$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 19, 2015

Super 8 Gainesville

2 stars
4202 SW 40th Blvd, Gainesville, FL 32608-2306
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
34 reviews
Visiting UF

Daughter and I were in town for UF tour. Stayed at Super 8, which is near campus and had everything... See full review

  • Johnny Cache
  • Aug 26, 2014
Repeat Customer

Have stayed here three times in the last two years. The reasonable cost allows us the comfort of... See full review

  • BettySC
  • Jun 10, 2014
Welcome to the Super 8 of Gainesville. All new rooms in 2008 - tastefully furnished for your business or leisure needs. Conveniently located off Exit 384. Close to the University of Florida, hospitals, and restaurants. Please call us directly for our special Hospital or Commercial rates. Interior corridor access to rooms. Pets welcome in designated rooms only with limited availability - just 10 USD additional per pet, per night. Call property directly to reserve a pet room.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Super 8 Gainesville also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
FAX
Copy service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
TV remote control

Nearby points of interest

  • Stephen C. O'Connell Center: 3.1 mi
  • Ben Hill Griffin Stadium: 3.2 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (34)

Ratings and reviews for Super 8 Gainesville

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
34 out of 34
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Super 8 Gainesville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Johnny Cache
Business
Longmont, CO
Aug 26, 2014

Visiting UF

Daughter and I were in town for UF tour. Stayed at Super 8, which is near campus and had everything we needed. Very good value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Gainesville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BettySC
Business
Bradenton, FL
Jun 10, 2014

Repeat Customer

Have stayed here three times in the last two years. The reasonable cost allows us the comfort of having two rooms to accommodate our family that include young adult children. The rooms are clean and the building appears to be well maintained (new carpets).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Gainesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jtgardener
Business
Idaho
Mar 31, 2014

Fairly expensive

It seems the price of rooms goes up considerably when snowbirds begin their massive Exodus from Florida. This room would cost less than $50 anywhere else at any other time. This was a simple bare bones room, but the people were pleasant and the room was quiet. We never eat the sort of breakfast they provide, so cannot comment on it. Close to freeway exit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Embers Wood Grill is awesome.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Gainesville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JR the Judge
Business
Florida
Feb 2, 2014

Could have been better

The room reserved was smoking - we had asked for a NON smoking. Entering the room, I gagged on the odor! We opted to upgrade to a room that was non smoking. The hotel itself could use some refurbishing (carpet was worn bare in the hallways). Breakfast was ok, but no eggs or yogurt which we had at a previous stay for a lower price at another hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Gainesville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
From OH
Business
Gainesville, Fl.
Dec 24, 2013

Nice room

The room was clean, plus the entrance to the hotel was close to the interstate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Gainesville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Garfield1
Business
Alabama
Sep 30, 2013

lay over

The plugs were hanging out of the wall. The night staff when we checked in was rude. Had to hold my credit card for extra pillows. Morning staff was good. They had a snack machine, but no drink machine.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Gainesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sam and Jean
Business
St. Louis MO
Mar 30, 2013

Gainsville Super8

Nice Clean Room. Convenient location Nice helpful staff. Very uncomfortable beds and no elevator to the 3rd floor. Old hotel needs updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Gainesville

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Motel 666
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Feb 26, 2013

Great deal

As I say in other reviews, I'm not looking for the Ritz Carlton. I want clean, safe, and a working TV, remote, and AC. And spend as little as possible. On a recent 3 week swing in Florida, this motel was the best deal I had. Definitely a notch above the Motel 6 dorm rooms I am used to (and satisfied with).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Gainesville

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tulip7lover
Business
Gainesville, FL
Feb 11, 2013

Needs common amenities

The room didn't have the advertised microwave or refridgerator. Being on the second floor it was inconvenient to have to go downstairs to use the only one in the breakfast area. The location and cleanliness of the room was definitely above average. The price is a little steep and the room was small. The renovations gave the room an updated and new feel. Despite the surly morning desk clerk, I would likely stay here again; especially if the price drops.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Super 8 Gainesville

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
dive4fun
Business
concord, nc
Dec 10, 2012

needs some work

Dirty wash clothes hanging over shower curtain. Bathroom in very bad need of face-lift. Loud....!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top