$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 2, 2014

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

3 stars
2900 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
180 reviews
relaxing getway

It was very quite and the rooms were awesome with extraordinary staff friendly and nice i will be... See full review

  • Joshua Johnson
  • Jun 14, 2014
Gainesville retreat

Our accommodations at the Paramount were wonderful. The room was very spacious with a beautiful... See full review

  • abbeylou
  • Jun 4, 2014
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. The Plaza is ideally located only minutes from the University of Florida and Shand's Hospital. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Lake Nature Preserve the hotel offers a taste of Florida the way it used to be. From the moment you check in, our friendly staff will make you feel at home. We offer our guests a list of amenities like a outdoor pool, fitness room, Lakeside Gazebo and ample free parking. We even offer the high tech amenities today's discerning travelers want like complimentary high-speed wireless and a business center. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In room guest amenities include hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. You may even want to order room service from the Lakeside Grill Restaurant in our hotel. After your restful night's sleep, you'll really love our vast array of delicious choices on the breakfast menu. Allow our shuttle van to take you to the University, Shand's or even the Gainesville Airport for free. While you are at the hotel, you will notice the volume of convention and meeting business we host. Our conference center has hosted everything from University functions to top-flight business seminars. Business or pleasure, the Paramount Plaza Hotel should be your choice when you are in Gainesville.

Hotel Map

29.626 -82.3393
Area served
Ganesville, FL
Nearby airports
Gainsville Regional Airport
Area description
This AAA three star hotel is located on Biven's Arm Lake & Wildlife Preserve. Nearby is the Oaks Mall, Historic Micanopy, Paynes Prairie Wildlife Reserve, and several area golf courses. Complimentary shuttle to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, and Gainesville Regional Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites Rooms

Blue Heron Suite
Treat yourself like the VIP you are with one of our luxury Blue Heron Suites. Named for the graceful water bird that inhabits the lake next to the hotel, these suites reflect the elegant nature of the Heron itself. All the amenities of the Lakeside and Sandpiper rooms plus more space and features. All this extra room and a oversized balcony will make your stay a memorable one. Book your Blue Heron Suite early as these rooms sell out first.
Sandpiper Double
At the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center, we offer many room type choices. Our most popular with families and groups is the Sandpiper Double Room. It boasts two comfortable full sized pillow-top beds to relax on. The rooms are more spacious than other hotels in the area, so you'll find plenty of room for luggage and your travel essentials. The bathrooms are replete with hair dryers and grooming toiletries like body lotion. Unwind on your private balcony in the evening to the sounds of nature. You're sure to have a great night's sleep in our Sandpiper Double Room.
Plaza King
The Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center pays special attention to travelers and business people that prefer the comfort of a spacious king size bed. Since we host so many conventions and seminars, the business traveler is our most loyal client. The oversized room has such essentials as a writing desk, table and iron in case your clothes are a little wrinkled before the big meeting. Now that laptops have become an indispensable part of every day life, we offer free high-speed wireless in most rooms. After a relaxing night, you'll be amazed how productive you be the next day.
Deluxe Double
Two queen beds adding extra comfort, down feather pillows and comforters. In addition to our traditional amenities, this 50% larger room has an additional plush chair with ottoman and its balcony directly overlooks the lake. 589 sq ft.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Ben Hill Griffin Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Stephen C. O'Connell Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Lakeview Restaurant
Our onsite restaurant provides an excellent selection of continental cusine and offers room service as well.

Hours:
7am - 8pm; Sun - Thur

7am - 9pm; Fri & Sat
Lakeview Lounge
Our onsite lounge provides a comfortable atmosphere to unwind in with a limited menu available after restaurant hours.

Hours:
5:30pm - 10pm Sun - Thur
5:30pm - 11pm Fri
2:00pm - 11pm Sat

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellent Banquet and Conferencing Facilities with the best service in Gainesville. From the 7,000 sq ft Ballroom to our 250 sq ft boardroom, a variety of meeting spaces ensure we will be able to suit your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (180)

Ratings and reviews for Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 180
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
4.1

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lisa in Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL
Oct 9, 2014

Fit the Bill

Not a 5 star hotel by any means but it fit the bill. My dad was in Shands Hospital which was where I spent most of my time and only needed a clean bed and shower. I chose the Paramount because they have a shuttle for their guests to and from Shands Hospital along with the airport.and was in my price range for a last minute booking. The staff was extremely friendly, caring and helpful. My only complaint is that they did not make the bed during the course of my stay like most hotels. But otherwise a pleasant experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Wilderness guy
Business
Chicago
Mar 6, 2014

Very good stay

Nicely appointed, large room with balcony and view of lake (and a sign warning to keep the door closed so wildlife doesn't get in!) very good desk staff and strong fast wi-fi. Fridge and microwave and everything worked as expected. Great beds. A surprisingly small LED tv screen. Near U of F campus and tons of shopping on nearby Archer Rd.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rebuhhh
Business
Connecticut
Jan 27, 2014

Great Time!

I wasn't exactly sure how my stay would work out since I booked an extra day when I was leaving super early that day. The man at the front desk was super nice in letting me know that I could leave whenever I wanted since I had already paid. Also, I realized that there was a $50 processing fee from the hotel but wasn't sure what for so I decided to call. The response given was very quick and I soon learned it was just for incidentals. I loved how clean this place was and would definitely stay there again if it was closer to my friends house. Great stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Breakfast was delicious in the hotel lobby!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
paul the game
Business
gainesville,fl
Feb 14, 2013

hotel in gainesville

the hotel was ok for being a three star hotel. It was nice for me that it was fairly close to the oconnel center were i was going. Only bad thing was there last shuttle was leaving at 5:30 and it just dropped you off right there but no return pickup after! Also the game ended at 9pm which is fine. I wanted to get roomservice from the hotel they stopped serving at 9:30 i didnt get back to my car til almost then. most hotels that have that service at least are open til 12midnight or later. i understand that it was a tuesday night but im staying at hotel that had roomservice and a shuttle and both eneded early. the room was nice for what i paid for it. also i thought the chekout time was noon and that was on the website to whcih was wrong it was 11am. I most likely wont be going to this hotel i will go to another one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cougator
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 17, 2012

Rooms are nice

The rooms at the Paramount were much nicer than the outside of the hotel let on. Don't be put off by the old design and aging exterior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EXK81
Business
The Midwest
Nov 19, 2012

Just nice all around

Stayed at the Paramount Plaza while visiting a friend. Friendly staff, good food, only real problem was loud neighbors (visiting sports team). Can't really blame the hotel for that, obviously.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jon1984
Business
Lake Worth, FL, USA
Mar 26, 2012

you get what you pay for

I normally stay in nicer hotels and after this trip I will keep that best practice. There was lots of little disappointments at this hotel. Like small things that added up. Like the bed sheets being to small in the room. The pool being filled with leafs. The menu in the room had a great number of things they no longer served. The food they did serve was awlful. While i havebeen in worse hotels this one was not a great value just a cheap price0

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seasa
Business
Liverpool, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Great overnight stay

I met my mother at this hotel to travel the next day up north. We had a nice clean room with all the amenities at a GREAT price. Would highly recommend. Also great we didn't have to drive any farther because of hotel and bar only steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Birder 27
Business
Canada
Mar 7, 2012

Close to the highway

The staff were good. Very helpful . The food was ok. However the elevator wasn't working well. The lights in call buttons were burnt out and the elevator would often ignore your floor choice an go to floor 1 , then to your floor. The outside door key lock didn't work all the time (for entry onto the building). There is a lot of walking involved with this place so not great for the handicapped. It is easy to access I 75 and 441 .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
arslan
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 25, 2012

Good hotel with reasonable price

This hotel is very good to stay and has reasonable price. I think one of the best places to stay in Gainesville for a short trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top