$151 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 28, 2014

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
183 reviews
Our 2nd stay

this is the best place for laid back couples that love swimming, hot tubing, looking at the Gulf... See full review

  • MichaelandMichelle
  • Jan 31, 2014
Friends visiting key west at the banana bay and resort

It was perfect and beyond our expectations. Perfect location free breakfast and wonderful room... See full review

  • Gifty1988
  • Aug 18, 2013
Adults-only hotel with private balconies, pool bar, beach near Old Town

Ideal for singles groups or couples looking for a romantic getaway, the adults-only Banana Bay Resort and Marina sits on the waterfront along the Gulf of Mexico, just east of the Old Town area of Key West. From Banana Bay Resort it's a short cab or bike ride to Duval Street, Mallory Square and many other attractions. Guests can find an endless array of restaurants, shops, trolley tours and world-class water sports within walking distance. Banana Bay Resort also boasts a poolside tiki bar, free parking and meeting rooms for business groups.

 

Highlights
  • Adults-only hotel for guests 18 and over
  • Dock space available for boats (dockage fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby, fees apply for guestroom Internet
Rooms

Banana Bay Resort and Marina features 48 guestrooms and suites in a two-story building with exterior corridors. Accommodations boast tropical decor with bamboo and rattan furnishings and the private balconies have garden or pool views. Rooms come with either four-poster king beds or pairs of double beds, Internet access (fees apply), refrigerators, cable TVs, coffee makers and a free newspaper delivered daily.

 

Features

Banana Bay Resort and Marina offers free car parking and dock space for boats (dockage fees apply). This adults-only hotel only accepts guests 18 and over, and on-site amenities include an outdoor pool with a pool bar, whirlpool, a small sunning beach with a wedding gazebo and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the main lobby. Banana Bay offers a free continental breakfast each morning, and business groups can find small meeting spaces on the property.

 

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Miami International Airport (157 mi./251.2 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Southernmost Point of the U.S. (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (2.9 mi./4.6 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will deny registration to anyone under the age of 18, even if accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

24.5616 -81.7782
Area served
Located in Key West. Only 1.5 miles from duval street. Close enough to the action and far enough for relaxation.
Nearby airports
Key West Intl Airport (EYW) – A distance of 3 miles & only 10 minutes from Banana Bay Resort Driving directions from Key West International Airport: Turn left from the airport exit & proceed for 3 miles on to Roosevelt Blvd. Banana Bay on the right.
Area description
Hemingway House- 1.5 miles Duval Street (shops and restaurants)- 1.5 miles Sloppy Joes (bar)- 2 miles Key West Aquarium – 2 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Banana Bay Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Banana Bay Resort and Marina Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guestrooms have either 1 King or 2 doubles beds which include a balcony with garden or pool views as well as exterior corridor access. Guestrooms are tropically decorated with bamboo and rattan furnishings. rooms also include work desk, dial-up Internet access (surcharge), phone with voice mail, cable/satellite TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer,wet bar sink, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, complimentary newspaper and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Poolside Tiki Bar
Enjoy Tropical Libations at the Poolside tikibar. Hours of operation are Wednesday - Sunday 11AM - 7PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (183)

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
183 out of 183
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
rosebudd
ohio
Jan 12, 2012

Familey trip

I was not happy with the room, the air in our room did not put out cold air, the tv controller did not work. I went to front desk and told them they said they would fix it and I also called the front desk twice and they said they would tell mant. They never came. when the toilet sead was down and when you went to go lift it up it smelled like urine. For what i payed for the room i thought it was not worth the price. I will never stay there again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kathy's Let down
Key West
Sep 16, 2012

Let Down

There was major construction going on in street in front of hotel in August. Very annoying! The Tiki Bar was out of business,not buying liquor from the Winn Dixie and drinking in room. We also had a cockroach in our room. Did not like our trip at all!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Daddy Bones was pretty good.

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
enaj 1
fort lauderdale fl
Sep 22, 2012

I would go somewhere else...

On the website they said they had a free shuttle to town...NOT...so add $20 a day to your expenses for taxis. The rooms were big but poorly appointed with laminate chipped off cabinets, broken furniture and the room had a bad smell. The pillows were small and lumpy, no mattress cover on the mattress, really poor housekeeping and TV that only worked sometime. if I had paid more I would have demanded our money back and made them walk us somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Two restaurants to recommend...Bagatelles close to Mallory Square and 915 at the other end of Duval are wonderful culinary experiences.

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joe Kent
Whitney, Texas
Dec 29, 2012

Frayed around the edges

Banana Bay has three things going for it --- location, location, location. Nobody comes to Key West to sit in their hotel room and watch television; however, TV sets are cheap and BB's could use some updating. Their business has no doubt suffered from the road work going on in front of their place, but if it were me I wouldn't put off everything until the road is completed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Benihanna's is the best place to eat in Key West.

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Moocowlady
Rochester, MN
Feb 16, 2013

Overnight stay before cruise

The location was very good but the condition of the room was very bad. The room smelled and there was many areas in the bathroom where the paint was peeled off and there was mold on the walls. The contenial breakfast - it started at 7:30, we were there at 8 and the coffee was out and the toasters didn't work. We were told at checkout that they were going to be renovating the hotel soon but it is too bad they aren't doing more now because the hotel has so much potential.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent Keys Traveler
USA
Feb 19, 2013

Hotel is in severe need of renovation

Most wall paper peeling off walls in bathroom and the backside of the paper and the face of the underlying walls were covered in mold. Water in shower fluctuates randomly between cold and hot enough to scald (no scald protection, I would not put a child in that situation). Door appeared to have break-in scars around the handle and latch; the gap between the base of the door and the sill was enough to alow leaves to blow into the room all day. Saw several ants in room each day on counters. I wouldn'teven say "crash here if you want a bare bones stay" as you should spend the extra $25 to stay somewhere clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat breakfast at the Stoned Crab located at the Ibis Resort. Great coffee, pancakes, and omlettes. Lunch is also good- conch fritters and fish tacos.

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alby T
NJ
Mar 15, 2013

Everything is frumpy in Key West

This was the cheapest deal in Key West. All other hotels were $315 and up to $450 a night. Given that most of Key West is outdated and frumpy i was not willing to pay that much money to stay there. Continental breakfast was not edible and the beach was quiet on the bay. Needs lots of TLC. Bed was super uncomfortable and I was horrified by the reviews about bed bugs in the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Sandys Cafe has the best and cheapest food in Key West

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PamM
Kentucky
Jun 28, 2013

POORLY MANAGED

NEGATIVE. They refuse booking due to no manager there to approve per desk clerk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BethJune2013
Oklahoma
Jun 6, 2013

Nasty

Bed was awful felt like sink to the middle then checked mattress it had huge 4ft round urine stain!! Curtains to sliding door did not fit to close the curtain was tooo thin that the parking lot lights were bright through the whole room. Celing & wall stains & holes. Carpeted floors dirty. Bathroom cabinet warped wood from damp. One lamp light not working. Television didn't provide closed caption. Says WiFi but not working even at office area. Everytime I contacted the office during business hours I'm on a very long hold then had to redial. Some hang ups as well. Not recommand this place! Sat in my car in front of the office 2am till they open 7am!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hobbit G
Tampa, FL
Jul 28, 2013

Stay away..would not recommend..horrible.

Dear Travelers, Stay AWAY from this hotel--was absolutely horrible. We rented 3 nights for mini-lobster season, and the only positive thing about this--is having a boat-slip for your boat. However, during our stay, another boat kept taking our boat-slip, and we had to complain to manager until it finally got straightened out last day. Had a window air-conditioner that would not cool room down. Room had a musty moldy smell to it. The bathroom water decreased to a "dribble" if your next door neighbor was showering. Toilet clogged & had to retrieve a plunger from office.The fabric on the "so-called pullout sofa queen bed" was all stained and uncomfortable. Maid service dropped off towels one day, and other day I had to go retrieve from office. No fresh linens during our stay. The oven was so OLD could not read the dials that control burners & oven--surprised the stove even worked--Kitchen had pots&pans but no silverware..Very shocked & disappointed that there are such hotels as this these days--couldn't have been more disappointed--and paid $500.00 for 3 nights --was shocked.....Reservation made last minute. Don't recall seeing a smoke detector in the room. If remodeled--could be a great place--as location is great for boats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Before making a commitment, always ask if unit has central air. Website looked great for this hotel--however, our unit was in OLD section and was horrible--no pictures of it on website. I can't imagine the word "Resort" is in the name of this. Would never have booked this if I'd seen it.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search