$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 2, 2015

Hotel Sheldon

2 stars
View map of 1000 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
37 reviews
Fantastic

It was a perfect location. The beach, restaurants, and novelty shops were right on the boardwalk. I... See full review

  • Xiomi
  • Jun 30, 2014
Great place to stay on the beach

Very personable staff. Old time feeling, laid back atmosphere, just what you would be looking for... See full review

  • mommer
  • Apr 18, 2014
Hotel Sheldon has been a fixture on the Hollywood Beach boardwalk for decades. Breathtaking ocean views and central location are what Hotel Sheldon offers for any family excursion, pleasure getaway or business trip. Walk, swim, dive, bike and dine directly from our Oceanfront Lobby. Our new management delivers a truly personalized service, while our prime location in the heart of Hollywood Beach allows every guest to enjoy the countless recreational activities, sandy white beaches and the characteristic two mile Broadwalk. All guestrooms named after famous Hollywood stars have complimentary wireless Internet access, premium bedding, Cable TV, air conditioning and heat. Rooms also include refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, and shower/tub combination.
Please note that in order to serve you better we are renovating our hotel. The renovation will take place from October 2010 to October 2011. By working in sections and locating our guests where the discomfort could be minimized, we will replace all exterior windows and storefronts, re-surface the exterior walls and paint, re-open the main Lobby, add signage, railings and modernize the elevator. Work is being done Monday-Friday. Some amenities and facilities might be closed at times.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Sheldon also booked these hotels.

Hotel Sheldon Rooms

2_STAR - 2_STAR
Intracoastal/ Town View Guest Room.
2_STAR - 2_STAR
Boardwalk and Partial Ocean View Guest Room.
2_STAR - 2_STAR
Oceanfront and Boardwalk Guest Room.
2_STAR - 3_STAR
Deluxe Oceanfront and Boardwalk Guest Room.
2_STAR - 4_STAR
Balcony Deluxe Oceanfront and Boardwalk Guest Room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
In addition to the free on-site parking, Hotel Sheldon features complimentary wireless Internet access, 24 hour Front Desk service, Coffee service in lobby, and complimentary use of beach chairs, umbrellas and beach towels. Hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, are also available free of charge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Sheldon

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 37
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.6

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nina
Business
N/A
Feb 4, 2015

Beautiful getaway

I really enjoyed my stay at Hotel Sheldon. The location on Hollywood beach is stunning. The lobby could use some work however, I think they are onto something with the gentle blue decorations that sets you relaxed. However, theres like parts of the could-be-amazing-lobby that need to be repainted and theres this weird stand by the front desk with a ton of wires just hanging out of it that they could easily just cover up or put somewhere else. It was pretty tricky to find at first because you have to drive down small streets through all the construction going on on the street. The hotel hallways I guess are being redone too(?) I never heard or saw them working on anything but they had cardboard on the hall way stairs. The hall ways are small but the second floor has really nice views as you walk down it. The rooms were small and cute. At first, I was given a 2 bed room for my hunny and I, but the people at the front desk helped fix that and upgraded us to an ocean view king room. That room's view really puts you into vacation mode. The walls are pretty thin though, as I could hear the people as they walked out in the hall and there was a gentle level of music playing outside all the time but it didnt really bother us. The workers were very friendly, accommodating and helpful and available 24 hours. The only slight improvement I would suggest is maybe a more uniform look. They looked tired and bored as we first arrived feeling excited- kind of makes you feel a little "meh" when you see saggy jeans and someone just trying to get through their shift, which I understand how it is but, the customer shouldn't feel it too. The hotel is also near everything. There is so much to eat and do nearby (Haggan Das, Oompa, and a ton more) and there is free parking. It was perfect for us overall and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything is nearby! The most delicious ice cream in both directions and cheap boardwalk food. Night walks on the beach are a must and chairs are left out on the beach. Also- the hotel gives you beach towels and chairs for free. But-- their personal chairs don't always recline. They are chairs.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Julieyankfan
Business
Holiday, FL
Jun 16, 2014

Old and tired decor

This place is supposed to be remodeled. The only things new were the mattress, lamps, frig and small tv. Everything else was old and dated. The room had an awful smell to it and we were given an air freshener to fix it as they had no other rooms available. The location is great, but the rooms aren't. I should have listened to the other poor reviews.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Grether
Business
Miami, fl
Jun 11, 2014

Not all rooms are equal

The same price for the same category of rooms but there is different furniture in them, they advertise a nicely furnished cleaner room and they give you the older version.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shaynesworld
Business
miami fl
Apr 29, 2014

great beach gettaway

Had a great time. room clean & was updated with all new bathroom & bed since my last stay. right on beach. I asked person at desk for a couple of thing while i was there & they got the items to me right then & there, great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

nicks,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mommer
Business
ohio
Apr 18, 2014

Great place to stay on the beach

Very personable staff. Old time feeling, laid back atmosphere, just what you would be looking for on a beach get away vacation. Third stay at the Hotel Sheldon. Would definitely return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SFO CA
Business
SFO, CA
Apr 4, 2014

Hollywood Beach Florida from SFO, CA

We just recently had our vacation in Florida and we stayed in Hotel Sheldon. The room that we got was a good deal. However we arrived at 7:00am and the check in time was at 2pm so I talked to the receptionist and she said she will upgrade our room and just pay the difference instead of charging me per hour. We had the ocean view, which I really love. Overall the hotel was not bad for the price. They have the chairs and umbrellas that you can borrow and use. Instead of renting outside which will cause you around $30. So its a good price and close to the beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nick's Bar and Grill. (burger was so good).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveler of beaches
Business
Panhandle, fl
Mar 10, 2014

It needs work

Not a bad hotel, the staff was very nice and informative.. As for the hotel, it said it was "newly renovated" .... FAR FROM! It was very old, bare, and needs some color. My "partial ocean view" room was staring straight into a palm tree with no view of the ocean. The hotel was right in the middle of the action with shopping, and an amazing "Lil Venice"...happ i didnt spend much time in my room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aging and Working
Business
Upstate New York
Feb 26, 2014

well-appointed, well maintained, some rooms sketchy

The hotel is pleasant, friendly and surprisingly modern. An elegant boutique hotel hanging over from an earlier era. European guests and flavor. We saved a dime by booking intracoastal view (back of the hotel) and could indeed see the intracoastal waterway if we stood in the right spot on tip toes and peeked between industrial air conditioning units. Some of the rooms, even at the back, looked better in this regard. Nice hotel tainted by the specific room we were given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dkb555
Business
USA
Feb 21, 2014

winter getaway

Great experience. Friendly helpful staff, clean rooms and great location.They are doing a great job on renovating this old hotel. Very quaint and charming Boardwalk and beach at our door step. Appreciated the complimentary beach chairs, umbrellas and towels for our beach use. Will definitely consider staying here again when traveling in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frank Vashaw
Business
Atlanta
Nov 18, 2013

Under renovation

We visited Hollywood to visit our daughter before she left for a seven month stint as a dancer on the Adventure of the Seas for Royal Caribbean.. The hotel is in a great location, but that is where the highlights ended. While the room we had was clean, the website stated they would be under renovation until April 2012, in November 2013, there were holes in the wall, cracks in the tile, and it is unfortunate because the hotel really could be nice. We did not feel it was worth the $109 a night we spent..Parking was free however and that was a plus... Would like to see what it looks like if it were fixed up...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top