$229 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

W Fort Lauderdale

4 stars
401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, 401 North Fort Lauderdale Beach Boulevard, Fort Lauderdale, FL 33304
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
44 reviews
Awesome

The title to this review says it all..... AWESOME!!!! See full review

  • Kenwyn
  • Sep 15, 2014
Love the W

I am staying at this hotel every time I travel to Fort Lauderdale. Just love it!!!!!!!! See full review

  • Julia NC
  • Jul 1, 2014
Hip, trendy beachfront hotel offering resort-style service and feel

Featuring the signature "Whatever/Whenever" service and breathtaking views of the ocean from the public spaces and rooms, the W Fort Lauderdale offers a hip and sophisticated experience right on the beach. Perfect for leisure and business travelers, the hotel has spa and fitness facilities, a large business center and function space, including a 300-person capacity grand ballroom. From the relaxed atmosphere of the Living Room Lounge to the pulsating beat and dance floor of the Whiskey Blue nightclub, the W Fort Lauderdale has something for everyone.

3 Reasons To Stay:
  • Four-acre site located directly on Fort Lauderdale Beach, close to dining and entertainment venues and the downtown area
  • Bliss Spa features a wide range of treatments, SWEAT Fitness Center, two infinity swimming pools and outdoor hot tub
  • Multiple dining and drinking options, including chic Steak 954, the W Cafe and the hip Whiskey Blue nightclub
W Fort Lauderdale Rooms

The W Fort Lauderdale has 517 rooms and suites in a variety of sizes, ranging from 400 square feet to over 3,600 square feet in the extreme wow suite. They all feature fantastic views of the Atlantic Ocean, Fort Lauderdale Beach or the Intracoastal Waterway, and many rooms and suites also have private balconies and floor-to-ceiling windows. All levels of accommodation have a modern, contemporary decor featuring clean lines and comfortable furnishings, including the signature W Bed and oversized desk. Guest rooms and suites are all equipped with a 32-inch (or larger) LCD television with CD/DVD player, an iPod docking station and high-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply). They also feature en suite bathrooms with shower/tub, a magnifying makeup mirror and complimentary Bliss Spa bath amenities. The W Fort Lauderdale is a pet-friendly facility (fees apply) and 24-hour room service is available.

Things To Do:
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Jungle Queen Riverboat (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Las Olas Boulevard (shopping) (1.5 mi/2.4 km)
  • Broward County Convention Center (2.3 mi/3.7 km)
  • Fort Lauderdale Museum of Art (2.4 mi/3.9 km)
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Seminole Casino Hollywood (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Sawgrass Mills Mall (13 mi/20.9 km)
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years or older and provide photo identification in order to reserve and check into a room.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Fort Lauderdale also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

W Fort Lauderdale Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Maid service
Express check in
Guest laundromat
Childcare Service
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Barber/Beauty shop
Porters
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible rooms
Knock light (hearing impaired)
Room
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Turndown service
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.5 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.8 mi
  • New River: 1.2 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Beachfront: 0.5 mi
  • Las Olas Beach: 0.5 mi
  • Bonnet House Museum and Gardens: 0.7 mi
  • International Swimming Hall of Fame: 0.7 mi
  • Hugh Taylor Birch State Park: 0.8 mi
  • New River: 1.2 mi
  • Stranahan House: 2.2 mi
  • Greater Fort Lauderdale & Broward County Convention Center: 2.2 mi
  • Broward County Main Library: 2.5 mi
  • Museum of Art Fort Lauderdale: 2.5 mi
  • Andrews Living Art Studio: 2.5 mi
  • Old Fort Lauderdale Villange and Museum: 2.7 mi
  • Museum of Discovery and Science: 2.8 mi
  • Broward Center for the Performing Arts: 2.9 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Antique Car Museum: 3 mi
  • Old Dillard Art and Cultural Museum: 3.2 mi
  • African American Research Library and Cultural Center: 4.6 mi
  • Secret Woods Nature Center: 5.3 mi
  • Naval Air Station Fort Lauderdale Museum: 5.4 mi
  • Lockhart Stadium: 5.7 mi
  • Fort Lauderdale Stadium: 6 mi
  • Tradewinds Park: 11.3 mi
  • Art Children's Museum: 12.9 mi
  • Quiet Waters Park: 13.2 mi
  • Everglades Holiday Park: 21.5 mi
  • Sawgrass Recreation Park: 21.6 mi
  • Intercostal Waterway: 22.9 mi

Dining

Whiskey Blue
Whisk away into a whirlwind world of cutting edge design, high fashion, sexy vibes and signature cocktails—an interpretation of South Florida's unique sensuality within a sizzling nightspot as only Rande Gerber knows how.
Poolside Grill & Bar
Feeling a snack attack? Keep lounging on that deck chair while we bring you signature eats and sips from our poolside grill and snack bar, so you won’t have to lift a toe!
Living Room
Enter the W Living Room, where we've knocked down the walls of traditional lobby design to create a place where you can open your mind and feel alive while indulging in cocktail socializing.
STEAK 954
When you wish upon a Starr, the acclaimed restaurateur fulfills with a luxury boutique steakhouse. Where innovative flavors and modern interpretations meet classic cuts and artisanal ingredients, sparks fly and palates are seduced.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
04:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (44)

Ratings and reviews for W Fort Lauderdale

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
44 out of 44
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.8

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
5star
Business
Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Jan 7, 2012

Overpriced W fort lauderdale

I have nothing good to say about the W fort lauderdale except the staff was very nice and it was in a good location. Other than that I felt it was a waste of money. My room was very small and they put me in a corner room that had a view of the parking garage. My room was moderately clean at best and the beds were hard as a rock. The food was descent but overpriced. I hate to be so negative about the W but I feel like for $435 a night i could've stayed elsewhere and had a much better experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste your time or money on the W fort lauderdale

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cford
Business
Centennial, CO, USA
Dec 20, 2011

Great Hotel

Realy enjoyed the hotel beautiful views and great pool. Food was awesome too

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bday Boy
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 29, 2011

Posh hotel, service could be better

Amazing location on the beach, gorgeous amenities, staff was very nice but needs training - my room was not ready at 4pm, concierge couldn't operate the computer, manager was stressed out, the front desk was a little rude. Kudos to the cafe staff consistently excellent service and remembered my order from the day before! But what's up with the $30/day parking - seriously?? All in all, pricey but a good value thanks to the Orbitz discount.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out Las Olas strip for a nice shopping/dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN, USA
Sep 16, 2011

Neat hotel, no privacy in room

This hotel is neat with a very contemporary feel to it. It's so contemporary that the shower is complete glass and viewable from the bed right next to it. Also, the bathroom only has a frosted-glass door with the toilet; you can see the outline of whoever is sitting or standing from the bed. I wouldn't have reserved here if I had known. Our hot water went out twice and we were never offered to change to another room. They did state they would credit back the night we had not hot water. Overall a nice hotel with a great staff. It just wasn't my favorite experience with a hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The water taxi is great. It takes you up and down the intercostal waters for only 20$ a day.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big La
Business
levittown n.y.
Aug 18, 2011

great place especially for younger "edgy" people

The staff was GREAT and the hotel was excellant The location is super and the 954 restaurant is great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

954 is a great restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brookfield, CT
Aug 7, 2011

Horrible stay at the W Ft. Lauderdale

The room did not match the descriptoin on the website. Asked, and paid for, and ocean view room and stayed in one that faced directly towards the hotel next door. Very noisy... the airconditioning units and exhaust fans from the rooftop of the restaurant ran loud all night long. Overlooked the loading dock to the hotel - trucks backing in and out all early morning long. Not worth the price I paid at all. Was told there was nothing they could do about my room due to booking capacity. Could not request a late check out as well. No free wi-fi. Over priced!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nevah Dollar
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jun 13, 2011

The Next Big Thing In Florida

My last visit to Ft. Lauderdale was 2004 and it was a town full of retirees. Amazingly, the city has transformed from a dud to a city full of life and great people. My stay at the "W" was heavenly. The view of the ocean was superb, the 754 steakhouse/lounge was superb, the "Living Room" was superb, and the nearby shopping was superb. Great city!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Martini Lounge

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aleash
Business
New Jersey
May 18, 2011

Amazing

The most relaxing, comfortable, and friendly environment I have visited. The only down side is that the food and drinks are a bit overpriced, but the service was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 9, 2011

W Hotel Ft. Lauderdale

Hotel is well-located and beautifully finished. Stunning as matter of fact. The oceanfront location is outstanding and the hotel is within walking distance to many shops, restaurants and things to do. The only down side was the room attendants/cleaning. (2) days I went back to my room to find that at 4PM and 4:30PM my room had not been made up--although I had left the room in the early morning. On the first day this happened I spoke with the Hotel Manager who said he would put me on the early schedule for the next day. The next day the same thing happened--my room was not made up at 4:30PM. On the day I checked out--the woman who cleans the rooms knocked on my door at 9AM to ask when I would be checking out. Not a very "W"onderful experience in that department. All other experiences including room service, dining on site were exceptional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Fort Lauderdale

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Long Island, NY
Apr 27, 2011

beach vacation

The W was extremely accomodating and a fantastic place to stay. I would recommend it to any one of my friends and certainly stay at another one of their hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top