$69 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 25, 2014 Check-out: Sep 26, 2014

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

3 stars
2900 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
176 reviews
relaxing getway

It was very quite and the rooms were awesome with extraordinary staff friendly and nice i will be... See full review

  • Joshua Johnson
  • Jun 14, 2014
Gainesville retreat

Our accommodations at the Paramount were wonderful. The room was very spacious with a beautiful... See full review

  • abbeylou
  • Jun 4, 2014
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. The Plaza is ideally located only minutes from the University of Florida and Shand's Hospital. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Lake Nature Preserve the hotel offers a taste of Florida the way it used to be. From the moment you check in, our friendly staff will make you feel at home. We offer our guests a list of amenities like a outdoor pool, fitness room, Lakeside Gazebo and ample free parking. We even offer the high tech amenities today's discerning travelers want like complimentary high-speed wireless and a business center. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In room guest amenities include hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. You may even want to order room service from the Lakeside Grill Restaurant in our hotel. After your restful night's sleep, you'll really love our vast array of delicious choices on the breakfast menu. Allow our shuttle van to take you to the University, Shand's or even the Gainesville Airport for free. While you are at the hotel, you will notice the volume of convention and meeting business we host. Our conference center has hosted everything from University functions to top-flight business seminars. Business or pleasure, the Paramount Plaza Hotel should be your choice when you are in Gainesville.

Hotel Map

29.626 -82.3393
Area served
Ganesville, FL
Nearby airports
Gainsville Regional Airport
Area description
This AAA three star hotel is located on Biven's Arm Lake & Wildlife Preserve. Nearby is the Oaks Mall, Historic Micanopy, Paynes Prairie Wildlife Reserve, and several area golf courses. Complimentary shuttle to the University of Florida, Shands Hospital, and Gainesville Regional Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites Rooms

Blue Heron Suite
Treat yourself like the VIP you are with one of our luxury Blue Heron Suites. Named for the graceful water bird that inhabits the lake next to the hotel, these suites reflect the elegant nature of the Heron itself. All the amenities of the Lakeside and Sandpiper rooms plus more space and features. All this extra room and a oversized balcony will make your stay a memorable one. Book your Blue Heron Suite early as these rooms sell out first.
Sandpiper Double
At the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center, we offer many room type choices. Our most popular with families and groups is the Sandpiper Double Room. It boasts two comfortable full sized pillow-top beds to relax on. The rooms are more spacious than other hotels in the area, so you'll find plenty of room for luggage and your travel essentials. The bathrooms are replete with hair dryers and grooming toiletries like body lotion. Unwind on your private balcony in the evening to the sounds of nature. You're sure to have a great night's sleep in our Sandpiper Double Room.
Plaza King
The Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center pays special attention to travelers and business people that prefer the comfort of a spacious king size bed. Since we host so many conventions and seminars, the business traveler is our most loyal client. The oversized room has such essentials as a writing desk, table and iron in case your clothes are a little wrinkled before the big meeting. Now that laptops have become an indispensable part of every day life, we offer free high-speed wireless in most rooms. After a relaxing night, you'll be amazed how productive you be the next day.
Deluxe Double
Two queen beds adding extra comfort, down feather pillows and comforters. In addition to our traditional amenities, this 50% larger room has an additional plush chair with ottoman and its balcony directly overlooks the lake. 589 sq ft.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Ben Hill Griffin Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Stephen C. O'Connell Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Lakeview Restaurant
Our onsite restaurant provides an excellent selection of continental cusine and offers room service as well.

Hours:
7am - 8pm; Sun - Thur

7am - 9pm; Fri & Sat
Lakeview Lounge
Our onsite lounge provides a comfortable atmosphere to unwind in with a limited menu available after restaurant hours.

Hours:
5:30pm - 10pm Sun - Thur
5:30pm - 11pm Fri
2:00pm - 11pm Sat

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellent Banquet and Conferencing Facilities with the best service in Gainesville. From the 7,000 sq ft Ballroom to our 250 sq ft boardroom, a variety of meeting spaces ensure we will be able to suit your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (176)

Ratings and reviews for Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
176 out of 176
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EXK81
The Midwest
Nov 19, 2012

Just nice all around

Stayed at the Paramount Plaza while visiting a friend. Friendly staff, good food, only real problem was loud neighbors (visiting sports team). Can't really blame the hotel for that, obviously.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Sdv actor
Miami, fl.
Oct 1, 2012

Good location

Fairly close to campus. Good size room. The place is run down, and does not feel clean. I would not stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lewis's
seattle
Aug 16, 2012

family business

very pleased with the hotel front desk and our room. we had traveled all night and just wanted to sleep for a few hours. a large group of young people with parents and chaperones obviously for some sporting event were put on our floor. across the hall next to us on either side and at each end. the door slamming and kids screaming in the hall was unbearable. the adults were just as big a part in the disturbance. i quietly asked them to keep the noise in the hallway down because we had just flown across the country. and the noise got louder, after 4 hours we had to call the front desk. they apologized and moved us to a different building immediately. and gave us 2 free breakfast tickets. so problem solved though whenever the "parents" saw us in passing they were pushy and rude. LOL this is not your fault its an example of how your front desk handled the problem and made us feel better. the remainder or our stay was very pleasant. we ate dinner at the bar and had a couple of drinks on 2 nights and we were very comfortable and treated very well. the bartender was very efficient. though my bloody mary had no olives or celery because the kitchen ran out? also one of the reasons we picked this hotel was the old Florida style and a Starbucks coffee shop located inside. or it was advertised as such. it was not. just coffee no lattes and im from seattle so i found this odd.....but the coffee was good and needed! overall i believe the next time we come to gainesville (we have family there) we will stay at the paramount again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gator newbie
Business
Florida
Jul 4, 2012

Amenities Fee?

The overall hotel stay was ok but what's this amenities fee all about? I mean really, your going to charge me 2.50 for a view of a lake that is fenced in to keep the Aligators out?... Come on people.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hotel restaurant serves a good breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
tmdl
Chicago
Jun 21, 2012

I Won't Stay Here Again

Arrived at the hotel. The lobby was clean enough and actually the bar area looked pretty nice. There were rooms available with a balcony, we asked to be moved. Once moved there was no microwave of fridge. They moved them from our previous room to the new one. The bathroom was old and the towels were dingy. No thanks won't be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
New Gator Dad
Wellington, Florida
Jun 9, 2012

A good stay and value in Gainesville.

The location to the campus was good... right down the street. Check-in was smooth and quick. I can't really review the staff because other than the check-in, we didn't need any assistance with anything. The room was clean. The pool area was nice, but we really didn't use it because it was raining. I wish I could review more, but we basically needed the hotel just for sleeping and for that, it suited us just fine. The only thing I would suggest is to keep the a/c unit on constant fan, because the first night it went on and off and when it was off, we felt it. On the second night, we figured it out and the room was cool and comfortable. Overall, it was a nice stay and a good value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gatoir Parent
Clearwater, FL
May 23, 2012

Perfect for Preview

This hotel had a good location near the U.F. campus for my student's preview 2 day stay. The room could have been cleaner, but then again so could my home!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Greenfrogger
Stuart, FL
May 12, 2012

College graduation

For the short time I was there- loved the atmosphere and the lake was a great place to relax. Staff were very friendly and helpful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Disappointed traveled
Pittsburgh, PA
May 8, 2012

Very Disappointed

After a long day of traveling to Gainesville from Pittsburgh we arrived at the hotel just slightly after 11 pm. The clerk was less than attentive and had trouble with the computer. They had a great display for the Lakeside Grill at the desk featuring a menu a drink example (the only hotel bar on a lake , as advertised). I was looking forward to a drink but the clerk said he thought (wasn't sure) the grill was closed. (A Saturday night during graduation weekend with 100% capacity, really?) I asked for a recommendation for where we could get a drink. He said to "turn left out of the lot, a lot of places that way". Not the hospitality I was looking for. We were directed to our building but the lot was clogged with fire trucks. A guest had a medical emergency. We went to look for a drink. Upon returning there was no place to park. I was told at the desk to park at the far lot and walk. "it gets like that when we are busy". When we went to unpack we found only one coat hanger in the closet. The room was in need of remodeling but was clean except... I kept noticing an odd shadow in the drapes. It turned out to be a huge palmeto bug that we had to chase all over the room and bed to kill. I know it is Florida but really? At that point I made reservations at another hotel in town for the next night. There were no rooms there that evening or we would have left. I went to the desk and found the manager who promptly offered to change our room, give us a 50% discount on tonight's rate and refund our money for the next night since we pre paid. Earlier I had asked about the $2.50 per person per night amenity charge and was told it was for things like the internet, free parking (not a deal) and toiletries in the room. But when I got back to the room after talking with the manager, I found that we had only hand cream and no shampoo in our bathroom. Another trip to the desk. Funny, but even after two visits to the front desk, no one ever offered me additional hangers and at that point I was not about to ask. Dumb pride I guess. We found a website for comments on line and filled it out with comments much like this. At 8 the next morning the director of operations had seen our email, phoned me and I reviewed the previous night's experience. He promised to comp our enitre stay. He said the person at the desk would take care of everything and notify him when I checked out. The man at the desk was confused, spent several minutes looking at the screen and finally said " I guess that's it" Never saw the director of operations. I did get an email at home again promising the refund. I am sure I will see the refund but will let you all know if I do not. Maybe with some remodeling and better management and better staff training this may be a economicail , no frills place to stay but my suite room st the next hotel was in fact less expensive and much more reassuring.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jim53
Jacksonville, fl
May 1, 2012

Overall a great deal

Our room was convient to parking and had a patio overlooking a lake. Great place to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening and a cup of coffee in the morning. We had dinner one evening in the hotel restrauant. We had a sea food sampler. The shrimp was over cooked and cold as was the lobster, which had the texture of rubber. We were not at all impressed with the food. Not well prepared and overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat out. There are several good restrauants within a few miles of the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search