$232 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 27, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
View map of 2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dew drop
Business
Phoenix
Dec 23, 2012

Needs some work in our room

Only one of three lamps was working in the room. The bathroom sink and tub plugs were either missing or not working. The wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom. Room was clean. Location was good but not in the old touristy part of the city. Not sure if I could recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Niko86
Business
Miami, FL
Dec 19, 2012

Has potential for more

Came with my girlfriend for an overnight trip. Although the staff was friendly and helpful, my room was really not what was expected. The decor was from the late 80s, the bathroom had wallpaper peeling and missing in some parts. The shower had a mind of its own going from pleasantly warm to very hot and chilled within 2 seconds (not a joke). My big draw for me was (supposed to be) the tiki bar poolside. But on a bright Saturday afternoon, no one was available to serve drinks. The biggest pluses I saw were the location, a quick cab ride to the middle of the city or a good 20 minute walk in the evening, and the comfortable clean bed. Although I will say this to the couples that choose to stay here: the beds are...um...creaky to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

cafe sole for dinner, very romantic and incredible food...pepes for brunch, always spectacular specials

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
searay dog
Business
orlando fl.
Dec 16, 2012

nice place to stay

Good breakfast nice pool and hot tub deck to lounge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Car or bike to town 2.miles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Blenheim on,Canada
Dec 2, 2012

Night in key west

We were given a room next to the marina,old rooms stained carpet.Rooms near the pool and bay looked much nicer.Beautiful view.The breakfast included was very good waffles,bagels ,cereal,coffee,juice and fruit.There are restaurants and shopping within walking distance.The lady working the front desk was very helpful,she will get you a taxi,help you with scooter rental and any other questions you may have.As the room wasn't close to the tourist area,we took a taxi for 10.00 to the most southern point of the us marker and walked Duval back toward the marina.we paid 150.00 not worth the price,would stay again if priced around 90.00 and given the other section of the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
timmkev
Business
Iowa
Dec 1, 2012

Good for money

Not a fancy place but clean. Nice dock and view of bay. Didn't have a shower curtain in our room. Noisy air conditioner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Slippers for SURE!
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Nov 5, 2012

Wonderful Place for Couples

We fell in love with the bed in our hotel room. The hotel is very appealing, and although not haute couture, it is very satisfying. Everything is close, neat and a very cute ambiance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

You must each the seafood and the cuban cuisine in Key West!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 4, 2012

Quiet and quite nice

The entire facility is modest by modern standards but the price is adjusted for condition. A fair balance. Large pool area, hot tub, bar was not open duringour one week stay at all. But, finding a bar in Key West is not an issue. The housekeeping staff is great. All staff was helpful when asked about anything. Rent a scooter to get around and you have a fantastic vacation. I would consider staying there again. We had a rental car which helped from their location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a scooter or bike from this location. Getting to Old Key West is a hike. But the pool is much larger than most in Key West.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rebecca0606
Business
Lafayette, Indiana
Oct 26, 2012

Adult Hotel, poolside

Arriving and going to pool, learned two things. One was that the tiki bar that is poolside was no longer open at all, even though it is advertised to be open from 11-7. No drinks, no snacks. That was disappointing. Also, if you aren't into FULL nudity, poolside, this may not be the local for you. Surprising to us, call us naive. Expected "some" coverage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3 friends from Miami
Business
Miami, fl
Oct 1, 2012

for a night

The motel was affordable, the external areas were nice but the rooms have a view of the parking lot.in general it's an ok establishment :-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
enaj 1
Business
fort lauderdale fl
Sep 22, 2012

I would go somewhere else...

On the website they said they had a free shuttle to town...NOT...so add $20 a day to your expenses for taxis. The rooms were big but poorly appointed with laminate chipped off cabinets, broken furniture and the room had a bad smell. The pillows were small and lumpy, no mattress cover on the mattress, really poor housekeeping and TV that only worked sometime. if I had paid more I would have demanded our money back and made them walk us somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Two restaurants to recommend...Bagatelles close to Mallory Square and 915 at the other end of Duval are wonderful culinary experiences.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top