$59 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 30, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

3 stars
2900 SW 13th Street, Gainesville, FL 32608
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
182 reviews
relaxing getway

It was very quite and the rooms were awesome with extraordinary staff friendly and nice i will be... See full review

  • Joshua Johnson
  • Jun 14, 2014
Gainesville retreat

Our accommodations at the Paramount were wonderful. The room was very spacious with a beautiful... See full review

  • abbeylou
  • Jun 4, 2014
The Paramount Plaza Hotel and Conference Center stands out amongst the best accommodations in Gainesville, Florida. The Plaza is ideally located only minutes from the University of Florida and Shand's Hospital. Bordered by the picturesque Bivens Lake Nature Preserve the hotel offers a taste of Florida the way it used to be. From the moment you check in, our friendly staff will make you feel at home. We offer our guests a list of amenities like a outdoor pool, fitness room, Lakeside Gazebo and ample free parking. We even offer the high tech amenities today's discerning travelers want like complimentary high-speed wireless and a business center. Our guest rooms are larger than most hotels in the area, which leaves you with plenty of space to create your home away from home. In room guest amenities include hair dryers, irons and ironing boards. Unwind on one of our comfortable pillow-top beds and catch up on your relaxation with remote controlled cable television. You may even want to order room service from the Lakeside Grill Restaurant in our hotel. After your restful night's sleep, you'll really love our vast array of delicious choices on the breakfast menu. Allow our shuttle van to take you to the University, Shand's or even the Gainesville Airport for free. While you are at the hotel, you will notice the volume of convention and meeting business we host. Our conference center has hosted everything from University functions to top-flight business seminars. Business or pleasure, the Paramount Plaza Hotel should be your choice when you are in Gainesville.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites Rooms

Sandpiper Double
At the Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center, we offer many room type choices. Our most popular with families and groups is the Sandpiper Double Room. It boasts two comfortable full sized pillow-top beds to relax on. The rooms are more spacious than other hotels in the area, so you'll find plenty of room for luggage and your travel essentials. The bathrooms are replete with hair dryers and grooming toiletries like body lotion. Unwind on your private balcony in the evening to the sounds of nature. You're sure to have a great night's sleep in our Sandpiper Double Room.
Plaza King
The Paramount Plaza Hotel & Conference Center pays special attention to travelers and business people that prefer the comfort of a spacious king size bed. Since we host so many conventions and seminars, the business traveler is our most loyal client. The oversized room has such essentials as a writing desk, table and iron in case your clothes are a little wrinkled before the big meeting. Now that laptops have become an indispensable part of every day life, we offer free high-speed wireless in most rooms. After a relaxing night, you'll be amazed how productive you be the next day.
Deluxe Double
Two queen beds adding extra comfort, down feather pillows and comforters. In addition to our traditional amenities, this 50% larger room has an additional plush chair with ottoman and its balcony directly overlooks the lake. 589 sq ft.
Blue Heron Suite
Treat yourself like the VIP you are with one of our luxury Blue Heron Suites. Named for the graceful water bird that inhabits the lake next to the hotel, these suites reflect the elegant nature of the Heron itself. All the amenities of the Lakeside and Sandpiper rooms plus more space and features. All this extra room and a oversized balcony will make your stay a memorable one. Book your Blue Heron Suite early as these rooms sell out first.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Internet
Free internet in room
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Ramp access to buildings

Nearby points of interest

  • Ben Hill Griffin Stadium: 1.8 mi
  • Stephen C. O'Connell Center: 1.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Excellent Banquet and Conferencing Facilities with the best service in Gainesville. From the 7,000 sq ft Ballroom to our 250 sq ft boardroom, a variety of meeting spaces ensure we will be able to suit your needs.

Dining

Lakeview Lounge
Our onsite lounge provides a comfortable atmosphere to unwind in with a limited menu available after restaurant hours.

Hours:
5:30pm - 10pm Sun - Thur
5:30pm - 11pm Fri
2:00pm - 11pm Sat
Lakeview Restaurant
Our onsite restaurant provides an excellent selection of continental cusine and offers room service as well.

Hours:
7am - 8pm; Sun - Thur

7am - 9pm; Fri & Sat

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (182)

Ratings and reviews for Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
182 out of 182
Amenities:
3.3
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wash DC
Oct 24, 2011

Family weekend

Hotel internet and phone did not work. Room was moldy dark and dirty Staff did not assist much, Room was not cleaned one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
CARLETT
Business
Knox, Tennessee, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Not a good place for the money

The room smelled of old musty lockedup for days. The sink and tub drained very very slow. Could only shut bathroom door while standing up. The elevator was falling apart took the stairs was a lot faster. Patio furniture was dirty. When sitting on the patio the heat was blowing from the next room air unit. There was no refreeze or microwave. The place remind you of a remodeled apartment complex. It was stated always look under the bed in our case there was used condom rapers. The only good thing was the taxi service. Will not recommend for the price of 210 a nite

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

All review for the stars are not always correct

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
STEWHALP
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Sep 13, 2011

SOME DISAPOINTMENTS

ROOM WAS NOT READY AT 4:30. REQUESTED AN EXTRA BED AND NONE WERE AVAILABLE. ORBITZ DESCRIBED ROOM AS HAVING TWO QUEEN BEDS AND OUR ROOM HAD ONLY TWO FULL SIZE BEDS.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Paige W
Business
Nolensville, TN, USA
Sep 11, 2011

Perfect

My family and I went down to watch the Florida game and it couldn't have been more perfect. We stayed at the hotel that the football team stays so my son got lots of autographs. Best trip ever!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jls1
Business
Miami, FL, USA
Aug 27, 2011

A great stay

I stayed five days for business, the orbitz special offer included a complimentary hot breakfast. The sleepy hotel grounds were accommodating and picturesque, and my stateroom was comfortable and included a wide array of amenities including free wifi and an iron. Every staff member was attentive and polite. Overall it was an excellent stay and value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

La tienda mexican restaurant, a short drive north on 13th street, was excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
juls
Business
granvtlle ohio
Aug 25, 2011

Joyful educational gettogether

We came for my sons graduation from UF We had lots quiet reading,comfy sleeping, nice pool, and a wonderful happy hour every night.We really felt all the staff was very friendly especially housekeeping!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

stay at paramount

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
juls
Business
Granville Ohio
Aug 11, 2011

Fantastic graduation place to stay

We enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed at the hotel way more than we expected!! We ate there, we swam there and we really enjoyed the "happy hour." Everyone there was so friendly! The housekeepers, the waiters and waitresses, the coffee waiters,the bartenders, and front desk were all awesome!!!Even the Avis lady was a sweetheart and we didn't even rent a car!! We loved it all!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Happy hour prices and free snacks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
More bang for my buck
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Aug 7, 2011

Not bad for an inexpensive stay

The price was right for a business trip on a budget. The facilities are outdated. My hotel room was missing a closet door. The pool looked like it hasn't been cleaned in weeks. The furniture on the patios was mismatched. However, the hotel staff was polite and helpful. This clearly was a nice facility when it was first built but could use the necessary touch-ups to bring it up to par with a hotel called "Paramount."

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
College hopeful
Business
Boston, Ma
Jul 25, 2011

Ok for the price

1. The bed was hard as a rock and there were springs poking through at the end near my feet. ALso, the pillows were flat and had no cushion left to them. It is time to update the bedding. 2. I had a microwave and fridge in my room which was very convenient for storing cold water and heeting up something quick in the microwave. 3. the pool was pleasant 4. the cleaning products did not smell very good. when you first walk down the hallways, the smell hits you like a ton of bricks. Its almost like the cleaning management is still stuck in the 70's.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

plenty of options for eating out whether it be fast food, take out, or sit down restaurant.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Paramount Plaza Hotel & Suites

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jacksonville, FL
Jul 13, 2011

Bears on The River

The shower had mold in the tiles and the shower curtain was old and needed replacing. The elevators were slow and old. The hallways were hot and smelly. The room was okay other than that. Nice hotel, just needs to be maintained better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Short drive to downtown Gainesville.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top