$173 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2014 Check-out: Aug 6, 2014

The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

4 stars
3555 South Ocean Drive, Hollywood, FL 33019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
216 reviews
The best

The best stay ever. Could not have asked for anything better. See full review

  • Giggleboxt
  • Jun 24, 2014
amazing

Everything was amazing. Could not have asked for anything better. See full review

  • Giggleboxt
  • Jun 24, 2014
With its glowing pool decks that spill with waterfalls, and suites facing the Atlantic, the Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa is effortlessly cool. The hotel gives guests access to a golf course, a tennis center, and a fitness studio, as well as jogging gear rental and maps for anyone looking to go for a jog on the beach. The Westin Kids Club takes care of the little ones with regular Friday parties, so parents can chill out in the posh, high-ceilinged steakhouse, Hollywood Prime. Everyone can indulge in a little poolside ice cream, or a slushy at the Splash Bar during the day, but 'solo missions' to the Heavenly Spa are always available – its wide glass windows and wave motif décor facilitating seaside manicures.
Key facts
  • Internet access (fees may apply)
  • Infinity pool
  • Cabana rentals
  • Golf course
  • Tennis center
  • Fitness studio
  • Executive club lounge
  • Baby supplies
  • Kids club
  • 6 restaurants: The Café, Splash Bar & Grill, Hollywood Prime, Barsu, Rivals Waterfront Sports Grille, ingredients
  • Late checkout on weekends
Neighborhood
The Westin Diplomat is found on South Ocean Drive in Hollywood, just east of the waterways and 'Isles' that characterize the Fort Lauderdale coast. Travel just half a mile to the Hollywood Beach Boardwalk from the Westin Diplomat, where you can dine, shop, bike and rollerblade to your heart's content. Visitors shouldn't miss Josh's Organic Market for its garden produce and excellent smoothies if they're staying for more than a weekend. For gaming enthusiasts, the Mardi Gras Casino & Racetrack awaits in nearby Hallandale Beach.
Hints and tips
Trolley rides are a cost-friendly means of traveling from the hotel to the Hollywood Beach Boardwalk.

Don't forget to try the resort's unusual cocktail hybrid 'beer-tini' from the Rivals Waterfront Sports Grille – especially during the discounts of Happy Hour (5pm – 6.30pm).

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida Rooms

Superior Room
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Concierge
Executive level
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Children's activities
Golf
Tennis
Driving range
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
Mini bar
Fire alarm with light

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.8 out of 5

Hotel Map

25.9911 -80.1188
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale International Airport, (FLL), 8.00, MI; Miami International Airport, (MIA), 35.00, MI;
Area description
Beach

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (216)

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
216 out of 216
Amenities:
4.4
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PG traveler
Hartford, CT
Jan 22, 2013

Treated very rudely by check in staff and then put in a lesser room!!!

We checked in late to the hotel and were told that the room we had reserved and paid for was unavailable and that the next morning they would move us that room. The next day came and after a couple of calls we were finally told that they were sold out and couldn't help us. This was our anniversary trip and certainly could have done a lot better than that!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

South Beach...

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
'Rumblin'Stumblin
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Jan 3, 2013

Big and Busy

Stayed at Westin Diplomat for New Year's with the wife. You can always count on Westin for room quality (bedding, finishes etc) and this one is no exception. Walls were a little thin though - heard screaming kids and loud parents regularly. The resort is great if you plan to stay on the compound and use the cafe/restaurant/pool/beach. Just be ready to pay for it. WIRELESS INTERNET - costs $13/day (free in lobby). That's a little ghetto. Even two-star places regularly offer that free. VALET PARKING - Plan to wait for your car. The valet area is a madhouse. $25/day. We visited when a large Orange Bowl crowd was staying there. You can self park across the street for $20/day. FITNESS CENTER is very good, but poorly located (it's a temp facility across A1A near the parking garage). Signage in the hotel still points to the former location. BREAKFAST BUFFET in the cafe- although good, was expensive. Over $60 for a couple for buffet breakfast? Really? I spent less on dinner at Chuck's steakhouse. Would I return? Don't think so, but would if there was a good vacation deal available. Overall felt nickel-and -dimed too much and overwhelmed by the size/crowds. Perhaps it's more suited for families than couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Crowne-Plaza down the street has a pretty good breakfast buffet for $17 (no omelets). or $15 continental. They don't add 15% tip automatically like the Diplomat. If the service is good, tip well. Isn't that the way it works?

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WMLR
Washington, DC
Dec 11, 2012

Lovely Hotel

Our stay was part of a getaway package, and we paid less than the regular room rate. This hotel is first rate, and it's in a great location. We had an ocean view that was lovely. Staff was courteous. Overall, a great stay. My only complaint deals with the ergonomics of the bathroom. The shower stall has a marble base that sticks out about an inch further than the walls of the stall, and both of us stubbed our toes badly on this "unexpected" base. Poor design.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hollywood Prime, the steakhouse in the hotel, is absolutely wonderful. I wouldn't bother going anywhere else if you like steak. Also very elegant/romantic atmosphere.

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Research Nurse
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Nov 23, 2012

Excellent conference location!

I was at a conference for work. The facilities were excellent, staff was friendly and the dining was exquisite!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The trolley is an inexpensive way to travel, but does not run on Mon & Tues!

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
homes
Business
Albuquerque
Sep 30, 2012

it was such a great getaway

best place we have ever traveled to. recommend the hotel Westin Diplomat

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Vacation getaway couple
Illinois
Sep 12, 2012

Vacation getaway

Very nice hotel, clean and friendly staff. Pool is excellent and location on beach is great for walks. Poolside bar and restaurant is convenient and daily newspaper is a bonus. We will definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Hollywood Trolley stops in front of hotel.

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beach Getaway Mom
Ann Arbor, MI
Sep 4, 2012

Westin is the BEST

Check in was a breeze. Rec'd dinner reservations for same evening with no problem. This is the best hotel ever -- always stay here when I can. Spa was amazing. Sent my adult children here for a birthday surprise and they also loved it. Highly recommend isn't enough. Only down side is it pricey for valet, beach chairs, etc. but it is worth it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Bought water, pop and snacks at Wal mart around the corner.

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenny S.
Illinois
Aug 8, 2012

Great Hotel

The resort itself was fabulous! Attentive and courteous staff in a very clean and well-appointed facility! The surrounding area left a bit to be desired in terms of things to do outside of the resort. The Broadwalk was easily accessible via the trolley but while housing several restaurants/bars and shops was slightly trashy. From was I saw, this resort is the best thing in the area. The pools were immaculate and beautiful in the evening with their color changing lights but towel service ceased at 7pm and the pools were technically closed at that time(several people were swimming much later into the evening however).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Taverna Opa! A delicious Greek restaurant with belly dancing on the tables!!! Only two trolley stops from the resort and well-priced!!!

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
theGreg
Ohio
Aug 7, 2012

Rough Trip

First off, my wife and I went to the hotel expecting a resort/spa atmosphere, however, the atmosphere was quite chaotic with unsupervised kids running everywhere. During our trip, 2 kids went missing because their parents and guardians were drinking instead of watching them. I was jumped on, splashed, kicked, and pushed in the pool because parents were too busy drinking to watch their kids. I don't blame the hotel for that necessarily, but be prepared for it if you are considering this hotel. Next, by 2:30 pm in the afternoon, the entire pool area is covered in shade, so don't expect to do too much tanning. To top it all off, our room had bed bugs in it, so now I have to go through an additional headache to treat the bites on my body and kill any potential bugs that came with us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the trolley to the boardwalk for $2 round trip per person.

Review of The Westin Diplomat Resort & Spa, Hollywood, Florida

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J Harju
Espoo, Finland
Aug 7, 2012

South Florida At Its Best

Best pool and deck in the area. We could tell because we stayed at the 30th floor and got a pretty good view of the neighborhood. We also studied the area in detail before booking. Hollywood is an excellent location convenient to both Fort Lauderdale and Miami. The Westin is clean and modern as usual. The staff at the Diplomat are the nicest I have ever met in the world. And I travel extensively for my work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top