely.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AnonymousKeyWestTraveler
Business
Homestead, Florida
Sep 30, 2014

Great location and friendly staff

This is our second time staying at the Chelsea House. The staff has been great both times. However, our room didn't feel as clean this time. The floor felt greasy, there was hair on the floor in the bathroom, and stains on one the decorative pillows. We didn't bring it to the hotels attention since we got in late. We only stayed the one night and checked out the next morning but enjoyed the location. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful and there is a nice breakfast in the morning right by the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
D.Z.
Business
Florida
Aug 5, 2014

Nice but disappointed

Chelsea house is a nice set up BUT we left room (with service sign on door) @ 10:00 to return around 3:30 room was not cleaned and most importantly no clean towels -- after a day out fishing in hot sun you need a shower. Maid service showed up after 5:30 handed us clean towels and left . Disappointed for the amount of money you pay you should be able to get clean towels and the room cleaned up. Do no use the fishing guide Chelsea house recommends bad guide no fish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hog Fish Grill . Great Food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iclarkflorida
Business
Lake worth, FL
Aug 4, 2014

Great time in key west!

Room was simple but nice and clean. Would absolutely stay again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Traveling Mermaid80
Business
Key West, Florida
Jul 28, 2014

My four time staying

I have stayed here four times! The rooms are a little different than a hotel room but it works and has charm. The breakfast is great with coffee, oj, milk, bagels, fruit, and others things. The pool is a plus, perfect way to start the day and end it with. The house close to many things and if you are looking for something to do Brain can help you find it. I will be staying again and again here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Get drink tickets, buy one get one free type of deal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Youyongquan
Business
Chicago
Jul 23, 2014

dirty towels & too noisy

This hotel has very perfect location in Key West and the staffs are nice. But we saw the towels in our room very dirty with a lot of long hair in them. We did not use their towels at that night. Also, the noise is a very important problem. In our room, we can heard sound of our neighbors very clearly. Air condition was really like a working vacuum in this small room. We had to wear ear plunges to help us to fall asleep. More than 200 $ a day. Too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Chelsea House

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lou Coach
Business
Miami, Florida
Jul 19, 2014

cute bed and breakfast

The hotel overall is nice and cute. The rooms are clean and nicely decorated. The only problem we has was how small the hallways and rooms were. The showers are extremely tiny. The staff is very helpful. The hotel is close enough to most attractions.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top