$245 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 21, 2015 Check-out: Apr 22, 2015

Banana Bay Resort and Marina

2 stars
View map of 2319 N Roosevelt Blvd, Key West, FL 33040

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.2
out of 5
175 reviews
Our 2nd stay

this is the best place for laid back couples that love swimming, hot tubing, looking at the Gulf... See full review

  • MichaelandMichelle
  • Jan 31, 2014
Nice base for Key West sighseeing

Reception area is modest and misleading. The facilities (hot tub, swimming pool, gazebo facing the... See full review

  • Avid cyclist
  • Mar 1, 2015
Adults-only hotel with private balconies, pool bar, beach near Old Town

Ideal for singles groups or couples looking for a romantic getaway, the adults-only Banana Bay Resort and Marina sits on the waterfront along the Gulf of Mexico, just east of the Old Town area of Key West. From Banana Bay Resort it's a short cab or bike ride to Duval Street, Mallory Square and many other attractions. Guests can find an endless array of restaurants, shops, trolley tours and world-class water sports within walking distance. Banana Bay Resort also boasts a poolside tiki bar, free parking and meeting rooms for business groups.

 

Highlights
  • Adults-only hotel for guests 18 and over
  • Dock space available for boats (dockage fees apply)
  • Free continental breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi access in lobby, fees apply for guestroom Internet
Rooms

Banana Bay Resort and Marina features 48 guestrooms and suites in a two-story building with exterior corridors. Accommodations boast tropical decor with bamboo and rattan furnishings and the private balconies have garden or pool views. Rooms come with either four-poster king beds or pairs of double beds, Internet access (fees apply), refrigerators, cable TVs, coffee makers and a free newspaper delivered daily.

 

Features

Banana Bay Resort and Marina offers free car parking and dock space for boats (dockage fees apply). This adults-only hotel only accepts guests 18 and over, and on-site amenities include an outdoor pool with a pool bar, whirlpool, a small sunning beach with a wedding gazebo and complimentary Wi-Fi access in the main lobby. Banana Bay offers a free continental breakfast each morning, and business groups can find small meeting spaces on the property.

 

Transportation
  • Key West International Airport (2.6 mi./4.2 km)
  • Miami International Airport (157 mi./251.2 km)
Attractions
  • Mallory Square (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Harry S. Truman Little White House (2.5 mi./4 km)
  • Southernmost Point of the U.S. (2 mi./3.2 km)
  • Fort Zachary Taylor (2.9 mi./4.6 km)

 

Business
  • Meeting rooms
  • Free Wi-Fi in the lobby
Policies and fees
  • The hotel will deny registration to anyone under the age of 18, even if accompanied by an adult.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Banana Bay Resort and Marina also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Banana Bay Resort and Marina Rooms

Deluxe Room
Guestrooms have either 1 King or 2 doubles beds which include a balcony with garden or pool views as well as exterior corridor access. Guestrooms are tropically decorated with bamboo and rattan furnishings. rooms also include work desk, dial-up Internet access (surcharge), phone with voice mail, cable/satellite TV, refrigerator, coffee/tea maker, hair dryer,wet bar sink, shower/tub combination, iron/ironing board, complimentary newspaper and air conditioning.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Pet friendly
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Services
Business center
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Poolside Tiki Bar
Enjoy Tropical Libations at the Poolside tikibar. Hours of operation are Wednesday - Sunday 11AM - 7PM.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Overall score

3.2 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Amelie Poulain
Brooklyn, NY, USA
Jan 23, 2012

Nice place for grown-ups

if you don't have a car, look for a hotel closer to Old Town, because you would have to take cab every time (about $10 to get to the center). Public transit only runs once every 1.5 hours, not reliable... But if you have a car, it's perfect. Rooms are nice, there is a little private beach for chilling (but not for swimming), large pool (though the water was cold), each room has a balcony, decent continental breakfast, no children allowed. We only slept at the hotel and didn't do much on its premises; however, the experience is positive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Avid cyclist
Business
N/A
Mar 1, 2015

Nice base for Key West sighseeing

Reception area is modest and misleading. The facilities (hot tub, swimming pool, gazebo facing the water) are actually much better than expected. The weather wasn't good when we stayed. Otherwise, we could enjoy breakfast by the pool, watching the water, surrounded by palm trees. Free breakfast, by the way, was very poor. Even a much cheaper motel provides better free breakfast. Very convenient (by your car) to all tourist destinations in Key West.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Priscilla F.
Business
hialeah
Feb 18, 2015

Family trip

Definitely a great price for a cozy hotel. Beautiful ocean view just a small distance away with hammocks, bbqs and tiki huts. The pool was decent and there were no children which made the experience pleasantly peaceful haha. The gym was always open and machines worked well. Breakfast was complimentary, awesome waffles can be eaten outside with the view. The pool bar wasn't open at all on our stay which was disappointing but thats what key west was for so it was cool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kwtravel1214
Business
Ca
Dec 7, 2014

Old rooms, not worth the value.

The rooms were old and not very clean. We found the carpets were wet and sticky. For the price that the charge it is not worth going for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Long lost Cindy
Business
Philadelphia
Oct 19, 2014

Basic Motel

First visit to Key West, I picked this place based on price. About 10 minutes from the middle of Key West. The location was fine. The staff were ok at best. There is no kitchen on the premises. The bar at the pool never opened. The motel itself is somewhat worn and could use an upgrade.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't rent a scooter or bike from the preferred vendor at the desk. Very overpriced. Within walking distance are two places you can rent a scooter with competitive rates.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Working On My Bucket List
Business
Knoxville, TN
Sep 9, 2014

Nice Pool

We were very pleased with our stay at Banana Bay Resort. It was a good value, especially for the Labor Day weekend. The pool was large (for Key West), they had lots of nice chaise lounges, tables & chairs, & beach towels were available. There was also lots of seating available at the waterfront area. Breakfast was ok - coffee, juice, waffle maker, bagels, pastries, cereal, some fruit. James at the front desk was so nice every time we spoke by phone and also on arrival/check in. Thanks James!!! The only disappointment was that there was no bar service poolside at this time. Would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We took the boat trip to Dry Tortugas National Park on the Yankee Freedom boat. It was a great trip & was one of my bucket list items!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Cobra Fred
Business
Florida
Sep 3, 2014

Banana Bay Resort

This place could be nice but it needs a good scrubbing and some new paint. The price was attractive. The pool could be cleaner and during our stay the hot tub wasn't working. The breakfast included waffles, mini sweet rolls regular sweet rolls, muffins, cereal, coffee and juice. All in all it was a C- stay. I would pass the above info on to a friend and let them make up their own mind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Schooner Wharf, a great place to eat with great food at very reasonable prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sedona mama
Business
Corona, Ca
Sep 1, 2014

Anniversary

Bed is nice but no curve appeal. Every thing looks old . The place needs major repairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Juhren
Business
Jupiter, Florida
Aug 25, 2014

Not so great

Sadly, this hotel is just not worth the price of the rooms. Pay a little extra and stay somewhere worth it. There were fruit flies in our room. The AC was incredibly loud. The bed was squeaky. And overall just a dirty hotel. The staff on the other hand are very nice. Once I complained about the bugs in the room they upgraded us to a suite, which was nicer than the room but still not very nice overall.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sarah Allen
Business
North Carolina
Aug 6, 2014

Great stay

This place was awesome! All the amenities you need! 2 miles from duval but we biked there the whole time. Will stay again there! Staff was awesome an very helpful! Laundry on site!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Banana Bay Resort and Marina

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
F. U. Jersey
Business
KCMO
Aug 5, 2014

quiet and relaxing

The staff made this a wonderful experience for us . The hotel was quiet, clean and great location for us, out of the noise in Duval street yet close enough (1 mile away) when we wanted to go out. The only problem we had was that housekeeping missed our room 3 out of the 7 days we were there. They did a fine job when they cleaned, we just had to call down to the front office and things were taken care of. Andre was especially helpful. The bed was very comfortable and we felt the room was well worth the money and this deserves more than 2 astars. We do plan to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

go to Barefoot Billys and jet ski around Key West. Wonderful, informative guides and very worth the price. We had great fun and we are both over 60!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top