$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 25, 2014 Check-out: Aug 26, 2014

The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

4 stars
3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
142 reviews
The best

The best stay ever. Could not have asked for anything better. See full review

  • Giggleboxt
  • Jun 24, 2014
amazing

Everything was amazing. Could not have asked for anything better. See full review

  • Giggleboxt
  • Jun 24, 2014
With its glowing pool decks that spill with waterfalls, and suites facing the Atlantic, the Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa is effortlessly cool. The hotel gives guests access to a golf course, a tennis center, and a fitness studio, as well as jogging gear rental and maps for anyone looking to go for a jog on the beach. The Westin Kids Club takes care of the little ones with regular Friday parties, so parents can chill out in the posh, high-ceilinged steakhouse, Hollywood Prime. Everyone can indulge in a little poolside ice cream, or a slushy at the Splash Bar during the day, but 'solo missions' to the Heavenly Spa are always available - its wide glass windows and wave motif decor facilitating seaside manicures.
Key facts
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Two uniquely distinct beachfront pools
  • Cabana rentals
  • Golf course
  • Tennis center
  • 24-hour fitness studio
  • Executive club lounge
  • Kids club
  • 6 restaurants: The Cafe, Splash Bar & Grill, Hollywood Prime, Barsu, Rivals Waterfront Sports Grille, ingredients (some assembly required) 
  • Late checkout on Sundays
Neighborhood
Nestled between the Blue Wave certified beach of the Atlantic Ocean and the Intracoastal Waterway in the vibrant city of Hollywood, Florida rests The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa.  Easily accessible by Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood or Miami International Airports as well as two international ports-of-call, the resort is also ideally located near countless things to do in Fort Lauderdale including shopping, attractions and pari-mutuels.               
Hints and tips
  • Trolley rides are cost-friendly means of traveling from the hotel to the Hollywood Beach Boardwalk.
  • Don't forget to try the resort's unusual cocktail hybrid 'beer-tini' from the Rivals Waterfront Sports Grille - especially during the discounts of Happy Hour (Mon-Fri, 5:30pm - 6:30pm & 11:00 pm to closing).
  • Wi-Fi access ia available at USD 12.95 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.9911 -80.1188
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale International Airport, (FLL), 8.00, MI; Miami International Airport, (MIA), 35.00, MI;
Area description
Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida Rooms

Superior Room
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Driving range
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
Mini bar
Fire alarm with light

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Overall score

4.4 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 142
Amenities:
4.5
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.2

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KennyS
Buffalo, NY
Oct 22, 2013

Great value and great location

The Westin Diplomat was absolutely perfect. Went down for a guys weekend when going to a Miami Dolphins football game. Facility was very impressive, staff was outstanding, and the grounds were beautful. Location was a short ride from the airport, beach area wasn't huge but still very nice, and we were a short ride to Sun Life Stadium too. Pool area was fantastic. Only negatives were prices of breakfast buffet was a little steep, and so was overnight valet parking, both at $25 each. But other than that, room price was a great value and a perfect location for some rest and relaxation!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Colorado rnner
Fort Collins, Colorado
Aug 19, 2013

Beautiful hotel on a beautiful beach

My friend and I came to town to see a concert and we absolutely loved the Westin Diplomat. We had plenty to keep us busy, the staff was very accommodating, and the hotel was beautiful. We spent a lot of time at the beach and pools. I would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Philly Phillip
Philadelphia
Jun 18, 2013

Excellent hotel - great staff - accessible location

My visit was pleasant, the staff was amicable and ready to help, the room was clean, lack of air circulation while the room is empty. don't have complaints only a few suggestions: for those renting a car, the self-park is a better option than valet parking, there is a possibility of long waits during peak hours. Only 25 minutes from South Beach a better option, in my opinion, for night life than Forth Lauderdale - Las Olas. Very near to a Walmart if you need to buy Sunblock, water or your favorite wine & spirits. My only recommendation for the hotel management will be, and I know this will be difficult to implement, is to work on an adult's only section, where the true Spa experience can be achieved, an adult's pool section highly desirable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

25 minutes from South Beach.

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Student Travelers 2016
Minneapolis, MN
Mar 25, 2013

Amazing poolside getaway

My friends and I stayed here for a week over spring break. The hotel was gorgeous, staff were very helpful, and the pool was a great escape for a week of relaxation. The only negative about the trip was that Hollywood isn't the most exciting of places for night life. We had a hard time finding fun restaurants and bars for people in their 20s. Downtown Hollywood seemed a little run down and the broadwalk got pretty quiet after the sun went down. Ft. Lauderdale was only a $40 cab ride away so we ended up going there for night which had much more to offer. If quiet relaxation is what you seek, this is the place for you!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Ft. Lauderdale!

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Getaway Mom
Ann Arbor, MI
Sep 4, 2012

Westin is the BEST

Check in was a breeze. Rec'd dinner reservations for same evening with no problem. This is the best hotel ever -- always stay here when I can. Spa was amazing. Sent my adult children here for a birthday surprise and they also loved it. Highly recommend isn't enough. Only down side is it pricey for valet, beach chairs, etc. but it is worth it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Bought water, pop and snacks at Wal mart around the corner.

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenny S.
Illinois
Aug 8, 2012

Great Hotel

The resort itself was fabulous! Attentive and courteous staff in a very clean and well-appointed facility! The surrounding area left a bit to be desired in terms of things to do outside of the resort. The Broadwalk was easily accessible via the trolley but while housing several restaurants/bars and shops was slightly trashy. From was I saw, this resort is the best thing in the area. The pools were immaculate and beautiful in the evening with their color changing lights but towel service ceased at 7pm and the pools were technically closed at that time(several people were swimming much later into the evening however).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Taverna Opa! A delicious Greek restaurant with belly dancing on the tables!!! Only two trolley stops from the resort and well-priced!!!

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TJDH
New York City
Mar 30, 2012

Revitalizing getaway

It was a wonderful experience. The pools on the ocean side was beautiful. The golf course and spa were relaxing and invigorating. The dining was superb. You did not have to leave the resort for anything. Everything was at your finger tips. I would recommend this vacation for singles as well as families. There is something for everyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

the shuttle back and forth from the spa to the ocean was wonderful.

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Jul 20, 2011

Conference hotel feels overbooked

This stay was a girlfriends' weekend getaway for pampering and relaxation. The Westin Diplomat is a beautiful hotel with excellent rooms however the staff quality is inconsistent. The cafe baristas were rude and I had to beg for two towels for the beach. I was told there was not enough laundry to provide me with two towels. I don't appreciate having to argue and beg so I can put my head on a towel at the beach. They charged $15 for a beach chair and another $15 for umbrellas. I found this nickel/diming to be in poor taste. There were extremely long waits for the valet service to bring the cars - once it took nearly an hour! It seems they cannot handle the overwhelming number of guests or to make sure their staff are consistently polite and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

It's a short drive (35-40 min) to South Beach Miami but careful parking on the street. I got a ticket when there were no signs suggesting that it was restricted parking. I had paid the meter and was back in plenty of time.

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollywood, FL
Mar 30, 2011

The convention hotel

The hotel is connected to a convention center and was at 100% occupancy while we were there although there was never a problem getting an elevator or finding a pool chair. Great facility on the beach. Friendly service other than the poolside servers. Geared to the business traveler (probably why the pool chairs were available - most guests were at conventions). Pool deck very small and lounge chairs are squeezed together -- too close with no room to move. To go anywhere requires a taxi or trolley ride which can be expensive. Gulfstream race track/casino/restaurants and shops nearby shouldn't be missed. The Los Olas area in Ft. Lauderdale also worthwhile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Gulfstream race track, casino and shopping are close, clean and worth the time. Strongly recommend the Chinese restaurant Christine Lee's.

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
thomajm
pittsburgh, pa.
Feb 20, 2011

break from the cold

just for hanging out at the pool and beach. weather co-operated very well. great location to all restaurants and south beach. service was very good. compared to my european trips this was far more superior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

downtown hollywood with its side walk cafe's and entertainment.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search