$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 8, 2014 Check-out: Oct 9, 2014

Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

2 stars
2228 Phillips Hwy, Jacksonville, FL 32207
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
33 reviews
Big Improvement

I stayed in this Hotel December of 2007, and it was really bad at the time, I wrote Super8 and told... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 21, 2008
Nice for a short trip.

We decided to take a short weekend trip and booked a room here spur of the moment. Was not overly... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 9, 2008
Low rates near artsy San Marco and business in Southbank
The Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area is a no-frills hotel in Central Jacksonville just a few minutes to downtown and Southbank businesses. Wireless Internet access and a free continental breakfast buffet are included. Guests are welcome to use the outdoor swimming pool at the adjoining hotel. The historic and trendy San Marco neighborhood is a short walk away. On the Square in San Marco, take a seat in artsy cafes, browse independently-owned boutiques, stroll the galleries or go to the theater.
 
Highlights
  • Free wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • Free continental breakfast
  • A short walk to artsy San Marco Square cafes, galleries and shops
  • Less than three miles to museum, mall and convention center

 

Rooms
The Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area hotel accommodations are basic. Each of the 49 rooms offers two double beds or one king with complimentary wireless Internet access, free local calls and cable TV with premium channels. All rooms feature a workstation, coffeemaker and some include a microwave and refrigerator. Non-smoking and smoking rooms are available upon request.

 

Features
Access I-95, downtown, I-10 and I-295 with ease from the Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area hotel, located just off I-95. The hotel sits within a half mile of the San Marcos dining and entertainment district, with shopping malls and attractions. Jacksonville University and Florida Community College are among the schools nearby. The free parking lot accommodates oversized vehicles.
 
Transportation
  • Jacksonville International Airport (16.6 mi/25.7 km)

 

Attractions
  • Museum of Science & History (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Jacksonville Landing (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Prime Osborn Convention Center (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Jacksonville Zoo (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • St. Johns Town Center (9.8 mi/15.7 km)
  • Avenues Mall (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Jacksonville Beach (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • TPC Sawgrass (22.3 mi/35.9 km)
  • St. Augustine Historic District (22.3 mi/35.9 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • Less than three miles to the Prime Osborn Convention Center

 

Policies and fees
No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

30.305 -81.6451
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Science and History: 1.4 mi
  • The Jacksonville Fire Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena: 1.4 mi
  • EverBank Field: 1.4 mi
  • Jacksonville Municipal Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • The Florida Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art Jacksonville: 1.9 mi
  • Jacksonville-Baldwin Rail Trail: 8.2 mi
  • JAXPORT Cruise Terminal: 8.3 mi
  • Alhambra Dinner Theater: 8.7 mi
  • Latitude 30: 9.5 mi
  • Fort Caroline National Memorial: 10.3 mi
  • Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary: 13.5 mi
  • Big Talbot Island State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Little Talbot Island State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Museum of Science and History: 1.4 mi
  • The Jacksonville Fire Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena: 1.4 mi
  • EverBank Field: 1.4 mi
  • Jacksonville Municipal Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • The Florida Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art Jacksonville: 1.9 mi
  • Jacksonville-Baldwin Rail Trail: 8.2 mi
  • JAXPORT Cruise Terminal: 8.3 mi
  • Alhambra Dinner Theater: 8.7 mi
  • Latitude 30: 9.5 mi
  • Fort Caroline National Memorial: 10.3 mi
  • Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary: 13.5 mi
  • Big Talbot Island State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Little Talbot Island State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Huguenot Memorial Park: 15 mi
  • Kathryn Abbey Hanna Park: 15.1 mi
  • Kingsley Plantation: 15.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
7 out of 33
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
3
Value:
3.6

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Big City Boy
Chicago, IL
Jan 29, 2014

Quick Stay

Needed a place to crash for a few hours but would not normally book for overnight. Old, musty smell. Scratchy and stiff towels. Old tv. Holes in sheets. Bed was comfy and a/c unit worked great at keeping room cool. Friend stopped by and was very leary about sitting on bed. Nothing super about this place but that's what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Close to downtown

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Attleboro, MA
Feb 23, 2011

Needed to do more research.

The Super 8 was more or less what I expected from a Super 8 - basic, comfortable, no frills. I wish I'd done a little more research regarding the exact location of this Super 8 (there are several throughout Jacksonville) since it was closer to the city than I'd have liked and further from my areas of interest. A simple Google search would have worked in my favor. The staff were all friendly and helpful, from the desk to housekeeping. When I arrived at 11p, it took 3 rooms before the desk clerk was able to find one without a problem - but he was quite courteous throughout and apologized multiple times.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

A word to the wise (which I wasn't), if anyone is visiting - Jacksonville seems to shut down their delivery services by 10 - 11, dependant upon where you're located, so if you get in late, make sure you either have some food to cook in the microwave or stop at a restaurant and get some to-go before settling in for the night.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Rita D
Coopertown, TN
Jan 31, 2011

You Get What You Pay For

The hotel room was dingy and the floors needed cleaning. My husband was told that the floors were cleaned once every 3 months and it was time for a cleaning. BUT THE WORST - My husband's daughter asked for him at the front desk. The clerk told her, "...well since you know his full name..." and gave my stepdaughter the key to his room (something she had not asked for).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Lisbon, OH
Jan 4, 2011

OK for a short stay

The room was clean and average in my experience. The main complaint I had was with the bathroom. It had a strong musty odor which I assume was originating from the rubber mat in the bathtub. It had apparently not been removed for cleaning underneath for some time. When I lifted it, it had a gummy substance adhering it to the tub. I would not have taken a bath in the tub, only showered. Also the security chain on the outside door was broken, but the deadbolt was sufficient. Desk service was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk from CT1 bus stop, but finding a bus schedule for that line was impossible. Had to call JTA to find out times I needed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Provo, Utah
Aug 13, 2010

Super 8 Motel - Jacksonville Central

It was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
ohio
Apr 24, 2010

Clean and Comfortable

Off the interstate and a bit noisy for some, but I had no problem sleeping! Clean simple room with comfortable bed, good new television. Good water pressure in shower. Can't beat it for the price!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Marie McMahon
7521 Humboldt Ave, NPR, Fl 34655
Jul 5, 2009

Charged twice, once by Orbitz & the Hote

They upgraded my room but ran the charge again through bank. I have already paid through Orbitz and when I called they said I had not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search