$245 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 10, 2015 Check-out: May 13, 2015

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
View map of 2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Culicha
Business
Miami, FL
Aug 6, 2013

2 day get away

Nice hotel, great location, relaxed, nice pool, clean

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great small restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
alteredspaces
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Aug 5, 2013

THIS WAS AWFUL!! ! ! !

The young lady who checked us in was very nice. I can't say anything negative about her. When we got to our room it was old and run down. The bed was terrible. There was water damage on the walls. It smelled really bad. It did have lots of windows, but men kept walking through the patio area. It was just my daughter and I and we left and went to another hotel because we just didn't feel safe. The place was very run down. When I took the keys back to the front desk, the young lady offered to let us look at another room. After driving the small property, we couldn't imagine that any of the other rooms were any better. I wasted $189 plus tax. We are pretty easy going, but there was no way we were going to stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ssquared1961
Business
Roanoke, VA
Aug 1, 2013

Beautiful and Peaceful

We loved this hotel! Beautiful location! Beautiful room! The grounds were just gorgeous! Lots of places to sit and look at the gulf. Pictures online do not do this hotel justice. We would love to make another trip to the keys and we would definately stay here again. GREAT place for a honeymoon. No one under 16 so it's quiet. No kids jumping on you in the pool. Absolutely would love to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hobbit G
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 28, 2013

Stay away..would not recommend..horrible.

Dear Travelers, Stay AWAY from this hotel--was absolutely horrible. We rented 3 nights for mini-lobster season, and the only positive thing about this--is having a boat-slip for your boat. However, during our stay, another boat kept taking our boat-slip, and we had to complain to manager until it finally got straightened out last day. Had a window air-conditioner that would not cool room down. Room had a musty moldy smell to it. The bathroom water decreased to a "dribble" if your next door neighbor was showering. Toilet clogged & had to retrieve a plunger from office.The fabric on the "so-called pullout sofa queen bed" was all stained and uncomfortable. Maid service dropped off towels one day, and other day I had to go retrieve from office. No fresh linens during our stay. The oven was so OLD could not read the dials that control burners & oven--surprised the stove even worked--Kitchen had pots&pans but no silverware..Very shocked & disappointed that there are such hotels as this these days--couldn't have been more disappointed--and paid $500.00 for 3 nights --was shocked.....Reservation made last minute. Don't recall seeing a smoke detector in the room. If remodeled--could be a great place--as location is great for boats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Before making a commitment, always ask if unit has central air. Website looked great for this hotel--however, our unit was in OLD section and was horrible--no pictures of it on website. I can't imagine the word "Resort" is in the name of this. Would never have booked this if I'd seen it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PamM
Business
Kentucky
Jun 28, 2013

POORLY MANAGED

NEGATIVE. They refuse booking due to no manager there to approve per desk clerk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hockey god
Business
hartford ct
Jun 22, 2013

couple's vacation

girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel. Very nice location and the restaurant was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

roof top

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JW bukowski
Business
Gainesville, fl
Jun 21, 2013

Everything you need

Pleasant get away for a great value. Comfort and convenient. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kasper1232
Business
Harrisburg, PA, USA
Jun 20, 2013

Sexy Stuff

Now That's SEXY STUFF! I had a great time. Great price ans amazing pool ans jacuzzi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weekender444
Business
Hollywood FL
Jun 18, 2013

Average Motel

There is an ongoing road construction right in front of the place at the moment, the motel is a little far from downtown but on the water, it has a nice waterfront sitting area where you can watch the sunset, the breakfast is average: coffee, bagels, cereal, pool and hot tub looks well maintained as well. Most important at least our room had clean beds and did not smell bad. Location is off... Not walking distance from downtown but then again the price is low and that is expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fifithecat
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 12, 2013

Relaxing, but slightly overpriced

Perhaps a bit overpriced, but we enjoyed a quality stay at Banana Bay. The room itself its your average hotel room - we had a double - with a southern tropical flair. Nice, sizely balconies with a decent view, even from the first floor (which is actually a bit raised off of street level). I would suspect that very few of the rooms actually have a beach view, although the views of the pool and even the parking lot (with its lush, tropical foliage) is quite nice. Very clean rooms, though they could use a little touch-up/remodeling soon... Not that anything was bad, just some parts of the room are showing their age (scuffed walls, etc). Curtains didn't totally block outside light, especially bright porch light, which is irritating for a light sleeper. Would prefer if Internet access were included in each room, especially for the overall price to stay here. The pool was quite nice, though I was very disappointed the tiki bar was not in service and that the property had no beach hammocks, as pictured on some of the websites. Also, we had to go all the way to the front office to get pool towels, which was inconvenient. Spacious surrounding pool areas, new looking lounge chairs. The grounds closer to the water looked well maintained and were quite pleasant to lounge in. I spent several hours down by the water with the whole area to myself. Breakfast was your typical continental; outdoor seating area is nice. Saw an iguana while eating. We did not walk to Duval or surrounding areas as the road outside the Resort is under construction. It was a short drive, less than 10 minutes, and we had no trouble finding free parking. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Banana Bay and found it very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Free parking is a real thing in Key West - try parking a couple blocks off of Duval Street, particularly in the area around Southard. Didn't pay for parking once the entire weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top