$159 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Diamond Head Beach Resort

4 stars
2000 Estero Blvd., Fort Myers Beach, FL 33931
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
217 reviews
Great couples get away

Hotel top of the line at fort Myers. Room fantastic Romantic Hotels close .... A bit run... See full review

  • Retired at 40
  • Oct 13, 2014
Fantastic 4-Day Weekend

I traveled with several women from Minnesota for a Thursday-Sunday weekend getaway. Our service was... See full review

  • Travelgirl1954
  • Oct 13, 2014
Casual luxury beachfront resort in Fort Myers
Unlike chain resorts, the Diamond Head Beach Resort is an independently owned resort hotel on the sugary-white sand beaches of Fort Myers. This all-suite hotel boasts familiar amenities like a heated beachfront pool and day spa, but with a casual, unpretentious vibe. Downtown Fort Myers and other area beaches are easily accessed by a trolley that stops at the door of the Diamond Head Beach Resort.

        

Highlights
  • Non-smoking resort
  • Heated beachfront pool with two Jacuzzis
  • Recreational program featuring activities for children and adults
  • Esterra Spa offers spa and salon services
  • Complimentary fitness center
Rooms
At the Diamond Head Beach Resort, each of the 124 rooms is a suite offering a private screened balcony, queen sleeper sofa, separate living space and a kitchenette with under-the-counter refrigerator and microwave, plus coffee maker, iron and ironing board, two cable TVs with movie rental. Internet access is complimentary.

Dining
Chloe's at the Diamond Head Beach Resort serves a limited breakfast depending upon the season, Sunday brunch and fresh seafood and steaks nightly. Chloe's lounge features drink specials and karaoke, and is open late for after-hours fun. Poolside at Diamond Head is Cabanas Beach Bar with light fare, drinks and nightly happy hour.
Recreation
  • Watersport rentals on site with jet ski tours of outlying islands
  • Great shelling beach
Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (20 mi/32 km)
  • Free parking
  • Trolley Service at hotel entrance to Fort Myers downtown

Attractions
  • Estero Bay Preserve State Park (2.2 mi/3.5)
  • Shell Point Golf Club (4.3 mi/6.8 km)
  • Lovers Key State Park (5.8 mi/9.3 km)
  • The Dunes Golf Club (6.2 mi/9.9 km)
Business
  • Beach weddings and receptions on pristine Fort Myers beach
  • Wireless Internet at the pool and lobby
  • Computer available in the lobby
Policies & Fees
Daily resort fee includes: Free parking, high speed internet, free Wi-Fi access, local and toll free calls, daily newspaper, fitness center access, daily poolside towel service, daily in room coffee and tea, complimentary in-room safe deposit box.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.4495 -81.9469
Area served
Fort Meyers Beach, FL
Nearby airports
South West Florida International Airport (RSW)
Area description
Beachfront resort on Estero Island located just off the coast of Fort Myers, Florida.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Diamond Head Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Diamond Head Beach Resort Rooms

Gulfview Suite
Suites include one bedroom with a king size bed and living room with a queen size sofa sleeper, complete with a kitchenette. Engoy a great view of the Gulf and pool from your private screened balcony.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Chloes Seafood & Steak House
Fresh seafood and steaks.
Chloes Lounge
Daily happy hour and entertainment.
Cabanas Pool Bar & Grill
Contemporary beach favorites and tropical libations.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (217)

Ratings and reviews for Diamond Head Beach Resort

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
217 out of 217
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.2

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Diamond Head Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Jul 9, 2009

Never use Orbitz again

I bought vacation package with Deluxe suite. THERE IS NO DELUX SUITES at the hotel. There are two type of rooms- standard and premium( which they do not sell through third party). It was very, very bad experience to deal with Orbitz and Hotel. Never ever book through Orbitz.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Angry Atlantan
Business
Atlanta ga
Jun 11, 2014

Horrible experience

Beautiful resort in great location. Unfortunately they have a horrible manager who will not even meet with a guest about a problem. When allowing infants in a pool with no diaper results in fecal matter floating by your own children, your concerns should be addressed. Instead the manager and general manager refused to speak with us. My vacation was ruined and we are disgusted at not only the incident but lack of response or compassion by the manager.. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
pasnya
Business
STL
Jan 19, 2014

Horrible room service and the Worst shower

Good place to stay, Room temp management was very difficult ( took hours to adjust to desired temp. The shower in am took at least 1 hour to warm up to luke warm temp. On top of that the shower made these random LOUD sort pulsatile noises during entire time it was running : the noise was so loud I felt awful for all neighbors around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fresh sea food : Pete's Live music and an amazing hulahoop young lady right by the board walk

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
March 2012
Business
Indiana, USA
Mar 30, 2014

2014 Spring Break

Overall we enjoyed our stay. We felt like they charged for everything you wanted to do even the Bingo at poolside. The Hotel itself was ok but on cooler days there was no place inside the hotel to do anything. The beach and location of the hotel to other activities was great. It is walking distance to the time square and all the shops and many restaurants.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The S.O.B restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Misinformed Ruth
Business
Warren, Ohio
Jun 10, 2012

not truly a resort

After arriving to the Diamondhead Resort ( paying $65.00 for a taxi cab from the airport because the shuttle bus does not go to that resort) I came to find out that you must rent your chairs and umbrella to the fee of $25.00 a day. Not to mention that everytime you require towels you must give your name and return them to have your name crossed off so not charged for the towels. I have stayed at the Renaissance Resort in Aruba(truly a resort) and never had to check in my towels or rent a chair to sit on a beach. This is crazy. Not a very relaxing vacation knowing that also you chairs and umbrella must be returned by 5:00 p.m. since the chair people only work till five. Plus one day I returned my towlels after the towel person had left and checked the next day find out that I would have been charged for the towels. Will never go back there again. My question what are the two essentials for a beach vacation? Towels, chairs, and beach umbrella

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

buy your chairs at the hardware store down the street from the resort. I just felt not necessary to lug chairs on vacation.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BLUR
Business
Ft Myers Beach, FL
Jan 2, 2013

New Years Eve

The hotel was nice. A great way to spend NYE. JUst a short walk to all the happening places and fireworks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
3 day stay
Business
bismarck nd
Jan 15, 2013

good but could be better

Staff was great, very friendly. Better than most places. Amenities very poor. note: 14.99 for breakfast!! This should be free for the type of hotel and accomidations. My recomendation take a walk and support the local restraunts. Terra Nostra had great Italian. Dont miss this for dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

in the court by the pier. fresh fish every day. dont let the looks fool you 2 nd busisness in from the pier north side of court

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TC12
Business
Paramus, NJ
Apr 29, 2013

Nice but could be better

Its a nice hotel, but too pricey. The room was nice, and its convenient, only a decent walk to the main restaurant area down the beach. However, I was on a low floor with a view hidden by the restaurant stove vents, as well as the smell of the cooking, so the balcony was pretty much unusable, which is a shame because you are right on the beach. I was only there for 2 nights so I didnt make a big deal about it, but if you are on a high floor it would be much better. This is a time share property, so those rooms may be for reserved for owners. Also the concrete hallways are pretty dark and like a bunker, so I didnt like that. I think there are better places to stay around here. I give this a C grade

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk down to the restaurant area by the pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John on the beach
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 17, 2013

Nice place to stay

The hotel has a very welcoming staff and a well-kept property. The rooms were decent size, clean and well maintained. The pillows... well, it may be personal preference but you'll need three of them per person, they have no support. The walkway walls outside the rooms are very bland and perhaps some nautical, beach or scenery art or pictures would liven them up quite a bit. The food in their on-site restaurant was quite pricy, but it was decent nicely portioned and they have a great staff. The only real complaint we have is that the beach at their property is loaded with dead seaweed that washes on shore but is never cleaned up. It draws many bugs, it smells and it is unsightly. It should be removed daily. Also, the hotel offers no water/beach amenities, instead they have a company that will rent you umbrellas and chairs, jet skis, kayaks, volleyballs etc. The hotel should at least provide some snorkel equipment, beach balls, boogie boards etc. You should be able to sign them out like the pool towels, or rent them for a minimal charge for a few days. The watersport rental company on the beach doesn't have those things and if it's anything like their other equipment it will cost you and arm a leg to rent it from them. They have a nice pool/beach-side bar but it’s not a rowdy crowd type place (and we liked that). Parking is not a problem and it is still within walking distance to some of the shopping and eating spots. Oh, and the daily calls at 9:30 am regarding the time-share tours…STOP THAT! You called once, we talked, I said I’ll let you know if I’m interested. That means I’ll call you if I choose to occupy the hour of my vacation for the $150 voucher. Not, call me back every day to see if I changed my mind yet. Overall the hotel is clean, quiet and a nice place to stay. It’s good for families, couples and a couple of friends on a getaway. Not a big party spot so if that your thing go elsewhere. We’ll be going back, but we’ll ask for a room away from the elevator, you can hear it running all day and night. It’s not super noisy, but the motor and winching are quite distracting when it quiet time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

3:30 to 5:30 is rush hour traffic heading off the island. Traffic backs up for about a mile and moves at a snail's pace. Not kidding-- bumper to bumper, stop and go at idle speed. Plan that as your down time somewhere, shower, nap, cocktail or do some souvenir shopping. If you'll be walking you'll be fine, but if you need to go off the island or over the bridge for anything, like dinner reservations (Parrot Key and Big Game Grille are good spots), but head out early... or after 6:00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Diamond Head Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Traveled Alot
Business
Fort Meyers, Florida
Jun 6, 2013

Hotel is very nice.

The hotel is very nice. We were upgraded from a pool view to a gulf view. Which was amazing. It is located close to dining and shops. The hotel cleaning people were not very friendly. They always came when we were showering and were not friendly when we told them we would be about five minutes. The one gal told us she was off in twenty minutes and just gave us clean towels. The only other bad experience we had was with the beach chairs and umbrellas. We were told on Saturday that because of the rain showers that were happening off and on we could have our chairs and umbrella for $20.00 for the week. This was fine for two days and then the third day they said we would have to move because they had given these chairs to someone else. That was fine, we did not mind, but when I went the next day and asked which ones they wanted us to move to they said that the $20.00 we had paid was just for one day and if we wanted another day it would be $15.00. This was the same person that we had talked to the previous day, but not the one that sold us the chairs originally. It was not enough to ruin our vacation, but we are considering another hotel the next time we stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top