$232 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
View map of 2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
176 reviews
Our 2nd stay

this is the best place for laid back couples that love swimming, hot tubing, looking at the Gulf... See full review

  • MichaelandMichelle
  • Jan 31, 2014
Great trip

We just went there for a short period of time, but the hotel was a good bargain, friendly staff,... See full review

  • bogdan
  • Apr 21, 2015
Adults-only hotel with private balconies, pool bar, beach near Old Town

Ideal for singles groups or couples looking for a romantic getaway, the adults-only Banana Bay Resort and Marina sits on the waterfront along the Gulf of Mexico, just east of the Old Town area of Key West. From Banana Bay Resort it's a short cab or bike ride to Duval Street, Mallory Square and many other attractions. Guests can find an endless array of restaurants, shops, trolley tours and world-class water sports within walking distance. Banana Bay Resort also boasts a poolside tiki bar, free parking and meeting rooms for business groups.

 

Highlights
  • Adults-only hotel for guests 18 and over
  • Dock space available for boats (dockage fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby, fees apply for guestroom Internet
Rooms

Banana Bay Resort and Marina features 48 guestrooms and suites in a two-story building with exterior corridors. Accommodations boast tropical decor with bamboo and rattan furnishings and the private balconies have garden or pool views. Rooms come with either four-poster king beds or pairs of double beds, Internet access (fees apply), refrigerators, cable TVs, coffee makers and a free newspaper delivered daily.

 

Features

Banana Bay Resort and Marina offers free car parking and dock space for boats (dockage fees apply). This adults-only hotel only accepts guests 18 and over, and on-site amenities include an outdoor pool with a pool bar, whirlpool, a small sunning beach with a wedding gazebo and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the main lobby. Banana Bay offers a free continental breakfast each morning, and business groups can find small meeting spaces on the property.

 

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Miami International Airport (157 mi./251.2 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Southernmost Point of the U.S. (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (2.9 mi./4.6 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will deny registration to anyone under the age of 18, even if accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Banana Bay Resort and Marina Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guestrooms have either 1 King or 2 doubles beds which include a balcony with garden or pool views as well as exterior corridor access. Guestrooms are tropically decorated with bamboo and rattan furnishings. rooms also include work desk, dial-up Internet access (surcharge), phone with voice mail, cable/satellite TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer,wet bar sink, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, complimentary newspaper and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Poolside Tiki Bar
Enjoy Tropical Libations at the Poolside tikibar. Hours of operation are Wednesday - Sunday 11AM - 7PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
28 out of 176
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3.2
Value:
2.9

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kwtravel1214
Business
Ca
Dec 7, 2014

Old rooms, not worth the value.

The rooms were old and not very clean. We found the carpets were wet and sticky. For the price that the charge it is not worth going for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evermay
Business
Heath springs, SC
Jul 27, 2014

Great getaway

Very quiet and relaxing. Enjoyed our stay. Great value. Only complaint was Tiki bar by the pool was never open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hard Rock Cafe best burger for price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Uncle Luls
Business
Springflied VA
Jul 16, 2014

Average

Well this was a average place to stay rooms are old and in need of renovation the bathroom flooded one night and the air-conditioners were noisy, the breakfast was ok nothing grand but on the whole for the price paid it was ok, the staff were exceptional and friendly and went out of their way to help in every way, one more thing I would like to point out is that it would be awesome if they had wifi in the rooms as it was just a pain to go to the lobby or the breakfast room to get internet as I had T Mobile and service on them sucks!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a strip mall within walking distance to the hotel which was convenient.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tom Hu
Business
Chicago,Illinois
Jan 15, 2014

Good hotel

Pros: -Free breakfast -Free wifi (just ask the front desk) -Affordable -Microwave and fridge included -Cable with channel list Cons: -Part of the paint was peeling off

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Culicha
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 6, 2013

2 day get away

Nice hotel, great location, relaxed, nice pool, clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great small restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
alteredspaces
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 5, 2013

THIS WAS AWFUL!! ! ! !

The young lady who checked us in was very nice. I can't say anything negative about her. When we got to our room it was old and run down. The bed was terrible. There was water damage on the walls. It smelled really bad. It did have lots of windows, but men kept walking through the patio area. It was just my daughter and I and we left and went to another hotel because we just didn't feel safe. The place was very run down. When I took the keys back to the front desk, the young lady offered to let us look at another room. After driving the small property, we couldn't imagine that any of the other rooms were any better. I wasted $189 plus tax. We are pretty easy going, but there was no way we were going to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hobbit G
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 28, 2013

Stay away..would not recommend..horrible.

Dear Travelers, Stay AWAY from this hotel--was absolutely horrible. We rented 3 nights for mini-lobster season, and the only positive thing about this--is having a boat-slip for your boat. However, during our stay, another boat kept taking our boat-slip, and we had to complain to manager until it finally got straightened out last day. Had a window air-conditioner that would not cool room down. Room had a musty moldy smell to it. The bathroom water decreased to a "dribble" if your next door neighbor was showering. Toilet clogged & had to retrieve a plunger from office.The fabric on the "so-called pullout sofa queen bed" was all stained and uncomfortable. Maid service dropped off towels one day, and other day I had to go retrieve from office. No fresh linens during our stay. The oven was so OLD could not read the dials that control burners & oven--surprised the stove even worked--Kitchen had pots&pans but no silverware..Very shocked & disappointed that there are such hotels as this these days--couldn't have been more disappointed--and paid $500.00 for 3 nights --was shocked.....Reservation made last minute. Don't recall seeing a smoke detector in the room. If remodeled--could be a great place--as location is great for boats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Before making a commitment, always ask if unit has central air. Website looked great for this hotel--however, our unit was in OLD section and was horrible--no pictures of it on website. I can't imagine the word "Resort" is in the name of this. Would never have booked this if I'd seen it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PamM
Business
Kentucky
Jun 28, 2013

POORLY MANAGED

NEGATIVE. They refuse booking due to no manager there to approve per desk clerk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fifithecat
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 12, 2013

Relaxing, but slightly overpriced

Perhaps a bit overpriced, but we enjoyed a quality stay at Banana Bay. The room itself its your average hotel room - we had a double - with a southern tropical flair. Nice, sizely balconies with a decent view, even from the first floor (which is actually a bit raised off of street level). I would suspect that very few of the rooms actually have a beach view, although the views of the pool and even the parking lot (with its lush, tropical foliage) is quite nice. Very clean rooms, though they could use a little touch-up/remodeling soon... Not that anything was bad, just some parts of the room are showing their age (scuffed walls, etc). Curtains didn't totally block outside light, especially bright porch light, which is irritating for a light sleeper. Would prefer if Internet access were included in each room, especially for the overall price to stay here. The pool was quite nice, though I was very disappointed the tiki bar was not in service and that the property had no beach hammocks, as pictured on some of the websites. Also, we had to go all the way to the front office to get pool towels, which was inconvenient. Spacious surrounding pool areas, new looking lounge chairs. The grounds closer to the water looked well maintained and were quite pleasant to lounge in. I spent several hours down by the water with the whole area to myself. Breakfast was your typical continental; outdoor seating area is nice. Saw an iguana while eating. We did not walk to Duval or surrounding areas as the road outside the Resort is under construction. It was a short drive, less than 10 minutes, and we had no trouble finding free parking. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Banana Bay and found it very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Free parking is a real thing in Key West - try parking a couple blocks off of Duval Street, particularly in the area around Southard. Didn't pay for parking once the entire weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ready to retire
Business
Pittsburgh Pa
Mar 8, 2013

enjoyed

Staff was very nice and friendly. Stayed over spring break and some guests were very loud -- drinking and yelling next to our room but left when we asked them to be quiet. Construction was only a problem when returning from town and not a fault of the resort.- must use detour. Pool, beach area and breakfast very good. Loved our room overlooking the pool -- cabana room it is called. Rooms are large and comfortable - divided onto 2 sections -- living area and a separated bedroom. Overall a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top