Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
View map of 2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
170 out of 170
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Ormond BEach FL
Jul 2, 2011

Not a good choice.......

I believe a picture tells way more than words but I see no place for me to include them, so here goes: JUST DONT STAY HERE!The rooms are dirty. Our carpet was so bad that after 2 days, showering in-between, the bottoms of our feet were BLACK!The bathroom is gross. Paint coming off the walls, tub would not drain, molding coming off with cracks for mildew. RM 215-check it out-see if I am lying! Lights went out on the island and we found out there is NO back up generator! Not even for exit lights.[...] We left 2 days early because it was such a dump. Also this place says there is a beach, well there is but you can't get to the water!! The ramp is rotted away. Hot tub barely fits 2 people. OH! best part- its top-less by the pool!!! We got to look at really big woman floating out our balcony! Nice.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Fury for snorkeling, at least that wasn't a waste of our time or money. Good, clean boat and nice crew. Worth the money.

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
New Jersey
Jun 27, 2011

key west trip

Good value hotel, short transportation to the main attractions in the town, staff was friendly and helpful, clean rooms. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Coral Springs, FL
Jun 25, 2011

Eeewwww

We checked it at 9:30 pm and were shocked to see that the bathroom was not clean and the toilet wasn't even flushed! To top it all off AC was not working and the carpet was dirty. Overall it was the worst experience I've had. After calling the front desk, the receptionist was apologetic but there was no option to change to another room without sacrificing a bed. There was no housekeeping available. At check out, they offered a $50 discount, but I really wanted the whole night to be comp'ed. For the price I originally booked I didn't expect luxury, but I did expect a clean, cool room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Valrico, FL
Jun 22, 2011

Last minute trip

This was my first time in Key West and we just planned a day and a half. We arrived on Sunday at around 2pm and were able to check in. The room was very cute and clean. Exactly what the pictures described. The bathroom needs some updating but was clean. We didn't really use the hotel ammemities because we really wanted to spend our time sight seeing and enjoying the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We found a Pay to Park place in front of the post office, same street as the Little White House. I think it was Whitehead. It was $1.50 per hour. We paid a total of $10. It was in a great spot and we were able to walk everywhere. We skipped the Trolley because everything was so close together. Def go to Mallory Square for the sunset. It was free and there was some interesting entertainment for tips if you wanted to drop a little change...but not required.

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
el jeffe
Single
Orlando, FL
Jun 17, 2011

Birthday trip to Key West

Great Hotel. Very very very friendly staff and knowledgeable of the area. Rented bikes and had an enjoyable stay. Very pretty scenery. Great that there were no Children. 18+ only is a A++. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Rent a bike from the eco friendly bike rentals.

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Winter springs, fl
Jun 3, 2011

Not what it seemed

My friend and I took a vacation it was her first time in key west and my second, we are both young and thought this place would be great. The "private" beach was a joke!! It was sand and chairs that's about it. This place is not a good place for family's it's very open nude pool and open people. We did not like the room service our first room was pretty bad. My friends bed was broken and had bugs! We told the maid and she said it wasn't broken and saw no bugs. We had to switch rooms. The second room was a little better but service was still bad! Our room wasn't cleaned and she left food that she was eating on our night stand! If you like a topless pools you'll like this one but thats pretty much it. It's not terrible but for the money we spend it was really miss leading.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Duval street it a lot of fun! Dinner, clubs, fun shops.

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MissAsa
Friends
Miami, FL
May 30, 2011

Pleasant Stay

We first got there, very easy check in and they let us in early. We went straight to the pool and brought some drinks. The bartender came over and gave us plastic glasses since we weren't allowed to have glass and she was very pleasant about it. We also enjoyed some of her tasty beverages and they were very, very good. Everything was lovely and nice and we had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
animal doctor
Family
Clinton SC
Apr 26, 2011

Good value very friendly

Room was nice. Breakfast a bit dissapointing. Friendly staff good value. Very Pet friendly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snooky and John
Couples
Greenwich, CT
Apr 24, 2011

super!

It was quiet. It hada great pool and was on a beach.It had decent free breakfast. It was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

It is a bus or cab ride to town.

Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Tampa, FL
Apr 18, 2011

Not Worth the Price

I don't think it was worth $179 a night. I saw other people get it for less, so why was I charged so much. If I have to use other travel avenues, I will. I thought I would get a better deal with [...], but I was wrong. You need to take this off your list as a comfortable stay. I have pictures that I would like to upload and show you how bad the accommodations were. The only good thing was the staff, front office & bar tender (Julie), they were great and friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Highly recommend the Sunset Cruise with Sebago. It was the most relaxing cruise I have ever been on. The Captain & 2nd Mate were fantstic.

Back to menu Return to top