$329 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

5 stars
1500 Reynolds Street, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
215 reviews
Happy!

Staying at Casa Marina was wonderful! We had such a great experience and would totally go back!... See full review

  • Shannon10381
  • Oct 7, 2014
Very nice place but pricy

This place is amazing! it has it's own beach, pool and bars where you can sit and look at the... See full review

  • Kelsy and Casey
  • Sep 9, 2014
Historic beachfront luxury resort on the south side of Key West
Built in 1920, the Casa Marina Resort holds a spot on the National Register of Historic Places. The iconic hotel offers an ideal mix of laid-back elegance, old-Key West ambiance and modern luxury. Nestled on the island's southern edge, the resort occupies the largest private beach on Key West, boasting Mediterranean-style accommodations with sweeping views of the ocean, palm trees and native flowers. From here, guests can explore Duval Street or historic Old Town, enjoy endless water sports or just catch some warm sunshine on the sand.

Highlights
  • Historic Landmark hotel located on a private beach on the south of the island
  • Beachfront water sports center offers diving, fishing, dolphin encounters
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
  • Has a pet policy (fees apply)
Rooms

The Casa Marina Resort offers guestrooms and one- and two-bedroom suites that open to private balconies or patios. In-room amenities include plush bathrobes and bedding, espresso machines, and mini refrigerators, LCD TVs, iHome clock radios  and Wi-Fi access (fees apply). Bathrooms come stocked with 100-percent-vegan LXR Clear beauty products.

Features

The recently restored, historic Casa Marina Resort boasts an on-site health club, two outdoor swimming pools, and the largest private beach on Key West. The hotel has a private pier, and Key West Watersports offers rentals and excursions from the beach. Other on-site amenities include a fitness center, beach volleyball, pool toys, hammocks and poolside concierge service.

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Miami International Airport (158 mi./252.8 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (1.8 mi./2.9 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (1.7 mi./2.7 km)
  • Key West Lighthouse Museum (1 mi./1.6 km)

 

Business
  • Office rentals
  • Internet kiosks
  • Copy, print, fax and secretarial services
  • 22,600 square feet of flexible indoor/outdoor event space
Policies and Fees

The hotel requires a one-night deposit fee at the time of booking.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Restaurant
onsite

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1600
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (215)

Ratings and reviews for Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
215 out of 215
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
BJW
Business
Greencastle, PA
Jul 24, 2009

Fine resort for a bargain price

Casa Marina is an excellent resort located very close to the southernmost point, approximately three blocks from the south end of Duval Street. We walked from the resort all the way to Mallory Square and back the first night without any problems, but it's quite a hike. The following nights we just drove up and parked on Whitehead street ($1.50 per hour, and you can pay with a credit card at one of many machines along the sidewalk). Casa Marina itself is a beautiful resort located directly on the beach. The rooms are clean, and well decorated in a modern style. There are two pools (no hot tub) at the resort that are both relatively large, and they don't seem to have a closing time. There are several hammocks strung between the palms along the beach as well. There is a large bar near the pools, but the prices are steep even by resort standards ($6.50 for a CAN of Heineken, and $10 - $12 for anything mixed). The shop in the lobby also sells some very overpriced drinks and snacks ($3.50 for a warm bottle of soda). There are plenty of other places in the area where you can buy anything you want for far less. Vallet parking is $20 per day, or you can self-park close by for $12 per day. The beach isn't too exciting being mostly rocky, but there is a nice pier with stairs into the water that offers a small area to swim, snorkel, or just have some fun time in the water. The only minor complaint I have about the resort would be that it can be a little noisy, but I believe if you have a room that is higher up (ours was on the first floor) it would be much quieter in the mornings (we like to sleep in late). All in all, this is a great place to stay and I would certainly stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Go over to Fort Zachary Taylor park and pay the few dollars to enter for the nicest beach, and best place to spend some time in the water. It's only about 2 miles from the hotel, and there is ample parking and picnic areas.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tom1982
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 22, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price!!

Fantastic Location, great beach and pool area!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carol sun chaser
Business
Lexington, KY
Jul 20, 2009

Mango Tango

We enjoyed sitting under the palm trees on the beach. The daily free drink sample was a nice touch as were the cool towels in the afternoon at the pool. We took the bellman's advice and rented a scooter and really enjoyed tooling around town. Everyone was very friendly and the room was lovely.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
huntington, wv
Jul 20, 2009

great hotel choice

rooms were comfortable (bathroom could have been bigger, but i have the same complaint for every hotel). Great pool area! we really enjoyed our time there just relaxing. Food and drinks are available at a bar, and pool is open 24/7. Night life is about a 10 block walk away

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the jet ski tour around key west is a must. harbor is located on the other side of the island, which makes walking from Casa Marina inconvenient. however, scooter and bike rentals are everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vero Beach, FL
Jul 10, 2009

Beautiful, but over-rated

The hotel was aesthetically pleasing. The grounds were beautiful and the ocean view and beaches were amazing. The rooms were beautiful as well; however, the cleanliness of the rooms left something to be desired. There was a separate charge for everything. The internet was not included, the parking cost $12 a day, there was a $20 resort fee for every day as well! Spread that over the length of your stay and the deal is not that great anymore. A minimum 20 minute walk to any major attraction on Duval Street. I will stay somewhere else on the island next time. There are a plethora of small hotels on the strip that offer the amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a bike for a cheap way to get around, but to get across the island in comfort, taxis cost about $10 a trip one way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smiles621
Business
San Francisco
Jul 7, 2009

Nice place to stay

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon and we really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is beautiful, clean, and the staff are very friendly. The room we stayed in was on the lower end of the price range so we did not have a view of the beach, but there were 4 HUGE windows that allowed lots of natural light in. The toilet & shower were a part of the bathroom, but the sink was out in the room with the bed which we thought was a little strange and the only towel rack was one inside the shower...wierd. The pool/beach area are wonderful. There are hammocks and lounge chairs nestled under the myriad of palm trees covering the white sandy beach. They pass out the "drink of the day" (minus the alcohol, of course), popsicles, fruit, and cool towels in the afternoon. We discovered that these amenities don't come for free since you have to pay $20/night on top of what you already paid to stay there which was the biggest negative about staying at this place. The hotel is about 1.5 miles from downtown, which we walked to but it was a long walk in the heat, but cabs are expensive in this area. I would recommend renting a bike from the hotel & biking around key west. Overall the hotel was very nice and we would recommend it, as long as you are ok with the extra "resort fee".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Salute restuarant was right around the corner from the hotel & overlooks the beach as well. There is an indoor area as well as an outdoor covered patio. The food was very good & probably the cheapest of the places we ate in key west (although I still wouldn't say this place is cheap, food in key west is just expensive so its all relative). My husband and I started with a caprese salad which was tasty & fresh. We both got our own sandwiches, each delicious and good portion sizes. It came with a side of orzo salad which was light and refreshing. We finished off the meal with a slice of key lime pie. The total was around $35. The service was excellent and our food came in a reasonable amount of time. We also liked the fact that this restaurant uses real glasses instead of the plastic cups used by every other restaurant we went to in key west.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Lady
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 6, 2009

Pleasant

The staff at Casa Marina is top-notch--Patrick, Patrick, Julie, and Maythem (sp?) at Concierge, and Georgi at the restaurant! The grounds are fantastic and in a great location for 30 somethings--a 10 minute bike ride to "crazy" Duval Street, a 5 minute ride to many great restaurants. Basically, the resort is close enough to the action, but far enough for some peace and quiet. The beach is private and large, with comfy beach chairs and hammocks. There are 2 pools right by the beach, as well as a bar and a restaurant. There is a spa, a business center, a provisions store (could stay open later than 10 pm), several ballrooms/event rooms, a gorgeous lobby, and 2 internet-ready computers in the lobby. This is a very family friendly place, but also a good place for a romantic couple (the rooms are well sound-proofed from the kids). Although the aspects we didn't like about the hotel seem and are pretty gross (the bugs--NOT an infestation, and mold--AC vent leakage/condensation), I do have to say that I believe that it is not a resort-wide problem. The cleaning staff works constantly, day and night. I'm thinking that we got a bum room. The only other bothersome aspect are the resort fees and the parking fees. We were never told what the resort fees go toward (no, we didn't ask), but we can't imagine what, because on top of $20/day resort fees, we also paid $12/day parking fees (more for valet). We still had to tip housekeeping, we still had to pay for the buffet breakfast...you get the picture. What was included? Local calls. There are activities offered, such as movies by the pool and ice cream socials, but if you don't attend these activities, the resort fees are a bit heavy. Furthermore, if there is a happy hour social, you must still pay for the cocktails. So, for what exactly are those resort fees??? All in all, we would return, but we would do so with the help of a package deal, like the one we got from Orbitz, because it is a pricey place--with or without resort fees. Also, we would ask about those fees and notify the management of the bugs and mold. Regardless of what you may think from reading this review, Casa Marina is a very nice place to stay. Just be on top of anything amiss that you may notice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Key West is an expensive island! So watch where you choose to spend your money on food. There are some fantastic places. They will cost more than you might usually spend, but these places are worth the expense (unlike many others, which are just expensive for nothing). Blue Heaven (Bahama Village), Santiago's Bodega (Bahama Village), European Garden Cafe (Duval Street), Sloppy Joe's (CRAZY, but fun bar on Duval Street), Angelina's Pizza (Duval Street), 915 (off Duval), Conch Republic Seafood Company (Green & Elizabeth Streets) are just a few of the tasty/worth your money eateries. For other suggestions, ask at your hotel. Just watch that they aren't "hustling" for their friends at other businesses. Also, watch for other locals "hustling" for their friends at other businesses. We ran into that situation a couple of times and had some pretty blah & expensive food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Missouri
Jul 5, 2009

Casa Marina

This hotel is first class and in a great location. The modern conveniences and cleanliness, along with historical significance makes this a great choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Daytona Beach
Jun 26, 2009

Great oasis in the Key West

Very nice room with a view of the ocean and pools. Bathroom was way too small. A/C work fine but realy didn't draw the humidity out of the air. This place was great for relaxing by the pool or beach, very unusual for Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Casa Marina Resort - Waldorf Astoria Collection

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
braziliannut
Business
raleigh, nc
Jun 25, 2009

booked a suit and was given a room...

orbitz and the casa marina totally bombed and it was our honey moon! so to make sure that i got the package that i exactly wanted i called to the casa marina and orbitz before i even book the flight to make sure that i was getting exactly what i was about to pay for. first thing dont buy the flight protexction insurnace because i did and they didn't refund our money or make necessary adjustments to our flight when it was missed the first go around. then we had to rent a car from thrifty and drive 3.5 hrs from miami so that we could get to our location the same day since they weren't going to fly us out till the next morning causing us to lose half a day. once we arrive at the hotel to the eye it was a very attractive hotel then we go to check into the 1 bed room suite that we paid all that money for and they put us in a qeen bed! i paid for a king size suite and got a regular room since the one that i had booked was allegedly under construction. we called orbitz who told us that they upgraded us to a ocean side suite and the hotel still said that there was nothing they could do so we were stuck in a corner room over looking the rooms that we were supposed to be in all along. talk about cutting you and rubbing salt in the open wound. after calling orbitz for a third time to get our money back so we could go to the westin they said they wouldn't do that for 3-5 business days meaning they weren't in any rush to accomodate us on our honey moon. the hotel however did make an effort to extend us some resort credits and free breakfasts which turned out to be very nice and we were able to rent a scooter to get around the island. it was a nice hotel but orbitz and the hotel botched the beginning of the trip. luckily my husband and i made lemonade out of the lemons that we were continually given and all in all had a nice trip to key west. however i will never be using orbitz again to book a trip or stay at the casa marina...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

very nice to go out and eat lots of good food. as to be expected on a resort the food is way over priced and it was ok with a limited selection. so after venturing out we found a place everyone recommended called el mason de pepe's. since they are 90 miles from cuba there is a very large cuban influence down there and they have the best churassco you can imagine with a very quaint band who plays nightly and we ate and danced the night away showing off some of our freshly learned mambo/salsa skills. i recommed everyone go to el mason de pepe's

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top