$297 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 5, 2015 Check-out: Mar 6, 2015

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
View map of 2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
175 reviews
Our 2nd stay

this is the best place for laid back couples that love swimming, hot tubing, looking at the Gulf... See full review

  • MichaelandMichelle
  • Jan 31, 2014
Nice base for Key West sighseeing

Reception area is modest and misleading. The facilities (hot tub, swimming pool, gazebo facing the... See full review

  • Avid cyclist
  • Mar 1, 2015
Adults-only hotel with private balconies, pool bar, beach near Old Town

Ideal for singles groups or couples looking for a romantic getaway, the adults-only Banana Bay Resort and Marina sits on the waterfront along the Gulf of Mexico, just east of the Old Town area of Key West. From Banana Bay Resort it's a short cab or bike ride to Duval Street, Mallory Square and many other attractions. Guests can find an endless array of restaurants, shops, trolley tours and world-class water sports within walking distance. Banana Bay Resort also boasts a poolside tiki bar, free parking and meeting rooms for business groups.

 

Highlights
  • Adults-only hotel for guests 18 and over
  • Dock space available for boats (dockage fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby, fees apply for guestroom Internet
Rooms

Banana Bay Resort and Marina features 48 guestrooms and suites in a two-story building with exterior corridors. Accommodations boast tropical decor with bamboo and rattan furnishings and the private balconies have garden or pool views. Rooms come with either four-poster king beds or pairs of double beds, Internet access (fees apply), refrigerators, cable TVs, coffee makers and a free newspaper delivered daily.

 

Features

Banana Bay Resort and Marina offers free car parking and dock space for boats (dockage fees apply). This adults-only hotel only accepts guests 18 and over, and on-site amenities include an outdoor pool with a pool bar, whirlpool, a small sunning beach with a wedding gazebo and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the main lobby. Banana Bay offers a free continental breakfast each morning, and business groups can find small meeting spaces on the property.

 

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Miami International Airport (157 mi./251.2 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Southernmost Point of the U.S. (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (2.9 mi./4.6 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will deny registration to anyone under the age of 18, even if accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Banana Bay Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Banana Bay Resort and Marina Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guestrooms have either 1 King or 2 doubles beds which include a balcony with garden or pool views as well as exterior corridor access. Guestrooms are tropically decorated with bamboo and rattan furnishings. rooms also include work desk, dial-up Internet access (surcharge), phone with voice mail, cable/satellite TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer,wet bar sink, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, complimentary newspaper and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Poolside Tiki Bar
Enjoy Tropical Libations at the Poolside tikibar. Hours of operation are Wednesday - Sunday 11AM - 7PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Newly Wed Linda
Business
Virginia
Mar 23, 2010

Swimming Pool Pretty, Decor Shabby

The pool area is the best thing about this hotel. Very relaxing, although the tiki bar served only beer or vodka, they were cheap. The worst thing about this hotel was that it looked as if it had been furnished from a garage sale. The chairs in the breakfast room (which was more a prefabricated lean to) were so deep you had to sit on the edge and the tables were so high you had to eat with your chin resting on them. The 2 toasters did not work properly and took forever to heat up. Bathroom was desperately in need of grout/tile cleaning and the paint work everywhere was peeling away. The bed was missing it's canopy and the bedding was stained. The staff friendly and helpful. Glad I only stayed 2 nights, this could be a great place if it had some money spent on refurbishment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

In Key West there are 2 new, hopping restaurants. We were recommended to go to "Santiago" by a customer and the food was great and hostess wonderful. Hotel staff recommended "Blue Heaven". This place is over rated and served cold food...twice... and argued we were "wrong" to expect hot pork chops etc.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City
Mar 22, 2010

Mediocre motel in a good location

This was our first trip to the Keys, and we were struck by the number of dumpy, 50 year-old roadside motels that slapped the word "resort" on their signs. While Banana Bay is not among that group (yet), one gets the idea they are just on the cusp. Everywhere we looked, there were signs that the place was in disrepair: peeling paint and bad patch jobs on the walls; wallpaper being held in place with clear packaging tape; lamps burned out; a poorly installed ceiling fan that wobbled so badly it could only be run on low-speed; broken plastic rocking chairs on the balcony; the balcony was missing roughly half of its flooring tiles; the window was in such bad shape that if you tried to open it, it the whole lower half of the window fell out of the wall. The first night there, we were awakened by yelling from a party taking place in the pool area. When we tried calling the office, we reached a recording saying the office closed at 10:30 p.m.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Geff
Business
England
Mar 21, 2010

A little disappointing

Overall a little tired and in need of redecorating. Strange room layout with excess space in the bedroom and tiny cramped bathrooms. Waterfront location but no beach or real sea-swimming acess. A little too far from the old town, requiring a drive in and associated parking issues. On the positive side, it is adults only and so peaceful and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Book in advance for the dolphin safari tour as it fills up quickly.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
frugaltraveller
Business
MPLS
Mar 17, 2010

Average Hotel but Bad service

My wife and I drove down from Fort Lauderdale to Key West for 2 nights. Key west hotels have a late check in which means if you check in at 10 am, you have to pay for the previous night. Our schedule let us check in around 5 pm. This hotel also does not allow families with kids. We asked for a microwave to be installed and the vent in the restroom to be fixed. The front desk promised us to do that but it never happened in those 2 days. We only interacted with 1-2 front desk staff and their response is not that friendly. The hotel has the buildings surrounded by tall trees which was nice. It was away from the main street which was nice. Less heat and less noise. The buildings are old which means no elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Check in around afternoon-evening to avoid paying for previous night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Simsbury, CT
Feb 18, 2010

Key West is great to visit and getaway

While the location looked like it could be a problem due to being on a very busy street, we were surprised at how quiet the room location was and didn't hear any of the busy traffic. It lacked any pizzaz and was just plain tired, including the receptionist look like the world had beaten on her, exhibited no energy or friendliness. She clearly wasn't very happy working there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Dining was too far and while we walked, it was a very long walk, more likely a cab drive for most.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake City, Pa
Feb 8, 2010

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

The resort is very quiet and restful, the staff very friendly, but the resort needs some work. We were there 2 years ago and the place needed a little work then and it still needs some but all in all it was a good stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Coupons abound if you look for brochures through out the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
styrone
Business
New London, NC
Feb 3, 2010

Average hotel.

The staff was helpful and nice. The rooms were large though not the cleanest place we've stayed. Wall paper was peeling from wall in bathroom. Beds were nice and comfortable. Would have liked to have been closer to old town but the rates were nice compared to hotels that are closer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a car if staying at this hotel. Don't get an electric cart because of driving distance to old town and recharging the cart is hard at Banana Bay(no electical outlets outside except at the office). Also, the carts are expensive compared to an auto.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
We be Jammin
Business
South Florida
Jan 17, 2010

Awesome Staff

While it wasn't dirty, it wasn't a 5 star hotel. The view and the staff friendliness certainly made up for that. The only downside was the neighbor who got up at 4AM with extremely loud music, but hey it's Key West, you gotta roll with it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Maxi Taxi is a great cab company to use!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Papillion NE
Dec 19, 2009

Getting my "Grove" back

Quiet & relaxing stay. Room size & cleanliness where great for the price. The bathroom however could have used some updating but was clean & well kept. Wait staff [...]at the Tiki Bar was most informative & helpful . . . knew everyone by their first name after the first day. Good location but about 2 mile to Duval Street, walkable but $10.00 one way by cab. Has nothing to do with the resort but Key West could benefit with a better general public transportation system. Enjoyed my stay & am looking forward to when I will be able to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Rent a bike or scooter while there, it is the only way to get around. Wait staff at the Tiki bar was more than helpful & ready to assist in setting this up. Drop off & pick up was available at resort location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Dec 6, 2009

not a bad hotel

needs new matress

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

entire island

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top