$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 30, 2015

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

3 stars
View map of 2900 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
185 reviews
Excellent accomodations

This facility is truly unique - located overlooking a lake, excellent service, delightful eating... See full review

  • AJand ME
  • Feb 13, 2015
relaxing getway

It was very quite and the rooms were awesome with extraordinary staff friendly and nice i will be... See full review

  • Joshua Johnson
  • Jun 14, 2014
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. The Plaza is ideally located only minutes from the University of Florida and Shand's Hospital. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Lake Nature Preserve the hotel offers a taste of Florida the way it used to be. From the moment you check in, our friendly staff will make you feel at home. We offer our guests a list of amenities like a outdoor pool, fitness room, Lakeside Gazebo and ample free parking. We even offer the high tech amenities today's discerning travelers want like complimentary high-speed wireless and a business center. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In room guest amenities include hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. You may even want to order room service from the Lakeside Grill Restaurant in our hotel. After your restful night's sleep, you'll really love our vast array of delicious choices on the breakfast menu. Allow our shuttle van to take you to the University, Shand's or even the Gainesville Airport for free. While you are at the hotel, you will notice the volume of convention and meeting business we host. Our conference center has hosted everything from University functions to top-flight business seminars. Business or pleasure, the Paramount Plaza Hotel should be your choice when you are in Gainesville.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites Rooms

Sandpiper Double
At the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center, we offer many room type choices. Our most popular with families and groups is the Sandpiper Double Room. It boasts two comfortable full sized pillow-top beds to relax on. The rooms are more spacious than other hotels in the area, so you'll find plenty of room for luggage and your travel essentials. The bathrooms are replete with hair dryers and grooming toiletries like body lotion. Unwind on your private balcony in the evening to the sounds of nature. You're sure to have a great night's sleep in our Sandpiper Double Room.
Plaza King
The Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center pays special attention to travelers and business people that prefer the comfort of a spacious king size bed. Since we host so many conventions and seminars, the business traveler is our most loyal client. The oversized room has such essentials as a writing desk, table and iron in case your clothes are a little wrinkled before the big meeting. Now that laptops have become an indispensable part of every day life, we offer free high-speed wireless in most rooms. After a relaxing night, you'll be amazed how productive you be the next day.
Deluxe Double
Two queen beds adding extra comfort, down feather pillows and comforters. In addition to our traditional amenities, this 50% larger room has an additional plush chair with ottoman and its balcony directly overlooks the lake. 589 sq ft.
Blue Heron Suite
Treat yourself like the VIP you are with one of our luxury Blue Heron Suites. Named for the graceful water bird that inhabits the lake next to the hotel, these suites reflect the elegant nature of the Heron itself. All the amenities of the Lakeside and Sandpiper rooms plus more space and features. All this extra room and a oversized balcony will make your stay a memorable one. Book your Blue Heron Suite early as these rooms sell out first.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Ben Hill Griffin Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Stephen C. O'Connell Center: 1.8 mi

Dining

Lakeview Lounge
Our onsite lounge provides a comfortable atmosphere to unwind in with a limited menu available after restaurant hours.

Hours:
5:30pm - 10pm Sun - Thur
5:30pm - 11pm Fri
2:00pm - 11pm Sat
Lakeview Restaurant
Our onsite restaurant provides an excellent selection of continental cusine and offers room service as well.

Hours:
7am - 8pm; Sun - Thur

7am - 9pm; Fri & Sat

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellent Banquet and Conferencing Facilities with the best service in Gainesville. From the 7,000 sq ft Ballroom to our 250 sq ft boardroom, a variety of meeting spaces ensure we will be able to suit your needs.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (185)

Ratings and reviews for Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
185 out of 185
Amenities:
3.3
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ky fan from tennesse
Business
la follette tn
Feb 14, 2013

hotel

would stay again exercise room woth a lot broken or torn up equiptment are making major renovation s on rooms in

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

primarily interestd in seafood most good places short drive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
paul the game
Business
gainesville,fl
Feb 14, 2013

hotel in gainesville

the hotel was ok for being a three star hotel. It was nice for me that it was fairly close to the oconnel center were i was going. Only bad thing was there last shuttle was leaving at 5:30 and it just dropped you off right there but no return pickup after! Also the game ended at 9pm which is fine. I wanted to get roomservice from the hotel they stopped serving at 9:30 i didnt get back to my car til almost then. most hotels that have that service at least are open til 12midnight or later. i understand that it was a tuesday night but im staying at hotel that had roomservice and a shuttle and both eneded early. the room was nice for what i paid for it. also i thought the chekout time was noon and that was on the website to whcih was wrong it was 11am. I most likely wont be going to this hotel i will go to another one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JAsons dad
Business
Gainesville,fl
Feb 4, 2013

Excellent tournament stay

It was awesome had mix up on my room bit it was fixed asap

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dominoes was awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamie11
Business
PDX
Feb 2, 2013

Clean

Nice, friendly staff. relatively clean room, no variety of food selection

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
shellbells
Business
Gladwin, Michigan
Jan 29, 2013

Needs Help

Every night parking lot full to capacity due to events at hotel ball rooms. Bath tub had private hairs stuck all over from previous guest. Only one hand towel per room. No refrigerator or microwave which forces u to go to bar/resturant downstairs for a cold beverage or food. Coffee maker in bathroom with no tea for none coffee drinkers. Felt like I stayed at a cheap motel for big dollars. Never again will I stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chrislovespoodles
Business
Lakewood Ranch, FL
Jan 4, 2013

What More Could you Want? Maybe a Fridge?

This was my second stay at this hotel, each time for just one night. My most recent stay was Jan. 2, 2013. The first time, we had two adjoining rooms; both were spacious, not the tiny rooms we've become accustomed to at "budget" hotels. More the old style hotel with a large lobby, function rooms, etc. The rooms were very clean, quiet, beds were comfortable, one room had a furnished balcony, there were plenty of towels. The staff was very friendly and pleasant; I requested a rollaway bed at the last minute (10 pm) and it was delivered immediately. It is conveniently located to Shands and UF, which was the purpose of my visit. Did not visit the pool, or use the restaurant, but the prices for the breakfast were quite reasonable. I am not an ultra-luxury hotel kind of person; I do want a clean, quiet, comfortable room, and that's what I got. I don't think you can beat it for the money. The only thing I would have liked was an unstocked mini-fridge if we were staying longer and wanted to keep some drinks. And maybe to allow pets since I might want to bring my dog along at some point....but then again, that can impact the cleanliness and quiet.....maybe a separate area of the hotel? Overall, I liked it a lot, and it will be my go-to place when I visit my son at school. Oh, did I mention the free shuttle service to the university, hospital and the airport! Of course, you would tip the driver, but how many inexpensive hotels offer that service?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aquatica
Business
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Dec 28, 2012

Nice Stay. . .

This hotel is a great value. . .We stay several times a year. . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cougator
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 17, 2012

Rooms are nice

The rooms at the Paramount were much nicer than the outside of the hotel let on. Don't be put off by the old design and aging exterior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Aquatica
Business
St Petersburg, FL, USA
Dec 10, 2012

Nice Value

This hotel is a great value for the Gainesville area. . .The staff is always very nice, and the rooms are comfortable. . .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
EXK81
Business
The Midwest
Nov 19, 2012

Just nice all around

Stayed at the Paramount Plaza while visiting a friend. Friendly staff, good food, only real problem was loud neighbors (visiting sports team). Can't really blame the hotel for that, obviously.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top