$172 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 1, 2014 Check-out: Oct 2, 2014

The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

4 stars
3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
145 reviews
the best oasis

The best view. The best beach. The best pool. The best bar on the beach/pool.the nicest balcony.... See full review

  • lucas stames
  • Sep 13, 2014
Fantastic short getaway

The stay was fantastic and it couldn't be better. A huge hotel with friendly staff and great service. See full review

  • Ckl5016
  • Sep 4, 2014
With its glowing pool decks that spill with waterfalls, and suites facing the Atlantic, the Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa is effortlessly cool. This Florida beachfront resort offers two outdoor pools, full-service spa, water recreation, beach volleyball and six on-site restaurants. The hotel also provides guests access to a golf course, a tennis center, and a fitness studio, as well as jogging gear rental and maps for anyone looking to go for a jog on the beach. The Westin Kids Club takes care of the little ones with regular Friday parties, so parents can chill out in the posh, high-ceiling steakhouse, Hollywood Prime. Everyone can indulge in a little poolside ice cream, or a slushy at the Splash Bar during the day, but 'solo missions' to the Heavenly Spa are always available - its wide glass windows and wave motif decor facilitating seaside manicures.

Accommodations at this resort are fitted with cable flat-screen TV, refrigerator, and work desk with ergonomic chair, while select rooms feature a private balcony. The resort's signature restaurant, Hollywood Prime, is known for its dry-aged beef and the season's freshest seafood. Casual dining options include small plates, sushi and cocktails at BarSu, beachfront eatery Splash Bar & Grille, The Cafe featuring a breakfast buffet and delectable menu for lunch, or RIVALS Waterfront Sports Grille offers Contemporary American bar fare, including Kobe beef mini-hamburgers, with indoor and dockside seating.
Key facts
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Two uniquely distinct beachfront pools
  • Cabana rentals
  • Golf course
  • Tennis center
  • 24-hour fitness studio
  • Executive club lounge
  • Kids club
  • 6 restaurants: The Cafe, Splash Bar & Grill, Hollywood Prime, Barsu, Rivals Waterfront Sports Grille, ingredients (some assembly required) 
  • Late checkout on Sundays
Neighborhood
Nestled between the Blue Wave certified beach of the Atlantic Ocean and the Intracoastal Waterway in the vibrant city of Hollywood, Florida rests The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa.  Easily accessible by Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood or Miami International Airports as well as two international ports-of-call, the resort is also ideally located near countless things to do in Fort Lauderdale including shopping, attractions and pari-mutuels. This beachfront resort is one mile from Hollywood Beach Boardwalk, minutes away from West Lake Park, and just eight miles south of  Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport. Shopping at the Aventura Mall and Bal Harbour Shops are only minutes away by car.
Hints and tips
  • Trolley rides are cost-friendly means of traveling from the hotel to the Hollywood Beach Boardwalk.
  • Don't forget to try the resort's unusual cocktail hybrid 'beer-tini' from the Rivals Waterfront Sports Grille - especially during the discounts of Happy Hour (Mon-Fri, 5:30pm - 6:30pm & 11:00 pm to closing).
  • Wi-Fi access ia available at USD 12.95 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.9911 -80.1188
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale International Airport, (FLL), 8.00, MI; Miami International Airport, (MIA), 35.00, MI;
Area description
Beach

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida Rooms

Superior Room
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Driving range
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
Mini bar
Fire alarm with light

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
theGreg
Ohio
Aug 7, 2012

Rough Trip

First off, my wife and I went to the hotel expecting a resort/spa atmosphere, however, the atmosphere was quite chaotic with unsupervised kids running everywhere. During our trip, 2 kids went missing because their parents and guardians were drinking instead of watching them. I was jumped on, splashed, kicked, and pushed in the pool because parents were too busy drinking to watch their kids. I don't blame the hotel for that necessarily, but be prepared for it if you are considering this hotel. Next, by 2:30 pm in the afternoon, the entire pool area is covered in shade, so don't expect to do too much tanning. To top it all off, our room had bed bugs in it, so now I have to go through an additional headache to treat the bites on my body and kill any potential bugs that came with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley to the boardwalk for $2 round trip per person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh
Apr 13, 2010

Charged for Nickle & Dime Stuff

Reservations were made to have connecting rooms - and a call was made to confirm this 3 wks in advance - but they did not fulfill this. No apologies at check in or even asked to do anything special - they had to put us in a connecting handicapped room w/ no tub. The room was on the lower side of the building overlooking the kitchen vents - which included plenty of cigarette butts (this is a non-smoking property) and garbage. When you get to the beach - you pay for everything - lounge chair, chaise, umbrella. For a family of 4, that's an extra $65 a day that was unexpected. Drinks were high priced - $14 for a glass of wine. Food was expensive as well - a yogurt cup w/ granola set you back $5.00 and an omlete at breakfast was $17.00. The breakfast Buffett was $25.00 and the line was 15-20 deep. They ran out of bacon that my son waited 15 minutes in line for and the wait staff kept disappearing. We paid Ritz Carlton prices for a wannabe. Last piece - they advertise as a Spa - well the spa is 10 minutes away, overpriced and not clean. We cancelled our add'l appointments.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eddie Hills - Thai Sushi on US1 just past the Texaco station - recommended by a hotel staff member as her favoite - we ended up there twice. Also, do not miss walking downtown Hollywood - they are redoing it and it's nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Twin of twins
Business
Atlanta, GA
Apr 16, 2014

Was over charged TWICE on my card for stay!

Booked my room and was double charged for my stay. Tried to dispute it but never given refund. Hotel kept telling me that my bank has to release hold but they released hold same day. Hotel is horrible on customer service. Couldn't reach anyone in accounting. Kept getting voicemail. NEVER AGAIN!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jun 24, 2011

Bait and Switch

We arrived at the hotel (3555 S. Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL), but we were sent to another location which is about 2 miles away from the above address. The package was sold as "sun and beach", but we were put in a golf course hotel. Later, we were told that it is a shared Westin property. Very disappointed because we signed up for a sun and beach vacation, not a golfing getaway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago
Jul 9, 2009

ripp off

The price of one bottle of water in the room cost $7!!!! The buffet for 4th of july was extremely poor and very expensive, $25 per peson plus they charged tips automatically even the buffet was self service of course! The buffet included eggs, bacon, some fruits and cerials, that was it! Beach chair/bad was $10 each, plus umbrela $15 plus.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

AVENTURA MALL, BAL HARBOR SHOPS

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hollywood, FL
Apr 20, 2011

Westin Diplomat Hollywood, FL

Not happy! [...] Booking displayed Westin Diplomat at South Ocean Drive Location and pictured that actual hotel but instead we had to stay at Westin Diplomat Golf Resort 1.5 miles away. The intent of our trip was to be at the beach not a golf resort!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PG traveler
Hartford, CT
Jan 22, 2013

Treated very rudely by check in staff and then put in a lesser room!!!

We checked in late to the hotel and were told that the room we had reserved and paid for was unavailable and that the next morning they would move us that room. The next day came and after a couple of calls we were finally told that they were sold out and couldn't help us. This was our anniversary trip and certainly could have done a lot better than that!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

South Beach...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Mlla
Central PA
May 4, 2012

NOT a 5 star hotel in any way!!!

I was verrrrrrry disappointed with our stay at the Westin. Hotel food is extremely overpriced. Our room was gross. Carpet was heavily stained, room was very very small. 2 people can not get ready in the bathroom at the same time! Bed linens were old and stained. Pillows felt like stuffed tissue paper. I will never stay at the Westin again, or Hollywood Beach for that matter!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Aizia was by far the best dining option within a short distance of the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sporadic vacationer
White Plains, NY
Jan 1, 2011

Ocean View

The hotel is beautifully situated--the ocean and beach, along with the interesting layout and multiple pools. The staff is very pleasant and accommodating. Everything is very expensive and you have to pay extra for every accommodation. The restaurants are costly, however, the buffet breakfast at the Cafe is really good. The hotel was just too huge and impersonal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rooz
Atlanta, GA, USA
Dec 26, 2011

great hotel,good for families not for singles or couples!!

good service, nice hotel,good envirment if you have kids but not for singles. the pool too busy with small childern, loud. better show up to the pool at 8 am other wise the sunny spots around the pool are taken.as a single person next time i will stay some place else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Asia bay ,Losolas

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top