$42 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Howard Johnson Inn - Ft. Myers FL

2 stars
View map of 4811 Cleveland Ave., Fort Myers, FL 33907

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.6
out of 5
169 reviews
Great room for the money

I needed a room for the night as my new apartment was not ready to move into. Friendly staff and... See full review

  • Butterfly37f
  • Oct 23, 2014
excellent results

The staff was very accommodating, they went out of their way to make you comfortable. Room was... See full review

  • llednew
  • Oct 22, 2014
The Howard Johnson Inn – Fort Myers is a simple, budget motel, conveniently located on Route 41 (Tamiami Trail) and near spring training camps. For guests on the go, the Howard Johnson Inn – Fort Myers covers the basics of an affordable night’s sleep.
Rooms
Each of the Howard Johnson Inn – Fort Myers’ 67 guest rooms have a coffee maker, voicemail, alarm clock radios, in-room safe, iron and ironing board, hair dryer, 27-inch TV with free HBO and free Wi-Fi. Cribs are free at the Howard Johnson Inn – Fort Myers.
Property features
Numerous restaurants are within a mile of the Howard Johnson Inn – Fort Myers.
Highlights
  • Complimentary Rise and Dine continental breakfast
  • Outdoor pool
  • Complimentary parking -- trucks and RVs welcome
  • Free in-room Wi-Fi
  • Guest laundry
Nearby attractions
  • Edison Mall (1.2 mi/2 km)
  • Boston Red Sox Training Camp (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • Edison Ford Winter Estates (3.4 mi/5.4 km)
  • Minnesota Twins Training Camp (5.5 mi/8.8 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed, wireless Internet and newspapers in lobby
Transportation
  • Southwest Florida International Airport (13.5mi/28 km)
  • Free Parking

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Howard Johnson Inn - Ft. Myers FL also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
Free local telephone calls
Ice machine
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Meal plan - continental
Services
24 hour front desk
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Outdoor parking
RV or truck parking
Truck parking
Bus parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Accessible parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Free newspaper
Microwave
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Howard Johnson Inn - Ft. Myers FL

Overall score

2.6 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
2.5
Cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
3.4
Value:
3.3

57% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ft. Myers FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
AkhileshM
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Jan 2, 2014

nice location

cheap hotel, but very poor service, I found nail in my room and I showed it to front desk, was traveling with 6 year old kid, It would have been very dangerous, thank GOD my wife saw that on floor immediately after check-in. Very bad maintenance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ft. Myers FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sage English
Business
Miami, Fl
Jan 2, 2014

Run Away

This hotel was in a bad area of town, and was SO dirty. When we walked in there was trash still in the garbage, questionable fluids on the bedsheets, duct tape of the wall, and stains on both the carpet and furniture. Once we saw how disgusting our room was, my boyfriend and I must of called 20 other hotels to see if they had any vacancy, but all hotels close to where we needed to be were sold out due to come convention. The element around us was questionable too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ft. Myers FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Manvil
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jan 20, 2014

Gray water for shower

Room was decent, opted to take a sponge bath. Shower water was grayish color and smelled like sewer water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ft. Myers FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Higher stanards
Business
Louisville, KY
Mar 1, 2014

not recommended

The room didnot smell clean, maid service was inconsistent, some days I didn't get wash cloths. It was a good thing I only slept there. Worst hotel that I have ever stayed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Stay closer to downtown Ft Myers

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ft. Myers FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
FreemanNic
Business
Fort Myers, Florida
Mar 9, 2014

Possibly the worst hotel ever

Couldn't even enter the hotel office at night, had a "night window", should have been the first clue! Water was hot and cold so showers were bad, the room safe was half ripped off the wall, blow dryer didn't work, pillows were terrible, microwave cord didn't make it to the microwave, electrical cords had tape wrapped around them, shower and sinks knobs would pop off when you used them and we will never go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ft. Myers FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dh300
Business
Ft Myers
Mar 25, 2014

Vacation

The hotel needs major upgrades. Would not stay at this location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ft. Myers FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Clearwater FL
Jun 15, 2009

Scarey

This was a bad experience. We could hear the boom-boom base sound and feel the vibrations from the nearby Lounge. We were given a room in the back of the building which was desolate. We parked the car on the other side of the building for security. I slept with one eye open. The room needs a thorough cleaning. There were chewed pieces of gum on the floor by the bed. There was no COLD water. It was lukewarm at the coldest setting. The toilet wobbled upon seating. Even with reservations made ahead of time, the room did not have the air conditioner running. We walked into an 85 degree room at 11 pm. My advice is to pay a little more and go to another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ft. Myers FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Jun 6, 2010

yuck

The hotel was not very clean. It smelled like garbage. The sheets did not fit the beds and the matresses were really dirty.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ft. Myers FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
LEWISTON ME
Nov 5, 2010

BAD EXPERIENCE

THE POOL AND ROOM WAS POORLY MAINTIANED BREAKFAST WAS ONLY FRON 6-9 AM. HOLES IN CEILING. ONE MORNING ONLY ONE BED MADE OUT OF 2. CARPET WASN,T VACCUMED WELL. NO ICE BUCKET FOR ICE TO GET FROM MACHINE. IF YOU NEEDED AN IRON OR COFFE POT HAD TO GO TO THE OFFICE TO GET IT. I HAD JEWERLY STOLEN.I HAVE BEEN IN OTHER HOTELS IN FLORIDA THAT WERE VREY NICE FOR THE SAME PRICE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

GOOD LITTLE DINER THAT WAS ACROSS THE STREET.

Review of Howard Johnson Inn - Ft. Myers FL

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Patti...just trying to have fun
Business
Ft Myers
Apr 18, 2011

Location good

The people were nice enough and we had no problems until 2 days before leaving; then we had a few drug dealers and more prostitutes. One even approached us

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top