$129 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

Hotel Sheldon

2 stars
View map of 1000 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
38 reviews
Fantastic

It was a perfect location. The beach, restaurants, and novelty shops were right on the boardwalk. I... See full review

  • Xiomi
  • Jun 30, 2014
Great place to stay on the beach

Very personable staff. Old time feeling, laid back atmosphere, just what you would be looking for... See full review

  • mommer
  • Apr 18, 2014
Hotel Sheldon has been a fixture on the Hollywood Beach boardwalk for decades. Breathtaking ocean views and central location are what Hotel Sheldon offers for any family excursion, pleasure getaway or business trip. Walk, swim, dive, bike and dine directly from our Oceanfront Lobby. Our new management delivers a truly personalized service, while our prime location in the heart of Hollywood Beach allows every guest to enjoy the countless recreational activities, sandy white beaches and the characteristic two mile Broadwalk. All guestrooms named after famous Hollywood stars have complimentary wireless Internet access, premium bedding, Cable TV, air conditioning and heat. Rooms also include refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, and shower/tub combination.
Please note that in order to serve you better we are renovating our hotel. The renovation will take place from October 2010 to October 2011. By working in sections and locating our guests where the discomfort could be minimized, we will replace all exterior windows and storefronts, re-surface the exterior walls and paint, re-open the main Lobby, add signage, railings and modernize the elevator. Work is being done Monday-Friday. Some amenities and facilities might be closed at times.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Sheldon also booked these hotels.

Hotel Sheldon Rooms

2_STAR - 2_STAR
Intracoastal/ Town View Guest Room.
2_STAR - 2_STAR
Boardwalk and Partial Ocean View Guest Room.
2_STAR - 2_STAR
Oceanfront and Boardwalk Guest Room.
2_STAR - 3_STAR
Deluxe Oceanfront and Boardwalk Guest Room.
2_STAR - 4_STAR
Balcony Deluxe Oceanfront and Boardwalk Guest Room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
In addition to the free on-site parking, Hotel Sheldon features complimentary wireless Internet access, 24 hour Front Desk service, Coffee service in lobby, and complimentary use of beach chairs, umbrellas and beach towels. Hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, are also available free of charge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Sheldon

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
38 out of 38
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dkb555
Business
USA
Feb 21, 2014

winter getaway

Great experience. Friendly helpful staff, clean rooms and great location.They are doing a great job on renovating this old hotel. Very quaint and charming Boardwalk and beach at our door step. Appreciated the complimentary beach chairs, umbrellas and towels for our beach use. Will definitely consider staying here again when traveling in the area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SFO CA
Business
SFO, CA
Apr 4, 2014

Hollywood Beach Florida from SFO, CA

We just recently had our vacation in Florida and we stayed in Hotel Sheldon. The room that we got was a good deal. However we arrived at 7:00am and the check in time was at 2pm so I talked to the receptionist and she said she will upgrade our room and just pay the difference instead of charging me per hour. We had the ocean view, which I really love. Overall the hotel was not bad for the price. They have the chairs and umbrellas that you can borrow and use. Instead of renting outside which will cause you around $30. So its a good price and close to the beach!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nick's Bar and Grill. (burger was so good).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mommer
Business
ohio
Apr 18, 2014

Great place to stay on the beach

Very personable staff. Old time feeling, laid back atmosphere, just what you would be looking for on a beach get away vacation. Third stay at the Hotel Sheldon. Would definitely return next year.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
debjones
Business
ft. myers, fl.
Apr 17, 2012

great getaway

The room was a dbl on the ocean, just as described, perfect view of the boardwalk and the ocean. We definately plan on coming back again , maybe this summer. All the staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The boardwalk has any kind of food you want, and there is a publix about 2 miles away. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tony53
Business
chicago, Illinois
Feb 23, 2013

Wonerful

Everyone was very nice and helpful rooms are clean and they were in the middle of renovations in the shops downstairs but they did wait til about 9 or 930 in the morning to start rooms are clean and you couldnt ask for a better location it is right in the middle of everything you want to be around i didnt rent a car and i didnt need too everything is in walking distance it was just amazing and when i return i will be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

every night there is a theater just north of the hotel on the boardwalk with live bands and bars everywhere near by great times!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Xiomi
Business
Reading, PA
Jun 30, 2014

Fantastic

It was a perfect location. The beach, restaurants, and novelty shops were right on the boardwalk. I will recommend this location to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aging and Working
Business
Upstate New York
Feb 26, 2014

well-appointed, well maintained, some rooms sketchy

The hotel is pleasant, friendly and surprisingly modern. An elegant boutique hotel hanging over from an earlier era. European guests and flavor. We saved a dime by booking intracoastal view (back of the hotel) and could indeed see the intracoastal waterway if we stood in the right spot on tip toes and peeked between industrial air conditioning units. Some of the rooms, even at the back, looked better in this regard. Nice hotel tainted by the specific room we were given.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shaynesworld
Business
miami fl
Apr 29, 2014

great beach gettaway

Had a great time. room clean & was updated with all new bathroom & bed since my last stay. right on beach. I asked person at desk for a couple of thing while i was there & they got the items to me right then & there, great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

nicks,

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Focus09
Business
Hollywood Beach, Hollywood, FL, USA
May 2, 2012

Good

Good place to stay right on the beach, however could use a laundry room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TommyK12
Business
KC MO
Jan 23, 2013

Why Are You Here ?

If you love the Beach you are there, If you love the Broadwalk in Hollywood you are there.If you are looking for pre-paid parking right on the beach you are there. If you are looking for a 4 story luxury resort, keep looking. For the price involved and what we are looking for, it is a Great place, in fact we come back year after year. There is a Refrigerator and Microwave and an OK TV. We didn't come to Florida in Winter to watch TV. Right down from the Bandshell where you have nightly entertainment, but you also got the Noise if you don't enjoy the music being pumped out on the Broadwalk. Room Coffee is adequate and less than 50 feet to nearest breakfast right on the Atlantic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

SAGE Cafe is a French Cafe, We ran across it and it was simply Great if you love French food and Wine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top