$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 16, 2014

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
243 reviews
Our 2nd stay

this is the best place for laid back couples that love swimming, hot tubing, looking at the Gulf... See full review

  • MichaelandMichelle
  • Jan 31, 2014
Friends visiting key west at the banana bay and resort

It was perfect and beyond our expectations. Perfect location free breakfast and wonderful room... See full review

  • Gifty1988
  • Aug 18, 2013
Adults-only hotel with private balconies, pool bar, beach near Old Town

Ideal for singles groups or couples looking for a romantic getaway, the adults-only Banana Bay Resort and Marina sits on the waterfront along the Gulf of Mexico, just east of the Old Town area of Key West. From Banana Bay Resort it's a short cab or bike ride to Duval Street, Mallory Square and many other attractions. Guests can find an endless array of restaurants, shops, trolley tours and world-class water sports within walking distance. Banana Bay Resort also boasts a poolside tiki bar, free parking and meeting rooms for business groups.

 

Highlights
  • Adults-only hotel for guests 18 and over
  • Dock space available for boats (dockage fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby, fees apply for guestroom Internet
Rooms

Banana Bay Resort and Marina features 48 guestrooms and suites in a two-story building with exterior corridors. Accommodations boast tropical decor with bamboo and rattan furnishings and the private balconies have garden or pool views. Rooms come with either four-poster king beds or pairs of double beds, Internet access (fees apply), refrigerators, cable TVs, coffee makers and a free newspaper delivered daily.

 

Features

Banana Bay Resort and Marina offers free car parking and dock space for boats (dockage fees apply). This adults-only hotel only accepts guests 18 and over, and on-site amenities include an outdoor pool with a pool bar, whirlpool, a small sunning beach with a wedding gazebo and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the main lobby. Banana Bay offers a free continental breakfast each morning, and business groups can find small meeting spaces on the property.

 

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Miami International Airport (157 mi./251.2 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Southernmost Point of the U.S. (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (2.9 mi./4.6 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will deny registration to anyone under the age of 18, even if accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Banana Bay Resort and Marina Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guestrooms have either 1 King or 2 doubles beds which include a balcony with garden or pool views as well as exterior corridor access. Guestrooms are tropically decorated with bamboo and rattan furnishings. rooms also include work desk, dial-up Internet access (surcharge), phone with voice mail, cable/satellite TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer,wet bar sink, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, complimentary newspaper and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Banana Bay Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

24.5616 -81.7782
Area served
Located in Key West. Only 1.5 miles from duval street. Close enough to the action and far enough for relaxation.
Nearby airports
Key West Intl Airport (EYW) – A distance of 3 miles & only 10 minutes from Banana Bay Resort Driving directions from Key West International Airport: Turn left from the airport exit & proceed for 3 miles on to Roosevelt Blvd. Banana Bay on the right.
Area description
Hemingway House- 1.5 miles Duval Street (shops and restaurants)- 1.5 miles Sloppy Joes (bar)- 2 miles Key West Aquarium – 2 miles.

Dining

Poolside Tiki Bar
Enjoy Tropical Libations at the Poolside tikibar. Hours of operation are Wednesday - Sunday 11AM - 7PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (243)

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 243
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Alby T
NJ
Mar 15, 2013

Everything is frumpy in Key West

This was the cheapest deal in Key West. All other hotels were $315 and up to $450 a night. Given that most of Key West is outdated and frumpy i was not willing to pay that much money to stay there. Continental breakfast was not edible and the beach was quiet on the bay. Needs lots of TLC. Bed was super uncomfortable and I was horrified by the reviews about bed bugs in the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Sandys Cafe has the best and cheapest food in Key West

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ready to retire
Pittsburgh Pa
Mar 8, 2013

enjoyed

Staff was very nice and friendly. Stayed over spring break and some guests were very loud -- drinking and yelling next to our room but left when we asked them to be quiet. Construction was only a problem when returning from town and not a fault of the resort.- must use detour. Pool, beach area and breakfast very good. Loved our room overlooking the pool -- cabana room it is called. Rooms are large and comfortable - divided onto 2 sections -- living area and a separated bedroom. Overall a good place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Woodpluie
Evanston, IL
Feb 25, 2013

Nice Tour

Good and clea hotel. A little bit far away from the downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Crazy for Keys
Louisville, KY
Feb 23, 2013

Two stars is generous!

The hotel has a beautiful pool with a gorgeous private sandy beach. However, our room was rough (dirty and unkept). It was extremely dated and because we were in Key West on a holiday weekend, insanely over priced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Woodonly pizza is a cute little restaurant off of Duval. We stumbled upon in and were so glad we did. The food and atmosphere are fantastic!

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Frequent Keys Traveler
USA
Feb 19, 2013

Hotel is in severe need of renovation

Most wall paper peeling off walls in bathroom and the backside of the paper and the face of the underlying walls were covered in mold. Water in shower fluctuates randomly between cold and hot enough to scald (no scald protection, I would not put a child in that situation). Door appeared to have break-in scars around the handle and latch; the gap between the base of the door and the sill was enough to alow leaves to blow into the room all day. Saw several ants in room each day on counters. I wouldn'teven say "crash here if you want a bare bones stay" as you should spend the extra $25 to stay somewhere clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat breakfast at the Stoned Crab located at the Ibis Resort. Great coffee, pancakes, and omlettes. Lunch is also good- conch fritters and fish tacos.

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Moocowlady
Rochester, MN
Feb 16, 2013

Overnight stay before cruise

The location was very good but the condition of the room was very bad. The room smelled and there was many areas in the bathroom where the paint was peeled off and there was mold on the walls. The contenial breakfast - it started at 7:30, we were there at 8 and the coffee was out and the toasters didn't work. We were told at checkout that they were going to be renovating the hotel soon but it is too bad they aren't doing more now because the hotel has so much potential.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kxk33
Orlando, FL
Feb 4, 2013

Clean and friendly

Good location on the water with a little inlet running up the side of the campus. Nice pool area, hot tub was cold the first night, but then warmed up for the second night. Beautiful location on the water with a little beach and palm trees. Provided breakfast was acceptable. Room was large and clean with plenty of towels and a great view onto the pool. Plenty of hot water too. Well landscaped and cozy! 10$ cab ride to Mallory square, 7$ per person to the airport. Not very walk-able outside the resort, Kim's Kuban was delicious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Kim's Kuban. Take-out cuban food, breakfast and lunch.

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeanio
Bancroft, Wi.
Jan 31, 2013

good time

was ok but wasn't very friendly and bathroom needs update as does the tv..didn't know it was a nude swimming pool but was very clean...no internet in the rooms but was in the breakfast area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
KathyDk
Missouri
Jan 29, 2013

Banana bay

We found this place to be a reasonable priced place to stay,for Key West.Rooms were clean,pool and beach area we very nice! Needs some repairs and updates to the buildings,they were doing that when we we there. The shower pressure wasn't the best.overall we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Floggarts was a great place to eat!

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BCS fan
Great White North
Jan 9, 2013

Nice surroundings, great value

Pleasant experience - with the inviting pool and deck that overlooked the sand and lounge chairs overlooking the ocean. Once we got to know how to get around (no problem parking in town during our stay), we were happy we stayed here for the full-sized pool and oceanfront breakfast. Kitchen was handy, but lumpy bed was the only downer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top