$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
246 reviews
Our 2nd stay

this is the best place for laid back couples that love swimming, hot tubing, looking at the Gulf... See full review

  • MichaelandMichelle
  • Jan 31, 2014
Friends visiting key west at the banana bay and resort

It was perfect and beyond our expectations. Perfect location free breakfast and wonderful room... See full review

  • Gifty1988
  • Aug 18, 2013
Adults-only hotel with private balconies, pool bar, beach near Old Town

Ideal for singles groups or couples looking for a romantic getaway, the adults-only Banana Bay Resort and Marina sits on the waterfront along the Gulf of Mexico, just east of the Old Town area of Key West. From Banana Bay Resort it's a short cab or bike ride to Duval Street, Mallory Square and many other attractions. Guests can find an endless array of restaurants, shops, trolley tours and world-class water sports within walking distance. Banana Bay Resort also boasts a poolside tiki bar, free parking and meeting rooms for business groups.

 

Highlights
  • Adults-only hotel for guests 18 and over
  • Dock space available for boats (dockage fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby, fees apply for guestroom Internet
Rooms

Banana Bay Resort and Marina features 48 guestrooms and suites in a two-story building with exterior corridors. Accommodations boast tropical decor with bamboo and rattan furnishings and the private balconies have garden or pool views. Rooms come with either four-poster king beds or pairs of double beds, Internet access (fees apply), refrigerators, cable TVs, coffee makers and a free newspaper delivered daily.

 

Features

Banana Bay Resort and Marina offers free car parking and dock space for boats (dockage fees apply). This adults-only hotel only accepts guests 18 and over, and on-site amenities include an outdoor pool with a pool bar, whirlpool, a small sunning beach with a wedding gazebo and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the main lobby. Banana Bay offers a free continental breakfast each morning, and business groups can find small meeting spaces on the property.

 

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Miami International Airport (157 mi./251.2 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Southernmost Point of the U.S. (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (2.9 mi./4.6 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will deny registration to anyone under the age of 18, even if accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Banana Bay Resort and Marina Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guestrooms have either 1 King or 2 doubles beds which include a balcony with garden or pool views as well as exterior corridor access. Guestrooms are tropically decorated with bamboo and rattan furnishings. rooms also include work desk, dial-up Internet access (surcharge), phone with voice mail, cable/satellite TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer,wet bar sink, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, complimentary newspaper and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Banana Bay Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

24.5616 -81.7782
Area served
Located in Key West. Only 1.5 miles from duval street. Close enough to the action and far enough for relaxation.
Nearby airports
Key West Intl Airport (EYW) – A distance of 3 miles & only 10 minutes from Banana Bay Resort Driving directions from Key West International Airport: Turn left from the airport exit & proceed for 3 miles on to Roosevelt Blvd. Banana Bay on the right.
Area description
Hemingway House- 1.5 miles Duval Street (shops and restaurants)- 1.5 miles Sloppy Joes (bar)- 2 miles Key West Aquarium – 2 miles.

Dining

Poolside Tiki Bar
Enjoy Tropical Libations at the Poolside tikibar. Hours of operation are Wednesday - Sunday 11AM - 7PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (246)

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
246 out of 246
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
MI
Feb 11, 2011

Banana Bay

We received a great price for the hotel, and did not expect to find a true "resort", however this hotel was one of the worst I have ever stayed in. The bed linens were clean but very worn, and ill fitting, and there were no mattress pads under the sheet, which would not stay put (too small for the mattress) Needless to say, they should have been replaced long time ago!The bathroom was old and the wallpaper was torn and falling off.The breakfast was not the slightest bit healthy and for a "resort" that was adult only, I cannot understand why they would have nothing but children's cereals such as coco puffs![...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red Fish Blue Fish - great food and service

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa, FL
Apr 18, 2011

Not Worth the Price

I don't think it was worth $179 a night. I saw other people get it for less, so why was I charged so much. If I have to use other travel avenues, I will. I thought I would get a better deal with [...], but I was wrong. You need to take this off your list as a comfortable stay. I have pictures that I would like to upload and show you how bad the accommodations were. The only good thing was the staff, front office & bar tender (Julie), they were great and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Highly recommend the Sunset Cruise with Sebago. It was the most relaxing cruise I have ever been on. The Captain & 2nd Mate were fantstic.

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AlexisS
Tampa, FL
Aug 3, 2009

Not recommended

I was not happy with this motel. I checked the previous ratings and it seemed to be OK. But when I drove up, I knew it was not going to be up to par. The room looked nice enough, but the bath/shower was old and had large divots in the fiberglass and no plug (not that I would even considered taking a bath). The door did not have a back-up lock and was open directly to the outside. When I went down to the pool that's when I got the shock of my life- a man stripped down naked and changed into his thong bathing suit on one side of the pool and a woman was topless sunbathing on the other. It was quiet though, but I was definately NOT impressed and would have been much happier paying a few extra dollars to get a B&B closer to town. The only way to town is via cab buy the way for about 10 dollars. You can take a bus or drive, but the bus schedule is crazy and parking is a nightmare.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
hartford ct
Mar 4, 2009

bad banana bay

it was very bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ormond BEach FL
Jul 2, 2011

Not a good choice.......

I believe a picture tells way more than words but I see no place for me to include them, so here goes: JUST DONT STAY HERE!The rooms are dirty. Our carpet was so bad that after 2 days, showering in-between, the bottoms of our feet were BLACK!The bathroom is gross. Paint coming off the walls, tub would not drain, molding coming off with cracks for mildew. RM 215-check it out-see if I am lying! Lights went out on the island and we found out there is NO back up generator! Not even for exit lights.[...] We left 2 days early because it was such a dump. Also this place says there is a beach, well there is but you can't get to the water!! The ramp is rotted away. Hot tub barely fits 2 people. OH! best part- its top-less by the pool!!! We got to look at really big woman floating out our balcony! Nice.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Fury for snorkeling, at least that wasn't a waste of our time or money. Good, clean boat and nice crew. Worth the money.

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent Keys Traveler
USA
Feb 19, 2013

Hotel is in severe need of renovation

Most wall paper peeling off walls in bathroom and the backside of the paper and the face of the underlying walls were covered in mold. Water in shower fluctuates randomly between cold and hot enough to scald (no scald protection, I would not put a child in that situation). Door appeared to have break-in scars around the handle and latch; the gap between the base of the door and the sill was enough to alow leaves to blow into the room all day. Saw several ants in room each day on counters. I wouldn'teven say "crash here if you want a bare bones stay" as you should spend the extra $25 to stay somewhere clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat breakfast at the Stoned Crab located at the Ibis Resort. Great coffee, pancakes, and omlettes. Lunch is also good- conch fritters and fish tacos.

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Los Angeles, CA
Jul 12, 2009

They don't accept kids!

This hotel doesn't accept kids, and they say that on their webside, no kids under 16 without parents. I called them before, notifying that I was coming with 2 kids, 16, we are their parents. I talked to the manager that said that this was fine. When I showed up they didn't let us staying, saying that the policy is under 18! No way, I talked to the manager and there was on the website (now the prudently change it).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Coral Springs, FL
Jun 25, 2011

Eeewwww

We checked it at 9:30 pm and were shocked to see that the bathroom was not clean and the toilet wasn't even flushed! To top it all off AC was not working and the carpet was dirty. Overall it was the worst experience I've had. After calling the front desk, the receptionist was apologetic but there was no option to change to another room without sacrificing a bed. There was no housekeeping available. At check out, they offered a $50 discount, but I really wanted the whole night to be comp'ed. For the price I originally booked I didn't expect luxury, but I did expect a clean, cool room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PamM
Kentucky
Jun 28, 2013

POORLY MANAGED

NEGATIVE. They refuse booking due to no manager there to approve per desk clerk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
enaj 1
fort lauderdale fl
Sep 22, 2012

I would go somewhere else...

On the website they said they had a free shuttle to town...NOT...so add $20 a day to your expenses for taxis. The rooms were big but poorly appointed with laminate chipped off cabinets, broken furniture and the room had a bad smell. The pillows were small and lumpy, no mattress cover on the mattress, really poor housekeeping and TV that only worked sometime. if I had paid more I would have demanded our money back and made them walk us somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Two restaurants to recommend...Bagatelles close to Mallory Square and 915 at the other end of Duval are wonderful culinary experiences.

Back to menu Return to top