$349 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 12, 2015 Check-out: Apr 15, 2015

Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

5 stars
View map of 1500 Reynolds Street, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
222 out of 222
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kloie Thomas
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 10, 2011

A little disappointed

I have repeatedly returned to Casa Marina for 4 years in a row. The hotel is clean and has many amenities; however, it lacks the customer appreciation and service it once had. A small list of our issues we faced this trip and never had before: 1-many episodes of the greeters not being present to open doors, 2-the door to our room and rooms around us had issues unlocking with the card key, 3-the concierge services would suggest the more expensive trips when we requested the other options, 4-house keeping only placed a bath mat on the last day of our 6 day stay and removed our water and vitamin water from the refrigerator, 5-a $25 resort fee once was used to allow guests to purchase gifts in the gift shop, drinks or daily activities, now used for "resort fees" like water at the towel cabinet, ice pops at 2pm ... but still you get the feeling that tips are more than expected and a tip guide of 22% is offered. The place is still VERY NICE but think they lost that loving feeling. Dusty tables with water stains on the marble tables that sit in the lobby were a constant reminder to me of what Casa used to be. We were offered lounge chairs RESERVED for us on the beach as Casa opened for the 4th of July to the public. We paid $10 per chair as visitors used hotel towels or brought their own chairs in for free. The pool service staff sold glow in the dark bracelets telling hotel guests "this is how we our paying our rent this month", most guests laughed at it but I found it a little obnoxious. Lastly, the hotel put plastic fishing wire out on the dock to keep birds away, unfortuately the wire/ string was torn and many guests were tripping on it and one cut their foot on it. Just disappointed, but haven't given up hope on Casa either. Hoping my next trip is better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent scooters. Parking is free and it is honestly the best way to travel in Key West. Casa MArina does not charge for parking the scooters, cars are charged at Casa and parking is limited and EXPENSIVE in Key West.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Lady
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Pleasant

The staff at Casa Marina is top-notch--Patrick, Patrick, Julie, and Maythem (sp?) at Concierge, and Georgi at the restaurant! The grounds are fantastic and in a great location for 30 somethings--a 10 minute bike ride to "crazy" Duval Street, a 5 minute ride to many great restaurants. Basically, the resort is close enough to the action, but far enough for some peace and quiet. The beach is private and large, with comfy beach chairs and hammocks. There are 2 pools right by the beach, as well as a bar and a restaurant. There is a spa, a business center, a provisions store (could stay open later than 10 pm), several ballrooms/event rooms, a gorgeous lobby, and 2 internet-ready computers in the lobby. This is a very family friendly place, but also a good place for a romantic couple (the rooms are well sound-proofed from the kids). Although the aspects we didn't like about the hotel seem and are pretty gross (the bugs--NOT an infestation, and mold--AC vent leakage/condensation), I do have to say that I believe that it is not a resort-wide problem. The cleaning staff works constantly, day and night. I'm thinking that we got a bum room. The only other bothersome aspect are the resort fees and the parking fees. We were never told what the resort fees go toward (no, we didn't ask), but we can't imagine what, because on top of $20/day resort fees, we also paid $12/day parking fees (more for valet). We still had to tip housekeeping, we still had to pay for the buffet breakfast...you get the picture. What was included? Local calls. There are activities offered, such as movies by the pool and ice cream socials, but if you don't attend these activities, the resort fees are a bit heavy. Furthermore, if there is a happy hour social, you must still pay for the cocktails. So, for what exactly are those resort fees??? All in all, we would return, but we would do so with the help of a package deal, like the one we got from Orbitz, because it is a pricey place--with or without resort fees. Also, we would ask about those fees and notify the management of the bugs and mold. Regardless of what you may think from reading this review, Casa Marina is a very nice place to stay. Just be on top of anything amiss that you may notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Key West is an expensive island! So watch where you choose to spend your money on food. There are some fantastic places. They will cost more than you might usually spend, but these places are worth the expense (unlike many others, which are just expensive for nothing). Blue Heaven (Bahama Village), Santiago's Bodega (Bahama Village), European Garden Cafe (Duval Street), Sloppy Joe's (CRAZY, but fun bar on Duval Street), Angelina's Pizza (Duval Street), 915 (off Duval), Conch Republic Seafood Company (Green & Elizabeth Streets) are just a few of the tasty/worth your money eateries. For other suggestions, ask at your hotel. Just watch that they aren't "hustling" for their friends at other businesses. Also, watch for other locals "hustling" for their friends at other businesses. We ran into that situation a couple of times and had some pretty blah & expensive food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
manhattan ny
Mar 3, 2011

beautiful spot

great location beautiful hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

salute restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smiles621
Business
San Francisco
Jul 7, 2009

Nice place to stay

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and we really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is beautiful, clean, and the staff are very friendly. The room we stayed in was on the lower end of the price range so we did not have a view of the beach, but there were 4 HUGE windows that allowed lots of natural light in. The toilet & shower were a part of the bathroom, but the sink was out in the room with the bed which we thought was a little strange and the only towel rack was one inside the shower...wierd. The pool/beach area are wonderful. There are hammocks and lounge chairs nestled under the myriad of palm trees covering the white sandy beach. They pass out the "drink of the day" (minus the alcohol, of course), popsicles, fruit, and cool towels in the afternoon. We discovered that these amenities don't come for free since you have to pay $20/night on top of what you already paid to stay there which was the biggest negative about staying at this place. The hotel is about 1.5 miles from downtown, which we walked to but it was a long walk in the heat, but cabs are expensive in this area. I would recommend renting a bike from the hotel & biking around key west. Overall the hotel was very nice and we would recommend it, as long as you are ok with the extra "resort fee".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Salute restuarant was right around the corner from the hotel & overlooks the beach as well. There is an indoor area as well as an outdoor covered patio. The food was very good & probably the cheapest of the places we ate in key west (although I still wouldn't say this place is cheap, food in key west is just expensive so its all relative). My husband and I started with a caprese salad which was tasty & fresh. We both got our own sandwiches, each delicious and good portion sizes. It came with a side of orzo salad which was light and refreshing. We finished off the meal with a slice of key lime pie. The total was around $35. The service was excellent and our food came in a reasonable amount of time. We also liked the fact that this restaurant uses real glasses instead of the plastic cups used by every other restaurant we went to in key west.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vero Beach, FL
Jul 10, 2009

Beautiful, but over-rated

The hotel was aesthetically pleasing. The grounds were beautiful and the ocean view and beaches were amazing. The rooms were beautiful as well; however, the cleanliness of the rooms left something to be desired. There was a separate charge for everything. The internet was not included, the parking cost $12 a day, there was a $20 resort fee for every day as well! Spread that over the length of your stay and the deal is not that great anymore. A minimum 20 minute walk to any major attraction on Duval Street. I will stay somewhere else on the island next time. There are a plethora of small hotels on the strip that offer the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a bike for a cheap way to get around, but to get across the island in comfort, taxis cost about $10 a trip one way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SaraJean
Business
New York
Jun 17, 2014

Expensive but worth it

We stayed here for a total of 4 nights and I have to say that it was amazing. The staff was friendly and it seemed their catch phrase was "anything you want" because they were so attentive to our needs. It was a little expensive and a little far of a walk to Duval street (about 15 minute or so) but I think it was worth it. I would go back again in a heartbeat even if it costs me a an arm and a leg to stay there. The only complaint I have is that they didn't clean our room one day and they allowed kids in the adult pool for a few hours while the kid pool was being cleaned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lnzy
Business
Houston, TX
Jul 3, 2014

Beautiful grounds, great staff

The hotel and grounds were beautiful. There is a private beach in front of the hotel. The hotel staff brings Popsicles, fruit and cold towels to guests on the beach and by the pool. Our room was very small but met all our needs. Bed was very comfortable. We walked everywhere but hotel is not really close to Duval.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Have dessert at Better Than Sx. It's delicious and very unique.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Enon
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 27, 2014

Lovely Holiday

A beautiful place to stay and unwind. The hotel and its surroundings encourages you to relax while you are there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The only Presidential Museum on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cheap guy from vt
Business
vt
Sep 8, 2014

mi casa su casa

We spent 7 days at the resort and enjoyed ourselves. I thought we would spend more time at the resort but we noticed a ton of seaweed on the beaches and the beaches are very rocky so we decided to pursue other areas in the keys. we are not the home body type of travelers so we rented mopeds 5 days and enjoyed exploring the island. we ate dinner one night at the hotel and it was good...but we enjoyed exploring other restaurants that had great reviews on yelp or were recommended from locals we met. one complaint i had was the house keepers would not leave us enough coffee or creamers or fill the cotton swabs...but other than that we were happy. everyone knows where the casa is and we felt very safe the air conditioning worked well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

tortugas...gotta spend one day there...and snorkel!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ted V
Business
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Sep 29, 2014

Wonderful Anniversary Getaway

We stayed for three nights to celebrate our 15th Anniversary and had a wonderful time throughout. The hotel was well kept, with contemporary updates while maintaining its old-style resort flavor. The staff was friendly, helpful, and always available without being intrusive. We had several wonderful meals at the hotel during our stay, and enjoyed the beachfront location and relaxed environment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top