$245 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 30, 2015 Check-out: Feb 1, 2015

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
173 reviews
Our 2nd stay

this is the best place for laid back couples that love swimming, hot tubing, looking at the Gulf... See full review

  • MichaelandMichelle
  • Jan 31, 2014
Friends visiting key west at the banana bay and resort

It was perfect and beyond our expectations. Perfect location free breakfast and wonderful room... See full review

  • Gifty1988
  • Aug 18, 2013
Adults-only hotel with private balconies, pool bar, beach near Old Town

Ideal for singles groups or couples looking for a romantic getaway, the adults-only Banana Bay Resort and Marina sits on the waterfront along the Gulf of Mexico, just east of the Old Town area of Key West. From Banana Bay Resort it's a short cab or bike ride to Duval Street, Mallory Square and many other attractions. Guests can find an endless array of restaurants, shops, trolley tours and world-class water sports within walking distance. Banana Bay Resort also boasts a poolside tiki bar, free parking and meeting rooms for business groups.

 

Highlights
  • Adults-only hotel for guests 18 and over
  • Dock space available for boats (dockage fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby, fees apply for guestroom Internet
Rooms

Banana Bay Resort and Marina features 48 guestrooms and suites in a two-story building with exterior corridors. Accommodations boast tropical decor with bamboo and rattan furnishings and the private balconies have garden or pool views. Rooms come with either four-poster king beds or pairs of double beds, Internet access (fees apply), refrigerators, cable TVs, coffee makers and a free newspaper delivered daily.

 

Features

Banana Bay Resort and Marina offers free car parking and dock space for boats (dockage fees apply). This adults-only hotel only accepts guests 18 and over, and on-site amenities include an outdoor pool with a pool bar, whirlpool, a small sunning beach with a wedding gazebo and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the main lobby. Banana Bay offers a free continental breakfast each morning, and business groups can find small meeting spaces on the property.

 

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Miami International Airport (157 mi./251.2 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Southernmost Point of the U.S. (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (2.9 mi./4.6 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will deny registration to anyone under the age of 18, even if accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Banana Bay Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Banana Bay Resort and Marina Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guestrooms have either 1 King or 2 doubles beds which include a balcony with garden or pool views as well as exterior corridor access. Guestrooms are tropically decorated with bamboo and rattan furnishings. rooms also include work desk, dial-up Internet access (surcharge), phone with voice mail, cable/satellite TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer,wet bar sink, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, complimentary newspaper and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Poolside Tiki Bar
Enjoy Tropical Libations at the Poolside tikibar. Hours of operation are Wednesday - Sunday 11AM - 7PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (173)

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ssquared1961
Business
Roanoke, VA
Aug 1, 2013

Beautiful and Peaceful

We loved this hotel! Beautiful location! Beautiful room! The grounds were just gorgeous! Lots of places to sit and look at the gulf. Pictures online do not do this hotel justice. We would love to make another trip to the keys and we would definately stay here again. GREAT place for a honeymoon. No one under 16 so it's quiet. No kids jumping on you in the pool. Absolutely would love to go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hobbit G
Business
Tampa, FL
Jul 28, 2013

Stay away..would not recommend..horrible.

Dear Travelers, Stay AWAY from this hotel--was absolutely horrible. We rented 3 nights for mini-lobster season, and the only positive thing about this--is having a boat-slip for your boat. However, during our stay, another boat kept taking our boat-slip, and we had to complain to manager until it finally got straightened out last day. Had a window air-conditioner that would not cool room down. Room had a musty moldy smell to it. The bathroom water decreased to a "dribble" if your next door neighbor was showering. Toilet clogged & had to retrieve a plunger from office.The fabric on the "so-called pullout sofa queen bed" was all stained and uncomfortable. Maid service dropped off towels one day, and other day I had to go retrieve from office. No fresh linens during our stay. The oven was so OLD could not read the dials that control burners & oven--surprised the stove even worked--Kitchen had pots&pans but no silverware..Very shocked & disappointed that there are such hotels as this these days--couldn't have been more disappointed--and paid $500.00 for 3 nights --was shocked.....Reservation made last minute. Don't recall seeing a smoke detector in the room. If remodeled--could be a great place--as location is great for boats.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Before making a commitment, always ask if unit has central air. Website looked great for this hotel--however, our unit was in OLD section and was horrible--no pictures of it on website. I can't imagine the word "Resort" is in the name of this. Would never have booked this if I'd seen it.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PamM
Business
Kentucky
Jun 28, 2013

POORLY MANAGED

NEGATIVE. They refuse booking due to no manager there to approve per desk clerk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hockey god
Business
hartford ct
Jun 22, 2013

couple's vacation

girlfriend and I stayed at this hotel. Very nice location and the restaurant was perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

roof top

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JW bukowski
Business
Gainesville, fl
Jun 21, 2013

Everything you need

Pleasant get away for a great value. Comfort and convenient. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kasper1232
Business
Harrisburg, PA, USA
Jun 20, 2013

Sexy Stuff

Now That's SEXY STUFF! I had a great time. Great price ans amazing pool ans jacuzzi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
weekender444
Business
Hollywood FL
Jun 18, 2013

Average Motel

There is an ongoing road construction right in front of the place at the moment, the motel is a little far from downtown but on the water, it has a nice waterfront sitting area where you can watch the sunset, the breakfast is average: coffee, bagels, cereal, pool and hot tub looks well maintained as well. Most important at least our room had clean beds and did not smell bad. Location is off... Not walking distance from downtown but then again the price is low and that is expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fifithecat
Business
Tucson, AZ
Jun 12, 2013

Relaxing, but slightly overpriced

Perhaps a bit overpriced, but we enjoyed a quality stay at Banana Bay. The room itself its your average hotel room - we had a double - with a southern tropical flair. Nice, sizely balconies with a decent view, even from the first floor (which is actually a bit raised off of street level). I would suspect that very few of the rooms actually have a beach view, although the views of the pool and even the parking lot (with its lush, tropical foliage) is quite nice. Very clean rooms, though they could use a little touch-up/remodeling soon... Not that anything was bad, just some parts of the room are showing their age (scuffed walls, etc). Curtains didn't totally block outside light, especially bright porch light, which is irritating for a light sleeper. Would prefer if Internet access were included in each room, especially for the overall price to stay here. The pool was quite nice, though I was very disappointed the tiki bar was not in service and that the property had no beach hammocks, as pictured on some of the websites. Also, we had to go all the way to the front office to get pool towels, which was inconvenient. Spacious surrounding pool areas, new looking lounge chairs. The grounds closer to the water looked well maintained and were quite pleasant to lounge in. I spent several hours down by the water with the whole area to myself. Breakfast was your typical continental; outdoor seating area is nice. Saw an iguana while eating. We did not walk to Duval or surrounding areas as the road outside the Resort is under construction. It was a short drive, less than 10 minutes, and we had no trouble finding free parking. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at Banana Bay and found it very relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Free parking is a real thing in Key West - try parking a couple blocks off of Duval Street, particularly in the area around Southard. Didn't pay for parking once the entire weekend.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
BethJune2013
Business
Oklahoma
Jun 6, 2013

Nasty

Bed was awful felt like sink to the middle then checked mattress it had huge 4ft round urine stain!! Curtains to sliding door did not fit to close the curtain was tooo thin that the parking lot lights were bright through the whole room. Celing & wall stains & holes. Carpeted floors dirty. Bathroom cabinet warped wood from damp. One lamp light not working. Television didn't provide closed caption. Says WiFi but not working even at office area. Everytime I contacted the office during business hours I'm on a very long hold then had to redial. Some hang ups as well. Not recommand this place! Sat in my car in front of the office 2am till they open 7am!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NoodleFace
Business
jacksonville, fl
May 31, 2013

Good hotel for the price

The best part of this hotel was the affordability and great staff. The employee working the front desk allowed us an early check-in when we had been up all night traveling and arrived early. The room was clean and the amenities were great for what we paid.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top