$45 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

2 stars
2228 Phillips Hwy, Jacksonville, FL 32207
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
33 reviews
Big Improvement

I stayed in this Hotel December of 2007, and it was really bad at the time, I wrote Super8 and told... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 21, 2008
Nice for a short trip.

We decided to take a short weekend trip and booked a room here spur of the moment. Was not overly... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 9, 2008
Low rates near artsy San Marco and business in Southbank
The Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area is a no-frills hotel in Central Jacksonville just a few minutes to downtown and Southbank businesses. Wireless Internet access and a free continental breakfast buffet are included. Guests are welcome to use the outdoor swimming pool at the adjoining hotel. The historic and trendy San Marco neighborhood is a short walk away. On the Square in San Marco, take a seat in artsy cafes, browse independently-owned boutiques, stroll the galleries or go to the theater.
 
Highlights
  • Free wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • Free continental breakfast
  • A short walk to artsy San Marco Square cafes, galleries and shops
  • Less than three miles to museum, mall and convention center

 

Rooms
The Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area hotel accommodations are basic. Each of the 49 rooms offers two double beds or one king with complimentary wireless Internet access, free local calls and cable TV with premium channels. All rooms feature a workstation, coffeemaker and some include a microwave and refrigerator. Non-smoking and smoking rooms are available upon request.

 

Features
Access I-95, downtown, I-10 and I-295 with ease from the Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area hotel, located just off I-95. The hotel sits within a half mile of the San Marcos dining and entertainment district, with shopping malls and attractions. Jacksonville University and Florida Community College are among the schools nearby. The free parking lot accommodates oversized vehicles.
 
Transportation
  • Jacksonville International Airport (16.6 mi/25.7 km)

 

Attractions
  • Museum of Science & History (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Jacksonville Landing (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Prime Osborn Convention Center (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Jacksonville Zoo (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • St. Johns Town Center (9.8 mi/15.7 km)
  • Avenues Mall (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Jacksonville Beach (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • TPC Sawgrass (22.3 mi/35.9 km)
  • St. Augustine Historic District (22.3 mi/35.9 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • Less than three miles to the Prime Osborn Convention Center

 

Policies and fees
No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

30.305 -81.6451
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area also booked these hotels.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Science and History: 1.4 mi
  • The Jacksonville Fire Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena: 1.4 mi
  • EverBank Field: 1.4 mi
  • Jacksonville Municipal Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • The Florida Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art Jacksonville: 1.9 mi
  • Jacksonville-Baldwin Rail Trail: 8.2 mi
  • JAXPORT Cruise Terminal: 8.3 mi
  • Alhambra Dinner Theater: 8.7 mi
  • Latitude 30: 9.5 mi
  • Fort Caroline National Memorial: 10.3 mi
  • Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary: 13.5 mi
  • Big Talbot Island State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Little Talbot Island State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Museum of Science and History: 1.4 mi
  • The Jacksonville Fire Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena: 1.4 mi
  • EverBank Field: 1.4 mi
  • Jacksonville Municipal Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • The Florida Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art Jacksonville: 1.9 mi
  • Jacksonville-Baldwin Rail Trail: 8.2 mi
  • JAXPORT Cruise Terminal: 8.3 mi
  • Alhambra Dinner Theater: 8.7 mi
  • Latitude 30: 9.5 mi
  • Fort Caroline National Memorial: 10.3 mi
  • Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary: 13.5 mi
  • Big Talbot Island State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Little Talbot Island State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Huguenot Memorial Park: 15 mi
  • Kathryn Abbey Hanna Park: 15.1 mi
  • Kingsley Plantation: 15.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (33)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
33 out of 33
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.2
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.6

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Mar 9, 2008

Nice for a short trip.

We decided to take a short weekend trip and booked a room here spur of the moment. Was not overly impressed with the front desk at first. But all in all they weren't to bad. Location was not to bad. Rooms were clean and well kept. I would suggest to bring your own pillow. There's were very uncomfortable. But overall we had a nice stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

5 minute drive to Riverwalk, museums and shops. 10 minute drive to Jacksonville Zoo. Good central location.

Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Portland
Dec 21, 2008

Big Improvement

I stayed in this Hotel December of 2007, and it was really bad at the time, I wrote Super8 and told them about the problems I encountered. Within 24 hours the owner sent me an email, told me to please bring my business back and I would see improvement. I decided to give the hotel another chance, I am glad I did, the rooms were clean (Not the case last time) the staff was friendly (Again not the case last time) I could tell the changes I suggested were made. Keep in mind this is a Super8 so you should expect greatness, however this Hotel is near anything a tourest could need in Jacksonville.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The Jacksonville Landing is just 5 minutes away by car, the Jacksonville Municiple Stadium is two miles away, the Zoo is near by, tons of places to eat, a couple of Malls.

Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TravelerJ
Atlanta, Ga
Jul 23, 2012

Good Location

Located well within beaches and entertainment. Close to major highways

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Xielang
Tallahassee
Nov 11, 2012

Great family getaway

The customer service is so considerable.i like this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Birmingham, AL
Mar 17, 2008

terrible location

Accomodations OK. Location terrible. No food available in motel or nearby (except for breakfast).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ryan FSU
Georgia
Jan 5, 2010

GREAT!

Was down for the gator bowl and the trip was Great the guy at the front dest was SO helpfule would print off directions give you numbers to shuttles, he was just great, and the rooms were well kept, it was a great affordable place

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Safety First Mom
Port St Lucie FL
Jul 31, 2009

Great

I made reservation for my 23 year old Son due to his sister was in Mayo Clinic and i felt that this was a real safe Motel for him to stay in and the front desk attendance made sure he was all settled in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cupcake44
Lake city, fl
Mar 27, 2014

Cheap Stay

Descent room, although roll away bed was in our room and we didn't request it, located right near I-95

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Dec 14, 2010

Hotel 8 JAX

Hotwl is cllse to downtoen Jacsonville, FL. Easy access to many restaurants. Good inexpensive hotel to stay for short business or meeting. Accesible. Friendly staff. Close proximity to San Marcos Square.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

BB's Bistro.

Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Numcey
Business
Pensacola, FL, USA
Feb 25, 2012

Great for an economic stay

No bells or wistles but not pricy and friendly staff with clean rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

5 min to Shands Towers

Back to menu Return to top

Change search