Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
172 reviews
Our 2nd stay

this is the best place for laid back couples that love swimming, hot tubing, looking at the Gulf... See full review

  • MichaelandMichelle
  • Jan 31, 2014
Friends visiting key west at the banana bay and resort

It was perfect and beyond our expectations. Perfect location free breakfast and wonderful room... See full review

  • Gifty1988
  • Aug 18, 2013
Just two miles from where the U.S.A. ends, ideally situated where "Old Town" Key West begins, is the Keys' most romantic destination, Banana Bay Resort - Key West, one of the only oceanfront hotels in Key West. Minutes away by bicycle (traditional island transportation), experience the sites and sounds of the Conch Republic! Six blocks to the historic district of Key West, one and a half miles from Duval Street. Public shuttle transportation at nominal fee every 30 minutes. Shop in funky boutiques, visit art galleries, quirky museums & view gingerbread architecture. Savor the taste of the tropics, quench your thirst in a local Key West Hemingway haunt and witness the most famous sunset celebration in the Caribbean... on the docks of Mallory Square. The end of the day just marks the beginning of Key West's endless night life... renowned restaurants, live Theatre, cabarets and notorious night clubs! The Banana Bay Resort & Marina, one of only a handful of the hotels in Key West which is anadult exclusivet resort. Features include deluxe air-conditioned guestrooms, and one bedroom suites along with free parking. Amenities include a tropical freshwater pool, small sandy sunning beach, whirlpool, beachside wedding gazebo, complimentary wireless internet accessin the main lobby, Tiki Bar, eco-sail, kayak safari, flats guide, and a Dolphin in the Wild Safari snorkel boat. Within walking distance of our hotel are many restaurants, shops, trolley tours and world class charter fishing & sailing. There are 32 guestrooms and 14 suites housed in a two-storey building with exterior corridors (no elevators). 500 square-foot accommodations at the Banana Bay Key West have balconies with garden or pool views and tropical décor with bamboo and rattan furnishings. Rooms are equipped with dial-up Internet access, phones with voice mail and cable/satelitte TV. Daily newspaper are delivered complimentary. The poolside Tiki Bar is open for tropical Libations Wednesday-Sunday from 11:00 am - 7:00 pm. Cocktails include beer, wine and wine-based liquors. Please Note: This resort caters exclusively to adults and will deny registration to anyone under the age of 18, even if accompanied by an adult.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Banana Bay Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Banana Bay Resort and Marina Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guestrooms have either 1 King or 2 doubles beds which include a balcony with garden or pool views as well as exterior corridor access. Guestrooms are tropically decorated with bamboo and rattan furnishings. rooms also include work desk, dial-up Internet access (surcharge), phone with voice mail, cable/satellite TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer,wet bar sink, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, complimentary newspaper and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Poolside Tiki Bar
Enjoy Tropical Libations at the Poolside tikibar. Hours of operation are Wednesday - Sunday 11AM - 7PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (172)

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
172 out of 172
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Geff
Business
England
Mar 21, 2010

A little disappointing

Overall a little tired and in need of redecorating. Strange room layout with excess space in the bedroom and tiny cramped bathrooms. Waterfront location but no beach or real sea-swimming acess. A little too far from the old town, requiring a drive in and associated parking issues. On the positive side, it is adults only and so peaceful and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Book in advance for the dolphin safari tour as it fills up quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
frugaltraveller
Business
MPLS
Mar 17, 2010

Average Hotel but Bad service

My wife and I drove down from Fort Lauderdale to Key West for 2 nights. Key west hotels have a late check in which means if you check in at 10 am, you have to pay for the previous night. Our schedule let us check in around 5 pm. This hotel also does not allow families with kids. We asked for a microwave to be installed and the vent in the restroom to be fixed. The front desk promised us to do that but it never happened in those 2 days. We only interacted with 1-2 front desk staff and their response is not that friendly. The hotel has the buildings surrounded by tall trees which was nice. It was away from the main street which was nice. Less heat and less noise. The buildings are old which means no elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Check in around afternoon-evening to avoid paying for previous night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Simsbury, CT
Feb 18, 2010

Key West is great to visit and getaway

While the location looked like it could be a problem due to being on a very busy street, we were surprised at how quiet the room location was and didn't hear any of the busy traffic. It lacked any pizzaz and was just plain tired, including the receptionist look like the world had beaten on her, exhibited no energy or friendliness. She clearly wasn't very happy working there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dining was too far and while we walked, it was a very long walk, more likely a cab drive for most.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake City, Pa
Feb 8, 2010

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

The resort is very quiet and restful, the staff very friendly, but the resort needs some work. We were there 2 years ago and the place needed a little work then and it still needs some but all in all it was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Coupons abound if you look for brochures through out the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
styrone
Business
New London, NC
Feb 3, 2010

Average hotel.

The staff was helpful and nice. The rooms were large though not the cleanest place we've stayed. Wall paper was peeling from wall in bathroom. Beds were nice and comfortable. Would have liked to have been closer to old town but the rates were nice compared to hotels that are closer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a car if staying at this hotel. Don't get an electric cart because of driving distance to old town and recharging the cart is hard at Banana Bay(no electical outlets outside except at the office). Also, the carts are expensive compared to an auto.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
We be Jammin
Business
South Florida
Jan 17, 2010

Awesome Staff

While it wasn't dirty, it wasn't a 5 star hotel. The view and the staff friendliness certainly made up for that. The only downside was the neighbor who got up at 4AM with extremely loud music, but hey it's Key West, you gotta roll with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Maxi Taxi is a great cab company to use!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Papillion NE
Dec 19, 2009

Getting my "Grove" back

Quiet & relaxing stay. Room size & cleanliness where great for the price. The bathroom however could have used some updating but was clean & well kept. Wait staff [...]at the Tiki Bar was most informative & helpful . . . knew everyone by their first name after the first day. Good location but about 2 mile to Duval Street, walkable but $10.00 one way by cab. Has nothing to do with the resort but Key West could benefit with a better general public transportation system. Enjoyed my stay & am looking forward to when I will be able to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a bike or scooter while there, it is the only way to get around. Wait staff at the Tiki bar was more than helpful & ready to assist in setting this up. Drop off & pick up was available at resort location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Dec 6, 2009

not a bad hotel

needs new matress

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

entire island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roggy
Business
buffalo mn
Nov 3, 2009

great place to stay at good price

really enjoyed this hotel.it is a very good location and a good price.would definitely come back to this hotel again next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

really liked daddy bones barbecue and is really close to banana bay hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ottis
Business
glen falls ny
Oct 31, 2009

older resort

rooms need to be updated but are clean. staff was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top