$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

3 stars
2900 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
176 reviews
relaxing getway

It was very quite and the rooms were awesome with extraordinary staff friendly and nice i will be... See full review

  • Joshua Johnson
  • Jun 14, 2014
Gainesville retreat

Our accommodations at the Paramount were wonderful. The room was very spacious with a beautiful... See full review

  • abbeylou
  • Jun 4, 2014
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. The Plaza is ideally located only minutes from the University of Florida and Shand's Hospital. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Lake Nature Preserve the hotel offers a taste of Florida the way it used to be. From the moment you check in, our friendly staff will make you feel at home. We offer our guests a list of amenities like a outdoor pool, fitness room, Lakeside Gazebo and ample free parking. We even offer the high tech amenities today's discerning travelers want like complimentary high-speed wireless and a business center. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In room guest amenities include hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. You may even want to order room service from the Lakeside Grill Restaurant in our hotel. After your restful night's sleep, you'll really love our vast array of delicious choices on the breakfast menu. Allow our shuttle van to take you to the University, Shand's or even the Gainesville Airport for free. While you are at the hotel, you will notice the volume of convention and meeting business we host. Our conference center has hosted everything from University functions to top-flight business seminars. Business or pleasure, the Paramount Plaza Hotel should be your choice when you are in Gainesville.

Hotel Map

29.626 -82.3393
Area served
Ganesville, FL
Nearby airports
Gainsville Regional Airport
Area description
This AAA three star hotel is located on Biven's Arm Lake & Wildlife Preserve. Nearby is the Oaks Mall, Historic Micanopy, Paynes Prairie Wildlife Reserve, and several area golf courses. Complimentary shuttle to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, and Gainesville Regional Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites Rooms

Blue Heron Suite
Treat yourself like the VIP you are with one of our luxury Blue Heron Suites. Named for the graceful water bird that inhabits the lake next to the hotel, these suites reflect the elegant nature of the Heron itself. All the amenities of the Lakeside and Sandpiper rooms plus more space and features. All this extra room and a oversized balcony will make your stay a memorable one. Book your Blue Heron Suite early as these rooms sell out first.
Sandpiper Double
At the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center, we offer many room type choices. Our most popular with families and groups is the Sandpiper Double Room. It boasts two comfortable full sized pillow-top beds to relax on. The rooms are more spacious than other hotels in the area, so you'll find plenty of room for luggage and your travel essentials. The bathrooms are replete with hair dryers and grooming toiletries like body lotion. Unwind on your private balcony in the evening to the sounds of nature. You're sure to have a great night's sleep in our Sandpiper Double Room.
Plaza King
The Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center pays special attention to travelers and business people that prefer the comfort of a spacious king size bed. Since we host so many conventions and seminars, the business traveler is our most loyal client. The oversized room has such essentials as a writing desk, table and iron in case your clothes are a little wrinkled before the big meeting. Now that laptops have become an indispensable part of every day life, we offer free high-speed wireless in most rooms. After a relaxing night, you'll be amazed how productive you be the next day.
Deluxe Double
Two queen beds adding extra comfort, down feather pillows and comforters. In addition to our traditional amenities, this 50% larger room has an additional plush chair with ottoman and its balcony directly overlooks the lake. 589 sq ft.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Ben Hill Griffin Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Stephen C. O'Connell Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Lakeview Restaurant
Our onsite restaurant provides an excellent selection of continental cusine and offers room service as well.

Hours:
7am - 8pm; Sun - Thur

7am - 9pm; Fri & Sat
Lakeview Lounge
Our onsite lounge provides a comfortable atmosphere to unwind in with a limited menu available after restaurant hours.

Hours:
5:30pm - 10pm Sun - Thur
5:30pm - 11pm Fri
2:00pm - 11pm Sat

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellent Banquet and Conferencing Facilities with the best service in Gainesville. From the 7,000 sq ft Ballroom to our 250 sq ft boardroom, a variety of meeting spaces ensure we will be able to suit your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
UF FAN
BLOUNTSTOWN, FL
May 4, 2011

NOT EVER, EVER, EVER AGAIN!!!

We were in town for the spring Orange and Blue game. The whole weekend would've been better if we would've had a better hotel. Nothing, except for having comfortable beds, was good about this hotel. There are too many things to mention that need changing about this place; we will NEVER stay here again...wrong part of town, hard to find, smelled funny, and worst of all, we were scared to get in the elevator, much less ride it up or down...NEVER AGAIN AND WILL NOT RECOMMEND TO ANYONE!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
A Frank
Business
Mesa, AZ, USA
May 20, 2013

NOOOOO!!!! Just pay the money for a good and safe stay somewhere else.

I came here to visit a residency program at UF hospital I am interested in applying to. Being on a student budget, I searched for a clean and reasonably priced hotel. The description for this placed made it seem ok, but it is a lie. The hotel is old and has molded smelly carpet everywhere. The first room I was in seemed to belong to the mosquitoes and roaches that infested the place. The staff claimed they were undergoing renovations to the buildings, and that mine was one of the last to be completed. All of the buildings looked like they were still in need to me. I moved to another room the next day to find suspicious stains on the carpet, dead lovebugs in a pile on the floor by the window, and a bad smell coming from the airconditioner. The hotel doesn't offer refunds, so I was forced to stay and take my chances with room 2 for the week. And the people I saw coming in and out of this place didn't seem to be of the best character either. Worst week of my life. This place should be torn down completely and rebuilt. The only thing good about it is they have church service in the conference room in the main building on Sundays. Just pay the few extra dollars for a decent hotel. You will be glad you did when you see this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jon1984
Lake Worth, FL, USA
Mar 26, 2012

you get what you pay for

I normally stay in nicer hotels and after this trip I will keep that best practice. There was lots of little disappointments at this hotel. Like small things that added up. Like the bed sheets being to small in the room. The pool being filled with leafs. The menu in the room had a great number of things they no longer served. The food they did serve was awlful. While i havebeen in worse hotels this one was not a great value just a cheap price0

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
MannieLynn12
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 1, 2013

Absolutely Disgusting

Lobby had a weird smell as soon as we walked in. My boyfriend and I figured our room was going to be very nice since we paid $40 extra a night for the "King Suite" When we finally arrived, the room had nasty old smelly carpet, old furniture, bed sheets were stained, shower had barely any water pressure, and no hot water. The bathroom was dirty, the closet didn't open, patio was submerged in water, and a ton of spider webs were all over it. Got a refund within 30 mins of being in there. It looks nothing like the pictures. Do not stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CARLETT
Knox, Tennessee, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Not a good place for the money

The room smelled of old musty lockedup for days. The sink and tub drained very very slow. Could only shut bathroom door while standing up. The elevator was falling apart took the stairs was a lot faster. Patio furniture was dirty. When sitting on the patio the heat was blowing from the next room air unit. There was no refreeze or microwave. The place remind you of a remodeled apartment complex. It was stated always look under the bed in our case there was used condom rapers. The only good thing was the taxi service. Will not recommend for the price of 210 a nite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

All review for the stars are not always correct

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
M. Krylow
Newark, DE
Jan 16, 2012

Apathetic staff and hair on bed

When my family and I arrived we thought the hotel room would be fine. However, as our afternoon progressed we were wrong. The AC broke twice in a few hours. There was also hair on both beds. The second time the AC broke, at 2:30 in the morning, we woke up sweating. My husband called the front desk and a staff member offered to move us to a new room. We packed our things and when we arrived at the new room the card reader was broken. Someone from the front desk came up and moved us into the room next door. Once in the room we noticed that we didn't have a fridge or microwave, as we did in the first room. My husband called the front desk and asked if the fridge could be moved because we needed to refrigerate our son's formula. We were told no. At this point we were fed up and left for a new hotel at 3am.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wash DC
Oct 24, 2011

Family weekend

Hotel internet and phone did not work. Room was moldy dark and dirty Staff did not assist much, Room was not cleaned one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Gainesville, FL
Aug 2, 2009

Poor service and unclean

The hotel staff was not friendly. The room and hall were dirty

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to Dragonfly if you like sushi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Rima UF mom
Tallahassee, FL
Aug 4, 2013

Construction everywhere

The entire floor was under construction above us. We had to walk through a hazardous area just to get to the elevator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Fellow hotel stayer
Florida
Feb 26, 2013

Not worthi it

room was smelly and full of bugs phone and toilet didn't work in first room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

find another hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search