$198 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

W Fort Lauderdale

4 stars
401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
72 reviews
Love the W

I am staying at this hotel every time I travel to Fort Lauderdale. Just love it!!!!!!!! See full review

  • Julia NC
  • Jul 1, 2014
Beautiful Hotel, great views and service

The W is a gorgeous, stylis,h and hip hotel with wonderful staff. They went above and beyond to... See full review

  • AmandaGee
  • Jun 16, 2014
Hip, trendy beachfront hotel offering resort-style service and feel

Featuring the signature "Whatever/Whenever" service and breathtaking views of the ocean from the public spaces and rooms, the W Fort Lauderdale offers a hip and sophisticated experience right on the beach. Perfect for leisure and business travelers, the hotel has spa and fitness facilities, a large business center and function space, including a 300-person capacity grand ballroom. From the relaxed atmosphere of the Living Room Lounge to the pulsating beat and dance floor of the Whiskey Blue nightclub, the W Fort Lauderdale has something for everyone.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Four-acre site located directly on Fort Lauderdale Beach, close to dining and entertainment venues and the downtown area
  • Bliss Spa features a wide range of treatments, SWEAT Fitness Center, two infinity swimming pools and outdoor hot tub
  • Multiple dining and drinking options, including chic Steak 954, the W Cafe and the hip Whiskey Blue nightclub
W Fort Lauderdale Rooms

The W Fort Lauderdale has 517 rooms and suites in a variety of sizes, ranging from 400 square feet to over 3,600 square feet in the extreme wow suite. They all feature fantastic views of the Atlantic Ocean, Fort Lauderdale Beach or the Intracoastal Waterway, and many rooms and suites also have private balconies and floor-to-ceiling windows. All levels of accommodation have a modern, contemporary decor featuring clean lines and comfortable furnishings, including the signature W Bed and oversized desk. Guest rooms and suites are all equipped with a 32-inch (or larger) LCD television with CD/DVD player, an iPod docking station and high-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply). They also feature en suite bathrooms with shower/tub, a magnifying makeup mirror and complimentary Bliss Spa bath amenities. The W Fort Lauderdale is a pet-friendly facility (fees apply) and 24-hour room service is available.

Things To Do:
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Jungle Queen Riverboat (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Las Olas Boulevard (shopping) (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Broward County Convention Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Fort Lauderdale Museum of Art (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Seminole Casino Hollywood (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Sawgrass Mills Mall (13 mi/20.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years or older and provide photo identification in order to reserve and check into a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

26.1266 -80.1036
Nearby airports
Fort Lauderdale/Hollywood International Airport, (FLL), 7.00, MI; Miami International Airport, (MIA), 33.00, MI; Palm Beach International Airport, (pbi), 47.00, MI;
Area description
Beachfront

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Fort Lauderdale also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

W Fort Lauderdale Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Security
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber shop
Boutiques
Video checkout
Gift shop
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Ramp access to buildings
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Brailled elevators
Grab bars in bathroom
TDD telephone machine
Room
DVD player
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.5 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.8 mi
  • New River: 1.2 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.5 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.8 mi
  • New River: 1.2 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.4 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 6 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11.3 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 12.9 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 13.2 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.5 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.6 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 22.9 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (72)

Ratings and reviews for W Fort Lauderdale

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
72 out of 72
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.6
Value:
3.8

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bday Boy
Atlanta, GA
Sep 29, 2011

Posh hotel, service could be better

Amazing location on the beach, gorgeous amenities, staff was very nice but needs training - my room was not ready at 4pm, concierge couldn't operate the computer, manager was stressed out, the front desk was a little rude. Kudos to the cafe staff consistently excellent service and remembered my order from the day before! But what's up with the $30/day parking - seriously?? All in all, pricey but a good value thanks to the Orbitz discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Las Olas strip for a nice shopping/dining experience.

Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
spa owner
monroeville pa
Apr 9, 2011

the good, the bad and the really ugly

upon arriving early we asked if at all possible for an early check in. gave our cell # and had lunchat the hotel. never called. so we went to ck in at 3:06 pm and was told room wasnt ready and when asked approx time we were told they didnt know. then we called [...]at 3:30 pm and they said they would call front desk. they called bk and we weretodd the room was cleaned and we could ck in at 4:00. went to desk at 4:15 pm still not ready and couldnt give us a time . so we had a drink. at 5:00 pm same. at 5:30 same . at 5:45 i asked for a manager and at 6:00 pm we were given our room. the front desk help offered no appologies or excueses for the lengthly delay. the manager did and offer us a $50 off any room service which we ordered on night and never received i was so disquested i never mentioned not getting it. the valet service and the maids couldnt be nicer and i suggest whomever is training them should train the front desk staff who were the most rude and cold individials i have ever met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

fablous italian restaurant cafe d angelo it is a 10 ate ther e for the second trip and could not be better. it is on commercial

Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
spa owner
monroeville pa
Apr 9, 2011

the good, the bad and the really ugly

upon arriving early we asked if at all possible for an early check in. gave our cell # and had lunchat the hotel. never called. so we went to ck in at 3:06 pm and was told room wasnt ready and when asked approx time we were told they didnt know. then we called [...]at 3:30 pm and they said they would call front desk. they called bk and we weretodd the room was cleaned and we could ck in at 4:00. went to desk at 4:15 pm still not ready and couldnt give us a time . so we had a drink. at 5:00 pm same. at 5:30 same . at 5:45 i asked for a manager and at 6:00 pm we were given our room. the front desk help offered no appologies or excueses for the lengthly delay. the manager did and offer us a $50 off any room service which we ordered on night and never received i was so disquested i never mentioned not getting it. the valet service and the maids couldnt be nicer and i suggest whomever is training them should train the front desk staff who were the most rude and cold individials i have ever met.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

fablous italian restaurant cafe d angelo it is a 10 ate ther e for the second trip and could not be better. it is on commercial

Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not Normally a Florida Person
W, DC
Mar 28, 2011

Great Hotel, A Tad Over-Priced

We really enjoyed our time there, with the pool having only enough chairs if you get there early or late. The food at 954 Steakhouse was AMAZING and definitely worth the expense. We were also impressed with the courtesy of all the people there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

954 Steakhouse's lobster was best I've ever had.

Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Not Normally a Florida Person
W, DC
Mar 28, 2011

Great Hotel, A Tad Over-Priced

We really enjoyed our time there, with the pool having only enough chairs if you get there early or late. The food at 954 Steakhouse was AMAZING and definitely worth the expense. We were also impressed with the courtesy of all the people there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

954 Steakhouse's lobster was best I've ever had.

Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenwich, CT
Mar 27, 2011

Hip, Zen, Good Location

I had a great time at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful to everything I needed. The room was spacious and clean, very modern. The pool and the common spaces where fun. The beach was steps out the front door and there were places to eat in nearby. It also was not too spring break/college kid oriented, considering I went in March. I would have liked more room service food options, but hey. It did not seem like a hotel you would bring young kids to, although there were a few. It was mainly couples and groups of friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

24 Hour CVS is three blocks or so away!

Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Greenwich, CT
Mar 27, 2011

Hip, Zen, Good Location

I had a great time at this hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful to everything I needed. The room was spacious and clean, very modern. The pool and the common spaces where fun. The beach was steps out the front door and there were places to eat in nearby. It also was not too spring break/college kid oriented, considering I went in March. I would have liked more room service food options, but hey. It did not seem like a hotel you would bring young kids to, although there were a few. It was mainly couples and groups of friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

24 Hour CVS is three blocks or so away!

Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix, Az
Mar 17, 2011

Fort Lauderdale Beach

When I arrived at the hotel the check in was alittle longer than expected and the needed to put a 200 hold on my credit card which I wasnt expecting. When I got to my room it wasnt quite what I expected but the view was decent. I asked for my room to boe changed and it was alot better and the transition was made easy for me. Everything else was pleasant from then on. the beach view was beautiful and the weather was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

The W Fort Lauderdale retrieves your boarding passes for your flight home and they are ready for you when you check out, which is great!!

Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa FL
Feb 17, 2011

Rude and not as I expected

We were in the area for business and decided to stay the night and the next day. When we went to check in, I was dressed for the beach. Shorts and a tee shirt. The counter girl wrote down on a sticky pad the price and spun it around and with an attitude of you can't afford to stay here said this is the best rate we have available. I promptly booked it on [...] in front of her and saved over $100 she didn't like that. We got to our room and it was very nice. Then we went to the pool bar and got a cocktail. The bartender had the same attitude the counter girl did. I have stayed in many high end hotels and never gotten this. The pool area was not clean and there was bird doo on several of the lounge chairs. No one seemed to care. This was a real disappointment. I have stayed in several of the W hotels before and never had this experience. The facility is really nice. Too bad the staff was not!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Tampa FL
Feb 17, 2011

Rude and not as I expected

We were in the area for business and decided to stay the night and the next day. When we went to check in, I was dressed for the beach. Shorts and a tee shirt. The counter girl wrote down on a sticky pad the price and spun it around and with an attitude of you can't afford to stay here said this is the best rate we have available. I promptly booked it on [...] in front of her and saved over $100 she didn't like that. We got to our room and it was very nice. Then we went to the pool bar and got a cocktail. The bartender had the same attitude the counter girl did. I have stayed in many high end hotels and never gotten this. The pool area was not clean and there was bird doo on several of the lounge chairs. No one seemed to care. This was a real disappointment. I have stayed in several of the W hotels before and never had this experience. The facility is really nice. Too bad the staff was not!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gay son
baltimore, md
Jan 1, 2011

Nice but could have been better

this was meant to be a fun-in-the-sun trip. the weather was unseasonable cold so we needed to find things to do. the hotel did have some great amenities to enjoy as well. but i got tired of all the add-on costs. you could only use a luggage cart if a bell-person assisted you. that was a tip (im 33, i can really deal with my own family bags if i had a cart). parking at the hotel was $30 a night. we did end up sitting on the beach one day, to rent 3 chairs and an umbrella was $65 for 1 day. I mean when you spend the extra money to stay at the W you'd think they wouldnt be so cheap. Im surprised they didnt try to charge us for ice. I did need a car charger for my iphone for the rental car and they had one that they let me use and didnt charge me. the hotel is also a major destination for non-hotel staying people. they come for the nightlife at the bar and for a restaurant. at times it seemed that the hotel catered to their needs over ours.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

walk to the CVS...its a few blocks south and you can avoid paying $8 for a bottle of water that the hotel wants to charge you.

Back to menu Return to top