$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 27, 2015 Check-out: Aug 28, 2015

Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

5 stars
View map of 1500 Reynolds Street, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
amframe
Business
El Paso, TX
Jul 14, 2013

Spend your money elsewhere

For the amount of money that it costs to stay at this hotel I was expecting a much better experience. For starters there are many hidden fees that come with staying at this hotel. They charge $25 per day for internet, beach chair rentals, and a few other things that in my opinion should be free for guests. They advertise continental breakfast which cost $27 for each adult to go to the buffet. To pay that much for the breakfast that was offered was not worth it. The guest rooms were undesirable to say the least. The walls were paper thin to the point that we heard our neighbors' conversations as though we were standing right in front of the person speaking. The showers are poorly designed with a half panel of glass covering only half of the shower and then a thin curtain on the back half of the shower. I would say more water leaked onto our floor then went down the drain. The patios that are part of some of the rooms are a joke! Don't expect to have any type of privacy on one of the balconies as they are separated by a piece of fabric. We could see right through the gaps in the fabric to our neighbors patios and you could hear their conversations. I didn't even want to sit on our ocean view patio because of this. The hotels location also puts guests who don't have vehicles with them at a disadvantage. With many of the activities occurring on Duval St. and Mallory Square expect to walk about 10 minutes just to get to Duval. Then to walk all the way down Duval takes anywhere from 20-30 minutes. I would suggest staying somewhere on the opposite of the island from Casa Marina. Just don't stay here. I've stayed at nicer Holiday Inns and Best Westerns.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

The night life in Key West is amazing! Experience as much as you can including the drag shows, Mallory Square, and the various bands that play at the bars.

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Casa Faithful
Business
San Antonio, Texas
Jul 7, 2013

Starting to fail me

I have stayed at Casa Marina for at least 4 times since 2007. The first year we had a $25 daily resort fee that was automatically charged but allowed us to use to on hotel amenities such as jet skis, food, or in the lobby gift shop. This year as we got there we heard many guests complain about the fee. I didn't think much of it because it is expected when you have to pay the pool staff and other personnel to keep the resort maintained. After the first day of being at the pool and having to get my own towels and skim trash and leaves off the surface I could see why there was much grumbling over the fee. We stayed there in 2011 when there was a Tropical disturbance and the beach bar was overflowing with guests staying dry and thirsty. This year the bar and outdoor restaurant closed in July 3 and July 5 due to poor weather.... And it NEVER RAINED not were there winds over 15 mph. Many guests 20+ stayed out in the pool and over 40+ guests walked outside to the dock and stopped only to find no food or drink available. Many guests were very upset and angered understandably because it was a beautiful night both nights. Many guests took pictures and voiced they were sending in complaints. The hotel is BEAUTIFUL. Elegant and charming. The bar staff and most other staff were amazing as well and they too had much to say about the new changes and general manager at Casa. The cost is more than acceptable when you get what you pay for... And this year it just didn't happen. Unfortunately I will probably never stay at the Casa again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is in walking distance. We like to rent scooters because parking cars can be difficult and pricey. Pay attention to urbanspoon recommendations and finds amongst the locals. The best places are hidden gems. Clean and delicious. The overrated are just that. Pricey but good too. Either way the foods are tastey. Try Sandys and Conch shack. Both rated high amongst visitors and are tiny little walk by restaurants.

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wavyblue
Business
Medina, OH
May 30, 2013

Everything on site.

Everything is on site, there is a beach, 2 pools, a dock, excursions galore, restaurant, the list goes on. If it's raining the whole time your there, you can't use any of it. I would recommend the hotel, if it's forecast to rain the week your there, cancel your plans!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Louies backyard is around the corner, we had dinner, it was very good. The Strip House is full of pictures of naked women, we left.

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thesimonds
Business
roanoke, virginia
Apr 21, 2013

mostly great

front desk- not exceptionally friendly mediocre attention to the room great setting outside personnel exceptional on all counts the outdoor bar was superb lovely views, pools

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

the bar at Louie's back yard cannot be beat- sits right over the water.... the food at louie's was expensive but superb

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Poppa Bob
Business
Key West Forida
Mar 16, 2013

Extrordinary vacation stay

This is a luxury hotel that can't possibly be topped. Gorgeous setting, fabulous service and amenities. When we asked for an extra day, we were not down graded but upgraded to a suite! Want to go back again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley tour around Key West to see everything first, then use the second day feature to go back and shop, eat and tour. It was great.

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BikerBlue
Business
Hill City, SD
Feb 25, 2013

Beautiful property, excellent location

Beautiful property, excellent location and views of the ocean. The beach is a wonderful spot to relax and take in the scenery. The pools are very well maintained and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Camille's

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Samm the Man
Business
Chicago
Feb 6, 2013

The best part of my Key West vacation

I think the best part of my vacation to Key West was the hotel. Not only was the room we stayed at comfortable, clean and beautiful, the pool and surrounding area is just plain spectacular. The hotel staff were all friendly and it didn't feel stuffy or pretentious which I find important where I stay. It was comfortable and laid back and I truly felt I was on vacation. I wanted to see the island and eat at restaurants outside the hotel but I wish I spent more time at this hotel than I did. Without a doubt the hotel was the best part of my vacation and I can't say enough about my experience there. You may read some one-star reviews, as I did before booking, but I'd pay attention to the many more five star reviews on here. If you want to schedule a shuttle, though, make sure to book 24 hours in advance. They charge an extra for this and it's the same cost as a taxi cab from the airport so it really didn't matter. If I do go back to Key West, this would be the only place I'd stay. I'd also spend the majority of my time at the hotel - eat there - drink there - and relax there. Casa Marina was the best part of my vacation to Key West!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the butterfly conservatory on Duval St. by Southernmost Point. An unexpected attraction that we had walked by and stopped in. So many beautiful butterflies flying everywhere in a greenhouse of plant, trees, flowers and birds.

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ramiro Aristizabal
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Feb 6, 2013

Very nice and relaxing

Great time to be quit, relaxing and confort. Feels different than most places in the US.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jr551
Business
Miami
Oct 30, 2012

nice resort

Good location close to duval street. Only complaint was room view was hideous and self parking fee is ridiculous when paying plus $ 400 per night rate. Staff was absoluty great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Labdawg
Business
Canton, Ohio
Oct 28, 2012

Wonderful staff and accommodations

Guests are number 1 and the accommodations were excellent

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top