Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

2 stars
2228 Phillips Hwy, Jacksonville, FL 32207
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.7
out of 5
56 reviews
Big Improvement

I stayed in this Hotel December of 2007, and it was really bad at the time, I wrote Super8 and told... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 21, 2008
Big Improvement

I stayed in this Hotel December of 2007, and it was really bad at the time, I wrote Super8 and told... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 21, 2008
Low rates near artsy San Marco and business in Southbank
The Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area is a no-frills hotel in Central Jacksonville just a few minutes to downtown and Southbank businesses. Wireless Internet access and a free continental breakfast buffet are included. Guests are welcome to use the outdoor swimming pool at the adjoining hotel. The historic and trendy San Marco neighborhood is a short walk away. On the Square in San Marco, take a seat in artsy cafes, browse independently-owned boutiques, stroll the galleries or go to the theater.
 
Highlights
  • Free wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • Free continental breakfast
  • A short walk to artsy San Marco Square cafes, galleries and shops
  • Less than three miles to museum, mall and convention center

 

Rooms
The Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area hotel accommodations are basic. Each of the 49 rooms offers two double beds or one king with complimentary wireless Internet access, free local calls and cable TV with premium channels. All rooms feature a workstation, coffeemaker and some include a microwave and refrigerator. Non-smoking and smoking rooms are available upon request.

 

Features
Access I-95, downtown, I-10 and I-295 with ease from the Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area hotel, located just off I-95. The hotel sits within a half mile of the San Marcos dining and entertainment district, with shopping malls and attractions. Jacksonville University and Florida Community College are among the schools nearby. The free parking lot accommodates oversized vehicles.
 
Transportation
  • Jacksonville International Airport (16.6 mi/25.7 km)

 

Attractions
  • Museum of Science & History (1.7 mi/2.7 km)
  • Jacksonville Landing (2.4 mi/3.8 km)
  • Prime Osborn Convention Center (2.9 mi/4.6 km)
  • Jacksonville Zoo (8.1 mi/13 km)
  • St. Johns Town Center (9.8 mi/15.7 km)
  • Avenues Mall (10.7 mi/17.2 km)
  • Jacksonville Beach (15.8 mi/25.4 km)
  • TPC Sawgrass (22.3 mi/35.9 km)
  • St. Augustine Historic District (22.3 mi/35.9 km)
Business
  • Free wireless Internet access throughout hotel
  • Less than three miles to the Prime Osborn Convention Center

 

Policies and fees
No pets allowed.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Free local telephone calls
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
Wake-up service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Room
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Map

30.305 -81.6451
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Museum of Science and History: 1.4 mi
  • The Jacksonville Fire Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena: 1.4 mi
  • EverBank Field: 1.4 mi
  • Jacksonville Municipal Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • The Florida Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art Jacksonville: 1.9 mi
  • Jacksonville-Baldwin Rail Trail: 8.2 mi
  • JAXPORT Cruise Terminal: 8.3 mi
  • Alhambra Dinner Theater: 8.7 mi
  • Latitude 30: 9.5 mi
  • Fort Caroline National Memorial: 10.3 mi
  • Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary: 13.5 mi
  • Big Talbot Island State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Little Talbot Island State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Museum of Science and History: 1.4 mi
  • The Jacksonville Fire Museum: 1.4 mi
  • Jacksonville Veterans Memorial Arena: 1.4 mi
  • EverBank Field: 1.4 mi
  • Jacksonville Municipal Stadium: 1.5 mi
  • The Florida Theatre: 1.7 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art Jacksonville: 1.9 mi
  • Jacksonville-Baldwin Rail Trail: 8.2 mi
  • JAXPORT Cruise Terminal: 8.3 mi
  • Alhambra Dinner Theater: 8.7 mi
  • Latitude 30: 9.5 mi
  • Fort Caroline National Memorial: 10.3 mi
  • Catty Shack Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary: 13.5 mi
  • Big Talbot Island State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Little Talbot Island State Park: 14.8 mi
  • Huguenot Memorial Park: 15 mi
  • Kathryn Abbey Hanna Park: 15.1 mi
  • Kingsley Plantation: 15.5 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (56)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Overall score

2.7 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
2.8
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
3.1
Value:
3.7

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jacksonville bound
Nashville
Jul 25, 2010

Lacking, but efficient

For the most part the staff was very friendly. At the end of our stay we had a staffer who treated my wife and children in an unfriendly manner. The hotel manager handled the situation immediately and resolved the issue to our satisfaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jacksonville bound
Nashville
Jul 25, 2010

Lacking, but efficient

For the most part the staff was very friendly. At the end of our stay we had a staffer who treated my wife and children in an unfriendly manner. The hotel manager handled the situation immediately and resolved the issue to our satisfaction.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
5
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Terrified
Savannah, GA
Jun 29, 2010

False Advertisement

This hotel was not in the downtown area. It was in what appeared to be a bad area. It also seemed as if some unsavory actions were taking place. [...]We did not feel safe and decided to try another facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Terrified
Savannah, GA
Jun 29, 2010

False Advertisement

This hotel was not in the downtown area. It was in what appeared to be a bad area. It also seemed as if some unsavory actions were taking place. [...]We did not feel safe and decided to try another facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hendersonville, NC
May 31, 2010

Friend get away

Sucked. the A/C was broken and then had to be moved to a smoking room because everything else was all rented. breakfast cereal was stale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hendersonville, NC
May 31, 2010

Friend get away

Sucked. the A/C was broken and then had to be moved to a smoking room because everything else was all rented. breakfast cereal was stale.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Midflamagi
Central Florida
May 26, 2010

Not bad for the price!

Access from 95 not well defined - once access discovered, then easy. A little bit of an older motel - rooms (we booked 4) seem clean but a little musty. Air Conditioning not good in any of the rooms we used - possibly responsibile for musty smell. Overall, for the money, we were satisfied. I do have to say the day clerk (young lady)was a real joy to deal with. Always helpful and ready to please - especially with the breakfast supplied with the rooms. Motel is close to several different shopping areas and many different types of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

From "high end" restaurants to McDonalds.

Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Midflamagi
Central Florida
May 26, 2010

Not bad for the price!

Access from 95 not well defined - once access discovered, then easy. A little bit of an older motel - rooms (we booked 4) seem clean but a little musty. Air Conditioning not good in any of the rooms we used - possibly responsibile for musty smell. Overall, for the money, we were satisfied. I do have to say the day clerk (young lady)was a real joy to deal with. Always helpful and ready to please - especially with the breakfast supplied with the rooms. Motel is close to several different shopping areas and many different types of restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

From "high end" restaurants to McDonalds.

Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grammy the traveler
Austin, TX
May 10, 2010

Okay, but not great.

We were visiting family nearby who don't have an extra bedroom. This was an inexpensive option for a place to sleep. It was adequate with a decent bed and breakfast. We liked that we could park close to our room. On the other hand, there were several drawbacks. The toilet wouldn't clear with one flush even when there was only a small bit of toilet paper in it. The lock on the room door was fussy, sometimes taking us 4 or 5 tries to get it open. The room was clean enough, but not spotless. They did not replenish the soap or shampoo though we were there for three nights (we did get some when we asked at the front desk). While we requested a refrigerator, the only downstairs non-smoking room that was available did not have one (though the front desk clerk said it did). I would recommend this hotel if you need a cheap place to sleep and won't be in the room for much else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The San Marco area is about 1 mile to the west of this hotel. It offers lots of restaurants, boutique type shopping and at least one movie theater. Another block or two west of that is a nice park and the river. There is parking available in the SM area, so you can drive there as well (that would be our choice).

Review of Super 8 Jacksonville Downtown Area

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grammy the traveler
Austin, TX
May 10, 2010

Okay, but not great.

We were visiting family nearby who don't have an extra bedroom. This was an inexpensive option for a place to sleep. It was adequate with a decent bed and breakfast. We liked that we could park close to our room. On the other hand, there were several drawbacks. The toilet wouldn't clear with one flush even when there was only a small bit of toilet paper in it. The lock on the room door was fussy, sometimes taking us 4 or 5 tries to get it open. The room was clean enough, but not spotless. They did not replenish the soap or shampoo though we were there for three nights (we did get some when we asked at the front desk). While we requested a refrigerator, the only downstairs non-smoking room that was available did not have one (though the front desk clerk said it did). I would recommend this hotel if you need a cheap place to sleep and won't be in the room for much else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

The San Marco area is about 1 mile to the west of this hotel. It offers lots of restaurants, boutique type shopping and at least one movie theater. Another block or two west of that is a nice park and the river. There is parking available in the SM area, so you can drive there as well (that would be our choice).

Back to menu Return to top