$85 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 28, 2014

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

3 stars
2900 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
179 reviews
relaxing getway

It was very quite and the rooms were awesome with extraordinary staff friendly and nice i will be... See full review

  • Joshua Johnson
  • Jun 14, 2014
Gainesville retreat

Our accommodations at the Paramount were wonderful. The room was very spacious with a beautiful... See full review

  • abbeylou
  • Jun 4, 2014
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. The Plaza is ideally located only minutes from the University of Florida and Shand's Hospital. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Lake Nature Preserve the hotel offers a taste of Florida the way it used to be. From the moment you check in, our friendly staff will make you feel at home. We offer our guests a list of amenities like a outdoor pool, fitness room, Lakeside Gazebo and ample free parking. We even offer the high tech amenities today's discerning travelers want like complimentary high-speed wireless and a business center. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In room guest amenities include hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. You may even want to order room service from the Lakeside Grill Restaurant in our hotel. After your restful night's sleep, you'll really love our vast array of delicious choices on the breakfast menu. Allow our shuttle van to take you to the University, Shand's or even the Gainesville Airport for free. While you are at the hotel, you will notice the volume of convention and meeting business we host. Our conference center has hosted everything from University functions to top-flight business seminars. Business or pleasure, the Paramount Plaza Hotel should be your choice when you are in Gainesville.

Hotel Map

29.626 -82.3393
Area served
Ganesville, FL
Nearby airports
Gainsville Regional Airport
Area description
This AAA three star hotel is located on Biven's Arm Lake & Wildlife Preserve. Nearby is the Oaks Mall, Historic Micanopy, Paynes Prairie Wildlife Reserve, and several area golf courses. Complimentary shuttle to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, and Gainesville Regional Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites Rooms

Blue Heron Suite
Treat yourself like the VIP you are with one of our luxury Blue Heron Suites. Named for the graceful water bird that inhabits the lake next to the hotel, these suites reflect the elegant nature of the Heron itself. All the amenities of the Lakeside and Sandpiper rooms plus more space and features. All this extra room and a oversized balcony will make your stay a memorable one. Book your Blue Heron Suite early as these rooms sell out first.
Sandpiper Double
At the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center, we offer many room type choices. Our most popular with families and groups is the Sandpiper Double Room. It boasts two comfortable full sized pillow-top beds to relax on. The rooms are more spacious than other hotels in the area, so you'll find plenty of room for luggage and your travel essentials. The bathrooms are replete with hair dryers and grooming toiletries like body lotion. Unwind on your private balcony in the evening to the sounds of nature. You're sure to have a great night's sleep in our Sandpiper Double Room.
Plaza King
The Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center pays special attention to travelers and business people that prefer the comfort of a spacious king size bed. Since we host so many conventions and seminars, the business traveler is our most loyal client. The oversized room has such essentials as a writing desk, table and iron in case your clothes are a little wrinkled before the big meeting. Now that laptops have become an indispensable part of every day life, we offer free high-speed wireless in most rooms. After a relaxing night, you'll be amazed how productive you be the next day.
Deluxe Double
Two queen beds adding extra comfort, down feather pillows and comforters. In addition to our traditional amenities, this 50% larger room has an additional plush chair with ottoman and its balcony directly overlooks the lake. 589 sq ft.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Ben Hill Griffin Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Stephen C. O'Connell Center: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellent Banquet and Conferencing Facilities with the best service in Gainesville. From the 7,000 sq ft Ballroom to our 250 sq ft boardroom, a variety of meeting spaces ensure we will be able to suit your needs.

Dining

Lakeview Restaurant
Our onsite restaurant provides an excellent selection of continental cusine and offers room service as well.

Hours:
7am - 8pm; Sun - Thur

7am - 9pm; Fri & Sat
Lakeview Lounge
Our onsite lounge provides a comfortable atmosphere to unwind in with a limited menu available after restaurant hours.

Hours:
5:30pm - 10pm Sun - Thur
5:30pm - 11pm Fri
2:00pm - 11pm Sat

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (179)

Ratings and reviews for Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 179
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.8

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ajs127
Business
Auburn, Alabama
Jul 12, 2014

A good place to stay

I was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was for such a low price. Highly recommend it if you need a place to stay in Gainesville.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JimJoseph
Business
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Apr 29, 2014

Exceeded all Expectations.

From the very friendly welcome at check-in and throughout the five days my experience could not be faulted. I was so happy that I rebooked for a further stay five days later. The rooms are quiet, generous in size and all the staff I spoke to were very helpful. Whenever I am in Gainesville, I shall always stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Try the prime rib at Codys Restaurant, which is about 2 miles away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Horse show travel girl
Business
orlando
Mar 30, 2014

really nice stay

We tried the Paramount Plaza on our last trip to Gainesville. It was a little further of a drive for us but worth it. We enjoyed the large comfortable room. We liked the bar and restaurant so we didn't have to leave the hotel after a long day to get dinner and relax. I did notice the rooms and areas of the hotel are showing some wear that hopefully they can repair soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
visitingforconference
Business
miami, fl
Mar 3, 2014

Good, decent hotel

This is a good, clean and overall decent hotel. Could definitely use some updates, but the location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
srqagnes
Business
sarasota fl
Aug 19, 2013

Pampered , special attention

I really enjoyed my brief stay as I had testing at Shands hospital. Room was nice and clean room. Comfortable bed. It was not noisy, like the cheap new hotels . A real restaurant on site!!! .... With reasonable room service prices! I felt like a queen. Also, free shuttle to Shands with a nice driver. wonderful experience. Dont hesitate....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Prop mgr professional
Business
Miami, Fl
May 28, 2013

Okay

The staff was welcoming and very friendly. I did not get the upgraded room that I paid for. The hotel could be great with detailed cleaning and if there was much improved maintenance and oversight. There was mold in the corner door leading to balcony. Could not sit on the balcony due to overhanging tree that would be in your face. Balcony was not clean.....light fixture and wall was full of dead bugs and cobwebs. Bathroom was clean however there was dust on everything except the desk in the room. Carpet was dirty and needs to be changed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A Frank
Business
Mesa, AZ, USA
May 20, 2013

NOOOOO!!!! Just pay the money for a good and safe stay somewhere else.

I came here to visit a residency program at UF hospital I am interested in applying to. Being on a student budget, I searched for a clean and reasonably priced hotel. The description for this placed made it seem ok, but it is a lie. The hotel is old and has molded smelly carpet everywhere. The first room I was in seemed to belong to the mosquitoes and roaches that infested the place. The staff claimed they were undergoing renovations to the buildings, and that mine was one of the last to be completed. All of the buildings looked like they were still in need to me. I moved to another room the next day to find suspicious stains on the carpet, dead lovebugs in a pile on the floor by the window, and a bad smell coming from the airconditioner. The hotel doesn't offer refunds, so I was forced to stay and take my chances with room 2 for the week. And the people I saw coming in and out of this place didn't seem to be of the best character either. Worst week of my life. This place should be torn down completely and rebuilt. The only thing good about it is they have church service in the conference room in the main building on Sundays. Just pay the few extra dollars for a decent hotel. You will be glad you did when you see this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DAVUD
Business
BUFFALO NY
Apr 17, 2013

STAFF

ATTENDING CONFERENCE EVERYBODY WAS VERY HELPFUL BETTER QUALITY PILLOWS AND TOWELS

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamie11
Business
PDX
Feb 2, 2013

Clean

Nice, friendly staff. relatively clean room, no variety of food selection

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gator newbie
Business
Florida
Jul 4, 2012

Amenities Fee?

The overall hotel stay was ok but what's this amenities fee all about? I mean really, your going to charge me 2.50 for a view of a lake that is fenced in to keep the Aligators out?... Come on people.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel restaurant serves a good breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top