$149 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle

4 stars
84001 Overseas Highway, Islamorada, FL 33036
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
82 reviews
Perfect getaway

My boyfriend and I planned this weekend getaway. When we got into the room was just nothing... See full review

  • AleIvo
  • Jun 3, 2014
getaway

i was a little a little worried about this hotel after reading some of the reviews. i must tell you... See full review

  • mikeybulldog
  • Jan 24, 2014
Marina and Florida Keys accommodations on a lively beachfront

The Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina offers the classic Florida Keys experience of cocktails and marina life with great views across the ocean. With a busy beachfront, outdoor tiki bar and a thriving marina right next door, guests can take advantage of everything that the Florida Keys has to offer. There are great marine life venues such as the Theater of the Sea for seeing stingrays and dolphins, and a private sandy beach and free Internet access are the icing on the cake. There are four restaurants in the Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina compound.

3 Reasons To Stay
  • A range of accommodations with pool, ocean and harbor views
  • Open-air tiki bar for great cocktails
  • Right beside a popular marina
Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina Rooms

Guests at the Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina are in for a real Florida Keys welcome, with a great range of accommodations to choose from to use as a base for exploring this unique part of sunny Florida. There are 151 cottages, rooms and suites spread over this sizeable area of tropical gardens, and many of them have views of the harbor, pool or ocean. Cable TV, a coffee-maker, air conditioning and a hair-dryer come as standard, and all bedrooms have balconies and a combination of king, queen and single beds to choose from. TV in the rooms comes with cable channels. Combinations of showers and tubs in the en suite bathrooms are ideal for freshening up, and housekeeping is also provided, with wake-up calls for guests who have to rush. The rooms can be accessed via convenient external corridors at the Holiday Isle Resorts & Marina.

Features

While Holiday Isle Resort and Marina manages basic rooms, for water sports lovers, the location, facilities and activities offered here make this resort a veritable Florida Keys Mecca. Six lively beach bars spread across the property include the massive and famous Tiki Bar, waterfront Rumrunners and Floaters, the pool bar. Guests can rent chaise lounges along the private sandy beach, and the on-site marina offers a full-range of sport fishing, diving and snorkeling charters. Holiday Isle Resort and Marina also has free parking, two swimming pools and three restaurants--including a raw bar on the beach.

Transportation
  • Marathon Airport (32.6 mi/52.2 km)
  • Miami International Airport (74.6 mi/119.4 km)
Things To Do
  • Theater of the Sea (0.3 mi/0.5 km)
  • History of Diving Museum (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • John Pennekamp Coral Reef State Park (20.7 mi/33.1 km)
Business
  • Flexible meeting spaces
  • Free Wi-Fi in public areas
Policies and Fees
  • At least one registered guest must be at least 21 years old to check in. A valid ID is required.
  • Children 18 years and under are free if sharing with parents in same room with existing bedding.
  • The hotel charges lounge chairs at beach or pool for $5 USD a guest per day.
  • No portable beach chairs or fold up chaise lounges are permitted.
  • Only food and beverage sold by the resort are allowed in dining areas, on beaches or by pool areas.
  • Registered guests are required to pay $15 USD a day to launch a boat from the boat ramp.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle Rooms

Superior Ocean View Double
Room with two queen beds includes balcony or terrace, free parking, in room coffee and hairdryer. All rooms have individual heat and A/C and cable TV.
Deluxe Ocean View Double
Room with two queen beds includes kitchenette, balcony, free parking, in room coffee, and hairdryer. All rooms have individual heat and A/C and cable TV.
Superior Ocean View King
Room with one king bed includes balcony or terrace, free parking, in room coffee, and hairdryer. All rooms have individual heat and A/C and cable TV.
Standard King
Room with one king bed includes balcony, free parking, in room coffee and hairdryer. All rooms have individual heat and A/C and cable TV.
Standard Double
Room with two queen beds includes balcony, free parking, in room coffee and hairdryer. All rooms have individual heat and A/C and cable TV.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Pool
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

24.9421 -80.6075
Area served
Islamorada, the Florida Keys. Located at mile marker 84.5 on the Overseas Highway (U.S. Highway 1)
Nearby airports
Miami International Airport - 75 miles.
Area description
Located in the heart of Islamorada, the "Sport Fishing capital of the World". Holiday Isle Beach Resort and Marina is the halfway point between Miami International Airport and Key West. Come enjoy the beautiful sunrise over the Atlantic Ocean and Sunset over Florida Bay.

Dining

Rum Runners Bar
Far and away the most unique bar in the entire Florida Keys. A cross between Swiss Family Robinson hideaway and the top of a pirate ship's crows nest, Rumrunners has a spectacular ocean view and balmy breezes. We serve our famous frozen drinks along with a full bar featuring a premium well. Rumrunners is the locals' favorite and features nightly entertainment Wednesday through Saturday. Features daytime Snack menu.
The Tiki Bar
A paradise hotspot, is the birthplace of the original frozen rumrunner cocktail. This is a laid back bar during the daytime, but at night the action heats up. Live nightly entertainment 6 nights a week (3 nights a week during off season) featuring your favorite rock and dance music. Favorite frozen drinks like the pina colada, bushwhacker, shipwreck, key lime colada, strawberry daiquiri, and electric lemonade. Also features a late night snack menu.
Wreck Bar
Ship Shaped Wreck bar is located Oceanside and features daily lunch favorites and fun American fare. Enjoy a freshly grilled hamburger, hot dog, chicken sandwich, Philly steak sandwich, baked pizza and more. Conveniently serving a full bar with premium well and frozen drinks. Dine picnic style by the water or snack style at the beach.
The Raw Bar
Also located on the ocean with fabulous views in a casual, beach like atmosphere. Serving local favorite seafood selections such as delicious grilled and fried fish sandwiches, raw oysters, peal and eat, fried, and coconut shrimp as well as Stone crab claws (in season), fish dip, shrimp salad, and conch chowder. Enjoy lunch and dinner (depending on weather and seasonality). Dine picnic style by the water or snack by the beach.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1530
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (82)

Ratings and reviews for Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
82 out of 82
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mikeybulldog
indiana
Jan 24, 2014

getaway

i was a little a little worried about this hotel after reading some of the reviews. i must tell you that this resort was PERFECT for us!! from arrival to departure the entire staff was friendly and eager to make our stay special! check-in was a breeze, bartenders and servers great, housekeeping willing to do anything to make our stay great! we wanted just a getaway without all of the 'hustle and bustle' of key west and this location was perfect! we can not wait to go back! great place!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fam friend
Miami, FL
Jan 20, 2014

Perfect location for "Postcard" pictures

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate a wedding. Nice welcoming, room view was very nice. The AC had a bad smell and blows directly on your face while sleeping. One mattress was very worn out, you could feel the springs. Housekeeping forgot to put essentials, such as washcloths, etc. Ants were in the bathroom sink and on the wall. The shower is old and could use some attention. The bartender at the Tiki bar was rude and insulting. However, the event was spectacular and we had a wonderful time with family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
DC Treehugger
Silver Spring, MD
Jan 19, 2014

What's that smell?

True to one of the bad reviews we had read, the room had an odor from the rope decor in the headboard and bench. Every 5-6 times you inhale, you get a whiff of a musty rope smell from the headboard. They clearly invested a lot of money in recent renovations, but weren't smart about it. The room decor is pretty and beds/sheets very comfortable. But, the bathrooms still feel dated and have built up grime from not having been fully gutted/replaced. And they did nothing to soundproof the place, so there is a constant hum from the nearby highway and you can hear people walking up and down the halls past your door. We also were woken at 3am when a drunk gal across the hall was banging on her friends door on and off for 30 minutes or more. I suppose if we splurged for the oceanfront room and had perfect weather it may have been easier to overlook these things. And the staff were very apologetic and wanted to accommodate us, but they acknowledged that there was really nothing they could do about the headboards other than maybe spray some febreeze (thanksbutnothanks). The "beach" area was nice and we really liked the heated pool when it was too cold outside for swimming (in the high 60s). At night, everything seemed to be oriented around the bars on site -- if your idea of fun is partying/dancing all night next to the water, this is the place for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat dinner at Turtle Inn and Kaiyo. Breakfast at Midway Cafe. Sunset at Lorelai.

Review of Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mark conrad
North praire, WI
Jan 18, 2014

Postcard inn Islemorada

The on property' options were very good (pool, beaches, bars). Staff was very good. The rooms were dated and could use some upgrading. Had to request a change of rooms upon arrival due to the initial room we were assigned was unacceptable. The front desk staff did a great job in moving us to a more acceptable room. All in all, it was a pleasant visit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Turkey escape
Boston MA
Jan 16, 2014

Work left undone

Postcards has only owned this property about a year, and they have yet to "complete" their renovations. We knew that going in. But incomplete doesn't mean that you rent rooms in serious disrepair. Our room itself was "fine". Lacking in good reading light, the bed was too soft but okay, some hotels are like that. For reasons that make no sense, their cute, custom rustic driftwood dressers have only 3 drawers even though they are about 5 feet long. There was no table in the room, just a single chair that looked dirty and worn. But, our bathroom was disgraceful. In addition to a cheap plastic toilet seat, like one would find in a Super8, the hot and cold water were plumbed backwards in the sink, the toilet ran excessively and flushed poorly, but most importantly, the bathtub was disgusting. There were several huge patches (maybe 10x10) where the enamel was completely worn away, looking almost like someone had tried to pain over a spot and then the paint had peeled right off because it was not suitable for the application. There was wallboard that likely had been put up until the room could be re-tiled, because it bowed out from the wall and sat within 1/2" of the inner edge of the tub (and when I spoke with the front desk about it, the question was "so you mean there are loose tiles?") There was a huge crack from the soap holder into the board (about 8" long) and, the grout or paint connecting it to the tub was discolored or dirty and cracking. The management was obviously aware, because when I spoke with them, they said that "some of the rooms in the 400 building were like that." And, they explained that the could not adjust the fees or anything like that because we had booked through a third party vendor, and neither could they comp us drinks or breakfast or anything because "they were just a management company." Finally, the property calls itself a "resort" but it is really just a hotel (motel?) There are independent contractors on site for renting jet skis and kayaks but no boats to borrow, no staff leading any sort of activities, no spa or salon or exercise facilities, and very limited onsite dining (there are 5 bars but they are open at varying times so that means one or two at a time, I don't need 5 bars but obviously neither do they if they are open at separate times). Throughout our stay, I found the staff more intrusive than friendly. Maids knocked on our door early each morning but then failed to replenish towels. Groundskeepers used noisy machinery right on top of the guests at prime hours (sweeping the beach, pruning shrubs), and a maid vacuuming right next to me while I tried to use the computer to print boarding passes at about 9 am our last morning.. No one on site could recommend any restaurants or tour vendors in the area, and there is no concierge. Finally, they charge a $15 per day "resort fee" but its not at all clear what it covers. I was told it was for pool towels and parking, but they advertise "free parking" on their web site. The location is beautiful. The beach and marina are very nice. When they finish, it could be great. But for now, they need to close sections and get the work done before they bring in any more guests.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Robbie's is a water sports rental company that is about 5 miles south. They had the best rates for rentals, and they are right next to a mangrove stand. Their staff were great. There is a craft market attached, a small restaurant, boat tours, etc.

Review of Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DiaNYC
Fort Lauderdale
Jan 9, 2014

All in One

Really a great resort for the price! The staff was very nice and accommodating, the ceuw was beautiful, you have a couple of restaurants on premise to pick from both with great food and service!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
midnitesun
Greenville, SC
Dec 28, 2013

Christmas in the Keys

Great place for the price. The bathroom was a little outdated, but overall a nice place to enjoy the "Not Key West" keys.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Big air
michigan
Dec 22, 2013

Hotel or club?

This is a nice resort, especially for the price. Good location, nice pool and beach. Only issue we had was with the club music volume. We were warned that we might be able to hear the music, which was fine the first night. But on Friday night it was as if the DJ was in the room. There wold be no sleeping until after the music stopped at 1:15 AM. Calls to the front desk did not remove the issue. To be fair, we did get a discount as an effort to make up for our loss of sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
First timer
England
Dec 19, 2013

Outstanding staff

This was our first time in the Keys and we picked the Postcard Inn almost at random, as somewhere to stay halfway to Key West. It was a really good choice. In particular the staff were outstandingly pleasant and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Postcard Inn Beach Resort & Marina at Holiday Isle

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pilot729
Naperville, IL
Dec 16, 2013

Great location

Very quiet place on the ocean. Lot's of Tiki bars and restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top