$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 8, 2015 Check-out: Jan 11, 2015

Hotel Sheldon

2 stars
1000 North Surf Road, Hollywood, FL 33019
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
35 reviews
Fantastic

It was a perfect location. The beach, restaurants, and novelty shops were right on the boardwalk. I... See full review

  • Xiomi
  • Jun 30, 2014
Great place to stay on the beach

Very personable staff. Old time feeling, laid back atmosphere, just what you would be looking for... See full review

  • mommer
  • Apr 18, 2014
Hotel Sheldon has been a fixture on the Hollywood Beach boardwalk for decades. Breathtaking ocean views and central location are what Hotel Sheldon offers for any family excursion, pleasure getaway or business trip. Walk, swim, dive, bike and dine directly from our Oceanfront Lobby. Our new management delivers a truly personalized service, while our prime location in the heart of Hollywood Beach allows every guest to enjoy the countless recreational activities, sandy white beaches and the characteristic two mile Broadwalk. All guestrooms named after famous Hollywood stars have complimentary wireless Internet access, premium bedding, Cable TV, air conditioning and heat. Rooms also include refrigerators, microwaves, coffeemakers, and shower/tub combination.
Please note that in order to serve you better we are renovating our hotel. The renovation will take place from October 2010 to October 2011. By working in sections and locating our guests where the discomfort could be minimized, we will replace all exterior windows and storefronts, re-surface the exterior walls and paint, re-open the main Lobby, add signage, railings and modernize the elevator. Work is being done Monday-Friday. Some amenities and facilities might be closed at times.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Sheldon also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Hotel Sheldon Rooms

2_STAR - 2_STAR
Intracoastal/ Town View Guest Room.
2_STAR - 2_STAR
Boardwalk and Partial Ocean View Guest Room.
2_STAR - 2_STAR
Oceanfront and Boardwalk Guest Room.
2_STAR - 3_STAR
Deluxe Oceanfront and Boardwalk Guest Room.
2_STAR - 4_STAR
Balcony Deluxe Oceanfront and Boardwalk Guest Room.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Dining
Restaurant
Services
In-Room Safe
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Accessible parking
Audible emergency alarm for sight impaired guest
Visual emergency alarm for hearing impaired guest
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
In addition to the free on-site parking, Hotel Sheldon features complimentary wireless Internet access, 24 hour Front Desk service, Coffee service in lobby, and complimentary use of beach chairs, umbrellas and beach towels. Hair dryers, irons and ironing boards, are also available free of charge.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Sheldon

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.5

71% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Frank Vashaw
Business
Atlanta
Nov 18, 2013

Under renovation

We visited Hollywood to visit our daughter before she left for a seven month stint as a dancer on the Adventure of the Seas for Royal Caribbean.. The hotel is in a great location, but that is where the highlights ended. While the room we had was clean, the website stated they would be under renovation until April 2012, in November 2013, there were holes in the wall, cracks in the tile, and it is unfortunate because the hotel really could be nice. We did not feel it was worth the $109 a night we spent..Parking was free however and that was a plus... Would like to see what it looks like if it were fixed up...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Luggage
Business
East Point
Jun 3, 2013

Boardwalk Getaway

A good effort is being made to renovate the hotel, but it has a long was to go. Not condusive to family travelers. There aer no ammenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
m2p2
Business
N. Fort Myers, FL
Apr 1, 2013

Great Location, but Still Under Renovation

This is a cute hotel, right on the boardwalk on Hollywood Beach. It's old, but has been fixed up very nicely. Some of the rooms are still under renovation,as is the lobby. But you can't beat the price we got for Easter weekend, and the location was perfect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gracie Girl 613
Business
Orlando, FL
Mar 12, 2013

Great location! Rude staff

Loved being right off the beach and boardwalk ... the location couldn't have been better. Several nearby bars and restaurants to choose from, which was great! The hotel and room itself were fine, we really didnt have any issues. The staff on the other hand ... awful. The front desk ladies were extremely rude. Every time we tried to talk to them, at check-in, asking about parking later on, and even during our check-out, they carried on with their own personal conversations instead of being attentive to the paying customer. Terrible customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tony53
Business
chicago, Illinois
Feb 23, 2013

Wonerful

Everyone was very nice and helpful rooms are clean and they were in the middle of renovations in the shops downstairs but they did wait til about 9 or 930 in the morning to start rooms are clean and you couldnt ask for a better location it is right in the middle of everything you want to be around i didnt rent a car and i didnt need too everything is in walking distance it was just amazing and when i return i will be staying here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

every night there is a theater just north of the hotel on the boardwalk with live bands and bars everywhere near by great times!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TommyK12
Business
KC MO
Jan 23, 2013

Why Are You Here ?

If you love the Beach you are there, If you love the Broadwalk in Hollywood you are there.If you are looking for pre-paid parking right on the beach you are there. If you are looking for a 4 story luxury resort, keep looking. For the price involved and what we are looking for, it is a Great place, in fact we come back year after year. There is a Refrigerator and Microwave and an OK TV. We didn't come to Florida in Winter to watch TV. Right down from the Bandshell where you have nightly entertainment, but you also got the Noise if you don't enjoy the music being pumped out on the Broadwalk. Room Coffee is adequate and less than 50 feet to nearest breakfast right on the Atlantic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

SAGE Cafe is a French Cafe, We ran across it and it was simply Great if you love French food and Wine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jenny li
Business
long island,ny
Jan 19, 2013

perfect location

Hotel is in perfect location. Beach is right outside the front door. Walk to all, no need for a car. Trolley runs throughout city for $1 per ride. This is an older hotel. Needs updating, but if you are looking for a clean place to sleep then this is the place. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They gave ideas of different things to do. Hotel provides free beach towels and chairs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

great resturants,italian, greek,mexican all around the hotel. walk to all.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Focus09
Business
Hollywood Beach, Hollywood, FL, USA
May 2, 2012

Good

Good place to stay right on the beach, however could use a laundry room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
debjones
Business
ft. myers, fl.
Apr 17, 2012

great getaway

The room was a dbl on the ocean, just as described, perfect view of the boardwalk and the ocean. We definately plan on coming back again , maybe this summer. All the staff was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The boardwalk has any kind of food you want, and there is a publix about 2 miles away. Great location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Sheldon

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ramfan00
Business
Las Vegas, NV, USA
Apr 15, 2012

Good location but that's it

Room wasn't all that clean, couple of thing they were broke.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top