$232 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 27, 2015 Check-out: Jan 30, 2015

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
173 reviews
Our 2nd stay

this is the best place for laid back couples that love swimming, hot tubing, looking at the Gulf... See full review

  • MichaelandMichelle
  • Jan 31, 2014
Friends visiting key west at the banana bay and resort

It was perfect and beyond our expectations. Perfect location free breakfast and wonderful room... See full review

  • Gifty1988
  • Aug 18, 2013
Adults-only hotel with private balconies, pool bar, beach near Old Town

Ideal for singles groups or couples looking for a romantic getaway, the adults-only Banana Bay Resort and Marina sits on the waterfront along the Gulf of Mexico, just east of the Old Town area of Key West. From Banana Bay Resort it's a short cab or bike ride to Duval Street, Mallory Square and many other attractions. Guests can find an endless array of restaurants, shops, trolley tours and world-class water sports within walking distance. Banana Bay Resort also boasts a poolside tiki bar, free parking and meeting rooms for business groups.

 

Highlights
  • Adults-only hotel for guests 18 and over
  • Dock space available for boats (dockage fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby, fees apply for guestroom Internet
Rooms

Banana Bay Resort and Marina features 48 guestrooms and suites in a two-story building with exterior corridors. Accommodations boast tropical decor with bamboo and rattan furnishings and the private balconies have garden or pool views. Rooms come with either four-poster king beds or pairs of double beds, Internet access (fees apply), refrigerators, cable TVs, coffee makers and a free newspaper delivered daily.

 

Features

Banana Bay Resort and Marina offers free car parking and dock space for boats (dockage fees apply). This adults-only hotel only accepts guests 18 and over, and on-site amenities include an outdoor pool with a pool bar, whirlpool, a small sunning beach with a wedding gazebo and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the main lobby. Banana Bay offers a free continental breakfast each morning, and business groups can find small meeting spaces on the property.

 

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Miami International Airport (157 mi./251.2 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Southernmost Point of the U.S. (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (2.9 mi./4.6 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will deny registration to anyone under the age of 18, even if accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Banana Bay Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Banana Bay Resort and Marina Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guestrooms have either 1 King or 2 doubles beds which include a balcony with garden or pool views as well as exterior corridor access. Guestrooms are tropically decorated with bamboo and rattan furnishings. rooms also include work desk, dial-up Internet access (surcharge), phone with voice mail, cable/satellite TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer,wet bar sink, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, complimentary newspaper and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Poolside Tiki Bar
Enjoy Tropical Libations at the Poolside tikibar. Hours of operation are Wednesday - Sunday 11AM - 7PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
96 out of 173
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.5
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cobra Fred
Business
Florida
Sep 3, 2014

Banana Bay Resort

This place could be nice but it needs a good scrubbing and some new paint. The price was attractive. The pool could be cleaner and during our stay the hot tub wasn't working. The breakfast included waffles, mini sweet rolls regular sweet rolls, muffins, cereal, coffee and juice. All in all it was a C- stay. I would pass the above info on to a friend and let them make up their own mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Schooner Wharf, a great place to eat with great food at very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sedona mama
Business
Corona, Ca
Sep 1, 2014

Anniversary

Bed is nice but no curve appeal. Every thing looks old . The place needs major repairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Juhren
Business
Jupiter, Florida
Aug 25, 2014

Not so great

Sadly, this hotel is just not worth the price of the rooms. Pay a little extra and stay somewhere worth it. There were fruit flies in our room. The AC was incredibly loud. The bed was squeaky. And overall just a dirty hotel. The staff on the other hand are very nice. Once I complained about the bugs in the room they upgraded us to a suite, which was nicer than the room but still not very nice overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah Allen
Business
North Carolina
Aug 6, 2014

Great stay

This place was awesome! All the amenities you need! 2 miles from duval but we biked there the whole time. Will stay again there! Staff was awesome an very helpful! Laundry on site!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
F. U. Jersey
Business
KCMO
Aug 5, 2014

quiet and relaxing

The staff made this a wonderful experience for us . The hotel was quiet, clean and great location for us, out of the noise in Duval street yet close enough (1 mile away) when we wanted to go out. The only problem we had was that housekeeping missed our room 3 out of the 7 days we were there. They did a fine job when they cleaned, we just had to call down to the front office and things were taken care of. Andre was especially helpful. The bed was very comfortable and we felt the room was well worth the money and this deserves more than 2 astars. We do plan to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

go to Barefoot Billys and jet ski around Key West. Wonderful, informative guides and very worth the price. We had great fun and we are both over 60!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Runaroundsue
Business
NPR, FL
Jun 10, 2014

Just ok

The room was nice, the staff was nice, the grounds were clean and neat, the pool was great-the commode in our room was messed up the whole visit, the tiki bar was not open for drinks, the music the staff provided was 70's music which sucked-It was good if you are going for a layed back vacation but lacked in activities or socializing-I would not stay there again-

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Travellady4
Business
Minnesota
Mar 7, 2014

Good potential- needs renovation

We enjoyed the lush surroundings and view of the water at the hotel. Our room was very basic with peeling paint in the bathroom and a worn carpet. The plumbing fixtures were old and the ceiling was stained. The pool area was nice.At this point I would not stay here again or recommend to others. With renovation it could be a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tjet
Business
Santa Fe
Feb 23, 2014

Just less than good enough

I wouldn't say I'm giving Banana Bay a bad review, I'd say I'm giving them an honest review with no frills. First of all, the staff members we talked to were high above the average hotel employees on friendliness and helpfulness. First class from that point of view. Also, the hotel is on the busy highway but it's kind of tucked away in a mangrove canal and has a nice ambiance around the grounds. And, they were pet friendly which is always a big plus for us and our small dog. They are a 2 mile walk along the bay and the historic district which was a little far from the action of Key West but not too bad if you're up for the walk. Here's what we didn't like: the room, although it could be quaint, was neglected and there were some obvious fixes that needed attention and would be easily done in an afternoon but clearly those go on overlooked. Things like, chipping paint throughout he room, the toilet seat doesn't fit the toilet (that was a first for us) so you're sort of sitting on the toilet more than the seat, the bathroom was just gross in general and we were really kind of disgusted by it, broken window shades, old icky furniture and saggy mattress on the small bed, old bedspreads. The pool is nice but cold and not heated, but there is a hot tub. Also, I've had better continental breakfasts at the Super 8. This hotel could be so cute and much better for the $250 we spent on our room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We had an excellent meal at a very fun restaurant called the Conch Republic Seafood Company.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kstclair
Business
Somerset, PA
Feb 16, 2014

Great if your looking for a quiet getaway

The hotel was a good choice for my husband and I who we're looking for a relaxing vacation. You do have to drive to get to stores, restaurants, and old town. However, it was only a $9 taxi ride to Duvall Street. It is a great choice if you are looking to just lounge and relax!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy sandwich stuff for lunch. The hotel has a refrigerator and complimentary breakfast. Helps to save money eating out ever meal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MichaelandMichelle
Business
Hampton,Va
Jan 31, 2014

Our 2nd stay

this is the best place for laid back couples that love swimming, hot tubing, looking at the Gulf while getting awesome sun and beach grilling. Its the Keys. Wonderful staff. great location. Happy Happy Time. See yall next year!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Southern most point

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top