$218 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
173 reviews
Our 2nd stay

this is the best place for laid back couples that love swimming, hot tubing, looking at the Gulf... See full review

  • MichaelandMichelle
  • Jan 31, 2014
Friends visiting key west at the banana bay and resort

It was perfect and beyond our expectations. Perfect location free breakfast and wonderful room... See full review

  • Gifty1988
  • Aug 18, 2013
Adults-only hotel with private balconies, pool bar, beach near Old Town

Ideal for singles groups or couples looking for a romantic getaway, the adults-only Banana Bay Resort and Marina sits on the waterfront along the Gulf of Mexico, just east of the Old Town area of Key West. From Banana Bay Resort it's a short cab or bike ride to Duval Street, Mallory Square and many other attractions. Guests can find an endless array of restaurants, shops, trolley tours and world-class water sports within walking distance. Banana Bay Resort also boasts a poolside tiki bar, free parking and meeting rooms for business groups.

 

Highlights
  • Adults-only hotel for guests 18 and over
  • Dock space available for boats (dockage fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby, fees apply for guestroom Internet
Rooms

Banana Bay Resort and Marina features 48 guestrooms and suites in a two-story building with exterior corridors. Accommodations boast tropical decor with bamboo and rattan furnishings and the private balconies have garden or pool views. Rooms come with either four-poster king beds or pairs of double beds, Internet access (fees apply), refrigerators, cable TVs, coffee makers and a free newspaper delivered daily.

 

Features

Banana Bay Resort and Marina offers free car parking and dock space for boats (dockage fees apply). This adults-only hotel only accepts guests 18 and over, and on-site amenities include an outdoor pool with a pool bar, whirlpool, a small sunning beach with a wedding gazebo and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the main lobby. Banana Bay offers a free continental breakfast each morning, and business groups can find small meeting spaces on the property.

 

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Miami International Airport (157 mi./251.2 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Southernmost Point of the U.S. (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (2.9 mi./4.6 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will deny registration to anyone under the age of 18, even if accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Banana Bay Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Banana Bay Resort and Marina Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guestrooms have either 1 King or 2 doubles beds which include a balcony with garden or pool views as well as exterior corridor access. Guestrooms are tropically decorated with bamboo and rattan furnishings. rooms also include work desk, dial-up Internet access (surcharge), phone with voice mail, cable/satellite TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer,wet bar sink, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, complimentary newspaper and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Poolside Tiki Bar
Enjoy Tropical Libations at the Poolside tikibar. Hours of operation are Wednesday - Sunday 11AM - 7PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeanio
Business
Bancroft, Wi.
Jan 31, 2013

good time

was ok but wasn't very friendly and bathroom needs update as does the tv..didn't know it was a nude swimming pool but was very clean...no internet in the rooms but was in the breakfast area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KathyDk
Business
Missouri
Jan 29, 2013

Banana bay

We found this place to be a reasonable priced place to stay,for Key West.Rooms were clean,pool and beach area we very nice! Needs some repairs and updates to the buildings,they were doing that when we we there. The shower pressure wasn't the best.overall we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Floggarts was a great place to eat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCS fan
Business
Great White North
Jan 9, 2013

Nice surroundings, great value

Pleasant experience - with the inviting pool and deck that overlooked the sand and lounge chairs overlooking the ocean. Once we got to know how to get around (no problem parking in town during our stay), we were happy we stayed here for the full-sized pool and oceanfront breakfast. Kitchen was handy, but lumpy bed was the only downer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Lucy Deer
Business
NC
Jan 8, 2013

The staff are nice

There was moist smell in the bedroom. Maybe because the hotel is nearby the sea

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The beach is not far

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Joe Kent
Business
Whitney, Texas
Dec 29, 2012

Frayed around the edges

Banana Bay has three things going for it --- location, location, location. Nobody comes to Key West to sit in their hotel room and watch television; however, TV sets are cheap and BB's could use some updating. Their business has no doubt suffered from the road work going on in front of their place, but if it were me I wouldn't put off everything until the road is completed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Benihanna's is the best place to eat in Key West.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fah12345
Business
Chicago, IL
Dec 29, 2012

average hotel but pricy

The location of the hotel is good, close to Duval Walk (10 mins driving), however, the amenities inside the room and breakfast are not good. I didn't know other rooms, but the hair dry and the TV didn't work in our room. The place for breakfast is hard to find, since they didn't put any sign outside and the map is wrong. They actually shared the breakfast room with another two hotels. Last, the breakfast was bad for that high price (cold continental breakfast). I stayed during Christmas week and spend $211/night (after tax and everything). Won't recommend for people who wants to save money on hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yuchen
Business
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Dec 28, 2012

Good Place

This is overall a very good place. It is adjacent to Garrison Bight and has a very good view of the sea. It would be even better if wifi could cover all rooms, not only in the lobby and the Gulf view room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dew drop
Business
Phoenix
Dec 23, 2012

Needs some work in our room

Only one of three lamps was working in the room. The bathroom sink and tub plugs were either missing or not working. The wallpaper was peeling in the bathroom. Room was clean. Location was good but not in the old touristy part of the city. Not sure if I could recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Niko86
Business
Miami, FL
Dec 19, 2012

Has potential for more

Came with my girlfriend for an overnight trip. Although the staff was friendly and helpful, my room was really not what was expected. The decor was from the late 80s, the bathroom had wallpaper peeling and missing in some parts. The shower had a mind of its own going from pleasantly warm to very hot and chilled within 2 seconds (not a joke). My big draw for me was (supposed to be) the tiki bar poolside. But on a bright Saturday afternoon, no one was available to serve drinks. The biggest pluses I saw were the location, a quick cab ride to the middle of the city or a good 20 minute walk in the evening, and the comfortable clean bed. Although I will say this to the couples that choose to stay here: the beds are...um...creaky to say the least.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

cafe sole for dinner, very romantic and incredible food...pepes for brunch, always spectacular specials

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
searay dog
Business
orlando fl.
Dec 16, 2012

nice place to stay

Good breakfast nice pool and hot tub deck to lounge

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Car or bike to town 2.miles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top