$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

5 stars
1500 Reynolds Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
358 reviews
Perfect getaway for young couples!

I loved staying at the Casa Marina Resort! My boyfriend and I had a FABULOUS time. We will... See full review

  • MissBergMarie
  • Jun 23, 2014
Fantastic!

We're now spoiled and can't stay anywhere else in Key West...2 pools and the beach! Staff was... See full review

  • VicandT
  • May 21, 2014
Historic beachfront luxury resort on the south side of Key West
Built in 1920, the Casa Marina Resort holds a spot on the National Register of Historic Places. The iconic hotel offers an ideal mix of laid-back elegance, old-Key West ambiance and modern luxury. Nestled on the island's southern edge, the resort occupies the largest private beach on Key West, boasting Mediterranean-style accommodations with sweeping views of the ocean, palm trees and native flowers. From here, guests can explore Duval Street or historic Old Town, enjoy endless water sports or just catch some warm sunshine on the sand.

Highlights
  • Historic Landmark hotel located on a private beach on the south of the island
  • Beachfront water sports center offers diving, fishing, dolphin encounters
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Has a pet policy (fees apply)
Rooms

The Casa Marina Resort offers guestrooms and one- and two-bedroom suites that open to private balconies or patios. In-room amenities include plush bathrobes and bedding, espresso machines, and mini refrigerators, LCD TVs, iHome clock radios  and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Bathrooms come stocked with 100-percent-vegan LXR Clear beauty products.

Features

The recently restored, historic Casa Marina Resort boasts an on-site health club, two outdoor swimming pools, and the largest private beach on Key West. The hotel has a private pier, and Key West Watersports offers rentals and excursions from the beach. Other on-site amenities include a fitness center, beach volleyball, pool toys, hammocks and poolside concierge service.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Miami International Airport (158 mi./252.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.8 mi./2.9 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Key West Lighthouse Museum (1 mi./1.6 km)

 

Business
  • Office rentals
  • Internet kiosks
  • Copy, print, fax and secretarial services
  • 22,600 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor event space
Policies and Fees

The hotel requires a one-night deposit fee at the time of booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

24.5476 -81.7903
Nearby airports
Key West Intl Airport, (EYW), 3.00, MI, NW; Miami Intl Airport, (MIA), 160.00, MI, N; Ft Lauderdale Intl Airport, (FLL), 188.00, MI, S;

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (358)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
358 out of 358
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Lady
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Pleasant

The staff at Casa Marina is top-notch--Patrick, Patrick, Julie, and Maythem (sp?) at Concierge, and Georgi at the restaurant! The grounds are fantastic and in a great location for 30 somethings--a 10 minute bike ride to "crazy" Duval Street, a 5 minute ride to many great restaurants. Basically, the resort is close enough to the action, but far enough for some peace and quiet. The beach is private and large, with comfy beach chairs and hammocks. There are 2 pools right by the beach, as well as a bar and a restaurant. There is a spa, a business center, a provisions store (could stay open later than 10 pm), several ballrooms/event rooms, a gorgeous lobby, and 2 internet-ready computers in the lobby. This is a very family friendly place, but also a good place for a romantic couple (the rooms are well sound-proofed from the kids). Although the aspects we didn't like about the hotel seem and are pretty gross (the bugs--NOT an infestation, and mold--AC vent leakage/condensation), I do have to say that I believe that it is not a resort-wide problem. The cleaning staff works constantly, day and night. I'm thinking that we got a bum room. The only other bothersome aspect are the resort fees and the parking fees. We were never told what the resort fees go toward (no, we didn't ask), but we can't imagine what, because on top of $20/day resort fees, we also paid $12/day parking fees (more for valet). We still had to tip housekeeping, we still had to pay for the buffet breakfast...you get the picture. What was included? Local calls. There are activities offered, such as movies by the pool and ice cream socials, but if you don't attend these activities, the resort fees are a bit heavy. Furthermore, if there is a happy hour social, you must still pay for the cocktails. So, for what exactly are those resort fees??? All in all, we would return, but we would do so with the help of a package deal, like the one we got from Orbitz, because it is a pricey place--with or without resort fees. Also, we would ask about those fees and notify the management of the bugs and mold. Regardless of what you may think from reading this review, Casa Marina is a very nice place to stay. Just be on top of anything amiss that you may notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Key West is an expensive island! So watch where you choose to spend your money on food. There are some fantastic places. They will cost more than you might usually spend, but these places are worth the expense (unlike many others, which are just expensive for nothing). Blue Heaven (Bahama Village), Santiago's Bodega (Bahama Village), European Garden Cafe (Duval Street), Sloppy Joe's (CRAZY, but fun bar on Duval Street), Angelina's Pizza (Duval Street), 915 (off Duval), Conch Republic Seafood Company (Green & Elizabeth Streets) are just a few of the tasty/worth your money eateries. For other suggestions, ask at your hotel. Just watch that they aren't "hustling" for their friends at other businesses. Also, watch for other locals "hustling" for their friends at other businesses. We ran into that situation a couple of times and had some pretty blah & expensive food.

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ohio
May 8, 2009

Casa Marina

When we first got to the hotel they put us in a room that was like a fishbowl on the first floor. I asked the person at guest services to switch us, and she was not helpful. After speaking with the Manager on Duty, we worked out a solution to get us into a room on the second floor the next day that was more private. After that, everything was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Very expensive and the food was not very good. Drinks were also very expensive, ballpark prices at the bar by the pool.

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
May 8, 2009

Amazing

It was a beautiful hotel, I would highly recommend it! Especially since I saw other hotels in Key West and it's by far the nicest one!!!! The only thing is that there is not a real real beach, it's fake sand in Key West but it's a beautiful place to go. I was with my boyfriend, but there were families too and the kids seemed to have fun. We had a nice view (we requested ocean balcony room). However, we requested 1 king bed, and had 2 queen beds instead, but my boyfriend liked it, it was his excuse to get closer to me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Duval street is just a short walk from the hotel and is very entertaining!!! but don't expect to do GREAT shopping there in Key west!

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Miami, FL
May 8, 2009

Amazing

It was a beautiful hotel, I would highly recommend it! Especially since I saw other hotels in Key West and it's by far the nicest one!!!! The only thing is that there is not a real real beach, it's fake sand in Key West but it's a beautiful place to go. I was with my boyfriend, but there were families too and the kids seemed to have fun. We had a nice view (we requested ocean balcony room). However, we requested 1 king bed, and had 2 queen beds instead, but my boyfriend liked it, it was his excuse to get closer to me!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Duval street is just a short walk from the hotel and is very entertaining!!! but don't expect to do GREAT shopping there in Key west!

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Britney Jade
Bridgeport, WV, USA
Aug 22, 2011

Great Getaway from your Daily Routine

I loved the hotel. The service was great and the hotel was very well taken care of. A little far from the action on Duvall Street, but worth the stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Rent bikes to save money on taxi's.

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smcardle
prospect park, pa
May 17, 2009

Best beach in Key West!

We spent time at the Beach and Pool everyday. The breakfast buffet was wonderful. The staff would locate your lounge chairs anywhere on the beach that you wanted them to. They would arrange your beach towels for you, bring you something to drink. Samples of the drink of the day and even frozen popsicles, or bottles of water. The location of the resort is far away from most of the action in Old Town and it was too far to walk to most places, so driving, taxiing or renting a bike or scooter was necessary. But there were several places nearby that you could walk to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Louie's Backyard was only a 4 minute walk and a very nice restaurant and lovely location. Sit outside!

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oystermama
Beaufort, SC
Nov 7, 2013

Key West Wonderful

Our stay at the Casa Marina was uneventful. Just what a hotel stay should be. Clean room, attentive staff and smiling faces. One tip; We thought breakfast was a bit pricey. So walk down a few blocks to the downtown and justify those pancakes with the exercise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Athens, OH
Aug 8, 2010

Beautiful Setting

Beautiful grounds. Looks like something out of a magazine. Had a very nice time even snorkeled off the hotel beach and saw some tropical fish.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
snc09
Cincinnati, Ohio
Sep 1, 2011

Overall Nice

Our room was very nice, the staff were all very courteous. The hotel is in a perfect spot and is a very beautiful older building. A couple small problems......1. On two occasions after the room had been serviced and we were relaxing in it the door was banged on by staff and they actually tried to enter but were stopped since we had the deadbolt locked. 2. We booked what was advertised as a romantic sunset sail. The boat never picked us up at 6:00 like we were told it would. We contacted an employee who made us take a cab across the island($10.00) to a boat dock where we were placed on a very large boat with approximately 25-30 people aboard where the theme seemed to be drink all you can drink and smoke cigarettes then yell at each other from opposite ends of the boat. This was not at all romantic or relaxing (watching the drunk woman in stripper heels fall down and dump beer all over herself we just did not find to be romantic). The next day we were only refunded $36.00 of the trip and none of the cab fare. The sunset sail was booked through the hotel concierge and paid for at the hotel so I imagine they are affiliated in some form. Other than that I would go back but not book anything else through the concierge. They have everything you could need in Key West at the hotel. Good food, nice rooms, hammocks on the beach, 2 decent sized pools, a bar overlooking the ocean and A nice pier. Just steer clear of the concierge. If you want to know where to go eat or shop ask the bartenders.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Conch Republic Seafood was a great place to eat.

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Birmingham, MI
Jul 14, 2011

We loved it!

We stayed here on our honeymoon in early July. The staff was very friendly and made effort to make sure we had an enjoyable stay. We celebrated our honeymoon with a very nice complimentary bottle of champagne and enjoyed the good vibes and amazing views. I loved the salt water pool! The hammocks were just right and I enjoyed the frozen face towels in the afternoon. I would certainly stay here again and recommend it. After seeing most of the other accomodations on Key West, Casa Marina is definitely on the high-end side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Duval Street - there's something for everyone!

Back to menu Return to top