$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

3 stars
2900 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
176 reviews
relaxing getway

It was very quite and the rooms were awesome with extraordinary staff friendly and nice i will be... See full review

  • Joshua Johnson
  • Jun 14, 2014
Gainesville retreat

Our accommodations at the Paramount were wonderful. The room was very spacious with a beautiful... See full review

  • abbeylou
  • Jun 4, 2014
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. The Plaza is ideally located only minutes from the University of Florida and Shand's Hospital. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Lake Nature Preserve the hotel offers a taste of Florida the way it used to be. From the moment you check in, our friendly staff will make you feel at home. We offer our guests a list of amenities like a outdoor pool, fitness room, Lakeside Gazebo and ample free parking. We even offer the high tech amenities today's discerning travelers want like complimentary high-speed wireless and a business center. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In room guest amenities include hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. You may even want to order room service from the Lakeside Grill Restaurant in our hotel. After your restful night's sleep, you'll really love our vast array of delicious choices on the breakfast menu. Allow our shuttle van to take you to the University, Shand's or even the Gainesville Airport for free. While you are at the hotel, you will notice the volume of convention and meeting business we host. Our conference center has hosted everything from University functions to top-flight business seminars. Business or pleasure, the Paramount Plaza Hotel should be your choice when you are in Gainesville.

Hotel Map

29.626 -82.3393
Area served
Ganesville, FL
Nearby airports
Gainsville Regional Airport
Area description
This AAA three star hotel is located on Biven's Arm Lake & Wildlife Preserve. Nearby is the Oaks Mall, Historic Micanopy, Paynes Prairie Wildlife Reserve, and several area golf courses. Complimentary shuttle to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, and Gainesville Regional Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites Rooms

Blue Heron Suite
Treat yourself like the VIP you are with one of our luxury Blue Heron Suites. Named for the graceful water bird that inhabits the lake next to the hotel, these suites reflect the elegant nature of the Heron itself. All the amenities of the Lakeside and Sandpiper rooms plus more space and features. All this extra room and a oversized balcony will make your stay a memorable one. Book your Blue Heron Suite early as these rooms sell out first.
Sandpiper Double
At the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center, we offer many room type choices. Our most popular with families and groups is the Sandpiper Double Room. It boasts two comfortable full sized pillow-top beds to relax on. The rooms are more spacious than other hotels in the area, so you'll find plenty of room for luggage and your travel essentials. The bathrooms are replete with hair dryers and grooming toiletries like body lotion. Unwind on your private balcony in the evening to the sounds of nature. You're sure to have a great night's sleep in our Sandpiper Double Room.
Plaza King
The Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center pays special attention to travelers and business people that prefer the comfort of a spacious king size bed. Since we host so many conventions and seminars, the business traveler is our most loyal client. The oversized room has such essentials as a writing desk, table and iron in case your clothes are a little wrinkled before the big meeting. Now that laptops have become an indispensable part of every day life, we offer free high-speed wireless in most rooms. After a relaxing night, you'll be amazed how productive you be the next day.
Deluxe Double
Two queen beds adding extra comfort, down feather pillows and comforters. In addition to our traditional amenities, this 50% larger room has an additional plush chair with ottoman and its balcony directly overlooks the lake. 589 sq ft.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Ben Hill Griffin Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Stephen C. O'Connell Center: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellent Banquet and Conferencing Facilities with the best service in Gainesville. From the 7,000 sq ft Ballroom to our 250 sq ft boardroom, a variety of meeting spaces ensure we will be able to suit your needs.

Dining

Lakeview Restaurant
Our onsite restaurant provides an excellent selection of continental cusine and offers room service as well.

Hours:
7am - 8pm; Sun - Thur

7am - 9pm; Fri & Sat
Lakeview Lounge
Our onsite lounge provides a comfortable atmosphere to unwind in with a limited menu available after restaurant hours.

Hours:
5:30pm - 10pm Sun - Thur
5:30pm - 11pm Fri
2:00pm - 11pm Sat

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
65 out of 176
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gator Football Fan
Sarasota
Sep 1, 2014

Nothing special

Extremely dated hotel. No free breakfast. Generally, a very average to poor quality location and the only reason I stayed there is because it was a football weekend and I could not get anything else. Unfortunately, the day before I got there a name brand hotel (with free breakfast) opened up and for less. I could not cancel without penalty. The one bedroom suite was supposed to have a sleeper sofa and didn't. They had to give me a roll-away. Value may be better than on a football weekend when all hotels in town jack up the rates.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sante Fe Mom
Lake Worth, Florida
Jul 18, 2014

Not bad for one night.

Nice hotel. A little on the expensive side but they do offer specials from time to time. Only stayed over night so I didn't get to see all they had to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
KJP the one
South Carolina
Jul 14, 2014

Grandmommy the Most

The hotel front desk was unavailable when trying to be reached to complain. The room was not cleaned thoroughly on day2. When I tried to call and complain no answer. The bathroom has a stale odor. The tub did not drain while showering, one was standing in water mid calf. Again I tried to call to complain no answer. At checkout I mentioned these issues, I was told I should have called, I did no one answered. Please refund some of our stay, the nightly price would be fair if all was satisfactory. It was not The hotel said they could NOT do anything to make up for the proble, Ms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aquatica
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Jul 6, 2014

Nice hotel at a great value

We have stayed at this hotel many times, and have found it to be a great value for the quality and location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
HappyTravels65
Singapore
Jul 5, 2014

Fine for a place to sleep.

The hotel was in a good location for visiting UF. Room was clean and check in staff was friendly. I chose the property over ones closer to campus because the photos looked like it had a nice river setting. I was disappointed when I tried to walk around outside for some nature and it was all parking lots, fences and trees. Couldn't see much of the river except glimpses through the trees and no nice walking area. As another note, the elevators were rickety and old.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

We went to Adam's Ribs. Food was fast and fantastic.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Art Miami
Miami
Jun 30, 2014

Not A Thrill

The hotel was quite run down although it appears the rooms were renovated. Very noisy. Staff and check in not up to par. Would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Edie From VA
Sterling, VA
Jun 22, 2014

Super great value

Breakfast buffet is a great value, as is the nightly rate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Somen
Tampa, FL
Jun 19, 2014

May be 2.5 star

I think it is a good hotel in 2.5 star level. 3 star hotels in other competitive hotel booking websites would be much better. Good: Customer service. Bed. TV. Furniture. Balcony. Opportunity: Strong odor in the lobby. Odor in the room. Quality of towel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't eat breakfast in the hotel. Its not free. Subway, Wendys and Steak n Shake is less that 10 minutes drive away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jeff the Dawg
Palm City, FL
Jun 16, 2014

Good for the price.

Beds were really comfortable. No hot water in the morning when I went to take a shower. Outside seems a little run down, courtyard needs tending to.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
firstTimeinGainsville
Tampa, FL
May 31, 2014

Great stay for visitng UF

It is perfect for the price I paid. Yes, it is not as nice as Hilton, but I paid much less. Very friendly staff and convenient location. Very clean room. Will use it again in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Nice location.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search