$89 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 17, 2014 Check-out: Sep 18, 2014

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

3 stars
2900 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
175 reviews
relaxing getway

It was very quite and the rooms were awesome with extraordinary staff friendly and nice i will be... See full review

  • Joshua Johnson
  • Jun 14, 2014
Gainesville retreat

Our accommodations at the Paramount were wonderful. The room was very spacious with a beautiful... See full review

  • abbeylou
  • Jun 4, 2014
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. The Plaza is ideally located only minutes from the University of Florida and Shand's Hospital. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Lake Nature Preserve the hotel offers a taste of Florida the way it used to be. From the moment you check in, our friendly staff will make you feel at home. We offer our guests a list of amenities like a outdoor pool, fitness room, Lakeside Gazebo and ample free parking. We even offer the high tech amenities today's discerning travelers want like complimentary high-speed wireless and a business center. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In room guest amenities include hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. You may even want to order room service from the Lakeside Grill Restaurant in our hotel. After your restful night's sleep, you'll really love our vast array of delicious choices on the breakfast menu. Allow our shuttle van to take you to the University, Shand's or even the Gainesville Airport for free. While you are at the hotel, you will notice the volume of convention and meeting business we host. Our conference center has hosted everything from University functions to top-flight business seminars. Business or pleasure, the Paramount Plaza Hotel should be your choice when you are in Gainesville.

Hotel Map

29.626 -82.3393
Area served
Ganesville, FL
Nearby airports
Gainsville Regional Airport
Area description
This AAA three star hotel is located on Biven's Arm Lake & Wildlife Preserve. Nearby is the Oaks Mall, Historic Micanopy, Paynes Prairie Wildlife Reserve, and several area golf courses. Complimentary shuttle to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, and Gainesville Regional Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites Rooms

Blue Heron Suite
Treat yourself like the VIP you are with one of our luxury Blue Heron Suites. Named for the graceful water bird that inhabits the lake next to the hotel, these suites reflect the elegant nature of the Heron itself. All the amenities of the Lakeside and Sandpiper rooms plus more space and features. All this extra room and a oversized balcony will make your stay a memorable one. Book your Blue Heron Suite early as these rooms sell out first.
Sandpiper Double
At the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center, we offer many room type choices. Our most popular with families and groups is the Sandpiper Double Room. It boasts two comfortable full sized pillow-top beds to relax on. The rooms are more spacious than other hotels in the area, so you'll find plenty of room for luggage and your travel essentials. The bathrooms are replete with hair dryers and grooming toiletries like body lotion. Unwind on your private balcony in the evening to the sounds of nature. You're sure to have a great night's sleep in our Sandpiper Double Room.
Plaza King
The Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center pays special attention to travelers and business people that prefer the comfort of a spacious king size bed. Since we host so many conventions and seminars, the business traveler is our most loyal client. The oversized room has such essentials as a writing desk, table and iron in case your clothes are a little wrinkled before the big meeting. Now that laptops have become an indispensable part of every day life, we offer free high-speed wireless in most rooms. After a relaxing night, you'll be amazed how productive you be the next day.
Deluxe Double
Two queen beds adding extra comfort, down feather pillows and comforters. In addition to our traditional amenities, this 50% larger room has an additional plush chair with ottoman and its balcony directly overlooks the lake. 589 sq ft.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Ben Hill Griffin Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Stephen C. O'Connell Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Lakeview Restaurant
Our onsite restaurant provides an excellent selection of continental cusine and offers room service as well.

Hours:
7am - 8pm; Sun - Thur

7am - 9pm; Fri & Sat
Lakeview Lounge
Our onsite lounge provides a comfortable atmosphere to unwind in with a limited menu available after restaurant hours.

Hours:
5:30pm - 10pm Sun - Thur
5:30pm - 11pm Fri
2:00pm - 11pm Sat

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellent Banquet and Conferencing Facilities with the best service in Gainesville. From the 7,000 sq ft Ballroom to our 250 sq ft boardroom, a variety of meeting spaces ensure we will be able to suit your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (175)

Ratings and reviews for Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
175 out of 175
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
arslan
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 25, 2012

Good hotel with reasonable price

This hotel is very good to stay and has reasonable price. I think one of the best places to stay in Gainesville for a short trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
96JeepZJ
Business
Sumter, SC
Mar 27, 2012

Court Visit

Pretty average hotel that does not allow pets. Staff was friendly and helpful. It is a short drive to the Courts which is why I was in Gainesville in the first place. Room needs a litt updating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bocca Fiesta has really good gater bites and fish tacos.

Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jon1984
Lake Worth, FL, USA
Mar 26, 2012

you get what you pay for

I normally stay in nicer hotels and after this trip I will keep that best practice. There was lots of little disappointments at this hotel. Like small things that added up. Like the bed sheets being to small in the room. The pool being filled with leafs. The menu in the room had a great number of things they no longer served. The food they did serve was awlful. While i havebeen in worse hotels this one was not a great value just a cheap price0

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Seasa
Liverpool, NY, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Great overnight stay

I met my mother at this hotel to travel the next day up north. We had a nice clean room with all the amenities at a GREAT price. Would highly recommend. Also great we didn't have to drive any farther because of hotel and bar only steps away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
d'rock
pensacola
Mar 26, 2012

great time

had a wonderful stay. staff was great and helpful. we will return!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cindi Woman
Marietta, GA
Mar 25, 2012

Basic and reasonable

The hotel is a little old, but it was clean and pleasant. For the price, it was a good deal for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet was a pretty good deal. Only two in our party wanted the whole breakfast, and the other two just got the continental breakfast.

Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver, NC, USA
Mar 14, 2012

Nice

Stayed there during the NHRA Gator Nationals. Staff were pleasant and helpful. Very good breakfast buffet but not so good dinner. Also not enough receptacles in room as I had to unplug one of the lamps to have somewhere to plug laptop in. Overall I give it a 3.5.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Several really great restaurants on Archer which is 2 miles from Paramount. Highly recommend Bonefish Grill!

Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
NitroFumes
MS
Mar 13, 2012

Nice Balcony View

Hotel is old... view from balcony was great... staff were friendly... nothing to shout about (one way or the other)....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
june1946
Homosassa, FL, USA
Mar 10, 2012

Great Stay

I needed a quiet comfortable room for 2 days, due to a procedure I had to have at Shands Hospital. That's just what I received at the Paramount. I will always stay there when I travel to Gainesville. The food is excellent, and room service was a plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Great meals.

Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Birder 27
Canada
Mar 7, 2012

Close to the highway

The staff were good. Very helpful . The food was ok. However the elevator wasn't working well. The lights in call buttons were burnt out and the elevator would often ignore your floor choice an go to floor 1 , then to your floor. The outside door key lock didn't work all the time (for entry onto the building). There is a lot of walking involved with this place so not great for the handicapped. It is easy to access I 75 and 441 .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
willyoyo69
GA
Feb 16, 2012

fantastic family getaway

very good customer service ,staff john helped me upgrade our room and it was great ,staff are very friendly ,room was clean and smell good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search