$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
171 reviews
Our 2nd stay

this is the best place for laid back couples that love swimming, hot tubing, looking at the Gulf... See full review

  • MichaelandMichelle
  • Jan 31, 2014
Friends visiting key west at the banana bay and resort

It was perfect and beyond our expectations. Perfect location free breakfast and wonderful room... See full review

  • Gifty1988
  • Aug 18, 2013
Adults-only hotel with private balconies, pool bar, beach near Old Town

Ideal for singles groups or couples looking for a romantic getaway, the adults-only Banana Bay Resort and Marina sits on the waterfront along the Gulf of Mexico, just east of the Old Town area of Key West. From Banana Bay Resort it's a short cab or bike ride to Duval Street, Mallory Square and many other attractions. Guests can find an endless array of restaurants, shops, trolley tours and world-class water sports within walking distance. Banana Bay Resort also boasts a poolside tiki bar, free parking and meeting rooms for business groups.

 

Highlights
  • Adults-only hotel for guests 18 and over
  • Dock space available for boats (dockage fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby, fees apply for guestroom Internet
Rooms

Banana Bay Resort and Marina features 48 guestrooms and suites in a two-story building with exterior corridors. Accommodations boast tropical decor with bamboo and rattan furnishings and the private balconies have garden or pool views. Rooms come with either four-poster king beds or pairs of double beds, Internet access (fees apply), refrigerators, cable TVs, coffee makers and a free newspaper delivered daily.

 

Features

Banana Bay Resort and Marina offers free car parking and dock space for boats (dockage fees apply). This adults-only hotel only accepts guests 18 and over, and on-site amenities include an outdoor pool with a pool bar, whirlpool, a small sunning beach with a wedding gazebo and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the main lobby. Banana Bay offers a free continental breakfast each morning, and business groups can find small meeting spaces on the property.

 

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Miami International Airport (157 mi./251.2 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Southernmost Point of the U.S. (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (2.9 mi./4.6 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will deny registration to anyone under the age of 18, even if accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

24.5616 -81.7782
Area served
Located in Key West. Only 1.5 miles from duval street. Close enough to the action and far enough for relaxation.
Nearby airports
Key West Intl Airport (EYW) – A distance of 3 miles & only 10 minutes from Banana Bay Resort Driving directions from Key West International Airport: Turn left from the airport exit & proceed for 3 miles on to Roosevelt Blvd. Banana Bay on the right.
Area description
Hemingway House- 1.5 miles Duval Street (shops and restaurants)- 1.5 miles Sloppy Joes (bar)- 2 miles Key West Aquarium – 2 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Banana Bay Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Banana Bay Resort and Marina Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guestrooms have either 1 King or 2 doubles beds which include a balcony with garden or pool views as well as exterior corridor access. Guestrooms are tropically decorated with bamboo and rattan furnishings. rooms also include work desk, dial-up Internet access (surcharge), phone with voice mail, cable/satellite TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer,wet bar sink, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, complimentary newspaper and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Poolside Tiki Bar
Enjoy Tropical Libations at the Poolside tikibar. Hours of operation are Wednesday - Sunday 11AM - 7PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jocaniha
Waterford, CT, USA
Dec 26, 2011

vacation

Room was clean, sink drain plug wouldn't stay up so I removed it. Had to ask for washcloths 3 times. Pool was not heated. Hot tub was warm. I'd probably stay again due to the price though. Average establishment with a resort title.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Duval Street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rub1
long beach newyork
Dec 7, 2011

great peace of mind

wonderful away from all the main attrction very peacefull and quite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

rent bikes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lukey
Skaneateles, New York
Dec 7, 2011

A quiet getaway.

I found the hotel to be very adequate for the needs of my stay. It is an older hotel and shows a little of that in some signs of minor wear and tear in the rooms. However, it should be stated that the room was very clean, comfortable, and quiet. The continental breakfast was very nice with really good bran muffins, and it was also nice to have the mini fridge and microwave in the room. It should also be noted that all of the staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Jennifer and Aneisha were both very helpful at the front desk and made sure to answer any questions I had, and helped me get to all of the places I was looking to visit. All in all I would be very willing to stay there again if and when I can make it back for another visit...and a chance to visit more of the island. I would also highly recommend renting a bike or scooter to get around while you are there. They will both save you money on a taxi, and if you chose biking you can get a little exercise to work off all that great food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Make a point to go to the Butterfly Conservancy at the southern end of Duvall St. It combines a beautiful tropical garden with some of the most beautiful butterflies nature has to offer. Also, the guest pass is good all day long so you can come back to see different butterflies active at different times.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
krbens
Detroit, MI, USA
Nov 24, 2011

Awesome hotel!

It was a great hotel right on the water. It had a pool and tiki bar as well. It was great as an adults only resort. The staff was for the most part friendly and accommodating. There were some problems with room service not cleaning our rooms on time but overall it was a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rick and Sue
central wisconsin
Oct 27, 2011

Great stay!

If you are looking for the lap of luxury, this is not it. Comfortable with great people and a relaxed life style, then this is your place. Only downside the Tiki bar by the pool was not open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent the bicycles and tour Key West. Taxi to Duval Street was less than $10.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Breann
Maryland, USA
Oct 9, 2011

Everyone needs to visit Key West once in their life!!

First thing that comes to mind is.. "You get what you pay for". we got a fairly inexpensive room (compared to avg. Key West hotels) so we didn't expect fully luxury or being right in the action of key west. The room was exactly like the pictures. But I can say, the rooms were very clean and the staff (Jenny) was WONDERFUL!!! She helped us get the absolute most out of our trip. Only a few downsides in my opinion... 1. Location. We spent all of our time on Duval St. So having to drive there each time and find AND pay wasn't exactly ideal. Then having to get a cab back n forth after drinking .... after a while that kind of stuff adds up. 2. The "beach" at the resort... well, it wasn't exactly a beach. It wasnt sand. More like a gravely something. I don't even know. But the chairs n stuff out there were nice and a great place to sit back n relax. 3. Nudity is welcome! Not saying it was a problem.. more like a "just be advised ". Seeing a naked old man at the pool at 9am on our way to breakfast wasn't exactly something we expected to see! Ha. All in all it was a great trip. Everyone should experience Key West at least once in their life. Its amazing!! I think Irish Kevins was our favorite place. All the bars are lots of fun with lots of live music, dancing, and of course drinking! :0) One last thing... we booked a parasailing excursion through the hotel and it was AMAZING!! The views were breath taking, prices were great and best of all the Captain and first mate were absolutely awesome!!! Ladies .... if you're looking for a good time, go visit those guys! Most entertaining excursion I have ever been on. They sing n dance n play great music. And it didn't hurt that they were great eye candy! ;0)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Red fish blue fish... AMAZING Chicken carbonara!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
halmark
Warrenton, VA
Aug 5, 2011

You get what you pay for

Excellent location, decent hotel. Slightly shabby and run down but in Key West you don't spend much time in a hotel room. According to the hotel the nightly rate is $475. If I had paid that I would be less happy. This resort is best describe as a Motel 6 with a slightly nicer pool and no children. Honestly the lack of annoying, noisy children made it all worth it. Also excellent view of the sunset. Avoid the continental breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Keywest is the best
Tampa, fl
Jul 30, 2011

key west

The hotel is a great location. I rented a scooter that was brought to my hotel 5 mins after I got there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pleanty of places within walking distance from hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
waco, tx
Jul 5, 2011

key west

awesome great enjoyed the pool the balcony room for an awesome price the staff was great and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

great place right between the old and new town

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ormond BEach FL
Jul 2, 2011

Not a good choice.......

I believe a picture tells way more than words but I see no place for me to include them, so here goes: JUST DONT STAY HERE!The rooms are dirty. Our carpet was so bad that after 2 days, showering in-between, the bottoms of our feet were BLACK!The bathroom is gross. Paint coming off the walls, tub would not drain, molding coming off with cracks for mildew. RM 215-check it out-see if I am lying! Lights went out on the island and we found out there is NO back up generator! Not even for exit lights.[...] We left 2 days early because it was such a dump. Also this place says there is a beach, well there is but you can't get to the water!! The ramp is rotted away. Hot tub barely fits 2 people. OH! best part- its top-less by the pool!!! We got to look at really big woman floating out our balcony! Nice.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Fury for snorkeling, at least that wasn't a waste of our time or money. Good, clean boat and nice crew. Worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search