$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
171 reviews
Our 2nd stay

this is the best place for laid back couples that love swimming, hot tubing, looking at the Gulf... See full review

  • MichaelandMichelle
  • Jan 31, 2014
Friends visiting key west at the banana bay and resort

It was perfect and beyond our expectations. Perfect location free breakfast and wonderful room... See full review

  • Gifty1988
  • Aug 18, 2013
Adults-only hotel with private balconies, pool bar, beach near Old Town

Ideal for singles groups or couples looking for a romantic getaway, the adults-only Banana Bay Resort and Marina sits on the waterfront along the Gulf of Mexico, just east of the Old Town area of Key West. From Banana Bay Resort it's a short cab or bike ride to Duval Street, Mallory Square and many other attractions. Guests can find an endless array of restaurants, shops, trolley tours and world-class water sports within walking distance. Banana Bay Resort also boasts a poolside tiki bar, free parking and meeting rooms for business groups.

 

Highlights
  • Adults-only hotel for guests 18 and over
  • Dock space available for boats (dockage fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby, fees apply for guestroom Internet
Rooms

Banana Bay Resort and Marina features 48 guestrooms and suites in a two-story building with exterior corridors. Accommodations boast tropical decor with bamboo and rattan furnishings and the private balconies have garden or pool views. Rooms come with either four-poster king beds or pairs of double beds, Internet access (fees apply), refrigerators, cable TVs, coffee makers and a free newspaper delivered daily.

 

Features

Banana Bay Resort and Marina offers free car parking and dock space for boats (dockage fees apply). This adults-only hotel only accepts guests 18 and over, and on-site amenities include an outdoor pool with a pool bar, whirlpool, a small sunning beach with a wedding gazebo and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the main lobby. Banana Bay offers a free continental breakfast each morning, and business groups can find small meeting spaces on the property.

 

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Miami International Airport (157 mi./251.2 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Southernmost Point of the U.S. (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (2.9 mi./4.6 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will deny registration to anyone under the age of 18, even if accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

24.5616 -81.7782
Area served
Located in Key West. Only 1.5 miles from duval street. Close enough to the action and far enough for relaxation.
Nearby airports
Key West Intl Airport (EYW) – A distance of 3 miles & only 10 minutes from Banana Bay Resort Driving directions from Key West International Airport: Turn left from the airport exit & proceed for 3 miles on to Roosevelt Blvd. Banana Bay on the right.
Area description
Hemingway House- 1.5 miles Duval Street (shops and restaurants)- 1.5 miles Sloppy Joes (bar)- 2 miles Key West Aquarium – 2 miles.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Banana Bay Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Banana Bay Resort and Marina Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guestrooms have either 1 King or 2 doubles beds which include a balcony with garden or pool views as well as exterior corridor access. Guestrooms are tropically decorated with bamboo and rattan furnishings. rooms also include work desk, dial-up Internet access (surcharge), phone with voice mail, cable/satellite TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer,wet bar sink, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, complimentary newspaper and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Poolside Tiki Bar
Enjoy Tropical Libations at the Poolside tikibar. Hours of operation are Wednesday - Sunday 11AM - 7PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (171)

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
171 out of 171
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bogdan
New York, NY, USA
Apr 18, 2012

fantastic place

The hotel was great. It has a nice pool, good conditions, great staff and is a very good deal because you are so close to everything from the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

go with the fury boat trips.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Working On My Bucket List
Knoxville, TN
Sep 9, 2014

Nice Pool

We were very pleased with our stay at Banana Bay Resort. It was a good value, especially for the Labor Day weekend. The pool was large (for Key West), they had lots of nice chaise lounges, tables & chairs, & beach towels were available. There was also lots of seating available at the waterfront area. Breakfast was ok - coffee, juice, waffle maker, bagels, pastries, cereal, some fruit. James at the front desk was so nice every time we spoke by phone and also on arrival/check in. Thanks James!!! The only disappointment was that there was no bar service poolside at this time. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We took the boat trip to Dry Tortugas National Park on the Yankee Freedom boat. It was a great trip & was one of my bucket list items!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cobra Fred
Florida
Sep 3, 2014

Banana Bay Resort

This place could be nice but it needs a good scrubbing and some new paint. The price was attractive. The pool could be cleaner and during our stay the hot tub wasn't working. The breakfast included waffles, mini sweet rolls regular sweet rolls, muffins, cereal, coffee and juice. All in all it was a C- stay. I would pass the above info on to a friend and let them make up their own mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Schooner Wharf, a great place to eat with great food at very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sedona mama
Corona, Ca
Sep 1, 2014

Anniversary

Bed is nice but no curve appeal. Every thing looks old . The place needs major repairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Juhren
Jupiter, Florida
Aug 25, 2014

Not so great

Sadly, this hotel is just not worth the price of the rooms. Pay a little extra and stay somewhere worth it. There were fruit flies in our room. The AC was incredibly loud. The bed was squeaky. And overall just a dirty hotel. The staff on the other hand are very nice. Once I complained about the bugs in the room they upgraded us to a suite, which was nicer than the room but still not very nice overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah Allen
North Carolina
Aug 6, 2014

Great stay

This place was awesome! All the amenities you need! 2 miles from duval but we biked there the whole time. Will stay again there! Staff was awesome an very helpful! Laundry on site!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
F. U. Jersey
KCMO
Aug 5, 2014

quiet and relaxing

The staff made this a wonderful experience for us . The hotel was quiet, clean and great location for us, out of the noise in Duval street yet close enough (1 mile away) when we wanted to go out. The only problem we had was that housekeeping missed our room 3 out of the 7 days we were there. They did a fine job when they cleaned, we just had to call down to the front office and things were taken care of. Andre was especially helpful. The bed was very comfortable and we felt the room was well worth the money and this deserves more than 2 astars. We do plan to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

go to Barefoot Billys and jet ski around Key West. Wonderful, informative guides and very worth the price. We had great fun and we are both over 60!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
St Pete Diver
St Petersburg, Fl
Aug 3, 2014

Beautiful Small Boat Location

We loved the beautiful views across the water while relaxing and grilling. It was nice to park our boat trailer on site and only be a short distance to the public marina. The boat slips were a nice bonus also. The rooms were comfortable and clean. There were lttle fruit flies in the bathroom that were a bit annoying. It was a great place for the lower price. We will stay there again when we come to Key West to relax and go boating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Krissie the Traveler
West Palm Beach, Florida
Jul 28, 2014

A college students opinion

The hotel had a great location. If you are looking for something that isn't on Duval for some piece and quiet, but still close enough to the action and affordable, this is a great place. However, if you go during the summer the 1.6 mile distance to Duval may be too long of a walk so you might have to drive, rent a scooter/bike, or take a cab($16). It is strictly for adults and has a clothing optional pool area, which includes a decent sized heated pool and a small hot tub. They technically close the pool at 11, but they don't enforce the policy they just ask for us to control the noise. You can drink around the pool as long as it is not from glass bottles. The rooms were nice. We had a suite, with a large room, a very clean bathroom, a living area with a pull out couch and a kitchenette(that included a stove). The bed wasn't very comfortable, but after a few days of water sports and partying you don't feel it. Breakfast is included every morning. They have really fresh bagels! They also have a waffle maker and some pastries. There is no hot food nor meat, but if you wanted that the hotel is located right across the street of some large convenience and grocery stores (as well as plenty of chain restaurants). I really liked the staff, they were very personable, fun, and informative. They also have a bar there , but we were never on the premises when it was open. We suppose it closes early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Fine walk for a cooler temperature, but during the summer heat just drive or ride a bike.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Evermay
Heath springs, SC
Jul 27, 2014

Great getaway

Very quiet and relaxing. Enjoyed our stay. Great value. Only complaint was Tiki bar by the pool was never open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Hard Rock Cafe best burger for price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
web311
Atlanta, GA
Jul 23, 2014

Loved our stay

Reading all the other reviews prepared me for the worst, but I was actually very happy with our room. It was clean, bed was comfy (and loved the canopy bed!), pool was great, the chairs looking over the bay were perfect. I loved having it adults-only... lots of fun people. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search