$186 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jun 2, 2015 Check-out: Jun 4, 2015

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
View map of 2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fifithecat
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 12, 2013

Relaxing, but slightly overpriced

Perhaps a bit overpriced, but we enjoyed a quality stay at Banana Bay. The room itself its your average hotel room - we had a double - with a southern tropical flair. Nice, sizely balconies with a decent view, even from the first floor (which is actually a bit raised off of street level). I would suspect that very few of the rooms actually have a beach view, although the views of the pool and even the parking lot (with its lush, tropical foliage) is quite nice. Very clean rooms, though they could use a little touch-up/remodeling soon... Not that anything was bad, just some parts of the room are showing their age (scuffed walls, etc). Curtains didn't totally block outside light, especially bright porch light, which is irritating for a light sleeper. Would prefer if Internet access were included in each room, especially for the overall price to stay here. The pool was quite nice, though I was very disappointed the tiki bar was not in service and that the property had no beach hammocks, as pictured on some of the websites. Also, we had to go all the way to the front office to get pool towels, which was inconvenient. Spacious surrounding pool areas, new looking lounge chairs. The grounds closer to the water looked well maintained and were quite pleasant to lounge in. I spent several hours down by the water with the whole area to myself. Breakfast was your typical continental; outdoor seating area is nice. Saw an iguana while eating. We did not walk to Duval or surrounding areas as the road outside the Resort is under construction. It was a short drive, less than 10 minutes, and we had no trouble finding free parking. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Banana Bay and found it very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Free parking is a real thing in Key West - try parking a couple blocks off of Duval Street, particularly in the area around Southard. Didn't pay for parking once the entire weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BethJune2013
Business
Oklahoma
Jun 6, 2013

Nasty

Bed was awful felt like sink to the middle then checked mattress it had huge 4ft round urine stain!! Curtains to sliding door did not fit to close the curtain was tooo thin that the parking lot lights were bright through the whole room. Celing & wall stains & holes. Carpeted floors dirty. Bathroom cabinet warped wood from damp. One lamp light not working. Television didn't provide closed caption. Says WiFi but not working even at office area. Everytime I contacted the office during business hours I'm on a very long hold then had to redial. Some hang ups as well. Not recommand this place! Sat in my car in front of the office 2am till they open 7am!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoodleFace
Business
jacksonville, fl
May 31, 2013

Good hotel for the price

The best part of this hotel was the affordability and great staff. The employee working the front desk allowed us an early check-in when we had been up all night traveling and arrived early. The room was clean and the amenities were great for what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greg DD
Business
sydney
May 21, 2013

Lovely place

Nice welcome from receptionist who advised " must see things" in Key West. Room was spacious, and clean with balcony, four poster bed, micro and fridge in a small kitchette area. All stylish and put together nicely and only negative was wifi in select areas only ie not the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moms 1 and 2
Business
cleveland, ohio
May 11, 2013

get away

my friend and myself had one of the greatest vacations in key West. Banana Bay resort was awesom. The staff were the best. Pool was fantastic. we would and have already recommened it to our friends. Thankyou banana bay .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shrink23
Business
Wisconsin
Apr 28, 2013

Wonderful find!

I booked this hotel last minute . Compared to other hotels in the area, this was far less expensive. I was expecting ordinary lodging. However, I was very pleasantly surprised. The staff were friendly ( albeit no one picked up when I called the front desk at 1 am), the swimming pool and jot tub were delightful, the complimentary breakfast was robust. The decor in the spacious room was extremely charming and tasteful.There is a peaceful beach past te pool, nestled on the Gulf of Mexico . Checking in and checking out we're painless . It is about 2 miles away from the hustle bustle of Duvall street festivities , but for me that was a plus. Highly recommend this place!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alby T
Business
NJ
Mar 15, 2013

Everything is frumpy in Key West

This was the cheapest deal in Key West. All other hotels were $315 and up to $450 a night. Given that most of Key West is outdated and frumpy i was not willing to pay that much money to stay there. Continental breakfast was not edible and the beach was quiet on the bay. Needs lots of TLC. Bed was super uncomfortable and I was horrified by the reviews about bed bugs in the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Sandys Cafe has the best and cheapest food in Key West

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ready to retire
Business
Pittsburgh Pa
Mar 8, 2013

enjoyed

Staff was very nice and friendly. Stayed over spring break and some guests were very loud -- drinking and yelling next to our room but left when we asked them to be quiet. Construction was only a problem when returning from town and not a fault of the resort.- must use detour. Pool, beach area and breakfast very good. Loved our room overlooking the pool -- cabana room it is called. Rooms are large and comfortable - divided onto 2 sections -- living area and a separated bedroom. Overall a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Woodpluie
Business
Evanston, IL
Feb 25, 2013

Nice Tour

Good and clea hotel. A little bit far away from the downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Crazy for Keys
Business
Louisville, KY
Feb 23, 2013

Two stars is generous!

The hotel has a beautiful pool with a gorgeous private sandy beach. However, our room was rough (dirty and unkept). It was extremely dated and because we were in Key West on a holiday weekend, insanely over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Woodonly pizza is a cute little restaurant off of Duval. We stumbled upon in and were so glad we did. The food and atmosphere are fantastic!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top