$191 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Nov 9, 2014 Check-out: Nov 10, 2014

The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

4 stars
3555 South Ocean Drive, 3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Best In Stay
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
145 reviews
the best oasis

The best view. The best beach. The best pool. The best bar on the beach/pool.the nicest balcony.... See full review

  • lucas stames
  • Sep 13, 2014
Fantastic short getaway

The stay was fantastic and it couldn't be better. A huge hotel with friendly staff and great service. See full review

  • Ckl5016
  • Sep 4, 2014
With its glowing pool decks that spill with waterfalls, and suites facing the Atlantic, the Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa is effortlessly cool. This Florida beachfront resort offers two outdoor pools, full-service spa, water recreation, beach volleyball and six on-site restaurants. The hotel also provides guests access to a golf course, a tennis center, and a fitness studio, as well as jogging gear rental and maps for anyone looking to go for a jog on the beach. The Westin Kids Club takes care of the little ones with regular Friday parties, so parents can chill out in the posh, high-ceiling steakhouse, Hollywood Prime. Everyone can indulge in a little poolside ice cream, or a slushy at the Splash Bar during the day, but 'solo missions' to the Heavenly Spa are always available - its wide glass windows and wave motif decor facilitating seaside manicures.

Accommodations at this resort are fitted with cable flat-screen TV, refrigerator, and work desk with ergonomic chair, while select rooms feature a private balcony. The resort's signature restaurant, Hollywood Prime, is known for its dry-aged beef and the season's freshest seafood. Casual dining options include small plates, sushi and cocktails at BarSu, beachfront eatery Splash Bar & Grille, The Cafe featuring a breakfast buffet and delectable menu for lunch, or RIVALS Waterfront Sports Grille offers Contemporary American bar fare, including Kobe beef mini-hamburgers, with indoor and dockside seating.
Key facts
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Two uniquely distinct beachfront pools
  • Cabana rentals
  • Golf course
  • Tennis center
  • 24-hour fitness studio
  • Executive club lounge
  • Kids club
  • 6 restaurants: The Cafe, Splash Bar & Grill, Hollywood Prime, Barsu, Rivals Waterfront Sports Grille, ingredients (some assembly required) 
  • Late checkout on Sundays
Neighborhood
Nestled between the Blue Wave certified beach of the Atlantic Ocean and the Intracoastal Waterway in the vibrant city of Hollywood, Florida rests The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa.  Easily accessible by Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood or Miami International Airports as well as two international ports-of-call, the resort is also ideally located near countless things to do in Fort Lauderdale including shopping, attractions and pari-mutuels. This beachfront resort is one mile from Hollywood Beach Boardwalk, minutes away from West Lake Park, and just eight miles south of  Fort Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport. Shopping at the Aventura Mall and Bal Harbour Shops are only minutes away by car.
Hints and tips
  • Trolley rides are cost-friendly means of traveling from the hotel to the Hollywood Beach Boardwalk.
  • Don't forget to try the resort's unusual cocktail hybrid 'beer-tini' from the Rivals Waterfront Sports Grille - especially during the discounts of Happy Hour (Mon-Fri, 5:30pm - 6:30pm & 11:00 pm to closing).
  • Wi-Fi access ia available at USD 12.95 per day.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

25.9911 -80.1188
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
Ft. Lauderdale International Airport, (FLL), 12.87, KM; Miami International Airport, (MIA), 56.33, KM;
Area description
Resort, Airport

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Executive level
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Children's activities
Golf
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Security
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Telephone
Mini bar
Cribs available
Smoke detectors

Dining

Hollywood Prime
The choice for truly elegant dining, the award-winning Hollywood Prime is the resort's signature restaurant, boasting dry-aged beef and a 400-long wine list of premium selections. Located near the hotel's main entrance. Reservations are recommended.
BarSu
This exciting cocktail bar is located right in our lobby and serves light fare. Stop in for chef-inspired cuisine and one of our signature martinis.
ingredients (some assembly required)
An innovative restaurant concept, ingredients (some assembly required) offers a generous variety of fresh, healthy, gourmet meals in a casual grab-and-go atmosphere. Choose from breakfast items, pastries, salads, and sandwiches. Located in the lobby.
The Café
Sit down for tasty sandwiches and soups during lunch or a delightful omelet for breakfast at this light and airy, casual eatery. Indoor and outdoor seating is available.
Rivals Waterfront Sports Grille
Not your ordinary sports bar, this bar and grill offers drinks galore, plus such culinary twists as kobe mini-burger sliders with manchego cheese and grilled woodland mushroom flatbread. There is an open kitchen for gawking and the game is always on.
Splash Poolside Grille & Bar
Snack or dine poolside on fresh selections meant to be enjoyed in the sun. Located outdoors amidst our multilevel free form pools and open until sundown. We feature recipes and beverages that complement poolside and beachside dining and fun.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (145)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
145 out of 145
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
homes
Business
Albuquerque
Sep 30, 2012

it was such a great getaway

best place we have ever traveled to. recommend the hotel Westin Diplomat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
homes
Business
Albuquerque
Sep 30, 2012

it was such a great getaway

best place we have ever traveled to. recommend the hotel Westin Diplomat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacation getaway couple
Business
Illinois
Sep 12, 2012

Vacation getaway

Very nice hotel, clean and friendly staff. Pool is excellent and location on beach is great for walks. Poolside bar and restaurant is convenient and daily newspaper is a bonus. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hollywood Trolley stops in front of hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Getaway Mom
Business
Ann Arbor, MI
Sep 4, 2012

Westin is the BEST

Check in was a breeze. Rec'd dinner reservations for same evening with no problem. This is the best hotel ever -- always stay here when I can. Spa was amazing. Sent my adult children here for a birthday surprise and they also loved it. Highly recommend isn't enough. Only down side is it pricey for valet, beach chairs, etc. but it is worth it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Bought water, pop and snacks at Wal mart around the corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenny S.
Business
Illinois
Aug 8, 2012

Great Hotel

The resort itself was fabulous! Attentive and courteous staff in a very clean and well-appointed facility! The surrounding area left a bit to be desired in terms of things to do outside of the resort. The Broadwalk was easily accessible via the trolley but while housing several restaurants/bars and shops was slightly trashy. From was I saw, this resort is the best thing in the area. The pools were immaculate and beautiful in the evening with their color changing lights but towel service ceased at 7pm and the pools were technically closed at that time(several people were swimming much later into the evening however).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Taverna Opa! A delicious Greek restaurant with belly dancing on the tables!!! Only two trolley stops from the resort and well-priced!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
theGreg
Business
Ohio
Aug 7, 2012

Rough Trip

First off, my wife and I went to the hotel expecting a resort/spa atmosphere, however, the atmosphere was quite chaotic with unsupervised kids running everywhere. During our trip, 2 kids went missing because their parents and guardians were drinking instead of watching them. I was jumped on, splashed, kicked, and pushed in the pool because parents were too busy drinking to watch their kids. I don't blame the hotel for that necessarily, but be prepared for it if you are considering this hotel. Next, by 2:30 pm in the afternoon, the entire pool area is covered in shade, so don't expect to do too much tanning. To top it all off, our room had bed bugs in it, so now I have to go through an additional headache to treat the bites on my body and kill any potential bugs that came with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley to the boardwalk for $2 round trip per person.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J Harju
Business
Espoo, Finland
Aug 7, 2012

South Florida At Its Best

Best pool and deck in the area. We could tell because we stayed at the 30th floor and got a pretty good view of the neighborhood. We also studied the area in detail before booking. Hollywood is an excellent location convenient to both Fort Lauderdale and Miami. The Westin is clean and modern as usual. The staff at the Diplomat are the nicest I have ever met in the world. And I travel extensively for my work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wil and Lorna
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Aug 6, 2012

Not Bad!

The hotel was not that bad but there were so many kids there. Its more family ariented. If you are looking for a place with family atmosphere, then that is the place for you. Overall not bad!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
cgaut4
Business
Florida
Jul 30, 2012

Weekend stay

Everything went fine after checkin. I booked the trip for the beach location. When we checked in, the hotel tried to say it was for the golf course location. When booking, there was a distinct difference between the two and I specifically made the reservation for the beach. We were told at the desk, that they don't guarantee the location. My husband had to talk to a manager for them to put us in the beach location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gabriela U
Business
Miami, Florida
Jun 19, 2012

Nice...but too crowded...

The hotel is beautiful...nice location and certainly one of the best pools I have seen...but too crowded

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Very Lovely
Business
Hollywood, FL
Jun 11, 2012

Amazing View

This was our first time in Hollywood on a meeting/vacation trip during June. We booked an ocean front room and it was worth every penny. Feels like we're on a cruise when we walked out on the balcony. Great view and the rainbow outside our balcony after a slight drizzle was an added bonus. Staff were accommodating and friendly. Extremely comfortable beddings. We could look out to the ocean while enjoying a soak in the bathtub-amazing. There's live music everyday from piano to trumpets playing in the lobby. Highly recommend for location and view and family atmostphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top